QUOTE(H2D @ May 7 2015, 05:58 PM)
Where can I get custom built wheelset. 😅Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
May 8 2015, 09:27 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
0 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
May 8 2015, 10:35 AM
639 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
morning to all sifus,
i went through all the threads (few days, almost a week) and got a bit of summarized idea of a good bike: 1. dahon / tern is the best? is a used one good enough? http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/294549/dahon-eco-c7-2012 http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/288969/read...ng-bike-20-quot 2. Java is better in terms of value for money, but bad if you wanna mod? 3. Doppelganger looks nice, someone selling it off in Teluk Intan? http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/204495/preo...14-silver-japan I want to start cycling cos becoming fat and I live in an apartment, no lift 5th floor, so wanna get a foldie to fit into my satria neo (back seat) any advice? my aim is to get below 1k if possible, or 1.5k max...dont wanna commit if i can cultivate myself hehe..so wanna cuba2 dulu.. thank you!!! |
May 8 2015, 11:41 AM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(axrul @ May 7 2015, 05:50 PM) Hi, currently I upgrading my tern d16 with 105 groupset. I having difficulty to find wheelset to support 11 speed cassette. Any suggestion which wheelset should I buy. Do you actually need a closer ratio gear set ( as what 11 speed is, because both 10 speed and 11 speed has the same range min to max cogs) on a folding bike. The wheelset is not the point actually. The hubs are! For 11 speed, you need an 11 speed compatible hub. Easiest way I see is to get 11 speed compatible hub but sadly, folding bike spoke numbers are different from road bikes which are usually 32. So maybe you can hunt for 20/28 hole hubs which are 11 speed compatible. ( Try Taobao ) If you can find a pair, then you can just change the rear hubs or together with the front as well, your wish. But bear in mind, Tern/Dahon front hubs are only 73mm wide as opposed to the usual 100mm for others. The increase in 2.8mm width for the hubs can actually be absorbed by the frame with no problems. All this means, you will change to drop bars or bull horn bars, right? I haven't seen an 11 speed straight bar shifters locally yet. The SHIMANO SL-RS700 is available for 11 speed and the price is going to be shocking too! Or why don't you visit Kimbell Jaya and speak to Jimmy. He has quite a number of 451 and 406 wheelsets. Maybe, he can modify them with 11 speed compatible free hubs. I can't guarantee but it's worth a try. My conclusion , I will stick to 10 speed as the improvement in performance between 11 speed and 10 speed is negligible in the case of folding bikes. This post has been edited by etigge: May 8 2015, 11:43 AM |
May 8 2015, 12:13 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(y4ng @ May 8 2015, 10:35 AM) any advice? my aim is to get below 1k if possible, or 1.5k max...dont wanna commit if i can cultivate myself hehe..so wanna cuba2 dulu.. thank you!!! http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/282596/amis-fac-1-2-21speed |
May 8 2015, 01:13 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(etigge @ May 8 2015, 11:41 AM) Do you actually need a closer ratio gear set ( as what 11 speed is, because both 10 speed and 11 speed has the same range min to max cogs) on a folding bike. The wheelset is not the point actually. The hubs are! For 11 speed, you need an 11 speed compatible hub. Easiest way I see is to get 11 speed compatible hub but sadly, folding bike spoke numbers are different from road bikes which are usually 32. So maybe you can hunt for 20/28 hole hubs which are 11 speed compatible. ( Try Taobao ) If you can find a pair, then you can just change the rear hubs or together with the front as well, your wish. But bear in mind, Tern/Dahon front hubs are only 73mm wide as opposed to the usual 100mm for others. The increase in 2.8mm width for the hubs can actually be absorbed by the frame with no problems. All this means, you will change to drop bars or bull horn bars, right? I haven't seen an 11 speed straight bar shifters locally yet. The SHIMANO SL-RS700 is available for 11 speed and the price is going to be shocking too! Or why don't you visit Kimbell Jaya and speak to Jimmy. He has quite a number of 451 and 406 wheelsets. Maybe, he can modify them with 11 speed compatible free hubs. I can't guarantee but it's worth a try. My conclusion , I will stick to 10 speed as the improvement in performance between 11 speed and 10 speed is negligible in the case of folding bikes. If you converted to 11 speed, you'll be wondering where your money's gone. A lot of things are actually wasted on a foldy. Sure your gearshifts may be a tad smoother, but seriously..... Blindfolded you won't be able to tell the difference in feel from Tiagra to Ultegra. |
May 8 2015, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ May 8 2015, 12:13 PM) u can try check out some sub 1k bikes here. is amis reliable? im open to 2nd hand as well =)http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/282596/amis-fac-1-2-21speed |
May 8 2015, 01:24 PM
May 8 2015, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ May 8 2015, 01:24 PM) http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/294549/dahon-eco-c7-2012or http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/288969/read...ng-bike-20-quot thinking of both of this...i can cycle, but my friend cant...is teaching cycling on a foldie the same like on a norm bike? |
May 8 2015, 02:05 PM
May 8 2015, 02:42 PM
25 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(y4ng @ May 8 2015, 01:41 PM) http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/294549/dahon-eco-c7-2012 I think both are quite nice. I'd prefer the eco's design more though.or http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/288969/read...ng-bike-20-quot thinking of both of this...i can cycle, but my friend cant...is teaching cycling on a foldie the same like on a norm bike? |
May 8 2015, 04:44 PM
May 8 2015, 06:08 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
pix spam!
