Intended to buy Hummer 26" folding bike. Any good shop to recommend?
Just curious, is the bike can use for offroad? Anyone tried it before?
Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Mar 19 2015, 07:34 AM
291 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Intended to buy Hummer 26" folding bike. Any good shop to recommend? Just curious, is the bike can use for offroad? Anyone tried it before? |
Mar 23 2015, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 19 2015, 11:48 AM) I don't think this is intended for off road riding although it does describe itself as mountain bike. The main drawback of this bike is the pivot where the folds turns. It's very weak in construction and the main complaints is the pivot and the pivot clamp (the thing you use to tighten the bike when unfolded). This is even when they do not do off road so imagine if you were to use it often offroad. Secondly it is the weight of this bike. It is really heavy. You going to get hernia riding uphill on offroad. I see, is anyone tried it before for offroad? Noted its quite heavy, but at least can it do medium trail? |
Mar 23 2015, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(180jin @ Mar 19 2015, 01:44 PM) The components are not in any way high grade, but usable. It's doable for light trails but definitely not as pleasant an experience as a non-folding MTB. Noted, is there any recommended shop?And yes, like etigge said, the quick release in the middle is one of the weakest point. I broke mine after 2 months of riding it but I managed to get an original QR from Montague and it's been good eversince. Frame itself is ok, feels alright, but just heavy due to low grade alloy. |
| Change to: | 0.1253sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:34 PM |