Folding Bicycles v4 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
TSH2D
Nov 14 2015, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 14 2015, 02:12 PM) I've contacted the seller. Usual stuff: - No COD - Only "remit deposit to account". - Poor English (not that I'm good) and don't text in Chinese. - Asked me where am I located in *malay* (c'mon we don't short form that) He said he got 10 unit btw. SCAMMER!! watch out!! there is a lot of bicycle scams online, especially from Indonesia, just google and you can find!
TSH2D
Nov 14 2015, 02:28 PM
same pic from this ebay... http://www.ebay.com/itm/BROMPTON-M6L-2015-...%3D252124411073oredi got ppl rate scammer at bbs liao... http://bicyclebuysell.com/user/jeffrie101This post has been edited by H2D: Nov 14 2015, 02:31 PM
edmund_yung
Nov 14 2015, 02:34 PM
Ok I'll stop trolling the guy.
PaulKong
Nov 14 2015, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Nov 14 2015, 02:12 PM) I've contacted the seller. Usual stuff: - No COD - Only "remit deposit to account". - Poor English (not that I'm good) and don't text in Chinese. - Asked me where am I located in *malay* (c'mon we don't short form that) He said he got 10 unit btw. Yes... It's a scam. Last time someone advertise under diffrence account name selling @RM 1500. When I contacted him, he says he's in johore. Thru the conversation, I realised it is a scam. Here's the conversation I have with him. Which reply of his do you think I realise he's cheating? Hahaha Attached thumbnail(s)
desastar
Nov 14 2015, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Nov 14 2015, 03:07 PM) Yes... It's a scam. Last time someone advertise under diffrence account name selling @RM 1500. When I contacted him, he says he's in johore. Thru the conversation, I realised it is a scam. Here's the conversation I have with him. Which reply of his do you think I realise he's cheating? Hahaha LOL! I was about to get you to buy me two units Paul! Dont care what colour! Maybe the Italy ones might be more genuine??
adrive
Nov 14 2015, 05:39 PM
Hi guys, after almost 20 years didn't ride a bicycle , now wanna get back to it but I was never really into its technical aspects. What would be a good one below rm500? Is shinamo gears a must ? i saw one frs/trs brand with shinamo gears for 550 (foldable) while others china brand can go below that maybe 300. I was wondering if I should go for cheaper one since that brand also seems fake brand anyways. I imagine the use case would be for leisure but sometimes might wanna use it to work P/s I think it is the trs buddy bike http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/260796/trs-...-foldaber-bikesThis post has been edited by adrive: Nov 14 2015, 05:49 PM
PaulKong
Nov 14 2015, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(desastar @ Nov 14 2015, 05:11 PM) LOL! I was about to get you to buy me two units Paul! Dont care what colour! Maybe the Italy ones might be more genuine??  Hahaha... I think make him raise the price to RM 2000 cause I ask is it a used Brompton and why sell so cheap. 😂😂😂
LostAndFound
Nov 15 2015, 12:12 AM
Not that I wanna give ideas to scammers, but doesn't it make more sense to sell at just about the right price? Let people be less suspicious?
hnr2802
Nov 15 2015, 03:52 AM
Hi all im new to foldie, Been reading this thread all night long. But still cant find a solution for my preference.
My budget around 3k Can anyone suggest me a good foldie 20" & above wheel size. Comfortable ride. Probably i could upgrade the gear or other parts so that i can improve my ride in the future (upgradable). Or you can suggest low or mid range model & i upgrade some parts so it is comparable to mid or high range model.
Btw, dash d, speed, ios or vigor series is a good choice?
Thank you in advance.
