PILOT, PILOT
isthmuskra
Dec 4 2011, 11:38 AM
it is said that it's hard to secure a job in airline after obtaining cpl/atpl from private academy(say mfa), but is it possible to be hired(local or overseas) in smaller aviation companies and work my way to become a 2nd/1st officer in major airlines(local or overseas)? are there a lot of vacancies or is it limited(i heard the world is short of pilots)? thank you.
syafix
Dec 30 2011, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Nov 22 2011, 10:58 AM) Hey there, this info should be correct. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1. After graduated from flying academy with CPL/IR and if we want to build flight experience (hours) as FI do we need to pay another sum of fees in order to obtain full frozen ATPL?- Alot of different answer to this. 1- FI rating doesnt require you to have an ATPL 2- Frozen ATPL requires you to sit for the JAA exam 3- FI rating requires money 2. Do we need to pay more for type rating such as B737 or A320 and other fleets?- Yes, however usually your airline will bear the cost at the expense of your contract. MAS/AK/FY will bear the type rating fees. Working with indonesian airlines requires you to fork out your own money for the type rating. 3. What is the salary for FI? And if as cadet pilot from airline, do we get fully sponsored for the whole training including building flying hour and type rating?- This is a mixed bag. Salary depends on your employer but it should be in around 4-5K. Cadet pilot from airline..ofcourse they'll fully bear the expense Hi there, thanks for the reply. I have a question, lets say that I enroll to flying school privately. As far as I know, I'll graduate with frozen ATPL right? Means no type rating yet. So, Do I need to get the type rating first of look for a job then the airline will arrange the Type Rating for me? Thanks in advance
HerbalTea
Dec 30 2011, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(syafix @ Dec 30 2011, 11:32 AM) Hi there, thanks for the reply. I have a question, lets say that I enroll to flying school privately. As far as I know, I'll graduate with frozen ATPL right? Means no type rating yet. So, Do I need to get the type rating first of look for a job then the airline will arrange the Type Rating for me? Thanks in advance  Hi, Yes you will graduate with a frozen ATPL. Regarding the type rating, most airline will arrange your type rating for you.
syafix
Dec 30 2011, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Dec 30 2011, 03:56 PM) Hi, Yes you will graduate with a frozen ATPL. Regarding the type rating, most airline will arrange your type rating for you. But when I look at the pilot vacancies, most of it need at least pilot with 737 rated. So, will they accept someone who only have fATPL? btw, what airline do you fly for? thanks
HerbalTea
Dec 30 2011, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(syafix @ Dec 30 2011, 04:27 PM) But when I look at the pilot vacancies, most of it need at least pilot with 737 rated. So, will they accept someone who only have fATPL? btw, what airline do you fly for? thanks  Ah, thats right. Some airlines they rather take rated pilots compared to fresh graduates. However from what I've noticed is that our local airlines will provide you with the necessary training. I'm currently flying with Mas
syafix
Jan 2 2012, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(fillet @ Jan 19 2011, 11:09 PM) i've flown all 3 of them.. all 3 are beautiful aircrafts Hi fillet, as I read all over this thread, I find that you now flying for AK. as privately sponsored candidate, did AK accept you as fresh graduate or you work on ur rating first? Thanks in advance I hope you're enjoying ur flying moment
Mr.Docter
Mar 7 2012, 12:10 AM
Hi everyone,
I am asking on behalf of my little brother. He is waiting for his SPM result and score almost straight A on his trial.
He is eager to be a pilot, so may I know which pilot college is most reliable? Financial is the least issue in my list.
HerbalTea
Mar 7 2012, 07:03 AM

It boils down to these 3 Flying Schools
APFT - Kelantan
MFA - Melaka
HMA - Langkawi
Mr.Docter
Mar 7 2012, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Mar 7 2012, 07:03 AM) It boils down to these 3 Flying Schools APFT - Kelantan MFA - Melaka HMA - Langkawi Thank you, HerbalTea. I believe those 3 you suggested do not have any problem with their legitimacy? It is quite concerning since a lot of flying college scam reported by our media. And among all 3, by your personal opinion, which one is the best?
HerbalTea
Mar 7 2012, 04:50 PM

