OH MY GOD, My friend blood pressure is 230!

TSedifgrto
post Sep 18 2006, 02:45 PM, updated 20y ago

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

Hello? Anyone know what this blood pressure all about?
Mine is only 140. But my this friend went for a blood pressure test...

he got 230!!!?

So, the hospital immediately asking him to be hospitalised and check.
What does this means?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

How to make blood pressure lower???? icon_question.gif

mystvearn
post Sep 18 2006, 02:54 PM

6,639 posts

high blood pressure due to:
eat food lots of salt
stroke
lack exercise
lack water/fluids
temper-quite common

How to make lower?
opposite the effects
TSedifgrto
post Sep 18 2006, 03:01 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

thanks... actually he is thinner than me... but blood pressure is so much different. One thing for sure, he seldom exercise...
GymBoi
post Sep 18 2006, 03:43 PM

1,401 posts

230 wtf ? Should be machine rosak la .. 230 confirm comma ( or watever spelling that it ) oredi la .. the blood vessel in ur brain sure pecah ... normal i think it's 120/80 ... juz my personal view .. not 100% accurate
TSedifgrto
post Sep 18 2006, 03:47 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Sep 18 2006, 03:43 PM)
230 wtf ? Should be machine rosak la .. 230 confirm comma ( or watever spelling that it ) oredi la .. the blood vessel in ur brain sure pecah ... normal i think it's 120/80 ... juz my personal view .. not 100% accurate

Mate, you make me worried already. He is going to stay in Hospital for 3 days soon. sweat.gif

230 is too serious already? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by edifgrto: Sep 18 2006, 03:48 PM
SUSvkeong
post Sep 18 2006, 03:54 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

normal is 120/80

your friend is 230.. almost double .. u say need to hospitalize or not leh? laugh.gif

better checkup smile.gif
Syd G
post Sep 18 2006, 07:23 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

***I said something here whistling.gif ***

Get a 2nd opinion. Maybe hospital just fake it to increase revenue (ok this is just a pointless accusation).

btw, edifgrto...ur bp is high too

This post has been edited by Syd G: Sep 18 2006, 08:18 PM
halglory
post Sep 18 2006, 07:41 PM

NEEDS MOAR OF IT
995 posts

actually...there's a study that proved that weight and size does not determine how high or how low ur blood pressure is...as a matter of fact, thin people tend to have a higher chance of high blood pressure
TSedifgrto
post Sep 18 2006, 07:58 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 18 2006, 07:23 PM)
Holy crap 230 can die already o_O

touch wood...
Touch wood!!!!!!!!!!! Please take back everything you said!

Get a 2nd opinion. Maybe hospital just fake it to increase revenue (ok this is just a pointless accusation).

btw, edifgrto...ur bp is high too

I was really surprised loh...
Really my bp also high?! Last time I go checkup for my insurance. That doctor said me very healthy bp leh????!?

Syd G
post Sep 18 2006, 08:17 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

cause my friend 150 already got hospitalized sweat.gif . ok ok I take it back oops.gif

Your bp is on the high side cause normal 120/80 only. It's not high enough to be life-threatening but just be careful ya wink.gif
malaysianPotato
post Sep 18 2006, 11:24 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 18 2006, 02:54 PM)
high blood pressure due to:
eat food lots of salt
stroke
lack exercise
lack water/fluids
temper-quite common

How to make lower?
opposite the effects
you're mixing the cause and effects... also one of the symptoms leading up to high blood pressure is water retention, which is what increases blood pressure, so lack of water/fluids is inaccurate.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Sep 18 2006, 11:26 PM
darun
post Sep 19 2006, 09:39 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(halglory @ Sep 18 2006, 07:41 PM)
actually...there's a study that proved that weight and size does not determine how high or how low ur blood pressure is...as a matter of fact, thin people tend to have a higher chance of high blood pressure
Actually thats true of cholesterol level as well, age, weight and size isnt a good indicator. I remember when I just graduated from uni, I was quite slim but my cholesterol was way off the norm. So its always good to do a check up yearly regardless of how old/thin/fit you are.
TSedifgrto
post Sep 19 2006, 09:26 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Sep 18 2006, 11:24 PM)
you're mixing the cause and effects... also one of the symptoms leading up to high blood pressure is water retention, which is what increases blood pressure, so lack of water/fluids is inaccurate.

Means... not matter how much water we drink. If water retention of our body not stable. Still would got high blood pressure? unsure.gif

He this coming Thursday going to stay in hospital for 3 days. Now got something to settle down...

wowmas
post Sep 19 2006, 09:39 PM

724 posts

O MI TO HUT

malaysianPotato
post Sep 19 2006, 09:45 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(wowmas @ Sep 19 2006, 09:39 PM)
O MI TO HUT
what? shakehead.gif
empire23
post Sep 20 2006, 02:46 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Well i guess the 5 great causes are

- Diet
- Stress
- Genetic conditions
- Renal Failure causing over hydration
- I forgot the 5th.

Well, assuming it's that insanely high, maybe you could suggest your pal pop some calcium channel inhibitors down his throat since you said obesity isn't an issue and sometimes stress is unavoidable. Stress management courses and regular exercise help alot too. Exercise helps by stressing the aorta and major veins and arteries so that they don't stiffen over time and give into IIRC Chirosis or was it Fibrosis?
iDk
post Sep 20 2006, 09:36 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Sep 19 2006, 09:45 PM)
what?  shakehead.gif
LOOOL!!!!!!
Yes, WHAT?!?!?!

Jcsy
post Sep 20 2006, 09:42 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

230 he stroke liao lar
die liao

maybe not accurate leh
LunatikBunnie
post Sep 20 2006, 09:42 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Sep 20 2006, 09:36 AM)
LOOOL!!!!!!
Yes, WHAT?!?!?!
I think he meant amitabha or something(the buddhist chant thing)
inoitu
post Sep 20 2006, 10:07 AM

1,526 posts

What! He should be warded immediately, not delayed like laaer after settling other issues. Best BP reading should be having both dystolic and systolic? If a person is excited the top reading can go very high. After resting a few hours should level of.

0.0161sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:33 PM