Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2015, 09:18 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Aug 25 2015, 11:53 PM)
Finally...drop by kimbell jaya to pick up my vigor n see2 look2 ard any racun bikes n stuff...jimmy told me they hv only 3 more units left n theres no more stock fr supplier till december...maybe then 2016 modeĺ....gosh...
Saw a red speed 8 on display...much better than white n green.....but jetstream caught my attention but kena dig deep to my wallet .....so ....maybe next time...😆😆
Hi frankie chin & all,

I currently doing folding bike research and come across this model Dahon Vigor P9. Online price around Rm2380

1. Is this bike worth to invest ? Good ?

2. Most of my friend are RB i got no choice to get fold. is this can at least not so hard to follow Rb speed ?

3. Any better offer than Rm2380 ?

4. Any other options within 3k ?

5. Anything i need to aware of this model or upgrade when purchase like disc brake or gear or speed upgrade to 18 or something ?

Billion thanks for the help. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 1 2015, 09:22 PM
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2015, 10:35 PM

1,260 posts

@etigge, Really thanks for your info !! looks like i shall stop survey and just grab this model.

Will it be a bit down side to have only 9 speed ? Should i look for more speed for around 3k+ since after the upgrade also about that range already.

other than dash , do you have other model in you mind for 3-4k with more speed and better handling like Vigor ? Dash is fast but the design and fold method like a bit....weird.

D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2015, 10:35 PM

1,260 posts

not sure why double post. how to delete ? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 1 2015, 10:36 PM
D3vilsim
post Sep 1 2015, 11:22 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 1 2015, 11:00 PM)
A Dahon Vector P20 is about 6K if they import in. It's about USD1600. Look at the picture of the P20, see any difference apart from the gearings?  Even the wheelset is almost the same and that's RM6000. If you get the Vigor for RM2.2K, add another 1K for modding to P20 specs, that's only 3.2K for a Vector P20. Almost 3K cheaper than one. Even a Dahon X27 or X30 is possible. The wheelset is only 1.5K extra.
Wah seh brother !! this one really poison ler !!

Do you mind to share the V brake and brake level model and price ? i will change the break system straight safety 1st and see got trade in or not.

will upgrade later for P20 spec. if you dont mind pls share the parts model too if possible.

thank you very much. What ride you upgraded to ?
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2015, 10:28 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 2 2015, 09:42 AM)
i would go for vigor like ettige said before.price wise and performance wise the vigor seems solid and better performance.

i was scouting for vigor before as the frame same like vector but ended up with verge p9 2nd.that time dahon switching their malaysia distributor from lerun to guan chow.so by that time no vigor in stock!

if u considering to upgrade for 451 wheelset, do consider the c-brakes as it does give u a better braking power compare to v-brake..
Noted ! Thanks bro !! rclxms.gif at this point i still have no idea what is 451 wheelset compare to current wheelset hahaha. totally new with bike

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Sep 2 2015, 09:46 AM)
Hi D3vilsim...sifu etigge ady answerd all ady...hehe.....4 upgrades u can look 4 sifu etigge to do it 4 u as i currently tide up w work n will send him my bike once ada chance go kl.....but 4 time being my vigor only done less than 10 km!😂
yape. hopefully etigge can give some tips on the items list.

btw.. will it be hard to DIY ? i mean get parts and upgrade/install our side. or we really need experience guy to install and tune.

And what do you guys think about ORI bike ? their folding mechanism seems convincing.

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 2 2015, 10:29 AM
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2015, 05:04 PM

1,260 posts

Hi All sifu,

what about VIGOR D9 VS MU D8 VS JAVA Fit 16s ?

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 2 2015, 05:08 PM
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2015, 07:13 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 2 2015, 06:30 PM)
here is the comparison

i hope the picture is clear enough
Thanks ! the size is so much different ! is this 451 consider 20" also ?
D3vilsim
post Sep 2 2015, 09:29 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 2 2015, 07:46 PM)
yup, 451 still consider as 20" although some said as 22".nevertheless, its still 20 and not 22 as xds afb710 is 22" folding bike
thanks. i am browsing this thread till 80 pages but still can't find answer for my question.

any sifu mind to share

VIGOR D9 VS MU D8 VS JAVA Fit 16s ?

Was decided to go for D9 but saw MUD8 like better than D9. and then come across java fit seems just around rm1500 can get everything.

thanks a lot
D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2015, 12:42 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(frankie chin @ Sep 3 2015, 12:34 AM)
sorry...never tried java b4....but i think dahon folding is much more compact...
as 4 vigor n mu feel....lebih kurang saja 4 me la😁😁
yape. the price also lebih kurang haha that's why better survey more incase get wrong stuff for 2k plus

As for Java s16..really good buy. 1500 only.

D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2015, 01:20 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 3 2015, 01:08 AM)
Let me explain 20 inch (406) and 22 inch (451). The numbers in bracket is the figure in millimeters for the diameter of the rim where the bead of the tires rest. Both are classified as 20 inch just like the 16 inch rims where 349 is used for Bromptons and 305 for other models. Both are classified as 16 inch. First you have to consider what terrain are you using your bike? If it sometimes goes a little gravel roads or some slight offroading or into some fields, then 451 is not suitable as the tires are quite limited to slimmer or slicks (botak kind). They are meant for low resistance tires like road bikes. The less resistance compensates  the same effort needed for a smaller 406 but off course a 406 with slick tires are much easier to pedal. There are pros and cons, eg.

