Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

ssyycc
post Nov 2 2015, 02:34 PM

Mr.
920 posts

I just got my java fit 16. It's way easier to ride than dahon because of the 451 tyre, and everthing is a lot stiffer in java.
Another big drawback for java fit it's body is too short for many adults (including me).
So need to ride with bit upright position.
The first thing I need to change will be the handle which made of very hard rubber.

This post has been edited by ssyycc: Nov 2 2015, 02:42 PM
ssyycc
post Nov 2 2015, 03:10 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 2 2015, 03:07 PM)
handle grips u mean
Haha, I am not very sure how to call it. It's the rubber that we grab on. smile.gif
ssyycc
post Nov 3 2015, 07:59 PM

Mr.
920 posts

After all the thought about folding bike performance.
Should buy some entry level one or mid range model.
No point having a 18 speed or 20 speed folding bike, it will still much slower than 16 speed road bike smile.gif
it just too much money spent on marketing their product, and make you feel good buying extremely expensive stuff.
Try to get performance in folding bike is a bit stupid to me.

This post has been edited by ssyycc: Nov 3 2015, 08:08 PM
ssyycc
post Nov 3 2015, 09:40 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Nov 3 2015, 08:57 PM)
How to beat road bike / mountain bike using folding bike with same gear? Izit I have to double up my cadence, smoother gear shift or corner faster than them?  Bigger wheel is an advantage for them
Haha, all type of bike has their purpose, so folding bike suppose to be small and fun to ride. I think everyone now is trying to compare bikes too much. smile.gif
ssyycc
post Nov 3 2015, 09:40 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Nov 3 2015, 08:57 PM)
How to beat road bike / mountain bike using folding bike with same gear? Izit I have to double up my cadence, smoother gear shift or corner faster than them?  Bigger wheel is an advantage for them
Haha, all type of bike has their purpose, so folding bike suppose to be small and fun to ride. I think everyone now is trying to compare bikes too much. smile.gif
ssyycc
post Nov 4 2015, 07:55 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(seling13 @ Nov 4 2015, 05:58 PM)
May be top up a bit, go for Tern D16
Keep to your budget, if keep topping up...haha no limit one.
ssyycc
post Nov 5 2015, 08:13 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 5 2015, 07:10 PM)
I got an AAA powered front and back light for RM16 from MrDIY while saving some money for those branded USB powered one cost 10x more.
Daiso even cheaper, rm5.3
ssyycc
post Nov 9 2015, 09:51 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(hidekoywk @ Nov 9 2015, 07:35 PM)
JPY305k = RM10.7k @@"

but the bike really look deadly~ lol
like birdy price alredy

This post has been edited by ssyycc: Nov 9 2015, 09:54 PM
ssyycc
post Nov 15 2015, 08:58 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 14 2015, 05:39 PM)
Hi guys, after almost 20 years didn't ride a bicycle , now wanna get back to it but I was never really into its technical aspects. What would be a good one below rm500? Is shinamo gears a must ?

i saw one frs/trs brand with shinamo gears for 550 (foldable) while others china brand can go below that maybe 300. I was wondering if I should go for cheaper one since that brand also seems fake brand anyways.

I imagine the use case would be for leisure but sometimes might wanna use it to work
P/s I think it is the trs buddy bike

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/260796/trs-...-foldaber-bikes
Cheap foldie is usually very heavy, and if you going to carry that often it will going to hurt your back. Regardless of the price, just make sure the bike is light and sturdy.

ssyycc
post Nov 16 2015, 12:01 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 16 2015, 10:22 AM)
Also possible with more expensive (e.g. Tern) though. Best to check out with other owners. I bought XDS, that and Trinx are more budget (still > 500) but other owners told me would be fairly good quality. Heard bad reports on this thread about those groupon bikes though.
I think using the weight as standard will be good, ideally it should be as light as possible.
Anything less than 13kg is great, 14 or 15kg is not that good (on the exception of dahon steel bike)
Normally the quality of bike is assured when they willing to use lighter frame quality.

Then try fold the bike yourself, see how easy to fold, and you see all kind of quality issue when you fold it(the joint, the hinge, the loosing part).

So then we will eliminate the influence of selling price and brands and able to make good judgement smile.gif.

This post has been edited by ssyycc: Nov 16 2015, 12:08 PM
ssyycc
post Nov 17 2015, 09:52 AM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 17 2015, 09:40 AM)
Thanks sifu. Do you mean if more expensive ones won't rattle as fast? If I go for non foldie within that price range all problem solve right ?
Yes 500 buy a MTB, will not have any issue at all.
ssyycc
post Nov 17 2015, 09:52 AM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 17 2015, 09:40 AM)
Thanks sifu. Do you mean if more expensive ones won't rattle as fast? If I go for non foldie within that price range all problem solve right ?
Yes 500 buy a MTB, will not have any issue at all.
ssyycc
post Nov 22 2015, 12:25 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Nov 21 2015, 11:21 PM)
End result posted by d owner.... not bad hor
its nice art masterpiece

ssyycc
post Nov 23 2015, 05:37 PM

Mr.
920 posts

wanna ask anyone upgrade their chainring before, mine is 52t/42t
If upgrade to 55T/44T , is it compatible?
front derailleur is Shimano FD2300
ssyycc
post Nov 23 2015, 07:57 PM

Mr.
920 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 23 2015, 07:36 PM)
What is the advantage you seek?  If you want more higher gears (faster but more power needed) then 'YES' . If you want more range, you won't get more lower gears, only more higher gears and also you will lose a few lowers. The normal standard is 52/39T. Some cannot even push that hard and wants more friendlier and accommodating gears use what they called , " compact crank " which is 50/36T. So,again, what is it that you seek?  hmm.gif
Apparently speed smile.gif
My current speed top at 30kmph, and there are too many low gears that i think will never use.
Or maybe i shouldnt upgrade since the bike won't be stable as those bigger bike. Still thinking about it.

0.0460sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:57 AM