Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

cybersim2
post Sep 9 2015, 01:40 PM

503 posts

Dear Sifus,

I plan to buy a decent folding bike for exercise / leisure. My budget is ~ RM1.5K.
After doing some research, I scale down my choices to these 2 bikes
1. Dahon Vybe D7
2. Java Fit S16
I'm not sure I will upgrades the parts in the future or whether the parts can be upgrade or not ? I noticed everyone recommend Dahon Speed D8 here. It is worth to stretch my budget to get speed. Please help !! TQ
cybersim2
post Sep 10 2015, 01:44 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 10 2015, 08:42 AM)
Hi cybersim,
Pls refer back to page 122. We covered this comparison already.
Sorry PaulKong. There are only 116 page inside this forum.
Are you referring to previous version?

cybersim2
post Sep 10 2015, 01:48 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 10 2015, 09:01 AM)
Hi, i also surveying the foldie now. this is my answer for you question
1. dahon, better frame build but low end component. ( good/worht for upgrade later )
2. java , 1.5k pao everything. but not sure about frame.

Digest this link. it should be give u some idea which to pick.
http://handsonbike.blogspot.sg/p/cheap-vs-premium-bikes.html
Trinx also.  tongue.gif
That's y I'm in dilemma. Good frame or Good Component ! Only can choose one with my budget
I guess $$ will solve all my worry
cybersim2
post Sep 10 2015, 04:33 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Sep 10 2015, 04:26 PM)
rm2200 u can get MU or Vigor. Personally i prefer vigor over MU. which i going to get this week. lol. Happy hunting bro !  icon_rolleyes.gif
How bout Dahon Speed D8 ? Many sifus said it have the best frame.
Vybe, Vitesse, their gear izit upgradable ?

This post has been edited by cybersim2: Sep 10 2015, 04:38 PM
cybersim2
post Sep 13 2015, 12:47 PM

503 posts

Anyone know does local Dahon model come with saddle post built in pump?
cybersim2
post Sep 14 2015, 11:17 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 14 2015, 07:36 AM)
as far as i know only until dahon 2012 version got seat post pump.later model dont have any seat post pump anymore but u can buy the seatpost pump undername biologic.

i think i saw it at billiybikeshop at taiping
Hmm... coz I saw Youtube review, even the latest Dahon come with seat pump.
I guess angmo version got better spec than Asian version (refering to Dahon Vybe D7 here)

cybersim2
post Sep 15 2015, 11:54 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 14 2015, 09:24 PM)
Actually, it is a effective pump. Fast, especially for high volume tires like Big Apples BUT as you said , it is heavy, very heavy in fact. When I was riding in a group, almost 6 person has that pump so, I changed my seat post to a lighter one but later on I changed back to the Biologic. Why? Because those lighter seat post like GUB or Litepro can only take 75 kgs and I am almost 100 kgs. It squeaks!  laugh.gif  No choice for me, hihihi.

Dahon has stopped putting in the pump because they have ceased getting Biologic as their OEM manufacturers. Biologic sided Tern.  icon_rolleyes.gif

If you are interested in the concept, there are many pumps that are cyclindrical and can fit into a normal seatpost. You just need to get those PVC pipe fittings and modify it and hold the pump inside without dislodging and rattling inside the seat post. Most importantly, it doesn't drop out of the seat post when you ride as foldie's seat tube are hollow all the way down to the tarmac. laugh.gif
Seat Pump, Mini Hand Pump, CO2 Inflator, which one is more practical ?
cybersim2
post Oct 9 2015, 10:02 AM

503 posts

Plan to buy a mini pump. Can anyone recommend which one is good and value for $ ?
cybersim2
post Oct 21 2015, 04:48 PM

503 posts

Can anyone tell me what is the use of handle grip with bar end ?
Heard it is banned in some country during group ride.
cybersim2
post Oct 23 2015, 03:39 PM

503 posts

Talking about gear, may I know what is the maximum gears we can upgrade for our foldies ? Crankset x Freewheel
cybersim2
post Oct 30 2015, 11:07 AM

503 posts

Hi ! Do you guys ride in rain ? Mind to share what clothes and shoes do you wear ?
Got a few cycling events during this monsoon season
cybersim2
post Nov 3 2015, 08:57 PM

503 posts

How to beat road bike / mountain bike using folding bike with same gear? Izit I have to double up my cadence, smoother gear shift or corner faster than them? Bigger wheel is an advantage for them
cybersim2
post Nov 6 2015, 10:18 AM

503 posts

Anyone use this kind of ABS protective seat post cover ? Claim to be able to reduce the scratch on seat post but wonder how reliable is it ? hmm.gif
cybersim2
post Nov 9 2015, 11:59 AM

503 posts

What is the possible upgrade for this shifter above ?
May I know can I change new shifter but use the existing cable and housing ?
cybersim2
post Nov 10 2015, 09:29 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 9 2015, 01:37 PM)
If you want to upgrade this, you have to upgrade 2 items. The brake levers and also the shifter itself. You can go for Shimano Deore brake levers and also the Shimano 8 speed shifters. Yes you can use back the original cables and housing. If you are upgrading both the items, might as well add another 100 plus bucks and upgrade to Deore V-brakes as well, that is if you are using V-brakes lah!  laugh.gif

Unfortunately I'm using disc brake. Where can I download guides on how to disassemble the shifter and brake levers cable ? Can't seem to find it in Youtube. One more thing, can I use 9/10 x 3 speed shifter although my existing gear is only 8x2. Plan to change to smoother shifter and brake level first then gear in the future
cybersim2
post Nov 17 2015, 10:13 AM

503 posts

Anyone here using FnHon frame ? Thinking of buying one to built my own foldy.
Any particular model to recommend ?
cybersim2
post Nov 17 2015, 03:59 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 17 2015, 10:21 AM)
Fny.Hon is the same people who are contracted to build Dahon's frame, only without the warranty. It;s quite good actually. Customizing is very expensive but you are getting what you atually wanted without wasting un=used parts later. FnHon has most of Dahon's design, only size is what you need to consider. 14, 16, 18 or 20 inch?
Size referring to wheel size ? Looking at 20 inch model. Dahon Speed frame is good but quite old

Tern Verge and Dahon Vigor P9 frame is it the same ?

0.0534sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:45 AM