Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V5, 4th Generation Phablet by Samsung

kucuboy
post Dec 3 2014, 07:40 AM

710 posts

I cant seem to set up my phone as ir remote control for samsung ps51f5500 TV. I tried force closing the peel smart remote app after clearing the cache and data but still can't get it to work with astro. My astro and TV are connected via amplifier.
kucuboy
post Dec 3 2014, 06:56 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(loongzai2 @ Dec 3 2014, 11:39 AM)
Guys,

anywhere i still can find note 4 white? found alot of place is out of stock

prefer with installment plan.

When I bought my note 4 at publika celcom blue cube, about 10 days ago, they had a lot of white note 4 stock, maybe can call them to ask.

QUOTE(FancyFootwork @ Dec 3 2014, 04:20 PM)
Yes i am aware of that, ive look upon various comparison videos of both the snapdragon 805 as well as the exynos5433, that is why i am scratching my head right now why is my unit so low in the test, apparently lowyats review also has that low score too but they said its because of review unit instead of the final ones, and im running the latest fw of the note 4. [attachmentid=4243772]
My exynos out of the box scored 48k. I installed the OTA update then ran atuntu.

kucuboy
post Dec 4 2014, 11:48 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(BangHardHard @ Dec 4 2014, 11:35 AM)
Been using Otterbox Symmetry for the past 2 weeks and just received my Spigen Neo Hybrid from Spigen US.

Overall:
* Spigen is more compact and modern outlook. Otterbox slightly bulky.
* Higher confidence holding Otterbox because of the rubber tackiness; compared to Spigen, which is using metal for its side frame.
* Pressing Power and Volume buttons are much easier with Spigen.
* Otterbox gave better screen protection since the side frame height is thicker that Spigen.
Spigen neo hybrid frame is plastic. The buttons are metal coated or something like that. Im using same model too. I kinda like the frame to be plastic. Wont ding in a drop unless really bad and any scratch on plastic is never as bad as it is on metal.
kucuboy
post Dec 5 2014, 07:34 AM

710 posts

Tested the night photo capability at Desa Park City last night. Tested multiple shots all without flash and in auto mode unless stated. All taken handheld. Am really pleased with the quality in general. Artifacts and noise in the photos is kept low unless you turn on HDR which is still acceptable imo.

Some movement by people in the pix so they look blurry.

Very dark scene, 1st shot was slightly whiter but this is the second and more accurate color representation.

This post has been edited by kucuboy: Dec 5 2014, 07:38 AM
kucuboy
post Dec 5 2014, 07:37 AM

710 posts

Zoomed in photo, for night shot, its still decent.

Despite camera lens wiped clean, light sources in this pic gives a soft look around it.

Using selective focus mode

Full Auto mode

Full Auto with HDR on. When zoomed in, there slightly more artifacts at the bottom left but the increase in detail and can read the sign "kedai ais krim" is good imo.
kucuboy
post Dec 5 2014, 01:29 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Dec 5 2014, 11:44 AM)
In this kind of situation better dont use auto mode... play the ISO setting ... will get better light source and pic... Note 4 low light environment tends to take overexposure pic. Before note 4 model all take dark pic lol rclxub.gif

Thx for the tip. Will try. Got a night function tonight, will be sure to give it a try.

kucuboy
post Dec 6 2014, 04:05 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(^wind^ @ Dec 6 2014, 01:47 AM)
new frost White user jumping from S2 reporting in! Got my device 10 mins before the shop closed!
Welcome, welcome, feel free to share your feedback.

P. S. tried the note4 camera when had a party in a pub. Because it was very low light I mainly stuck to using flash in full auto mode. Imo the pictures turned out really nice. Although note 4 flash is very bright, the final photo of people's faces dont look too over exposed.. Really loving note 4's camera quality. Far surpassed my expectations.

This post has been edited by kucuboy: Dec 6 2014, 04:06 AM
kucuboy
post Dec 6 2014, 11:22 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Dec 6 2014, 05:24 PM)
I work in Telco industry and I'll share something that Note 4 and Note Edge owner doesn't like to hear, the antenna performance of these 2 units are poor. They don't meet my company's standard by 2-4dB depending on frequency and primary/secondary antenna.

In other words, Samsung S5, iPhone 6 and many other phones has better antenna.

A simple way to test is to use the same network for S5 and Note 4, put them side by side. Type in *#0011# and compare RSRP value. Note 4 and Note Edge will always show lower value (higher negative value).
I believe u answered a lot of people's suspicions. Reception is on the shitty side for me. Hopefully will improve in an update from Samsung
kucuboy
post Dec 7 2014, 07:02 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Donchay @ Dec 7 2014, 12:59 PM)
Hi spigen users out there, did u guys facing edge scratches issue cause by the spigen case as reported in android forums dot com? Cause im gonna get one from my case soon. Thx.
Slim armor or neo hybrid? My neo hybrid no such problem. Just that it is very very tight fit. With a lot of force and careful as possible, I m able to remove it.
kucuboy
post Dec 8 2014, 09:28 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 8 2014, 12:12 AM)
Did anyone know how to stop the screen auto dim the screen when using Play Book? 

I notice this seems is feature set by Samsung as my Xperia Z Tablet never do that.
The setting is probably in your display settings, either it'd the amoled screen setting set at adaptive or the 'auto adjust screen tone' is ticked. Try switching this n see if it works for u.