Hi, among those 3 I cant really say which one is the best. Its been a couple of years since I've left my flying school behind. But I can point you in the right direction. You can checkout their respective forums here - Flylah - Flying AcademyRest assured that those 3 are very well established flying academies in Malaysia.
Bumbeee
Mar 13 2012, 10:47 PM
hi, anyone know the payscale for transmile pilot?? im thinkning of joining transmile
Mr.Docter
Mar 16 2012, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Mar 7 2012, 04:50 PM) Hi, among those 3 I cant really say which one is the best. Its been a couple of years since I've left my flying school behind. But I can point you in the right direction. You can checkout their respective forums here - Flylah - Flying AcademyRest assured that those 3 are very well established flying academies in Malaysia. Thank you. I already forward the link to my brother. Just wondering, how does pilot job perspective nowadays? Is it hard to compete for the job provided by the Airlines company? I'd afraid of too much applicant applying the same seat during starting a job later.
HerbalTea
Mar 17 2012, 09:04 AM

^
Honestly, it depends on the timing. Right now, not so much.
Next year, maybe.
Mr.Docter
Mar 17 2012, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Mar 17 2012, 09:04 AM) ^ Honestly, it depends on the timing. Right now, not so much. Next year, maybe. Appreciate your insight, thanks. Whatever will happened, its all depend on his SPM result in this Wednesday.
Learjet35
Mar 22 2012, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 7 2012, 01:05 PM) Thank you, HerbalTea. I believe those 3 you suggested do not have any problem with their legitimacy? It is quite concerning since a lot of flying college scam reported by our media. And among all 3, by your personal opinion, which one is the best? newest it kelantan.oldest fleet is in melaka.my brother grad from HMA 3 years back,some of his friend havent secure any job until now.so just be careful.try to get the mas or AA cadet.
extremepower
Mar 22 2012, 05:36 PM
Pilot?? Money is good... Cancer fren... Just pulling your legs. Don't take the JB flying school hor. Good to google them to see if got recent accidents.  RISK TO CREWMEMBERS. Death from cancer is the principal health concern associated with occupational exposure to radiation. We assume a risk coefficient of 6.3 in 100,000 per millisievert for excess cancer deaths (BEIR 1990, see note with reference). For the flights listed in table 1, a crewmember's lifetime risk of fatal cancer from occupational exposure to galactic cosmic radiation can be estimated using the data in column 6. For example, on flights between Minneapolis and New York, 5.0 millisieverts (500 millirem) is received in a representative work year.1 Therefore, for each year of flying between these two cities, a crewmember will incur a lifetime risk of 5.0 x 6.3 = 31 in 100,000. After 20 years, the lifetime risk would be 20 x 31 = 620 in 100,000, or 6 in 1000.2 Thus, if 1000 crewmembers fly between Minneapolis and New York for 20 years, the expectation is that about 6 would eventually die of cancer as a result of occupational exposure to radiation. Based on normal expectation for the U.S. adult population, about 220 of the 1000 crew embers would die of cancer from causes unrelated to occupational radiation exposure (Seidman et al. 1985). It would be impossible to determine whether a particular cancer death was caused by occupational exposure. http://www.solarstorms.org/FAAAirlines.html
GongFuChau
May 2 2012, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 17 2012, 03:46 PM) Appreciate your insight, thanks. Whatever will happened, its all depend on his SPM result in this Wednesday. Not sure whether your brother had made his choice or not, but I guess the main concern is how long it takes to graduate from the flying school, because more delays = more $$$ spent. My batch from HMA graduated within 18 months about 1 year ago. Do ask around former students from different school about the time taken and preferably recent ones.
extremepower
May 2 2012, 10:59 PM
Pls check if they have accidents. Take sg school if money is not an issue.  Safer track record. You heard of recent accident yet? The planes are not fit for flying. This post has been edited by extremepower: May 2 2012, 11:02 PM
twins9
May 15 2012, 10:07 PM
What other airlines out there beside Air Asia Firefly and MAS?
This post has been edited by twins9: May 24 2012, 03:25 PM
extremepower
May 18 2012, 11:16 PM
I am currently flying for Junyao airlines in China A320.My company is looking for Captains who would like to join in Junyao airlines.Company is planning to buy 25 more A320/321 in next 5 years. Min Requirement is following 1.Pic on any airplane is OK include non jet,but must have 500 hrs pic time. 2.non rated also OK
Pay is 17000 usd with 75 hrs a month.if you and your friends are interested please send me your CV.I can introduce you to the company.