Low Water Pressure

TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 23 2014, 10:48 PM, updated 12y ago

6,955 posts

Hi sifus,

I have asked this question before and would like to reconfirm again.

My dad's room shower is experiencing low pressure to the point he has to collect the water in the pail for bathing. It seems like the water pressure is getting lower over the years. Many years back, there was no such thing. We have asked plumber to come and check and his solution was to get a pump to boost the pressure. I am not sure I agree with him because we are not sure what the problem is. If 10 years back, we didn't need a pump, why should we now? What is your opinion?

I am considering to change the rainshower as well as the previous one had gone rusty and we kept buying the replaceable ones from hardware shop. If I were to buy a new one, will I need to hire a contractor to help me drill the tiles for installation or the shop selling the rainshower can provide such service?

This post has been edited by janson_kaniaz: Nov 23 2014, 10:51 PM

MechaLEE
post Nov 23 2014, 10:57 PM

148 posts

is ur house using GI pipe ? those pipes get rusty inside over the years, so u need to clean the pipe as much as possible, or maybe u want to consider making new piping PVC type. No point getting a pump if u r using GI pipe cause it will get rusty inside n the pressure is low again in future. For rain shower u need to have a good water pressure for it to spray properly cause it has many holes.
TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 23 2014, 11:05 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(MechaLEE @ Nov 23 2014, 10:57 PM)
is ur house using GI pipe ? those pipes get rusty inside over the years, so u need to clean the pipe as much as possible, or maybe u want to consider making new piping PVC type. No point getting a pump if u r using GI pipe cause it will get rusty inside n the pressure is low again in future. For rain shower u need to have a good water  pressure for it to spray properly cause it has many holes.
actually how to tell whether the current internal piping is of GI or PVC?

ya, i felt like the plumber was merely giving me temporary solution instead of solving the true problem...
MechaLEE
post Nov 23 2014, 11:21 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 23 2014, 11:05 PM)
actually how to tell whether the current internal piping is of GI or PVC?

ya, i felt like the plumber was merely giving me temporary solution instead of solving the true problem...
GI pipe is like those metal pipe, they r smooth inside when new , but when old it becomes rough like cancer

PVC is plastic n in Malaysia we normally use the grey color ones, they r smooth inside n last long but cant stand extreme high heat

TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 23 2014, 11:25 PM

6,955 posts

the only way I can know the type of pipe in the wall is to see the pipe near the tank right? I assume they are the same right
ozak
post Nov 24 2014, 12:20 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 23 2014, 11:25 PM)
the only way I can know the type of pipe in the wall is to see the pipe near the tank right? I assume they are the same right
You need to tell us more.

How old the house. Are the water supply from tank. Have you wash the tank before. How is your kitchen tap pressure. Is your others bathroom have same problem. Any rust color water come out so far.
SUSsupersound
post Nov 24 2014, 02:02 AM

11,554 posts

How old is your house?
If > 10 years, suspect the pipe blocked. You always open the pipe up, the outside parts and see got dirt or not?
TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 24 2014, 08:09 AM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 24 2014, 12:20 AM)
You need to tell us more.

How old the house. Are the water supply from tank. Have you wash the tank before. How is your kitchen tap pressure. Is your others bathroom have same problem. Any rust color water come out so far.
QUOTE(mambangafro @ Nov 24 2014, 01:14 AM)
Have u check ur plumbing for any leak?
QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 24 2014, 02:02 AM)
How old is your house?
If > 10 years, suspect the pipe blocked. You always open the pipe up, the outside parts and see got dirt or not?
my house now is close to 15 yrs now since completion. my room at the same level as my dad's room does not experience the same problem. the tank has not been washed before. all water tap at the ground floor is fine, just the water to my dad's shower got problem. i'm not sure there's any leak since all other water taps seem fine.

supersound how to open the pipe? it's all within the wall...

PS I have attached photos of the water heater and the tank (located at the window at the top). The tank is pretty high which is sufficient to give enough pressure. Plus my dad's room is nearer to the tank than mine.

This post has been edited by janson_kaniaz: Nov 24 2014, 08:13 AM

low yat 82
post Nov 24 2014, 08:13 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

all original pipe will b in GI. replace it wit hdpe pipe (d black color 1). or use booster pump whichever solution cheaper.
TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 24 2014, 08:19 AM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 24 2014, 08:13 AM)
all original pipe will b in GI. replace it wit hdpe pipe (d black color 1). or use booster pump whichever solution cheaper.
is HDPE commonly used for heated water line? if the current pipe is clogged, booster pump can only help for few years before the same problem arises again...

This post has been edited by janson_kaniaz: Nov 24 2014, 08:20 AM
ozak
post Nov 24 2014, 08:32 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 24 2014, 08:09 AM)
my house now is close to 15 yrs now since completion. my room at the same level as my dad's room does not experience the same problem. the tank has not been washed before. all water tap at the ground floor is fine, just the water to my dad's shower got problem. i'm not sure there's any leak since all other water taps seem fine.

supersound how to open the pipe? it's all within the wall...

