PILOT, PILOT

DeathWing
post May 28 2006, 11:27 AM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(honkit @ May 28 2006, 12:40 AM)
in febuary i've met and spoke to the SIA chief pilot ( and person who choose ppl) . he said the safest way is to get at lease 5 credits in spm, go for diploma or degree in any courses, go melaka for the flight training or so, then only u try to apply for SIA. The chances might be better. and this is what he advise for those who want to join SIA. Currently SIA are getting alot of malaysian to join SIA.
hehe
We all know that.
But the flight training part is a bit not true. The HR guy told me they prefer fresh 0 experience candidates because they want us start alike and dont want us to accumulate bad flying habits. In other words, they hate GA pilots unless you've got lots of hours in the log book.

Academic performance does count. One of the dude in my batch got Full A for his STPM and was selected for the 1st interview. From there on, degree or no degree doesnt make a big difference.

BTW, I think SIA recognizes all academy with ICAO signatory. The problem is that a fresh grad with 300 hours will still need to go through the cadet pilot selection.
DeathWing
post May 28 2006, 10:32 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(honkit @ May 28 2006, 03:57 PM)
yup, u can jump basic training in SIA. actually as what deathwing says they wants fresh candidates are true also. but the chances of joininig them very hard to say because SIA need to invest alot of money in you. for those who have already had some flight training, chances are higher. when they selected you, go for 300++ hours (not sure) of training then you can start working already. Faster!
haha,
you can put your worries aside, SIA has one of the largest budget allocated for crew training in the entire aviation industry.
Like I said, cadets = fresh.

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ May 28 2006, 04:15 PM)
Why do pilots use ICAO airport codes when the airports themselves use IATA 3 letter codes?
Not really, it depends on what kind of purpose the code is used for. Different occasion or different country, different code. The IATA codes are still more popular among mass public, that's why they're still used extensively especially when giving information to the public. But ICAO codes are definitely gaining momentum.
DeathWing
post May 31 2006, 12:54 AM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(khsj @ May 30 2006, 07:41 PM)
If im from arts stream will they still accept me? But i graduated with bachelors in IT and also doing MSc so  will they still accept me even though i have no pure science subjects?
You need at least a combined science subject to be eligible. But no harm trying right?

As for the blahblahblah company, I seriously doubt they will be able to land you an airline job upon graduation. And if they require you to submit the so called registration fees or blahblahblah, bail out immediately. smile.gif
DeathWing
post Jun 7 2006, 08:37 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Jun 7 2006, 08:20 PM)
A boeing test pilot did a real life loop-de-loop at a airshow a long time ago with a 707. Comercial aircraft can perform inverted flight, they just can't sustain it.
That's not always the case.
If the fuel system is unable to work under inverted condition. The engines will be starved, on some older planes where the primary flight surface backup hydraulics are very limited, I'm sure you cant turn it back to normal attitude.

TTATA! You've got an inverted plane falling like a rock onto the ground.
DeathWing
post Jun 7 2006, 09:02 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Jun 7 2006, 08:59 PM)
Well, if you go to youtube.com, you'll be able to see an airbus A380 do an inverted flight as well. I don't think the engines get starved so quickly (if that's how you say it).
Show me the link, I would like to see that... kekek

Anyway, we have been told not to try it. It will be a serious offence even for the simulator.
DeathWing
post Jun 11 2006, 01:58 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

LOL!
This is so 1994.
Pilots doing steward duties are not unheard of.
Guess it will be 2015 or 2016 when MAS will begin recruiting aggressively again. And the cycle begins again.
DeathWing
post Jun 11 2006, 02:03 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Jun 11 2006, 02:01 PM)
really?! XD

doh.gif:x sorry for misleading you guys to 1994...
You misunderstood me.
You're right about this MSS thing.
But this is exactly what happened in 1994 when the government bailed out MAS from bankruptcy.

Surplus of pilots, company on the brink of bankruptcy.
DeathWing
post Jun 22 2006, 12:58 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

Great idea Koopa...
But good news and bad news... Good news is that it's still on, bad news is that the waiting game has started again.
Well, no bad news is good news? Or no news is bad news? rclxub.gif
DeathWing
post Jun 30 2006, 11:10 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(MunHoe @ Jun 30 2006, 04:07 PM)
i juz heard ppl saying bout august intake, n really hope be accepted...
LOL
August intake? When did you do your MISPA? tongue.gif
Good luck all aspiring pilots.

