Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(anykti @ May 27 2015, 10:15 AM) hehe ok! started short exercise sessions every weekday evening after work. weekends maybe will find parks around klang valley to cycle.  May i know whr you bought and how much?
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 11:44 AM
New in this. Can someone recommend me a folding bike which is below rm700. Lighter,easier to flod and ease of portability would be better. Usage commute around uni and places nearby uni. Thanks!
This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: May 27 2015, 11:53 AM
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2015, 12:41 PM) You can get the Trinx 16 inch folding bikes. Comes with rear gearings and also within your budget. Easy to ride and folds compactly. I think can get in Kimbell Jaya for about 600 bucks with freebies too. Try to get a helmet and bottle cage. You were saying light, hence the recommendation. If 20 inch, it's a bit heavier and the aluminum (alloy as they called it here  ) there's Garion and Oscar Imagine. An extra 100 bucks can get you the Raleigh which is tough like a tank. I think you can get an entry level Dahon too within the same price range.  http://www.lelong.com.my/cronus-5th-batch-...7-01-Sale-I.htm http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/233888/clea...trinx-fr1606-16http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/297879/rale...ng-bike-20-quotDo you mean these? Alloy shud be lighter isnt it? i dont know whether i shud opt for 14,16 or 20 here. Any other brands like dahon dove? It looks light and easier to carry. This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: May 27 2015, 01:07 PM
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(anykti @ May 27 2015, 12:32 PM) Try bicyclebuysell.com to get an idea of which brand/model suits you. Take note on the posting dates, some may have long expired. In consideration is, mongoose,garion, trinx. Btw, the hummer looks touch and durable. Any opinions on this?
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ May 27 2015, 01:06 PM) student in uni? should get a smaller bike if u can take it into class. else kena curi... any recommended models? u mean like the single speed 14" ?
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2015, 01:50 PM) The nearest to Dahon Dove is the Trinx KA1605 that I mentioned. The dahon Dove is not cheap so I guess that is off your budget. I got the frame and fork itself for over RM450 plus shipping the last time. With the right components it is light, appoximately 8 kgs only since it's a single speed. How much roughly is the KA1605? Btw there is no 1605 in their website,only got 1606
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2015, 01:56 PM) I think you can get it for RM600 or less if you bargain from Kimbell Jaya in Cheras. I saw one on display so, there's stock of it. You can ask him if he has old stock or not, so you can avoid the 6% GST as well. Btw got quote for rm780 for this mo0del. http://www.trinx.com/index.php?a=product_d...m=Product&id=80 Expensive or not?
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ May 27 2015, 02:10 PM) who quote u? depend on who....  if usj, sure $$$  a shop in penang. I dont know the market price for this> Sked kena chopped.
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2015, 02:15 PM) Kind of confusing  The website says 20 inch 305mm. 305 is 16 inch. 20 inch should be 406 or 451. It's a 20 inch because te Kenda tires confirm it.  If you are happy with it, go for it.  So whats the significant difference betwwen the DA2007 and KA1606 other thn the tire? Noob in this weh. Why the website din list the weight also.
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2015, 02:36 PM) Very obviously the tire size, also the bike size. One is 16 inch and the other 20 inch. So heavy, naturally they won't say it in the ads lorr.  This type fold d,must carry or can push alongside as you walk? If heavier a bit i dont mind lo,of alot thn gg. Can install third party mudguard? Or usually gv free with bike?
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 04:22 PM
http://www.lelong.com.my/cronus-3rd-batch-...7-01-Sale-I.htmor http://www.trinx.com/index.php?a=product_d...m=Product&id=80choosing between these two. price diff between these two is Rm100+- This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: May 27 2015, 04:24 PM
Jay Chua CC
May 27 2015, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(anykti @ May 27 2015, 04:36 PM) Um, isn't the Garion sold out? Seller say going to restock in 2 weeks time
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 27 2015, 09:47 PM) So far, the only folding bike that rolls easily after folding is Brompton. Others, very sorry lah!  Even some after putting in the seat post coaster wheels still needs some effort to roll. Wat is post coaster wheels? Need to install that only can roll?
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 28 2015, 11:24 AM) See the small wheel at the seat post ? PS/ One thing I do know is, those 2 wheels cannot keep parallel even with Dahon with the magnets. That's because the handlebar with the bar keeps turning and sometimes one of the wheels keeps dragging the floor. I preferred to carry it anyway, less hassle. And usually we only want to carry or roll when we are in a enclosed surrounding like shopping complexes, train stations, bus station etc which I don't usually encounter anyway. Carrylah, senang  hmm> install that small wheel usually cost how much thn?
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(anykti @ May 28 2015, 12:16 PM) Maybe can find something like this:  The problem is ,commonly found in local shops or not?
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 12:27 PM
Fixed my mind to get a red Trinx DA2007D. Anyone went to United angel shop before? THat place near UNITEN or not?
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 28 2015, 02:29 PM) most dahon seller can oder it.i got it from KHASS BIKE from JB.they do postage to your door steps.forgot already how much i bought it.can refer their fb and webpage  My foldie is not dahon. Can fix to raleigh ugo ?
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(o.d @ May 28 2015, 02:38 PM) you already bought raleigh ugo? what happen to TRINX? I dont think u can install to other bika than Dahon unless do own modification.  Somehow felt that raleigh is more sturdy and solid. SO i placed deposit on it liao. Gonna go collect in next few days. Did i mwake a wrong choice?
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 28 2015, 02:44 PM) im afraid u cant used it.coz under the bb shell,dahon already weld small piece of metal with 2 hole on it.unless u can weld it your self  .if u make a hole under the bb sheel,im afraid will water, dust and sand will enter and affect ur bb.. i saw somewhere they sell it the seat post type.that one universal can used at any bike as long as the seat post diameter is the same.but that one a bit pricey lah  If normal foldie like raleigh,you cant troll the bike while walking? i mean without installing those small wheels
Jay Chua CC
May 28 2015, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 28 2015, 03:08 PM) for me u only bought the brand and not the features.that is my personal opinin.ugo come with cogset and not casette.u need to change wheelset or hub for upgrading to 8,9,10 and 11 speed.. can.i only pull up the seat post and let the tyre roll.but sometimes not so stable.u will not troll all the time lah.so its a small problem there  What is that 'casette' aka cogset tingy? Im not planning to upgrade the speed atm kuaa. It is strolllll. typo. SO dont need to install the third party small wheels lah?