47 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

PILOT, PILOT

Liberator
post Jul 25 2007, 10:03 AM

CASA only approve Dr PAL n Thomas for the Australia med.

my power is ard 400 now, still considering whether to do LASIK then oni go for check up.

i'll do as said - check CASA eyesight requirements...

btw, for health check up, whr u did?
is the msia and aus health check up requirements same?
fillet
post Jul 25 2007, 01:38 PM

1,925 posts

AUS and Malaysia is a little bit different.
I did my check-up with Dr.KEE

for AUSTRALIA CASA, ASK them to send you an official letter on the requirements.

As i said, the doctors here told me that CASA got EYESIGHT LIMIT. BUT CASA EMAIL ME SAYING THAT there's no limit...

So the best thing is , ASK CASA send you something official... then show the doctor.
hoongji
post Jul 25 2007, 11:43 PM

2,982 posts

LASIK is a sensitive thing for most of the airline companies. if you are seeking sponsorship from airlines, always try to apply and get thru the medical first without LASIK. after all, there's no harm trying. during my interview, i was asked regarding my eyesight and LASIK even when my eye report says i got perfect eye sight. seems like they don't mind having pilots with glasses but a bit conservative about LASIK. denying your LASIK status might get you thru the interview and medical, but that detroys your integrity as pilot.

LASIK is only the last resort if all else fail. a cooldown period with a subsequent good eye report will get you through.

btw, my Australian CASA medical license shows CLASS 2. don't think it's really strict to get flying license here.

This post has been edited by hoongji: Jul 25 2007, 11:49 PM
Liberator
post Jul 28 2007, 01:18 AM

[CODE]tks for ur input hoongji .

i dem tension le.. rclxub.gif

1. airline policy on LASIK ( confirm Korea do not allow pilots to go for eye surgery, unsure abt other airlines/country )

2. lets say, after i LASIK and did CPL in Australia , what r my chances of getting a job (MAS/AA/ other airlines)
-MAS/AA has their own cadet pilots
-protectionism
i can dream on i can get a job in those Australian airlines ; Qantas,Jetstar,Virgin Blue , bcos chances are slim , and again, there is protectionism .. they will give preference to their locals than a foreigner.

How abt New Zealand airlines.. any ideas? what r my chances..?

According to a Msian airbus instructor who is currently teaching in Korea, he told me there is oversupply of pilots in American Region due to airline companies retrenching and no airline growth there. He met an american indian who applied to AA and was rejected bcos AA does not hire americans ( unsure if wat he said is true )

The airline industry growth is currently and only happening in the Asian region.

complications of conversion fr Aust license to Msia license

btw, i remember there is a forummer here who is taking CPL in Malacca. is that u hoongji , or fillet ?
i asked this instructor again - what is a freshie's chance of getting employed in AA/MAS , currently taking CPL in Msia, self sponsored. he replied " 50% / 50% " because the airlines have their own cadets.

Again, dear forummers, what are your inputs on these problems/questions as mentioned above. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Liberator: Jul 28 2007, 01:26 AM
koopa
post Jul 29 2007, 03:17 PM

594 posts

1. MAS can. I got a fren who did that. But im not sure if he actually admit he had eye surgery. Maybe he did. I dont know.

2. MAS does not hire pilots from the states. Mostly from Iraq and Indonesia only. (correct me if im wsrong)

3. Quite slim for MAS. I think only 1-3 people from a batch can get to MAS. Last time MAS used to put private students to the Fokker and their cadets to the b737 fleet. But now theres no fokker fleet. Not until the MAS Wings takes over the rural routes in East Maysia.

This post has been edited by koopa: Jul 29 2007, 03:17 PM
Liberator
post Aug 3 2007, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(koopa @ Jul 29 2007, 03:17 PM)
1. MAS can. I got a fren who did that. But im not sure if he actually admit he had eye surgery. Maybe he did. I dont know.
koopa,
can u ask ur fren if he did declare to MAS he had eye surgery?

leongtat
post Aug 10 2007, 04:44 PM

950 posts

GOOD NEWS FOR THOSE WHO APPLY FOR SIA PILOT!
I HEARD FROM MY FREN THAT WORK UNDER SIA...
currently they are waiting for the number applicant of cadet pilot(malaysia) to hit certain number..only they will start interviewing.
most probably either oct or nov....if not next year february
so for those who intrested in applying pilot...pls make urself fast to apply at their website...
Good Luck!
kapalterbang_737
post Aug 14 2007, 07:21 PM

859 posts

pilot!
that's my dream since i was a kid
had apply for MAS but no reply
that means i'm not selected
ask my uncle to help(he's a MAS pilot-captain)
but still cannot get through
apply for AA and received rejection letter from them cry.gif

now i continue my study in architecture but i'm still looking forward to become a pilot
i bought a pilot flight manual
still reading it
a lot of things that i didn't understand but i tried my best
hopefully next tyme they'll accept me
owh
n i wear glasses
doh.gif

