Screetching sound from engine, Occasionally, from 2.5k rpm and above

TSdaijoubu
post Sep 20 2006, 02:29 AM, updated 20y ago

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

Sometimes when im driving, i hear screetching sounds from my Kancil 850M engine bay. IT happens only during 2.5k rpm and above. Some hard revving and gear change will eventually cause the sound to go away after some time. But its pretty irritating. Sometimes the sound will occur again when i do a sudden downshift that causes the rev to climb.

The question is, what is causing the sound? Could it be :

1) Timing belt
2) Air cond belt
3) Alternator belt
4) Any other belt?

I only know that my timing belt was changed at 60000 km, and my mileage now is 78000 km, which is still pretty new for a timing belt.

Anyone can help? Thanks smile.gif
lonewolf
post Sep 20 2006, 02:46 PM

3,945 posts

open and check the timing belt....might not be propely fixed..
waynewong79
post Sep 21 2006, 10:46 AM

LYN STALKER
3,268 posts

the screetching sound definately not caused by timing belt. could be the aircond belt or alternator belt.
daveteoh
post Sep 21 2006, 01:34 PM

478 posts

QUOTE(waynewong79 @ Sep 21 2006, 10:46 AM)
the screetching sound definately not caused by timing belt. could be the aircond belt or alternator belt.
i just change my timing belt, aircon belt, alt belt and many other things.. then have the same problem like you . still want to find out.

but it occurs mostly is when i drive slowly..if i drive fast, then the sound will go away. is it possible cause by exaust pipe problem, cause i also has other sound seems like come from exaust pipe below.
rcracer
post Sep 21 2006, 01:38 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(daveteoh @ Sep 21 2006, 01:34 PM)
i just change my timing belt, aircon belt, alt belt and many other things.. then have the same problem like you . still want to find out.

but it occurs mostly is when i drive slowly..if i drive fast, then the sound will go away. is it possible cause by exaust pipe problem, cause i also has other sound seems like come from exaust pipe below.
Definately not timing belt because it is a toother belt, could be air-cond or alternator belt having improper tension. Kancil only has two belts so it's a fast fix.
TSdaijoubu
post Sep 21 2006, 05:47 PM

5,193 posts

ahhh, timing belt is toothed? so guess should be aircon/alternator belt
how much u reckon it takes to change that? smile.gif
nicvoo
post Sep 21 2006, 05:50 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

i'm also having the same prob but i'm driving kelisa 1st happened when my car clocked 30K changed everything aircon timing belt also still got but only happens when its raining or early in the morning
rcracer
post Sep 22 2006, 01:40 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Sep 21 2006, 05:50 PM)
i'm also having the same prob but i'm driving kelisa 1st happened when my car clocked 30K changed everything aircon timing belt also still got but only happens when its raining or early in the morning
When it is raining or early in the morning do you turn on your headlights? if yes then the extra load on the alternator might cause the belts to screech
eng98
post Sep 23 2006, 10:05 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

dai.... check the tensioner bearing as well....
TSdaijoubu
post Sep 23 2006, 03:27 PM

5,193 posts

ok thanks for your advice, will send it to mechanic to check =D

also, i've just changed the drive shaft to recond ones a month ago
now, when turning full right and move from standstill, got tak tak tak sound
what could be the cause?
Shock
post Sep 23 2006, 04:03 PM

518 posts

maybe your drive shaft is broken again, or the shaft fix not "ngam", ask ur mechanic to check, cause once i change my drive shaft, still got some sound, and he fix back the position for me.

This post has been edited by Shock: Sep 23 2006, 04:03 PM
TSdaijoubu
post Sep 23 2006, 06:27 PM

5,193 posts

okay will get it checked next week
now close already, and will be back uni during the weekdays
hope i'll hold up till then sad.gif
rcracer
post Sep 24 2006, 10:14 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Sep 23 2006, 03:27 PM)
ok thanks for your advice, will send it to mechanic to check =D

also, i've just changed the drive shaft to recond ones a month ago
now, when turning full right and move from standstill, got tak tak tak sound
what could be the cause?
The cause is your mechanic did not put in a good recond one, he probably grabbed it from some scrap yard.
TSdaijoubu
post Sep 24 2006, 11:37 PM

5,193 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Sep 24 2006, 10:14 AM)
The cause is your mechanic did not put in a good recond one, he probably grabbed it from some scrap yard.
crap sad.gif
by any chance u know how much it'll cost for a brand new right drive shaft for kanciL?
Shock
post Sep 27 2006, 10:00 PM

518 posts

err, mine is iswara, i got mine shaft both sides for 120 or 130 i forget. I directly grab from spare parts shop and ask mechanic fix for me.

Urs i think should be cheaper.
TSdaijoubu
post Oct 9 2006, 09:24 PM

5,193 posts

already sent to mech a few days ago

before that i managed to troubleshoot my belt sound. confirm its the aircond + alternator belt as when the sound occurs, turning both the aircond and the headlights off will cause the sound to go away. got both of them changed for RM50

as for the tak tak tak sound. both driveshaft kong. he changed one of them FOC the other he has no stock, so have to bring back another day. FOC because still under warranty

thanks ppl for ur help ^^

0.0179sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:24 PM