PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt

mydragoon
post Dec 8 2014, 10:23 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Dec 8 2014, 06:31 PM)
err, what do you mean by "finally"? known issue?

anyway, seems Exora FC improves after about 10k. 1-2 months back I shared how my FC was stuck at 11.3/100km with mix of highway and city driving. close or at about 10k, it started to get better. now at around 10.4/100km... goodie!
mydragoon
post Dec 13 2014, 09:25 AM

7,044 posts

just dropped by car st service center so they can check and fix that radiator issue.

was told takes about 2 hours, so told them I'm going for breakfast.

10 mins later, got called and told my unit not affected. mine is new batch. seems they are asked to replace a part that's made of copper with the one made of chrome... something like that.

mydragoon
post Feb 26 2015, 09:53 AM

7,044 posts

over the CNY... a fren told me two Exora burnt while balik kampung or sth... said it was in the news and asked me to be careful... supposedly no modification, etc... just suddenly caught fire.

i was like... errr... ok.

but... anyone heard abt that?
mydragoon
post Feb 27 2015, 08:59 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(sKypRiNcE734 @ Feb 26 2015, 09:57 PM)
Maroon colour right,indian owner.No modifications,2013 July model(same as mine).CFE Engine with 8K miles clocked.I read on facebook about the full story and it seems proton's after sales is bad,since 2014 untill now no respon.
i think this is one case... but what my friend told me over CNY was supposedly a recent case... and 2 Exora. but so far, no other news besides this one, which was last year.
Proton yet to respond to complaint about burned car, after four months
http://www.theantdaily.com/Main/Proton-yet...ter-four-months

COMMENT: Proton. The name evokes nostalgia, and an equal share of contrition among Malaysians.

Some swear by it, while others, against it. Being more than 30 years old, the first national car manufacturer continues receiving brickbats from users, like it had only been in the business for less than a decade.

One such posting by a disgruntled customer is currently making its round on Facebook.

Facebook user Moorthy Moorthy, had related how his Proton Exora Bold  had caught fire while travelling to Cameron Highlands on Deepavali day in October last year. He had bought the compact MPV in July 2013. Below is a summary of his post.

"On 22 October 2014 (Deepavali day), I started my journey to Cameron Highlands for a short vacation with family. There were 4 adults and 2 children in the car. As we were approaching Ringlet town, my car suddenly caught fire at a corner. I just stopped the car in the middle of the road and ran away.

"I was left stranded by the roadside as I could not call anyone, due to lack of telecommunications signal. I had to pay RM1,500 to tow my car and clean the place. I made a police report and contacted my insurance company, as well as Proton's Wecare hotline, for assistance," Moorthy related.

It was then his predicament started.

He was asked to submit documentations for the car (which took two weeks), and was told to send the car to Proton Centre in Kampar, Perak. Being a resident of Kuala Selangor, Moorthy related his difficulty in doing so, as he was already poorer by RM1,500 after paying for the towing service.

His last correspondence with one Asry, who was supposed to be in charge of his case, was in November last year. That was the last time anyone from Proton got back to him on the issue, despite various e-mails sent.

Moorthy contacted Proton earlier this month, and again, he was given the runaround. He was made to repeat his story to different people who attended to his call, and put on hold, and once even got hung up on. This has been theongoing predicament to date, despite the three years warranty that came attached with the car.

"I don't wish to post in Facebook or any social media but I don't have a choice now. As an ordinary RM3,000 income family with housewife and four schooling children, what else can I do to get Proton's attention? How long I have to prolong this issue? Remember I am still paying monthly instalments for my car," he posted.

The post, put up last Friday, had been shared more than 4,100 times by Wednesday morning.

To Proton, why is it so difficult to own up to your screw-ups and answer your "burned" (almost literally) customer?

From burning cars to engines falling off newly-bought vehicles, we have heard it all. What would it take for you to take these complaints and try to work on improving them?

Granted not only Proton cars have burst into flames (we have read tales of costly Ferraris being reduced to ashes on the road), what would it take to tell a man who had entrusted his life and his entire families' on your company-made model, about what went wrong, and why?

While you are it, why not give a replacement vehicle? Why is it to so difficult to respond to a single complaint in a span of five freaking months?

Proton has been around for close to four decades now and it is not too much for Malaysians to expect for their products and after sales services to have improved. If this is how they handle customer complaints, it is no surprise that most Malaysians resort to buying Perodua vehicles over Proton. After all, how often do you hear complaints about cars from the country's second automobile maker?

The hotshots behind Proton must remember that there is no use sitting andcomplaining about losing customers. The fact is, Malaysians are tired of dealing with minor issues that continue plaguing the company's makes, and decide to spend their money elsewhere, be it on the competitor, or second-hand foreign car models.

Even the neighbourhood "Kuey Teow" maker Uncle Ah Kow would know that when people start frequenting other stalls, it is not time to sit and complain about customer attitude, but to improve on his own recipe to start attracting customers again.

Proton's brand ethos is "Committed to be better" but cases like these prove otherwise. Stop splurging on making new models, or rather carbon copies of foreign vehicles, and commit to improving the standards of existing models. That ought to go a long way, at least among loyal consumers.

mydragoon
post Feb 27 2015, 09:02 AM

7,044 posts

ok, just found some articles...

i guess at least got one over CNY...

Proton concerned over reports of Exora bursting into flames – Bernama
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...-flames-bernama

Proton Holdings Bhd (Proton) says it is very concerned about photographs being circulated on various social media of a Proton Exora bursting into flames at the Cheneh exit along the East-Coast Highway Phase 2 on February 17, 2015.

"In the postings, some of the netizens claimed that the Exora was faulty due to an increase in temperature as a result of over-filling of fuel, causing the car to catch fire, while others speculated that the incident was due to a leaking fuel tank," it said in a statement today.

Proton said it was investigating the matter closely and got in touch with the owner of the vehicle to ensure the well-being of the owner and his family, as well as to get the full details about the Exora.

"We are taking the necessary measures ans urge the public not to speculate on the situation," it said.

The national carmaker said it does not compromise on any quality issues that could cause its engines or cars to malfunction.

The Proton Exora is the first national Multi Purpose Vehicle (MPV), with more than 140,000 units sold worldwide. – Bernama, February 18, 2015.

hmmm...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Feb 27 2015, 09:03 AM
mydragoon
post Feb 16 2016, 03:46 PM

7,044 posts

also mentioned in The Star:
Proton recalls three models to fix cooler hoses
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016...-hose-problems/

Paul Tan website does have a screenshot of what looks like Proton's communications material...

update: image removed.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Feb 16 2016, 04:25 PM
mydragoon
post Feb 16 2016, 03:47 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Feb 16 2016, 02:46 PM)
Check out paultan's post. I can't post the link here because reasons smile.gif
sorry... i'm kinda blur... errr... why cannot post the link?

0.0878sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:42 AM