PILOT, PILOT

SUSdgrebel
post May 22 2007, 08:53 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(hoongji @ May 18 2007, 09:36 AM)
if you've never seen before, then you need to go out to the world and see more. your assumption is wrong.

there are more ppl like that in the Kopitiam section than pilots.

edit: and if you think pilots have pea brains, then i suggest you don't fly a plane until they put robots in the cockpit. you can rely on the 'trusty' computers to get you to the destination (assuming that the computers dont crash in middle of flight and have eyes to see unexpected conditions).
haha.. i know u would reply to that line. my flamebait was a success. thank god! rclxm9.gif

well, not many of them are like that, but i can see most of them outside (at shopping malls or wutsoever) + many of my relatives are pilots. so, i kindda observe their behaviors.

here and there, i've secluded my ignorance towards saying most pilots are bragging pricks. maybe, it's some sort of defensive and ego talks among them. they don't want to lose their job either by playing small.

nonetheless, i've to thank many pilots for bringing me down to safe haven for countless countries i've visited, including Switzerland. biggrin.gif ( i love the alps)
SUSSnake
post May 22 2007, 11:43 AM

692 posts

pilot sucks, just like any others driver, just sit there and fly.
hoongji
post May 22 2007, 12:02 PM

2,982 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ May 22 2007, 08:53 AM)
haha.. i know u would reply to that line. my flamebait was a success. thank god!  rclxm9.gif

well, not many of them are like that, but i can see most of them outside (at shopping malls or wutsoever) + many of my relatives are pilots. so, i kindda observe their behaviors.

here and there, i've secluded my ignorance towards saying most pilots are bragging pricks. maybe, it's some sort of defensive and ego talks among them. they don't want to lose their job either by playing small.

nonetheless, i've to thank many pilots for bringing me down to safe haven for countless countries i've visited, including Switzerland.  biggrin.gif ( i love the alps)
whether you are flamebaiting or not; or you are trying hard to make a turn-around, this is not kopitiam. and you should know well of the LYN r&r. your first line already can get you into trouble for some mods. no one will be dumb enough to flamebait in the first post and plead guilty in the second.

QUOTE(Snake @ May 22 2007, 11:43 AM)
pilot sucks, just like any others driver, just sit there and fly.
you suck too. because you drive a car, just like any other drivers. endangering the pedestrians.

come on, post something more constructive. and hope you enjoy the warn or holiday to mars.
bonzaimy
post May 22 2007, 05:42 PM

1,009 posts

Hey,i dont think pilot sux.I know cause they only play with the instrument inside the cockpit but if u watch Aircraft Disaster in channel 52,u will see how brave a pilot is!!

I dont think that all pilot have IQ<100...Maybe certain of them but not all!! But they meet the qualification the be a pilot ma...

I asked my instructur last time about why a company need a pilot if they can fly an aircraft using a robot...and my instructor said that " FOr passanger trust" ...i wont dare to fly with airlines who using robot to fly the aircraft..damn scare...Even the robot can fly the aircraft but they have a certain limit that their brain cannot solve certain thing and human dont have limit...If computer kaput,for sure the robot also will kaput but not human..It's for safety and we still need pilot to fly the aircraft!!! laugh.gif
SUSdgrebel
post May 22 2007, 06:12 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ May 22 2007, 05:42 PM)
Hey,i dont think pilot sux.I know cause they only play with the instrument inside the cockpit but if u watch Aircraft Disaster in channel 52,u will see how brave a pilot is!!

I dont think that all pilot have IQ<100...Maybe certain of them but not all!! But they meet the qualification the be a pilot ma...

I asked my instructur last time about why a company need a pilot if they can fly an aircraft using a robot...and my instructor said that " FOr passanger trust" ...i wont dare to fly with airlines who using robot to fly the aircraft..damn scare...Even the robot can fly the aircraft but they have a certain limit that their brain cannot solve certain thing and human dont have limit...If computer kaput,for sure the robot also will kaput but not human..It's for safety and we still need pilot to fly the aircraft!!! laugh.gif
i'll open a thread at kopitiam about this. hoongjie is welcomed for the fun of spam. laugh.gif
Liberator
post Jul 19 2007, 07:26 AM

HI. this is my 1st post in dis forum..

is dis thread still alive ? icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on July 19, 2007, 7:32 am
QUOTE(fillet @ Aug 2 2006, 11:42 PM)
BTW... doing LASER or not.... they will still look at your eye-sight before u do the laser
RU sure ?

can a person wit power ard 400, all other criterias like health , color blind test met , perform LASIK and still be able to take CPL ?