PS I have attached photos of the water heater and the tank (located at the window at the top). The tank is pretty high which is sufficient to give enough pressure. Plus my dad's room is nearer to the tank than mine.
Change the shower mixer. Probably clog the mixer already. If this doesn't work, change the stop cock abit higher side around your bathroom.

Your pipe is pvc and water supply from the tank. You need to wash your tank already. The sediment and rust is a lot inside the tank for 15yrs.
TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 24 2014, 08:39 AM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 24 2014, 08:32 AM)
Change the shower mixer. Probably clog the mixer already. If this doesn't work, change the stop cock abit higher side around your bathroom.

Your pipe is pvc and water supply from the tank. You need to wash your tank already. The sediment and rust is a lot inside the tank for 15yrs.
if i buy a new rainshower with shower mixer, will the shop provide installation including removing the old one?

how can u tell the pipe is pvc ar? does normal plumber provide tank cleaning service as well?
weikee
post Nov 24 2014, 08:48 AM

12,019 posts

Best just take out the flexi hose, and try the water pressure without the hose. Sometime the flexi hose is blocked, and some flexi hose have a small wire mesh in between.
ozak
post Nov 24 2014, 08:51 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 24 2014, 08:39 AM)
if i buy a new rainshower with shower mixer, will the shop provide installation including removing the old one?

how can u tell the pipe is pvc ar? does normal plumber provide tank cleaning service as well?
I guess no. Installation is extra charge. Not sure plumber will do the cleaning. My whole house water system is DIY. I wash the tank 2x every yrs.

Normally GI pipe is only from the main to the kitchen and water tank. The rest is PVC pipe. Base on your house age.

TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 24 2014, 09:01 AM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 24 2014, 08:51 AM)
I guess no. Installation is extra charge. Not sure plumber will do the cleaning. My whole house water system is DIY. I wash the tank 2x every yrs.

Normally GI pipe is only from the main to the kitchen and water tank. The rest is PVC pipe. Base on your house age.
if the tank is climbable type i also dun mind cleaning myself, it's quite high...
i hope what you said is true, that the pipe is PVC type. removing the pipe due to rust/clog is the last thing i want...
low yat 82
post Nov 24 2014, 09:03 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 24 2014, 08:19 AM)
is HDPE commonly used for heated water line? if the current pipe is clogged, booster pump can only help for few years before the same problem arises again...
if its heated, best is still GI. u can replace it but no need tanam inside wall.. n u r right ab d booster pump. again, see whichever r cheaper solution tongue.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 24 2014, 08:51 AM)

ermm...imho, it really depends. on newer house, mostly use pvc, but old systematic house, all use GI..
ozak
post Nov 24 2014, 09:17 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 24 2014, 09:01 AM)
if the tank is climbable type i also dun mind cleaning myself, it's quite high...
i hope what you said is true, that the pipe is PVC type. removing the pipe due to rust/clog is the last thing i want...
QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Nov 24 2014, 09:03 AM)
ermm...imho, it really depends. on newer house, mostly use pvc, but old systematic house, all use GI..
This is pretty std plumbing for house in here. GI is for high pressure. While PVC is for low pressure.

Your house is about same age as mind. I map my whole house plumbing system and modify it before go in.

If the plumber can climb, why can't we? My water tank at open rooftop. Climb thousand time. Sometime to enjoy the top view with a nice cold beer while submerge inside the tank. tongue.gif
TSjanson_kaniaz
post Nov 24 2014, 09:21 AM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 24 2014, 09:17 AM)
This is pretty std plumbing for house in here. GI is for high pressure. While PVC is for low pressure.

Your house is about same age as mind. I map my whole house plumbing system and modify it before go in.

If the plumber can climb, why can't we? My water tank at open rooftop. Climb thousand time. Sometime to enjoy the top view with a nice cold beer while submerge inside the tank. tongue.gif
coz they have extendable ladder and i don't? blush.gif
ozak
post Nov 24 2014, 09:31 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Nov 24 2014, 09:21 AM)
coz they have extendable ladder and i don't?  blush.gif
You don't need a long ladder if can climb up from 2nd floor.

There is another possibility. Since you never wash your tank before, the rust and sediment probably built up around the pipe hole in the tank and getting small. That reduce the flow.
weikee
post Nov 24 2014, 09:52 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 24 2014, 09:17 AM)

Standard Sybas pumpling is steel pipeares mandatory for connecting after the Meter. Hence you see most of the old house use GI, because is the cheapest compare to copper and SS pipe.

Of course Sybas take action or not when you use difference pipe is another story.

0.0204sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:21 AM