Sep 8 2015, 01:03 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(denyhazrin @ Sep 8 2015, 10:14 AM) As a folding bike, it is quite good. Mine has the Hyper fold, which means no levers or knobs to worry about and the whole bike folds in seconds. Can you see a cable running along the bike in the picture? That cable is under tension, holding the whole bike in place. Downside is there is more flex compared to a Brompton and Dahon. But if you are catching a bus or train, you won't miss it as you can get the bike folded so quick.If you don't need the quick fold, I would rather a 20" wheeled bike. I regretted selling my Dahon Speed, but maybe I'll get another one day. If I sell my Vitesse or Giant Halfway maybe? In any case the Tikit will remain in my collection |
Sep 8 2015, 02:09 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
Sep 8 2015, 02:22 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 8 2015, 02:09 PM) If it is chromoly ( the Archer is chromoly ) , it shouldn't be a problem. Problem with China in welding aluminum is the heat treatment needed for aluminum. The process is heating up the whole frame after welding to a certain temperature and then fast dipped into cold water to harden the metal. This is an expensive process so only bona fide brand manufacturers insist on doing this process. Many cheaper ones forego the process. Off course nowadays, carbon fibre molding is gaining more prominence as technology on it improves.So, the chromoly Archer don't need this process and it is easier to weld, just like welding steel bikes. It should be safe. The folding mechanism seems Dahon like and it's patented so I guess it's from the original contracted factory. Usually the brands don't have their own factory, mostly contracted to other factories in China. This post has been edited by etigge: Sep 8 2015, 02:24 PM |
Sep 8 2015, 02:30 PM
208 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 12:42 PM) yay! although still peak hours cannot, but still something. looking forward! |
Sep 8 2015, 04:12 PM
12 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 12:42 PM) It seems like they accept any kind of bike. Not necessarily a folding bike. Maybe they should consider accepting a folding bike in peak hours 😁😁😁 |
Sep 8 2015, 04:23 PM
208 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 8 2015, 04:12 PM) It seems like they accept any kind of bike. Not necessarily a folding bike. Maybe they should consider accepting a folding bike in peak hours 😁😁😁 yeah this one if follow like Amsterdam, they have a coach where the big bike can enter, not necessary folding bike. they have sort of strap/holder to hold the bike throughout the journey. but I still feel to not allow in peak hours beat the purpose as we want to commute in peak hours. If there is dedicated coach like how they do it in Amsterdam, I don't see the reason to limit to off peak hours only as people with no bike will use other coaches.as for now, I think even if they allow during peak hours, for LRT (KJ line), it's quite impossible even if you board from the 1st station (Gombak or KJ). It's very super crowded, even people with big luggage hard to go in. |
Sep 8 2015, 07:09 PM
Singaporeans must be nuts! Look at the price of the latest MU from Dahon. A Dahon MU cost 2.5K here in Malaysia. Order a Rohloff internal gear for USD1272, OK it's heavy give it till USD1500 plus shipping lah! That's like RM7500 , our price if we do it on our own. In Singapore, that's like RM15,000 plus
http://www.amazon.com/Rohloff-Speedhub-Spe...r/dp/B001GSOPOC PS/Looking at the picture, it is using belt drive. Look carefully. ![]() This post has been edited by etigge: Sep 8 2015, 07:12 PM |
Sep 8 2015, 07:10 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 02:22 PM) If it is chromoly ( the Archer is chromoly ) , it shouldn't be a problem. Problem with China in welding aluminum is the heat treatment needed for aluminum. The process is heating up the whole frame after welding to a certain temperature and then fast dipped into cold water to harden the metal. This is an expensive process so only bona fide brand manufacturers insist on doing this process. Many cheaper ones forego the process. Off course nowadays, carbon fibre molding is gaining more prominence as technology on it improves. how about the price bro?last time when im scouting for speed, thinking for direct oder china the frame, but for safety reason i bought 2nd unit rather than direct import..So, the chromoly Archer don't need this process and it is easier