DeathWing
post Jul 2 2006, 12:23 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(teddie @ Jul 2 2006, 12:20 PM)
i wish to make some correction/confirmation for my previous post,
TUDM does train their cadet until frozen ATPL.
SAUCE!!!
hehe..
As far as I know, they dont because there is totally no point doing so, and it makes no sense.
But well, enlighten me please.
DeathWing
post Jul 21 2006, 05:53 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

We Malaysians are the luckiest bunch as aspiring pilots.
2 major airlines actually train us from 0 hour and give us a job after that.

There is no other place in the world you can get yourself into the 737 cockpit by the age of 19. And a lucky dude I know got into the 777 right seat by the age of 20. Seriously self sponsoring is a bit pointless considering the marvelous chances of becoming a cadet pilot as Malaysians.
DeathWing
post Jul 22 2006, 11:09 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

Saw quite a number of STPM holders going for the final interview these days. They look so young that they hardly able to fit in the crowd. I actually thought those were school tours.

SIA is DESPERATELY in need of cadet pilots.

This post has been edited by DeathWing: Jul 22 2006, 11:18 PM
DeathWing
post Aug 4 2006, 09:27 AM

9V-
3,226 posts

sorry to say this but you dont choose to be an airline pilot. many people worked hard for years before achieving that. and to be an airline pilot is not as easy as you think. i just hate that the fact people keep cocking about why they didnt choose to be a pilot and got into the engineering or IT field blah blah blah.

i would like to say this again. it takes a lot more than you think to chase the flying dream. so please pay some respect.

until you get greenlight for a cadet pilot programme, dont say you're in a dilemma

ps: if you're only considering piloting because you get to travel, just forget it. i can imagine senior pilots reaction if you say that in the interview.
DeathWing
post Oct 9 2006, 12:03 AM

9V-
3,226 posts

Get a degree if you're serious about SIA.
DeathWing
post Oct 23 2006, 10:04 AM

9V-
3,226 posts

simyao, you're right, Air Force is a good way in realising the flying dream.
But the entry requirements are quite stringent especially on the flying aptitude and medical part.
Somemore, some pilot wannabes out there dont really take Air Force as a choice. I have no idea what are the reasons, but well, at least consider this an option. biggrin.gif
AirAsia has been hiring aggressively for the past years, in fact, many of the new recruits are from RMAF.
DeathWing
post Nov 10 2006, 05:01 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Nov 9 2006, 01:31 PM)
erm.. guys.. i've just been called by SIA for an interview this 19th. they require me to do an eye screening test.. any suggestions on to who i should go too? let me know in advance as i need to apply leave from my current job to set the appointment..
Any ophthalmologist will do.
But if you want to have peace of mind, you can always try Tun Hussien Onn eye hospital, quite a number of aviation specialists there.

Best of luck in the interview. smile.gif
DeathWing
post Jan 1 2007, 08:20 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

QUOTE(tytaniumism @ Jan 1 2007, 06:18 PM)
Let me answer this tongue.gif Correct me if i'm wrong

1) Definitely no. Sorry to say, please give up becoming a pilot if you're color blind.
2) As long as your vision is adjusted to 6/60 (with or without the help of eyewear)
3) I think no concern... you can even tatoo on your butts
4) Basically no, but there might be age limit if you're enrolling in cadet pilot program offered by airline company e.g. MAS
1. There is a chance you might get your Class 1 if you are able to pass the lantern test after failing the Ishihara colour test but honestly it seriously affects your chance of getting into a cadet pilot program.
2. Vision correctable to 6/6 with 6/60 unaided refers to the minimum requirement of the various cadet pilot programs such as SIA, AirAsia and MAS. It does not however, reflects the true standard of a Class 1 medical. But as far as I know, the CAAS (Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore) has roughly the same thing for their Class 1.
3. Tattoo should not affect your chance of getting your Class 1, BUT it is noted down during the medical examination and thus might affect your chance of getting selected into the cadet pilot program.
4. AFAIK, MAS cadet pilot program has a upper limit for age of 26, 28 for AirAsia and "early thirties" for SIA.
DeathWing
post Jan 13 2007, 06:10 PM

9V-
3,226 posts

hey limo driver, guess you dont really know about the aviation scene in this region, are you?

hoongji, finish your ATPL yet? When are you leaving for Jandakot?
Anyway, batch 126 briefing will be on 18th Jan.

0.0244sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:57 AM