Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

lingdaowen
post Apr 3 2015, 09:50 PM

Hi sifus, if im looking for a foldie at a range of RM5k-7k.. what bike would you guys recommend? Preferably dahon or Tern.. Thanks!
lingdaowen
post Apr 4 2015, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 4 2015, 03:17 PM)
Your budget allows you to a whole range of choices BUT what is your purpose?  hmm.gif  Where are you riding it, will you join a group eventually, how often will you ride, your storage space, how you want to carry your bike etc,etc. You need to set a guideline before anyone can actually advise. Off coursr I can say, get the Brompton which is incidently within your budget, but will it serve your purpose?

If you want to try out first, then get a Dahon or Tern first and see if you are still gamed in riding after riding for a while or maybe join a group for their weekly rides. Only then, you can pinpoint what you actually want  and also by then, I don't think you need advise from here. You can already form an opinion of your own.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I have been riding road bikes all this time.. thinking of venturing into the folding bike group.. im looking for a fast foldie bike, some long distance riding weekly.. maybe can add some accessories for touring in the future

transporting the bike around is not a problem.. there are too many models which made me quite confuse as im still new to folding bike haha.. just not very sure what models to look into.
lingdaowen
post Apr 4 2015, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 4 2015, 04:45 PM)
biggrin.gif  OK that narrowed down to fast folding bikes and that's velos, folding velos.  If I have the budget like yours in one go, I will go for the Pacific IF Reach. But that's just me. Other than that will be the Dahon Dash. Also you need to consider what kind of bar, drop bar, bullhorn or straight bar?
For the bar I think I can upgrade it later on right? Still not sure what kind of bar to use yet.. I have looked up at tern's verge and eclipse series.. Can they both be use as touring too ?

I will check out the pacific IF reach and dash and see smile.gif
lingdaowen
post Apr 4 2015, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 4 2015, 07:26 PM)
For straight bar, you need the straight bar shifter and for drop bar you need brifters or TT shifters. So, it is prudent to actually decide first instead of modifying again later. And since touring is in your mind, probably the straight bar or the butterfly bar is more ideal. I would say if you want to do touring, it is better to get a chromoly frame as they absorb bumps better and also rides more comfortably. Aluminium is too rigid and very bumpy for long rides. Also for touring , it is better to get 406 (20 inch) wheelset as tire choices are more where else 451 (22 inch) is only limited to slick tires. Schwalbe produces good touring tires, notably the Marathon series.

One of the most versatile and proven foldie for touring is the Dahon Speed. Shown here is a unit used extensively all over Malaysia and even from Raub to Cameron Highlands via the Sg. Koyan route. This unit is fitted with a Rohloff 14 speed internal gear hub for easy maintenance and also the butterfly bar. Frame is also chromoly.

Shown here is also the same bike with another two Dahon Speeds which we rode from Kampar to Sitiawan and back.

What model of Dahon speed is this? Is it the P8 or D8?
lingdaowen
post Apr 20 2015, 10:56 PM

New Dahon Speed 8 checking in ! tongue.gif Attached Image
lingdaowen
post Apr 27 2015, 10:09 PM

May I know which shop sells kinetix pro wheels?

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 27 2015, 04:57 PM)
Lovely orange & red Kinetix Pro X wheels.  thumbup.gif

Is that available locally? I think only available online.

I believe only available in 20". Would be perfect if they had 24".

0.0212sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:32 PM