to weld, just like welding steel bikes. It should be safe. The folding mechanism seems Dahon like and it's patented so I guess it's from the original contracted factory. Usually the brands don't have their own factory, mostly contracted to other factories in China. bydaway, warranty is another reason to bought through local distributor/seller QUOTE(o.d @ Sep 8 2015, 04:23 PM) yeah this one if follow like Amsterdam, they have a coach where the big bike can enter, not necessary folding bike. they have sort of strap/holder to hold the bike throughout the journey. but I still feel to not allow in peak hours beat the purpose as we want to commute in peak hours. If there is dedicated coach like how they do it in Amsterdam, I don't see the reason to limit to off peak hours only as people with no bike will use other coaches. correct me if im wrong, but lrt do have women coach right?maybe that coach a bit comfort to carry the bike around.as for now, I think even if they allow during peak hours, for LRT (KJ line), it's quite impossible even if you board from the 1st station (Gombak or KJ). It's very super crowded, even people with big luggage hard to go in. |
Sep 8 2015, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 07:09 PM) Singaporeans must be nuts! Look at the price of the latest MU from Dahon. A Dahon MU cost 2.5K here in Malaysia. Order a Rohloff internal gear for USD1272, OK it's heavy give it till USD1500 plus shipping lah! That's like RM7500 , our price if we do it on our own. In Singapore, that's like RM15,000 plus Hey Sifu,http://www.amazon.com/Rohloff-Speedhub-Spe...r/dp/B001GSOPOC PS/Looking at the picture, it is using belt drive. Look carefully. ![]() You want something similar? Like this? I'll bring over for you! NuVinci N360.... Must weigh a ton though....... This post has been edited by desastar: Sep 8 2015, 07:45 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 8 2015, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 8 2015, 07:44 PM) Hey Sifu, No , it's just for information. I just have a Dash now and conventional 2 x 10 speed. That should be enough for me now as I ride off road more nowadays. I was just astonished by the price. Thanks for your kind offer. You want something similar? Like this? I'll bring over for you! NuVinci N360.... Must weigh a ton though....... |
Sep 8 2015, 09:48 PM
All the sifu here,
I have a question 😁 .... I've been looking at the gear set of mtb and I wonder is it possible to put in a gear cassette of 11-42 in a folding bike. If that is possible, we don't need to upgrade the front crank to double chain ring and still get the ratio of gears. And of course the question is, will it be cheaper this way? This post has been edited by PaulKong: Sep 8 2015, 09:49 PM |
Sep 8 2015, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 8 2015, 09:48 PM) All the sifu here, Nope you cannot as the long cage of the rear derailleurs will hit the ground on the 40T or 42T setting. Maximum is only 34T at the rear. If you insist on single crank you can go for 11T/34T , some say 36T is possible and then change the front chain ring to 48T or 44T. Same ratio.I have a question 😁 .... I've been looking at the gear set of mtb and I wonder is it possible to put in a gear cassette of 11-42 in a folding bike. If that is possible, we don't need to upgrade the front crank to double chain ring and still get the ratio of gears. And of course the question is, will it be cheaper this way? Front 44T , rear 34T , 20 inch wheels is 25.88 gear inches or 2.065 meters development per one turn of the crank. Front 53T, rear 40T , 20 inch wheels is 26.50 gear inches or 2.115 meters development per turn. If you see from above, the difference is quite small, only drawback is, you won't be able to pedal downhill and your maximum speed will be limited and you have no option. The advantage is on the low gears. |
Sep 8 2015, 11:37 PM
Also, I don't know which cassette you meant when you say 11T/42T. If it is 10 speed, means it is specially made by a few companies and one of them Praxis works and the cassetter is about 700 bucks each. It's not cheap. Other makers like Token and Aerozine are even more expensive. If you say the latest 11/40T cassette for MTBs will be the SRAMs and Shimanos 11 speed unit. This are even more expensive and specialized as you need to change the shifters, chain, cassette and RD. and these are only available in the top 2 levels, eg. Shimano XT and XTR. They don't come cheap either and so far I seen, they are sold in groupsets too.
