PILOT, PILOT
Supreme Allied Commander
Mar 26 2006, 12:00 AM
Its really hard to get in to SQ with just a STPM. They mostly take Bachelor degree holders and couple of diploma holders.
I applied for both SQ and MAS. Got a call from MAS for final interview last month and it was a SAturday morning (seems like they are desperate for cadets), but it was too late, i've already signed for SQ.
Supreme Allied Commander
Mar 26 2006, 12:50 AM
Thanks airseal, i'm actually at my 3rd month in SQ. If i remember right it took MAS about 8 months to call me for my 3rd round interview. This shows how efficient r they in doing things.
BTW hows the training is MAS ?
Supreme Allied Commander
Mar 27 2006, 08:31 PM
IF i am right usually the military pilots do not have licenses. SO if they one day decide to join the airlines they will have to do everything again just like any of the cadets. ie. all the way to ATPL.
Supreme Allied Commander
Mar 30 2006, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Mar 29 2006, 11:17 AM) TQ. i would like to know more info bout this interview from those who experienced it b4. so far, i was told to prepare a medical report on my eye-sight and some certs to bring along. will there be any simulator test? like those aircraft game in arcade? first interview should be piece of cake. Generally, they ask different questions depending on individual background. They usually ask questions to see how much u know bout aircraft and how interested u r about SQ. Learn the company's profile, aircrafts they fly (btw they only fly widebodies), and a little bit about theory of flight. They will aslso try to agitate u to see how u take pressure. One more thing they will ask which subsidary of SQ u want to work for. Pax , cargo or silkair.
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(hoongji @ May 26 2006, 12:09 PM) i have no idea life as a SIA cadet pilot as i will only start my training on the 23rd June. but what i can tell you is full boarding and lodging will be provided. first 6 months in Seletar, Singapore. will be paid allowance of SGD1200 further 1 and half year training in Perth and Brisbane. will be paid allowance of SGD1900 (only during advance and type conversion training) upon graduation and becoming SO (second officer), will be paid a basic of SGD2200 + various allowances upon promotion to FO (first officer), will be paid basic of SGD5000-9000 + various allowances from what i heard, SO to FO takes about 6months to a year so r u going to be in course 121
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(hoongji @ May 26 2006, 09:42 PM) OBS on the 23rd. you mean batch 121? i think i'm in that batch Supreme Allied Commander: you are in one batch earlier than mine? i think we will meet in the future. looking forward to that july is my ATPL, probably will be initaiting u. Where u guys going, ubin or lumut? ?
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(hoongji @ May 26 2006, 10:30 PM) i think in Ubin. becos we have to fly to singapore on 21st, briefing on 22nd and 23rd is the OBS already. so when are you leaving to Jandakot, Perth? august hopefully if if pass everything lol. It should say in one of the papers whether u rgoing to ubin or lumut. For ubin, prepare to do a 2.4 km run twice a day, and probably by the time u reach ur 21st day u'll be doing a 15km. This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: May 27 2006, 10:58 AM
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(DeathWing @ May 27 2006, 10:29 AM) heya heya Great work there hoonji, Get excited and start shopping for lots of useless stuff  Nah, the real eliminating session is phase 1 in Seletar. That's where your flying aptitude really shows. Some instructor told me this, "some are born to fly, others learn to fly, the rest stays on the ground." So make every flying hour counts. yeap thats the suckiest part u have to go thru. Couple of my frens got chopped already bcoz of poor flying aptiude. And then comes the ATPL.
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ May 27 2006, 11:22 AM) may i know, poor in ground studies or flying? Flying. I dunno what happen to them, from what i heard this guy actually froze up when he was on the air. like dont know what to do when something needs to be done. I forgot to ask r u pax or cargo or sa This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: May 27 2006, 11:27 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 11:29 PM
LOL u mean hasell checks, that was long time ago man. The fun part comes when u have somebody shouting at u from ur right side and there u r trying to control the plane lol.
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ May 27 2006, 11:31 AM) LOL..who shouts at you? the instructor or your buddies? the acrobatic moves are the most fun and challenging at the same time. how bout crosswind landings? lol the instructors man. Crosswind landings not much, cause singapore where got strong winds. Crosswind landings will be done in jandokot and u can ask MR death wing, he probably knows more than me
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ May 27 2006, 11:37 AM) you must be pulling very hard Gs until the instructor shouts like that. is deathwing in SIA as well? btw, i'm in SIA PAX No they will pick on ur slightest mistake and u know up there everything is different and we werent born with cessnas in our backyard. THey just wanna see how well u react to this kind of environment. So how many malaysians this time ?
Supreme Allied Commander
May 27 2006, 11:45 PM
ok i'll pm u
Supreme Allied Commander
Jul 22 2006, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(fillet @ Jul 22 2006, 07:28 AM) DAMN!! hopefully they take in FRESH GUYS for jet conversion and type rating..... sign 5 years bond with them for the training.... i don't think they can recruit enough cadet pilot to in the coming 2 years time to meet the demand can they??? SIA requires a minimum of A' levels, but their ACTUAL minimum is an University Degree....sad.. that's why i wasn't called.. for the interview...... if anyone in SIA has the chance, can find out which school does SIA approve other than MASSEY? From what i see those guys who come from MFA will usually end up in Cargo. I know a guy who graduated in Massey had to do his ground studies again. They actually waived his flying hours, and now he is waiting to go to Marochy
Supreme Allied Commander
Sep 20 2006, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Sep 19 2006, 11:27 AM) * where's the old pilot thread? * i was once an engineer before i decided to make a switch. and i feel glad that i took that chance. flying is fun. but ATPL papers are hell. not to mention the steep learning curve and also high expectation from the company. so prepare. if you feel that's where you want to be, then make that move. good luck. u guys finish tech paper already?
Supreme Allied Commander
Sep 20 2006, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Sep 20 2006, 04:44 AM) finished tech paper. now in ATPL (a terrible pilot's life) phase. it's hell. any tips from you how to get over it? and how's your life in jandakot? having spring now eh? all you need to know about SIA is available here: http://askcaptainlim.com/phpBB/viewforum.p...c049d358b992328interview tips: http://askcaptainlim.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=2&start=0good luck as for the email, just attach a scanned copy of your spm/stpm/degree cert. lol, i feel u bro. Just follow the ABBA, but not blindly and u know what i mean. We are in the midst of clearing solo now, hopefully can clear in next few sorties. NE New course came in ?
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 13 2006, 12:11 AM
i dont think they have any more F50s. Most of the graduates will go to 737s Is that right ?
Supreme Allied Commander
Jan 13 2007, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Jan 13 2007, 10:32 AM) yup, finished ATPL and got the results already. going to Jandakot on 26th Jan. that's what they said. but i'm sure there will be delays. mods: pls merge this thread with http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/263199Heard that Capt M is coming as well is that true ? Any confirmation ? QUOTE I heard there will be a girl from silkair in batch126.
Supreme Allied Commander
Jan 13 2007, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Jan 13 2007, 10:32 AM) yup, finished ATPL and got the results already. going to Jandakot on 26th Jan. that's what they said. but i'm sure there will be delays. mods: pls merge this thread with http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/263199One more thing hows the ATPL results ? This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Jan 13 2007, 10:54 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 27 2007, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(laughing_tomato @ Oct 21 2007, 11:33 PM) any one know when is the next intake for SIA cadet pilot? i think they are having walk-in interviews nowadays in SG. Must be quite desperate for pilots