Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

Rev (^_^')
post Dec 3 2014, 04:29 PM

103 posts

Hi. Want to ask opinion. I need a folding bike but I got rm500 only.
Need a transport to get around my campus faster. I hate walking.
But the problem is my campus is full of steep hill.

With the specs mentioned, can these bikes climb well? Sorry I have zero knowledge about bicycle gears. cry.gif

http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...T_Goods-3&nlp=1
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/240092/trs-20-08-folding-bike
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/232104/trs-...um-folding-bike
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=8#detail

Which is the best? Or any other recommendation? Should I save more money? cry.gif
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Dec 6 2014, 09:57 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 3 2014, 07:23 PM)
if u live on campus
buy a cheap used mtb with wider gear range,
if u can just lock the bike on campus, no nid to bring home,
no one will curi, cos used beat mtb tarak org mau...
later u can sell to junior..
Thank you for the advice! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Aug 3 2015, 11:01 PM

103 posts

What? Even put bike in bag still cannot enter the train during peak hours? Dem. My workplace from the train station is quite far i just thought about buying a new folding bike so I don't have to walk so far anymore. Taxi very expensive. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Aug 5 2015, 10:48 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 4 2015, 05:41 PM)
i think the triangle will do, but the front part can be open with tools.the bike is aluminium, so the price for used/recycle part for aluminium is quite high

i think better u try borrow any bag from your friends or forumer here to test out.if carry in bag can be done even within peak hour, so what u need is to buy the bag only!
QUOTE(o.d @ Aug 5 2015, 07:55 AM)
Yeah there's nothing can hold to the front part. Ok, will try that, I think when in bag not many people would know what's inside. I'll buy the bag and try and see what happens.
Yeah.. When I got my foldie, I'll try to put it in a bag and try to sneak in. It's not fair. Foldies are not so big why do they have to make that kind of rules. Are they against a greener country? mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Aug 5 2015, 11:27 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Aug 4 2015, 04:56 PM)
anyone can help?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Sorry. I've been comparing lately and I think USJ Cycles is the most expensive! blink.gif Try look around in bicyclebuysell.com.
Rev (^_^')
post Aug 6 2015, 01:50 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Aug 6 2015, 06:55 AM)
what about the bicycles i found? are those good in that price range? I am not an expert in bicycle or foldies , still learning
Raleigh Ugo RM699
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/240070/rale...ajang-kl-cheras
Trinx RM990
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/291662/bran...bike-2015-model
XDS RM890
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/291183/xds-...-20-quot-afb270
Dahon SUV RM850
http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/282582/dahon-suv-d6-2015yr

See the big difference in price. XD
Raleigh is okay but I read somewhere that the folding is not so compact. And it's quite heavy. I dunno about the others.

QUOTE(o.d @ Aug 6 2015, 08:55 AM)
Last time is when eh? Because lately lrt become more crowded, maybe that's why. I think if not seen by authority can, but if from my station, it is very crowded and depends on that to be able to sneak in without bag.
I will gety bag next Monday and will try this and let u know.
Awesome. Let me know how it goes. Later when I got my bike I'll let you know if I success at KTM Commuter. Haha. thumbup.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Aug 10 2015, 10:25 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(Aeon89 @ Aug 6 2015, 07:04 PM)
In terms of performance, Dahon good or Raleigh in that category?
I'm not sure about this. I want to know too. Guys, please help us. icon_question.gif

QUOTE(o.d @ Aug 8 2015, 04:45 PM)

Thanks for the info. That's good to know. rclxms.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Sep 6 2015, 01:57 AM

103 posts

Thanks so much for sharing! notworthy.gif

Guys, I am looking for a used Dahon bike. Anyone want to sell?

icon_question.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Sep 11 2015, 11:42 AM

103 posts

What's the gears for? Does it means 21 speed can climb hills better than 6 speed? Sorry.. never have bike with gears lol.
Rev (^_^')
post Sep 14 2015, 04:42 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 12 2015, 02:47 PM)
Do you understand the workings of a chain block? You know, when the car mechanic is taking out the engine from the car, they hang it on a chain mechanism. With light effort you can raise the heavy engine and lower it down as well. Same principle as the bicycle gearings.

If one turn from the front turns one turn at the back, that's 1 : 1 ratio. Usually the normal bike is 1 : 4 , meaning one turn of the pedal is 4 turns of the wheels behind. This is easy on a flat road.

What happens if you hit a slope and you can't seem to turn the pedals? That's where the gears comes in. We lower the gear, that is one turn from the pedal, turns only half the normal at the wheel. This makes pedalling easier but shorter distance. And if you go higher slopes, you lower your gear even more, making it one turn of the pedal and only one turn at the rear, making ratio 1 : 1 and this makes it even easier to pedal up the slope. So to summarize, the lesser the rear turns at one revolution of the pedals or cranks, we call it, the lower the gear and the easier it is to pedal. BUT if you use this setting on a flat road, the effort is so light that you will be free wheeling like a dog swimming.

For a road bike, the lowest gear is 1 : 1.39 ratio but in some instances, different cassette it goes to 1 : 1.3. This is the standard road bike crank lah! laugh.gif  There's another type called compact crank which is smaller which makes the ratio go a little bit more lower.

For a mountain bike, the lowest gear is 1 : 0.6 and now with the latest 11 speed from the Shimano XT and XTR it goes even further down to 1 : 0.55. That's how low the mountain bike can go. The front crank's chainring is smaller than the rear.  tongue.gif

Hope I answered it in the simplest way.  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 12 2015, 11:52 PM)
I always enjoy reading your explanation 👍👍👍
Thank you very much! Took me a while but I think I get it now. notworthy.gif

Btw I am buying this bike. This one is okay? For leisure only. icon_question.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/hachiko-folding-b...7-01-Sale-I.htm

This post has been edited by Rev (^_^'): Sep 14 2015, 06:37 AM
Rev (^_^')
post Sep 18 2015, 02:10 PM

103 posts

Anyone selling used Dahon C7A or SUV? icon_question.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Oct 9 2015, 07:37 PM

103 posts

I see a lot of people use this kind of saddle. Why? Is it comfortable because it looks uncomfortable. sweat.gif

Rev (^_^')
post Oct 17 2015, 10:57 PM

103 posts

How do I fit a 20" foldie into a myVi trunk? Is it possible if I don't want to kacau the back seat of the car? icon_question.gif
Rev (^_^')
post Oct 20 2015, 02:35 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 18 2015, 12:53 AM)
I think you can. I can do it in a Kancil. Fold it as usual and then take off the back parcel top of the Myvi ( I am not sure if this is possible though! ). Then release the back seat latch but you don't have to fold it in. The passenger have to sit a bit upright, that's all. The folded bike should be able to sit upright at the back now.
QUOTE(dieoledi @ Oct 19 2015, 04:28 PM)
like etigge said, just take off the back parcel, fold you bike and put it in, get something to hold it to make sure the bike won't move when you break or cornering.
My C7S always in my Myvi, not big issue.
I'll try this and report back about how it goes soon. Thank you! notworthy.gif

0.0488sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:25 PM