When we were riding Sekinchan to Sungai Besar, we decided to use the coastal road hugging the beach and this road is like those in rubber estate, offroad! Those on slicks finds it more challenging and has to keep more attention to riding where else those on bigger 406 tires with bigger treads just cruise over it. Then when going through wet or muddy patches, 406 with bigger tires triumps over those on 451s due to the lack of treads on 451 tires. So, like I said, priority must be ascertain before you jump onto the wagon.

As for the choice of bikes, that's totally your choice. Again your priority, if budget is a constraint, then go for the Java. It seems to have everything but if you ride more seriously and join other groups, I can bet you that you will eventually change as you improve. It's not a bad bike, even XDS also copied their design. But Dahon is more expensive for a reason. The MU is a proven frame compared to the Vigor, in fact the dolphin design of the MU  is the most copied design by other makes. Java FIT on the other hand, IMO, has disc brakes which have lower performing brakes than the V-brakes of the Dahons (most mechanical disc brakes are anyway), have much wider fold, hard to put it in a bag, shorter wheelbase which makes riding more twitchy (but can be gotten used to) , a wider front fork as it uses 100 mm hubs and much heavier. Dahon Vigor has a conventional chain stay which makes the frame stronger and also the geometry a better ride though. The best is still the Dahon Speed. Even Joshua Hon from Tern claims that before.

I suggest you just buy one on impulse and ride, only then you can understand what it feels like and where your priority lies. Before that, whatever we say here doesn't really mean much. I have on so many instances suggest something but when they head to a local bike shop, they go for another.  tongue.gif It makes it easier to change bike if you go for Dahon because later stages if you want to change, regardless of whether it is a mountain bike, roadbike or better foldie, it's easier to sell.
Once again many thanks for the input !! i think azamu have Speed P8. Alright so forget about Java now.

Speed P8 is even cheaper compare to Vigor and MU. If performance is the concern as i got fren with RB will ride together 95% will be just flat road.

between speed Vigor MU which should i take ? 3 also i like the design lol. Just which one worth for the bucks and easy upgrade later.

I think you provide upgrade service right ?

Thanks rclxms.gif

D3vilsim
post Sep 3 2015, 09:19 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 3 2015, 02:17 AM)
+1  thumbup.gif

The older version in red is still available in Kimbell Jaya but not Taiwan made as per circa 2011 but made in China.  The newer green/white is actually the same chromoly frame, only colour different. Better tires also with Schwalbe Marathons.
Aiyoyo.... now down to speed & vigor & MU... price about the same.

I assume speed frame will be heavy due to steel & maybe rusty but better comfort ride compare to MU & Vigor.

While Vigor frame are meant for speed ??

NOt sure about MU thought.

DIY.. i think i can la. i DIY install and dismantle car accessories. Bike mechanism should be not that difficult i guess biggrin.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 4 2015, 10:53 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 3 2015, 11:53 PM)
Hi D3vilsim,

I have a java fit and dahon route which is around the same price. From my experience, java is easier for a beginner as it have wider gear ratio. 52/42 with 11/32 which you can go faster and easier to climb hills.
As for dahon route, the gear ratio of 52 wirh 14/28 is a narrow and you tend to struggle in climbing hills.
I've let my friends who just started riding bicycle to test both bicycle and all of them choose java fit over dahon route.
I like dahon route folding mechanism. It's easier to fold and it feels really solid. The frame are longer and it feels better for me to cycle. I can stand up and pedal with more confidence than java fit. However with such a narrow gear range, it just don't perform as it should be. Unless you upgrade the gear set components. It's like a unpolished jewel.
As I need another bike, I've consider dahon speed but with that kind of price I can get a java IRA 451 cromoly body with carbon fork and comes with 18 speed. Body frame are longer and it's much more stable than java fit.
What beginner need is a wider gear range so that we can cover more terrain. But as your leg gets stronger, you do not need such a low gear anymore. As for me, given me a dahon route, I can climb the same hills with more joy compare to the first time I'm using it.
As for upgrading a dahon to dual chain ring, it didn't make your bike faster, it only makes your bike climb hills easier.
Thanks PaulKong brother for sharing the knowledge.

I most probably will go for Dahon. But up to this point i still can't decide to get Vigor or MU D8 or Speed D8. Price around the same.

Was shortlisted Vigor & MU but saw many rider here own Speed and give very good comments on Speed.

So ................................. Pening rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

hhahahahhaa
D3vilsim
post Sep 4 2015, 11:58 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(whateva2k @ Sep 4 2015, 11:31 AM)
I went with Vigor because:

1. First I ruled out Speed as I don't want to worry about rust, and don't mind the little hasher ride of aluminium body of Vigor/Mu.
2. Second, between Vigor and Mu, I prefer Vigor's design, and also it has chainstay with benefits mentioned by ettige and azamunekurone.