This post has been edited by kapalterbang_737: Aug 14 2007, 07:21 PM
Liberator
post Aug 15 2007, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Aug 14 2007, 07:21 PM)
pilot!

now i continue my study in architecture but i'm still looking forward to become a pilot
still reading it
owh
n i wear glasses
doh.gif
whr u bought the flight manual ?

kapalterbang_737
post Aug 15 2007, 10:20 PM

859 posts

at borders time square
there is only one of it left
or maybe it's the only one there
rm99
lil bit expensive for me
but it's worth buying it
IN CASE i got an interview
i should have known some basic about aviation then
icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kapalterbang_737: Aug 15 2007, 10:21 PM
Navex77
post Sep 3 2007, 06:33 PM

28 posts

SIA much better than MAS in terms of salary. Try your luck for SIA!

Added on September 3, 2007, 6:58 pm
QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Aug 14 2007, 07:21 PM)
pilot!

still reading it
owh
n i wear glasses
doh.gif
Bro, dont feel sad about your failure in application to become a pilot. Just try and try again, send your application again and again. Write your application in a right manner (Professional-like letter). For now, i think you better prepare yourself by read and learn on aviation topics, especially piloting. What does pilot entails. Wearing a glass just a small matter rather than high blood pressure or heart problem smile.gif Dont give up, and keep trying. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Navex77: Sep 3 2007, 06:58 PM
Devil_J
post Sep 30 2007, 01:08 AM

205 posts

hi there..my height is around 160 to 163.. am i still eligible to become pilot? sad.gif
re|ra sh|nobu
post Sep 30 2007, 11:38 AM

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Sep 30 2007, 01:08 AM)
hi there..my height is around 160 to 163.. am i still eligible to become pilot? sad.gif
juz give it a try. i saw lots of pilot who are a little bit taller than me (back then when i was in AA).
Even the lady pilots oso not so tall..around 160cm.. smile.gif

i got thru the AA cadet pilot selection process this year (as AA staff), until the final interview i failed.
One of the reason was Kota Bharu flying skool didnt take female cadets for the time being. so sad..

but anyway gud luck to all of u. btw my husband is a pilot in MAS. but stil in 737 fleet. biggrin.gif
Devil_J
post Sep 30 2007, 03:12 PM

205 posts

wat is AA?? i am thinking of paying myself by going to MFA there wo.. wat do u think??
re|ra sh|nobu
post Oct 1 2007, 05:52 PM

AA=AirAsia my dear... smile.gif

i think its good if u can pay by urself. just make sure u get good results if u wanna join MAS later..
honkit
post Oct 2 2007, 09:23 PM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

Heard that this sunday at Hotel Nikko got interview session for SQ. Is it true?
leongtat
post Oct 5 2007, 12:06 AM

950 posts

Yes....Im in...
kapalterbang_737
post Oct 5 2007, 04:10 AM

859 posts

thanx navex77!!
really loking forward for this job
but since i'm an architecture student
i have a lot of projects to do every week
can't get time to read the flight manual thai i've bought
i just learn the basic( bout how plane flies etc.)

since next week my holiday start
so maybe i'll spend by reading the books
haha
cannot go jalan2 raya lah~

nway is it true bout the interview for SQ this sunday??
am i eligible to join???
(i hope i can)

icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 5, 2007, 4:30 pm

aiyoo~
juz check wif the flydamnit forum
i forgot to submit the CV
coz i'm extremely busy with all these architecture project
man...
i miss a bright chance to become a pilot
what a waste for me

now i'm starting to feel down to do all those projects
if i didn't concentrate on it so much maybe i have time to apply
coz i live at hostel so no time to get home to get all details they need(passport no. etc.)
wuuu

very2 sad today
i hope they'll open for a new requirements
cry.gif

This post has been edited by kapalterbang_737: Oct 5 2007, 04:30 PM
Garfie
post Oct 13 2007, 11:32 PM

= Teh Retired Buaya Master =
3,951 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Aug 22 2006, 11:45 AM)
News update: I saw around 5 guys at at the sim building today waiting for their Psychomotor test.. and i also heard there will be an interview on the 24th this month. Good luck for those who applied.
Been reading through this thread for quite some time. koopa, are u attached to MAS SZB? I was previously there also, but in Admin 2, under Station Control. Was brought to a tour of the Engineering hangar and boarded some maintainance planes, have to say, MAS's capability in MRO is something that the company can boast about.

Even had the chance to fiddle with the black box of the plane during routine maintainance, and just to quell the general myth about the color of the black box, it ain't black. in fact, it's painted to the tone of a bright orange color...
laughing_tomato
post Oct 21 2007, 10:33 PM

375 posts

any one know when is the next intake for SIA cadet pilot?

47 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:52 PM