kof91
post Nov 27 2014, 08:31 PM

82 posts

dr hon and dahon route both rm899
hummer is rm699

Which one is worth it? I am new to bicycle, wan to look for a nice ride for leisure but shop boss keep recommending me the first 2 bikes..

kof91
post Nov 28 2014, 12:09 AM

82 posts

[quote=frankie chin,Nov 27 2014, 09:28 PM]
[quote=kof91,Nov 27 2014, 09:31 PM]

dr hon and dahon route both rm899
hummer is rm699

Which one is worth it? I am new to bicycle, wan to look for a nice ride for leisure but shop boss keep recommending me the first 2 bikes..

[/quot

for me i go 4 dahon smile.gif......tho i m a newbie w foldies ..as i received it to day....d ride n d fittings r good .

[/quote]
Both are 2nd hand, dunno where to check for market price here...
kof91
post Nov 28 2014, 09:22 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(SJ18 @ Nov 28 2014, 06:53 AM)
For that price, u might as well buy a new 1. U can checkout following  :

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/251427/dr-hon-vybe-c7a

The price can still nego ... Cheers !
ahh thanks.. but I am in Johor, any good shop to recommend in Johor/JB region?
kof91
post Nov 28 2014, 04:29 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Nov 28 2014, 03:16 PM)
khassbicycles.com biggrin.gif

quite reputable. can haggle brows.gif
yeah I found khassbicycles after some searching, almost tempted to go jb tomorrow until I found a local shop that has dahon vybe for rm1k so I can save the trouble to travel to jb (I am in batu pahat)
They also have java TT 7 at rm850 wonder which one should I go for? (I never own a foldable before)
As usual they are trying to push some china brand to me instead.
kof91
post Nov 28 2014, 10:02 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(SJ18 @ Nov 28 2014, 09:10 PM)
Best that u buy from nearest dealer. As most Vybe in market now is still 2014 model, u shud try to nego as in KL, some shops r letting it go for ~900. For brand, after personally chatting with a 4 to 5 shops, Dahon is still the better brand as more established. Like u, I am also new 2 foldies and reading from all the sifu comments in this forum, good brands are Dahon, Tern...
yeah same here.. I read everywhere everyone recommending dahon as beginner bike other brand kinda hard to come by too.

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 28 2014, 09:29 PM)
Try calling Jimmy (the boss) at Kimbell Jaya at 012-2927636 and enquire. His shipment has just arrived and talk to him. He can also send your bikes to your doorstep. Either you want to tune up yourself or ask him to take out the bike, tune it and pack it back into the box and then send it to you. Even Sarawak and Sabah customers have bought from him. No harm calling him.
okies thanks, will give him a call tomorrow

any sifu knows what is the different btw dahon vybe c7s and c7a?
also how to tell if the dahon bike component (gear etc) is stock factory component?
kof91
post Nov 28 2014, 10:11 PM

82 posts

btw I also found one oyama foldie looks quite nice too.. shop quoted me 1k as well

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 28 2014, 10:06 PM)
where got everywhere oso rekemen dahon as beginner bike leh.... heheh... biggrin.gif
I am bias towards dahon.. slightly pricier guess I proly not gonna change anything until broken..
hopefuly I can stay away from this tered to avoid being poisoned..

kof91
post Nov 28 2014, 10:15 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 28 2014, 10:10 PM)
Same design but different materials.  c7s ,  S is steel ,while the c7a, A is aluminium.  S rides better but heavier and it rusts, A is a harsher ride because it's stronger and ridgid but much lighter. If you want to upgrade to 8.9 or 10 speed later, better to get the c7a as the RD hanger is easier to mod while the c7s is just a slim plate and putting on an RD hanger is harder BUT possible. Kimbell Jaya has modded a few before to using Acera  RD and shifters, 8 speed.

What you buy when the bike comes initially is the stock factory component.  tongue.gif No bike shops will want to change it. Don't worry.
I see, I will ask tomorrow, so go for the c7a model, thanks thumbup.gif

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Nov 28 2014, 10:12 PM)

see what I mean by poison? sweat.gif
kof91
post Nov 29 2014, 11:37 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 28 2014, 10:23 PM)
Ubike frm taiwan.... full carbon  biggrin.gif folding bike....
that is rm16k sweat.gif
kof91
post Nov 30 2014, 07:33 PM

82 posts

Reporting back in
Went with my fren on sat to nego price for Dahon vybe but my fren ended up buying Java Pro for rm850 (I think it is the same as Java TT 7?)
Unfortunately the shop do now allow test drive of vybe, so I am unable to make any comparison. They also refuse to budge on the price for vybe.. so fix price @rm1k..

Tested his Java Pro today, quite nice ride.
They also have a higher spec Java Fit (rm1600 way over budget drool.gif )
I am getting more confused rclxub.gif dunno how to choose.. sweat.gif

btw I called Jimmy too, he said 2014 Dahon vybe is completely out of stock but can try and source for 2013 model for me, bout rm60 cheaper compared of getting locally..

This post has been edited by kof91: Nov 30 2014, 07:37 PM

0.3916sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:33 AM