I also anticipate the chain will be a problem as the chain stay of foldies are too short to accommodate. Usually those using the 1 X 11 or 1 X 10 speed in MTBs change their front chainring too. They change it smaller, sometimes only 28 tooth. |
Sep 9 2015, 06:08 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 09:09 PM) No , it's just for information. I just have a Dash now and conventional 2 x 10 speed. That should be enough for me now as I ride off road more nowadays. I was just astonished by the price. Thanks for your kind offer. These hubs would be fantastic if they are lightweight. Variable ratios, who wouldn't want that. At the moment the weight of the rear wheel means it will crash through any imperfections on the road, esp the smaller wheels. |
Sep 9 2015, 06:29 AM
QUOTE(PaulKong @ Sep 8 2015, 09:48 PM) All the sifu here, PaulI have a question 😁 .... I've been looking at the gear set of mtb and I wonder is it possible to put in a gear cassette of 11-42 in a folding bike. If that is possible, we don't need to upgrade the front crank to double chain ring and still get the ratio of gears. And of course the question is, will it be cheaper this way? Riding a folding bike is a compromise. Just work out where you normally ride and determine the gearing you need. Forget the extremes as it is easier getting another bike for those conditions. When you see a steep hill find alternate ways. When you go riding with roadbikes, grab the roadbike. I'm now building a single speed, so it can only be ridden on flat roads, which is silly, but hey! |
Sep 9 2015, 10:08 AM
1,552 posts Joined: May 2010 From: In your liver |
Guys, I can't find a recent discussion about Folding Kick Scooter... do you guys know where can I get a good pair of these? Brand... and what to look for?
I plan to get 1 of these to travel to my work place which is about 1.3km away from the LRT Station. ![]() |
Sep 9 2015, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 11:03 PM) Nope you cannot as the long cage of the rear derailleurs will hit the ground on the 40T or 42T setting. Maximum is only 34T at the rear. If you insist on single crank you can go for 11T/34T , some say 36T is possible and then change the front chain ring to 48T or 44T. Same ratio. Thanks for your in depth explanation. 👍👍👍Front 44T , rear 34T , 20 inch wheels is 25.88 gear inches or 2.065 meters development per one turn of the crank. Front 53T, rear 40T , 20 inch wheels is 26.50 gear inches or 2.115 meters development per turn. If you see from above, the difference is quite small, only drawback is, you won't be able to pedal downhill and your maximum speed will be limited and you have no option. The advantage is on the low gears. |
Sep 9 2015, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 8 2015, 11:37 PM) Also, I don't know which cassette you meant when you say 11T/42T. If it is 10 speed, means it is specially made by a few companies and one of them Praxis works and the cassetter is about 700 bucks each. It's not cheap. Other makers like Token and Aerozine are even more expensive. If you say the latest 11/40T cassette for MTBs will be the SRAMs and Shimanos 11 speed unit. This are even more expensive and specialized as you need to change the shifters, chain, cassette and RD. and these are only available in the top 2 levels, eg. Shimano XT and XTR. They don't come cheap either and so far I seen, they are sold in groupsets too. Me bad.... I was browsing thru bbs and I see 42 gear cassette at less than RM 200. But I check again, and it actually just the biggest 42t cog that selling less than rm 200. Full gear cassette cost RM 500 and above 😅😅😅I also anticipate the chain will be a problem as the chain stay of foldies are too short to accommodate. Usually those using the 1 X 11 or 1 X 10 speed in MTBs change their front chainring too. They change it smaller, sometimes only 28 tooth. I was just wondering why if it's cheap and nobody done it. |
Sep 9 2015, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(desastar @ Sep 9 2015, 06:29 AM) Paul Yup... I used to think one bike fit all road conditions and can ride with any kind of bike ( Road bike for that matters)Riding a folding bike is a compromise. Just work out where you normally ride and determine the gearing you need. Forget the extremes as it is easier getting another bike for those conditions. When you see a steep hill find alternate ways. When you go riding with roadbikes, grab the roadbike. I'm now building a single speed, so it can only be ridden on flat roads, which is silly, but hey! Now I just join the group which are similar to my bike level and of course my physical level too. |
| Change to: | 0.0303sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:07 PM |