Added on July 19, 2007, 7:37 am
QUOTE(Davichi @ Jul 30 2006, 12:59 PM)
Erm guys i have sum questioon here!
erm i m from arts strem and in form 5 now isit possible to study pilot without physics in form 5?
kinda worry for this sad.gif  can someone give me some advise what should i do after spm?
without form 6(stpm) stil possible right.
or isit possible after form 5 take extra physics tuition or class?
according to MAS / AA cadet pilot website,
A.maths , fiziks are required.

according to http://www.asiapacificflighttraining.com/m...ategory/3/7/25/, one needs SPM with 5 credits inclusive of English, Mathematics and one Science subject. tat means fizik and a.maths r not needed. however, is tat the requirement for PPL or CPL ?

on the other hand, if someone wit only Eng,Bm, & general science applied and completed the CPL course locally, self sponsored, wat r his chances of getting a job ? wat if he completed it overseas (Aussie/NZ) ... chances of being offered a job?

This post has been edited by Liberator: Jul 19 2007, 07:40 AM
TStatayoung
post Jul 21 2007, 12:54 AM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

I recieved a pm saying.."let's get the thread going again.." well.. Let's do it then..
Liberator
post Jul 21 2007, 02:11 AM

QUOTE(tatayoung @ Jul 21 2007, 12:54 AM)
I recieved a pm saying.."let's get the thread going again.." well.. Let's do it then..
LOL..

i sent it to all of u ..
lets cun t-ribute... drool.gif

how ru tata, so wat r ur plans? wat ru doin now..

This post has been edited by Liberator: Jul 21 2007, 02:11 AM
koopa
post Jul 22 2007, 07:42 PM

594 posts

Ya i received the same msg.

Btw if pilots fly like normal drivers there will be alot crashes. The average death in malaysia because of road accident is 16 death per day according to NST or The Star somewhere around 30th May.

Statistic from http://www.planecrashinfo.com says that the odds of being killed on a single trip 52.6 million to 1.
GongFuChau
post Jul 22 2007, 09:07 PM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

doh.gif didnt knew there was a thread like this in jobs and careers, and i was asking abt pilots not long ago in edu thread...

So, my first question is, i'm taking SPM this year, and planning to take STPM just to give me more time to make up my mind. What i wanna ask is, except MAS, is there any other company that are also intaking cadet pilots? Air-asia is taking too right?

Sorry if i asked something stupid or had been answered, since 30+ pages is hard for me to go through... ><

Thx in advance.
TStatayoung
post Jul 22 2007, 11:06 PM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(Liberator @ Jul 21 2007, 02:11 AM)
LOL..

i sent it to all of u ..
lets cun t-ribute...  drool.gif

how ru tata, so wat r ur plans? wat ru doin now..
Me...? way too deep into mechanical engineering to even think of switching courses anytime in the near future... laugh.gif
Liberator
post Jul 22 2007, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(GongFuChau @ Jul 22 2007, 09:07 PM)
doh.gif didnt knew there was a thread like this in jobs and careers, and i was asking abt pilots not long ago in edu thread...

So, my first question is, i'm taking SPM this year, and planning to take STPM just to give me more time to make up my mind. What i wanna ask is, except MAS, is there any other company that are also intaking cadet pilots? Air-asia is taking too right?

Sorry if i asked something stupid or had been answered, since 30+ pages is hard for me to go through... ><

Thx in advance.
MAS and AA .. if i recall correctly, some1 posted that MAS n AA hav stopped taking cadet pilots.. however, tat was last year.

u can email them or keep an eye on newspapers, they'll advertise there.

meantime, concentrate on ur BM,ENG,MATHS,A.MATHs,FIZIK...... those r the subjects u should concentrate on cos tats the key subjects.

fillet
post Jul 23 2007, 02:27 AM

1,925 posts

regarding the eyesight question, it's a very very common one.

ok. Basically, Malaysia's DCA doesn't advertise the medical requirements in details. only the doctors know them.

according to the new AIC 09/2004

eyesight requirements is
"6/9 or 6/6 in each eye with or without correction."

funny....? yes.. funny to me too, they didn't mention about the uncorrected visual acuity. it used to be 6/60.

ok, i'm in a flying school as a private cadet. my school 80% is MAS cadets. there are many of them who need spectacles.

my own batch mate, 3 from MAS need specs.
1st, 150degrees each eye.
2nd, 250 degrees each eye.
3rd, 300 degrees each eye.
all of them got into MAS. and passed their medical.

1 of my seniors,
375 degrees in each eye with some degree of astigmatism,
also MAS cadet.

me,?

425 degrees each eye, and 150 degrees of astigmatism each eye.
i got my class-1 medical. and now training in one of the flying school in malaysia.

so.. What is the requirements????
i cannot answer you this, because i myself don't know, i've been searching for it on the net, but couldn't find the malaysia's requirement including DCA's website. Only the doctors will know

for you, u said about 400 degrees, i say, you should pass with no problem. but even that, i cannnot gurantee anything, a doctor will decide.