![]() ![]() ![]() |
May 8 2015, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(anykti @ May 5 2015, 02:36 PM) hi guys, i will be buying 2 foldies for me and my wife for exercising in my residential area, i am wondering if my 1990s shimano 105/600 racing bike parts will be usable for the foldies? im using 90's shimano 105 crankset mix with new grouset on my speed p8![]() also,few things u can use back is crankset,fd (braze on) and rd.cassette ans chain maybe cannot be used as it is normal wear and tear parts.. my friend also used his shimano 600 rd at his trinx 16".. |
May 9 2015, 01:08 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2015 |
Anyone knows where can I get dahon my SL10 in penang ?
May 9 2015, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(xynique @ May 9 2015, 01:08 PM) I think Chin Aik is the agent there in Penang. As for stocks, I can't say. I seen 6 years old Dahon IOS still available there, hahahaa. So, means sales in Penang for Dahon is a bit slow. Why don't you call Kimbell Jaya and ask Jimmy. I think sending one through courier ( he does a lot to Sabah and Sarawak ) straight from KL to Penang is still cheaper than what they sell in Penang. Better still, browse through some shops in KL when you make a visit, afterall , it's a folding bike. Easily stored in a car trunk. We Malaysians can drive 4 to 5 hours for seafood, I don't think driving the same distance for a folding bike is any different. |
May 9 2015, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 8 2015, 06:15 PM) im using 90's shimano 105 crankset mix with new grouset on my speed p8 Nice and thx, lemme get my old bike from hometown first, and let's see how i can cannibalise it, hehe.p8 ![]() also,few things u can use back is crankset,fd (braze on) and rd.cassette ans chain maybe cannot be used as it is normal wear and tear parts.. my friend also used his shimano 600 rd at his trinx 16".. This post has been edited by anykti: May 9 2015, 04:50 PM |
May 9 2015, 05:17 PM
May 10 2015, 12:27 PM
237 posts Joined: May 2015 From: KL - Ktn |
Where to buy cheapest folding bicycle in KL?
May 10 2015, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(wkyrichie @ May 10 2015, 12:27 PM) Usually it depends on how well negotiate with the 'taukehs'. Also they also notices how well you know the prices and your knowledge about it too. Go in and ask un-necessary question, that begs yourself to get sold higher priced. PS/ It seems Garion is overtaking Oscar Imagine as the cheapest acceptable folding bikes. But it's prudent to invest in Dahons for long term. Seems Dahon Vigor is always out of stock. Kimbell is allocated 6 but all sold before arrival. Dahon Dash coming this month. Also Dahon Curl is coming this time. |
May 10 2015, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ May 10 2015, 02:20 PM) They've done some significant marketing and branding steps, to have an affordable yet acceptable image. Actually went to their HQ in Klang, seems reputable. Didn't get a nice deal during my visit there though. Only decided to get Garions after chancing upon their offer in Groupon. Seems they allocated certain quantity of their models in online deals. |
| Change to: | 0.0348sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:47 PM |