This post has been edited by hnr2802: Nov 15 2015, 10:21 AM
desastar
Nov 15 2015, 05:41 AM
QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Nov 15 2015, 03:52 AM) Hi all im new to foldie, Been reading this thread all night long. But still cant find a solution for my preference. My budget around 3k and below Can anyone suggest me a good foldie 20" & above wheel size. Comfortable ride. Probably i could upgrade the gear or other parts so that i can improve my ride in the future (upgradable). Or you can suggest low or mid range model & i upgrade some parts so it is comparable to mid or high range model. Thank you in advance. RM3000 is a good budget and you can get a good bike. Unless you want something special or different you may need to buy secondhand. I would suggest a Dahon Speed P8 or D8. Nice frame and upgradable. There's also the Archer P8 which I believe is the Chinese domestic equivalent, which looks the same tto me. Say you spend RM2000, that would be good for a long time, not even needing any upgrades! If you are itchy you still have budget for better crankset or derailleur. This post has been edited by desastar: Nov 15 2015, 05:42 AM
zeliustitan
Nov 15 2015, 10:12 AM
Long time d never post here
denyhazrin
Nov 15 2015, 01:12 PM
kllam
Nov 15 2015, 06:05 PM
this morning ride This post has been edited by kllam: Nov 15 2015, 06:06 PM
hnr2802
Nov 15 2015, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(desastar @ Nov 15 2015, 05:41 AM) RM3000 is a good budget and you can get a good bike. Unless you want something special or different you may need to buy secondhand. I would suggest a Dahon Speed P8 or D8. Nice frame and upgradable. There's also the Archer P8 which I believe is the Chinese domestic equivalent, which looks the same tto me. Say you spend RM2000, that would be good for a long time, not even needing any upgrades! If you are itchy you still have budget for better crankset or derailleur. Between speed & vigor which one is better?
desastar
Nov 15 2015, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Nov 15 2015, 08:00 PM) Between speed & vigor which one is better? I have not ridden a Vigor, so someone else will have to advise. I like cro-moly steel frames, so the P8, D8 or Archer suits me. Honest frame design (a bit old fashion maybe?) but does everything well, for me at least. I should qualify what I've said - that mine was a Taiwanese made bike, so I can only assume the latest Chinese made ones would be the same? This post has been edited by desastar: Nov 16 2015, 05:33 AM
ssyycc
Nov 15 2015, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 14 2015, 05:39 PM) Hi guys, after almost 20 years didn't ride a bicycle , now wanna get back to it but I was never really into its technical aspects. What would be a good one below rm500? Is shinamo gears a must ? i saw one frs/trs brand with shinamo gears for 550 (foldable) while others china brand can go below that maybe 300. I was wondering if I should go for cheaper one since that brand also seems fake brand anyways. I imagine the use case would be for leisure but sometimes might wanna use it to work P/s I think it is the trs buddy bike http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/260796/trs-...-foldaber-bikesCheap foldie is usually very heavy, and if you going to carry that often it will going to hurt your back. Regardless of the price, just make sure the bike is light and sturdy.
adrive
Nov 15 2015, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(ssyycc @ Nov 15 2015, 08:58 PM) Cheap foldie is usually very heavy, and if you going to carry that often it will going to hurt your back. Regardless of the price, just make sure the bike is light and sturdy. i never rode on a foldie before but i read around and people are saying they're going to be wobbly unless i go for higher specs so at that price maybe i shouldn't even be looking at foldies right? i'm just wondering if these cheap foldies below rm500 will have the potential of its hinges suddenly snap or loose and make the bicycle split into 2??
desastar
Nov 16 2015, 05:43 AM
QUOTE(adrive @ Nov 15 2015, 10:10 PM) i never rode on a foldie before but i read around and people are saying they're going to be wobbly unless i go for higher specs so at that price maybe i shouldn't even be looking at foldies right? i'm just wondering if these cheap foldies below rm500 will have the potential of its hinges suddenly snap or loose and make the bicycle split into 2??  All foldies with smaller wheels will feel wobbly until you get used to it. Once you are used to it, the big wheel bikes will feel heavy in the steering Hinges breaking? Always possible with anything poorly made. If they can sell a bike under rm500, you can imagine what goes into the engineering and manufacturing. Something has to give. Check it out carefully and get feedback from other owners?
LostAndFound
Nov 16 2015, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Nov 16 2015, 05:43 AM) All foldies with smaller wheels will feel wobbly until you get used to it. Once you are used to it, the big wheel bikes will feel heavy in the steering Hinges breaking? Always possible with anything poorly made. If they can sell a bike under rm500, you can imagine what goes into the engineering and manufacturing. Something has to give. Check it out carefully and get feedback from other owners? Also possible with more expensive (e.g. Tern) though. Best to check out with other owners. I bought XDS, that and Trinx are more budget (still > 500) but other owners told me would be fairly good quality. Heard bad reports on this thread about those groupon bikes though.