According to MCAR 14th Schedule,

"an apllicant who meet the eyesight requirements on the first medical, shall continue to do so unless there is a reason to suspect otherwise"

this phrase roughly means, if you met the requirements on the first test, you should pass your renewals even if your eyes have gotten worse and gotten outside the limits UNLESS your eyesight cannot be corrected back to 6/6 or you have some eye disease

This post has been edited by fillet: Jul 23 2007, 02:34 AM
Liberator
post Jul 24 2007, 01:13 AM

QUOTE(fillet @ Jul 23 2007, 02:27 AM)
425 degrees each eye, and 150 degrees of astigmatism each eye.
i got my class-1 medical. and now training in one of the flying school in malaysia.

for you, u said about 400 degrees, i say, you should pass with no problem. but even that, i cannnot gurantee anything, a doctor will decide.
tks for replying...

if i recall correctly, my power was ard 375-400 degrees 2yrs ago. went to TUn Hussein Onn, and got a Class 2.

checked wit a LASIK centre last week and they referred me to one of their patients who was 20yrs old. i spoke to him and he told me tat he did LASIK there 1yr ago and he will be starting his course nex month. self sponsored.

i called Dr.KEE, he told me i can only go for aviation med exam after 6 months fr the date of LASIK surgery.

i've a big Q here... at the moment, nobody can answer me..

" isit true that most companies will not hire pilots whom have had any surgery on their eyes, regardless of whether or not such a policy officially exists ? "

p/s.. fillet, u self sponsored too ?

Added on July 24, 2007, 1:22 am
BTW... doing LASER or not.... they will still look at your eye-sight before u do the laser

In my case, it was ard 400, which i got CLASS 2.

assuming i did laser, having perfect eyesight now. and gotten a CLASS 1, which is a must for ATPL, CPL..

if they look at my eye-sight b4 laser, tat would be CLASS 2, and i would not pass the Aviation Test for ATPL,CPL even though my sight is perfect now..

how ah? macam mana? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Liberator: Jul 24 2007, 01:22 AM
fillet
post Jul 24 2007, 01:26 AM

1,925 posts

i assume u went to Dr. Pall Singh? Dr. Pall Singh did not PASS me for Class-1 ...............

tell u what, you Visit Dr. Kee and consult him first. Tell him bout your condition, show him your eye test result, and well.. let him advice you. He may pass you for class-1.
i'm a self-spomnsored pilot.

I don't really recommend you to do LASIK. They will always look at your eye condition before LASIK.

JAR in the europe haven't approve them. when they do, others will follow

my eyes are worst than yours.

R: -4.25D -1.50D(Astig)
L: -4.00D -1.25D(Astig)

Uncorrected(Both better than 6/60)
R: 6/50
L:6/40

Corrected
R: 6/6
L: 6/6

This post has been edited by fillet: Jul 24 2007, 01:31 AM
Liberator
post Jul 24 2007, 01:40 AM

Yes, i went to Dr. Pal at THO..

u mentioned that they look at my eye condition b4 LASIK, how do they know i did LASIK ?

JAA regulations applies to EUropean States or isit international? how abt other continents? or other airlines..

btw, ru wearing specs now?

koopa
post Jul 24 2007, 02:15 AM

594 posts

eyesight is not a prob anymore. What u need is 2 pairs of glasses. It can be there in ur flying lisence.
fillet
post Jul 24 2007, 02:33 AM

1,925 posts

ok liberator.. Dr Pall singh is a bit hanky panky.....
i suppose you are not a bhai .........

Don't worry.. just go to Dr. Kee and talk to him.
Liberator..... i'm not sure how they know... but if they want, they can find out. and if they find out u didn't declare................. then i don't know what will happen.

This post has been edited by fillet: Jul 24 2007, 02:35 AM
Liberator
post Jul 25 2007, 12:43 AM

called dr KEE again. he told me if i were to take CPL in Australia, he cant do the med test for me...

i need to go to Tun hussein Onn..

fillet
post Jul 25 2007, 12:52 AM

1,925 posts

try to visit Dr. George Thomas in Tun hussein ONN. maybe his judgement is different form dr. pall.maybe he will pass u.
Maybe only.
Dr. Kee only said australia medical? means he can do the local medical for u la.

For the australia one,
Ask CASA to write u a letter on the eysight requirements.

Last time i went to Dr. Pall, he also fail me for AUSTRALIA CASA. but i double check3ed with CASA. they told me they don't care how powerful is your specs, as long as u can see.

This post has been edited by fillet: Jul 25 2007, 12:56 AM

47 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:52 PM