On the Samsung haters n trolls part of this thread, it kinda shows the maturity of a select few of the lowyat users here. Even if it's OK to say something bad on Samsung, they way the message is conveyed and subsequent replies end up becoming childish. Just don't get too invested and feed the trolls. It had been fun and great learning experience from the other sifus and new note users (Inc myself) so let's continue to allow this to be a platform to note all that goodness. Note out the weed.
kucuboy
post Dec 8 2014, 09:33 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(charger @ Dec 8 2014, 02:28 AM)
finally i just got my new note .  Appreciate if you guys could share where can i buy good case from ?. Been searching at lowyat mall and LYN forum seem over price and crappy case
QUOTE(koh777 @ Dec 8 2014, 08:01 AM)
Just bought 2 Note 4 (bronze gold) from U Mobile.

No Regret buying ^.^

BTW, where can I find local retailers (Klang valley) selling good cases (spigen, verus, otterbox, others).
Congratulations and welcome to note 4 thread. Feel free to check out thread page 1 for a lot of tips n tricks for the technical beast!

This post has been edited by kucuboy: Dec 8 2014, 09:34 AM
kucuboy
post Dec 9 2014, 01:49 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Dec 8 2014, 05:58 PM)
How to install DualClock (digital) widget 4x1 on samsung Note 3 ? Note3 only provide 4x2 size where I need 4x1 size to display 2 time zone in a single line.
I think it's in the stock widget list. Try long press on front screen to enter widgets menu.

QUOTE(Digital_Life @ Dec 8 2014, 09:55 PM)
May I ask, those who uses tempered glass Screen Protector, how is the S-Pen performance. Will the thickness of the tempered glass SP reduce the sensitivity of the s-pen ?
I'm using a cheap tempered glass which surprisingly has some oleophobic coating. S pen works very well. If got difference, might be very little and after few hours u get used to it.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 8 2014, 11:32 PM)
I didn't tick adapted to display and I even use others screen mode than adaptive but none is working. It still dimming the screen. sad.gif
Not sure what else could be triggering it.

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 8 2014, 11:41 PM)
I already starting ignore them. It is obvious lot troll. When someone mentioned something new issue then sometimes a lot unknown users that never exist thread here before will mention on I also face this issue and blah blah blah.

So far Note 4 is the best Samsung phone I ever use,  I use plenty others brand phone also and frank speak I still give lowest score to Sony. First Sony phone I use lousy screen,  second Sony phone crap camera and until now still never good until where due to Sony fail processing algorithm on camera output.

That Huawei Mate 7 really impress me,  I nearly buy it,  first time Huawei phone make me wanna to grab it.
I 100% agree with your assessment on Sony first Xperia series. It was marketed as a great camera within smartphone but it was a load of BS. Even now they claiming that for x3 but unless you expert to manually do the settings, still inferior to many phones. Hated to the core it's stock phone address book too. With Samsung it's so easy. Jump to note 4 has been an improvement in every department except signal strength (hopefully temporary) and no water proof.
kucuboy
post Dec 10 2014, 03:55 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(meebandong @ Dec 9 2014, 07:29 PM)
Not a problem. Means low radiation.
If phone calls really so important, just shut up and get a Nokia,blackberry or Motorola
Don't have to give a d*** reply. Everyone is free to discuss matters on note 4 here.
kucuboy
post Dec 10 2014, 01:46 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(blazejason @ Dec 10 2014, 12:30 PM)
Omg.... suffer a lot from the poor reception... few days ago, I posted something about call keep breaking up in setia eco park.  But right now... I'm in desa park city and the signal is showing  0 bar !!!! Using u mobile..... not sure of the problem is on them. But any celcom user here using note 4?might change telco.

I just need to make call here!
I take my dog for his walk at Desa Park city. I also use celcom but I get full H+ signal there.

This post has been edited by kucuboy: Dec 10 2014, 01:56 PM
kucuboy
post Dec 10 2014, 05:37 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(sabelt @ Dec 10 2014, 04:55 PM)
Testing night shot AUTO. Note 4
Nice. My colleagues also love the night photos snapped by my note 4.
kucuboy
post Dec 12 2014, 05:09 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 12 2014, 01:21 PM)
Back home cook your mee la, nobody need your comment or opinion here.
Just ignore him.
kucuboy
post Dec 13 2014, 02:13 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Dec 12 2014, 08:36 PM)
Those buying from Lazada - do check properly first is M'sian original SME set
If it is imported, high chances set will be ship in from other countries
Than probably your set will be holdup at custom and you need to pay RM100 Sirim permit to clear it. If you asked the courier company to do it , be prepared to pay another RM150-200+ for services costs
Sounds very misleading then.
kucuboy
post Dec 15 2014, 06:40 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 15 2014, 12:41 PM)
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...s.godfire&hl=en

another high graphical game to test the might of note 4 capabilities..
Thx for the tip, right now I'm playing dungeon Hunter 4 although there is a major bug that hinders progress. Took up t Samsung offer of free gems. So far gaming on note 4 very satisfying.
kucuboy
post Dec 22 2014, 12:02 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Dec 22 2014, 11:55 AM)
guys the fast charging on note 4 only works with the original charger right? say if you use 2A charger from ipad will it charge as fast?
Only ori charger.
kucuboy
post Dec 23 2014, 12:37 AM

710 posts

If only we can stop arguing what is best phone, best os, best camera,.... And focus on the product within each thread, more productive info can be shared among fellow users and genuine interested buyers. The amount of flaming that goes on here can rival console wars fans or football team fans. Note 4 got good and less desirable aspects. U own one, deal with both sides of the coin. If you don't own one and don't intend to in t future, good for you in wanting to be informed but pls be courteous to forum users. Rest of us who want to stay informed on this product. Malas la to read thru some of t things posted here or in other respective forum threads.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0290sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:29 PM