So.................................. Simple  tongue.gif    tongue.gif
Thanks whateva2k ... !! Thanks !!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

What is the 1st change/mod to make Vigor a better bike ?

Should i go for lighter seatpost & comfort saddle 1st ?? or add crank / upgrade FD ? Or ???

In order to understand and communicate with you all here. I need this dictionary rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by D3vilsim: Sep 4 2015, 11:59 AM
D3vilsim
post Sep 4 2015, 04:46 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 4 2015, 12:35 PM)
First rule is comfort when riding. That means, the contact points which are your saddle, bar grips and pedals, in that order. Once your butt ache, that's practically the end of your ride for that day. It will take some time to ease the pain. So, get suitable saddle. Sadly, in our country, you cannot return your saddle if it is not right. In my case, I have bought 7 saddles except Brooks (why I still can't comprehend) already. Started with Selle Royal , those big big ones (thought they are comfy but are not) , then slimmer ones and then Fizik Gobi, then Morgaw Trium , then back to Selle Royal Dardo and then finally I got one that suits me, A CHEAP 50 BUCKS one. tongue.gif  I bought 3 of those and keep. So now I have a whole bike of expensive components but a 50 bucks saddle  tongue.gif  blush.gif

Contact also means a good riding gloves. Yes, gloves are not only for protection but also for grip easing so you won't get numb! icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(whateva2k @ Sep 4 2015, 12:38 PM)
I suggest you get the bike first and start riding. Slowly you will know what you want to upgrade.

My first 2-3 rides, my butt aches. I have not been riding bicycle for many years before that.

Because of that, I was planning to change the saddle. After weekly rides for about 1-2 months, the stock saddle doesn't bother me at all now. Its comfortable enough for me now. So I didn't change.

Another thing that bothers me at first is the Neos twist shifter. So I decided to change it. I bought the shifter, but no time to change until now. haha... By now I've learned to adapt to it so its not as annoying as before. I will change it soon.... tongue.gif

So basically I've not change anything. But I've added speed and cadence sensor, bottle cage, front and rear LED light, side mirror, saddle bag, and a bell  tongue.gif.
QUOTE(edmundcwh @ Sep 4 2015, 02:48 PM)
Ahh.. Under such circumstances, you should get the one which give you the most macam yes riding look  biggrin.gif
Thanks all for the advise !! greatly appreciate !

Edmund, damn all 3 model also macam yes ler !! hahahaha.

i got this just now before i got my ride yet hahahahha. self poisoned kao kao

D3vilsim
post Sep 4 2015, 08:42 PM

1,260 posts

Dash 2016 is far far more sexy than 2015 !!!

D3vilsim
post Sep 6 2015, 01:58 AM

1,260 posts

GUys,

Went to tommy's shop today. very sorry trouble him so long but never buy anything from him yet. was plan to get Vigor but saw IOS9 is really temping.

Any bro review here ? thanks
D3vilsim
post Sep 6 2015, 06:11 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 6 2015, 05:11 PM)
Who is Tommy?  tongue.gif  According to Kimbell Jaya, the IOS has brake problems.  The hydraulic disc brake ( Yes, hydraulic  shocking.gif  ) is problematic. Jimmy replaced a Shimano set for the one he sold the other day. No extra charge.
oh ..what about the bike it self? compare seems more solid than vigor. and also the component. brake is not a concern .. i dont mind he change me with V brake. according to all bro all claim V is better that disc for fold.

D3vilsim
post Sep 6 2015, 10:36 PM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 6 2015, 07:43 PM)
consider u like to backpacking later, the 24" are quite big rather than 20".20" can slip nicely into buses or others.

besides, tubes are hard to find at village small bike shop compare to town.

thats my 2 cents only laugh.gif
thanks mate ! appreciate your charing rclxms.gif
D3vilsim
post Sep 7 2015, 01:55 PM

1,260 posts

Anyone know can i install FD with double chainring crank in Dahon iOS8 ?

Anyone own or able to share Tern Verge x10 ?

Thanks a lot
D3vilsim
post Sep 10 2015, 09:01 AM

1,260 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Sep 9 2015, 01:40 PM)
Dear Sifus,

I plan to buy a decent folding bike for exercise / leisure. My budget is ~ RM1.5K.
After doing some research, I scale down my choices to these 2 bikes
1. Dahon Vybe D7
2. Java Fit S16
I'm not sure I will upgrades the parts in the future or whether the parts can be upgrade or not ? I noticed everyone recommend Dahon Speed D8 here. It is worth to stretch my budget to get speed. Please help !! TQ
Hi, i also surveying the foldie now. this is my answer for you question

1. dahon, better frame build but low end component. ( good/worht for upgrade later )
2. java , 1.5k pao everything. but not sure about frame.

Digest this link. it should be give u some idea which to pick.
http://handsonbike.blogspot.sg/p/cheap-vs-premium-bikes.html

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 10 2015, 08:47 AM)
At that budget look for XDS or below I guess.
Trinx also. tongue.gif

0.0282sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:13 PM