Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V48

failed.hashcheck
post Dec 16 2014, 02:31 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

hey pipul
I want to format my PC i want to ask about backing up steam games. My library installed on other drive (F:\ to be exact)

Do I need to backup my games using that backup feature or I can just format and re-add the same library folder later?

In Origin client we can just format and add same dir for library and it will automagically detect, do hashcheck and reinstall any missing dependencies. How about steam?
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 16 2014, 04:18 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 16 2014, 03:40 PM)
Steam is the same as Origin. You just need to backup everything in the Steamapps folder then copy it to an external hard disk. You also need to backup the .acf files in the Steamapps folder. Do not delete them as you might need to redownload the games

Once you reinstall the PC, you need to point your newly installed Steam client to your new Steamapps folder. Then, if im not wrong, you need to click Install for each game in order for Steam to locate the files back. Some games might be automatically being detected by Steam.

EDIT: May I know where did you install your library folder? Is it in a different partition from your OS that will be formatted?

The backup feature is teribble, avoid it. Just copy and paste your Steamapps Folder out to an external, then copy and paste back into your new installation of Steam.
Ah. that sounds reassuring. thanks. biggrin.gif Im not going to be happy moving around 350GB of games sweat.gif .

Steam installed in C:\
Library is in F:\

I rarely use steam, just recently gone on download and gaming fury after completing my thesis. laugh.gif
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 17 2014, 08:11 PM

2,096 posts

Why la steam support suck ass

they never answered my ticket.
and 4 days ago I made another ticket asking them to reset my email association for online game that I made a typo, also they not reply until now.
why fatass gaben never assist their customer? why?!?!!
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 17 2014, 08:16 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 17 2014, 08:13 PM)
Fact 101: Steam has the worst customer support of all  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
doomed liao
This mmorpg game im looking forward to play since long time.
Then during register I made typo, now the confirmation email doesn't made it into my inbox.
And steam does not allow me to register for 2nd time.

Now I cant play that game forever cry.gif
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 17 2014, 08:33 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 17 2014, 08:20 PM)
and so the moral of the story is dont typo at all laugh.gif
story:
Im so eager to play this game, I woke up at 5am overjoyed when looking the game finished downloading.
Head still dizzy fuzzy my finger still cold; baru bangun tidur. but because I want to play it so badly I register jugak.

And there go the typo. They dont use double field for email also, only single email and password then straight to doom. sweat.gif

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 17 2014, 08:21 PM)
if you're lucky, within 1 week.

less lucky, within 2 weeks.

lesser than that, gg liao

on serious note, my previous ticket is answered after 4 days. you should keep bumping your ticket until they take notice.
Lucky lah they reply at all.
I have 2 other ticket that none of them from replied since several month ago. They got some systematic and advanced ticketing system but seems like no one operates them.

Now I should pester them with new tickets every 3 days.

failed.hashcheck
post Dec 19 2014, 01:30 AM

2,096 posts

Bring it on.

My wallet is ready.
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 19 2014, 01:53 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(yiporan @ Dec 19 2014, 01:46 AM)
200 only gaben is disappointed
Yeah limit only 200 for this sale.
Focusing on quality games with complete packs not quantity biggrin.gif

failed.hashcheck
post Dec 19 2014, 02:03 AM

2,096 posts

failed.hashcheck
post Dec 19 2014, 02:57 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Dec 19 2014, 02:40 PM)
You want your steam account to be banned ke? Not worth it and never use VPN.
How long will it take for my acc to get banned for using VPN?
1st purchase outright straight kena banhammer or multiple purchase?

I have personal Russian IP now tempted try biggrin.gif
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 19 2014, 09:43 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ Dec 19 2014, 07:32 PM)
Don't forget to mod the game.....MODSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
I dont understand why people are modding their game. hmm.gif

Im really against any form of modding on core gameplay.
For me games are to be played the way developer intend; mods kida ruin the game value.

But I welcome subtle visual improvement and bug hotfix mod though biggrin.gif .
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 19 2014, 11:34 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(donatelo @ Dec 19 2014, 11:19 PM)
anybody bought Microsoft Flight Simulator X Steam Edition?
me me biggrin.gif

Surprisingly 10gb download for such ancient game. laugh.gif
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 20 2014, 02:05 AM

2,096 posts

wah.. boring sale. Next!!
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 20 2014, 03:43 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Dec 20 2014, 02:46 AM)
zzz something wrong with my maybank debit card. cant seem to get the purchase through. anyone having the same problem?

maybe wait for tmr morning to purchase

-edit-
just checked. maybank website down  rolleyes.gif  yawn.gif
Thats why you should just top up wallet.
Credit card is just like printer, they know how to make pipul rage.
plus its hard to overspend with wallet.
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 20 2014, 06:39 AM

2,096 posts

Borderlands 2 is on daily deal but not shown on main page?

I thought daily deals will show on frontpage.

How to track all the daily deals?
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 20 2014, 06:50 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 20 2014, 06:47 AM)
usually when a game goes on daily deals, the whole franchise is affected too. like in this case, Borderlands Pre-Sequel in on Daily Deals so Borderlands 2 and Borderlands 1 is also on daily deal. Another case is Assassin's Creed Unity wink.gif
Ohh.
I thought whole franchise discount only work with same discount tier.
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 20 2014, 02:27 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Dec 20 2014, 10:42 AM)
Bought it, but I cannot take it due to the overwhelming graphics nowadays.
haha the graphics feels like BF1942.
But I amazed on how detailed everything was made. Like flying chart and ATC takeoff/landing procedure.

I almost thought this is industrial software for pilot training instead of game lol
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 21 2014, 02:14 AM

2,096 posts

Now daily deals not daily anymore? hmm.gif
the latest deal going all the way to 2 January.

edit:
oh seems its fixed now.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Dec 21 2014, 02:16 AM
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 21 2014, 02:23 AM

2,096 posts

Some mess in countdown just before.
my vote didn't get registered.
Mass effect no discount.
Trine 2 discount beefed from 85% to 90% just now.

I think some shitstorm happened behind their server.
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 22 2014, 07:36 AM

2,096 posts

Anyone can help me getting some card from market?
I need to create a badge to get to lvl 8 in steam.

I cant use marketplace for now.
My last active purchase was more than year ago, and latest was still less than 30 days. cannot use Market until 5 Jan 2015.

halp halp
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 22 2014, 08:14 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 22 2014, 08:10 AM)
You haven't got the Community Badge yet?
Got Community Ambassador, 50+, Auction and 2 years.
But even with those it can only do so much. Still at lvl 7. laugh.gif
73xp more exp to lvl 8

0.0632sec    1.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:20 AM