which is the best thermaltake CPU cooler, and 1 questions about northbridge cooler

TSjimmy_none
post Sep 17 2006, 09:05 PM, updated 20y ago

648 posts

As you know there is quite a few of thermaltale CPU cooler and the price diff is not that many. So far i know there is Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Mini Typhoon, Mini Typhoon TM90 and TR2-R1.

How do i determine which cooler is best for my pc. My PC specs is AMD AM2 3800+ and mobo M2NPV-VM. I read through the forum, that you are required to remove the CPU cooler each time you move the PC.If i remove the CPU cooler and place it back, do i have to replace the thermaltake paste?

As you might know, my motherboard dont have any fan both north and south bridge.Currently from the PC Probe II my motherboard temp is 40-50+ idle to loading. Could i add in fan for those bridge? Thank you.

Yeah why Thermaltake big typhoon got life expectation while the others is not specified.

This post has been edited by jimmy_none: Sep 17 2006, 09:19 PM
sHawTY
post Sep 19 2006, 08:08 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Thermaltake sucks tongue.gif , go get yourself a Themalright heatsinks... wink.gif

How to determine the best cooler for your pc is by testing every aftermarket heatsink that is on sale on the market or, you could view my topics of "Air Cooling Thread" there, we share what's the best solution we've got so far for each type of socket... icon_rolleyes.gif

To add a fan on the northbridge is a really good way, but to find a way to lock the fan to the northbridge heatsink it the hard way... laugh.gif

The best way is to change the northbridge chipset heatsink into a better heatsink such as Thermalright HR-05 smile.gif

Erm, about that thermaltake big thyphoon, that life expectation is not for the heatsink, it's for the fan that is being attached to the heatsink, no fans can lasts forever, it have it's dying age, and when that time came, you have to look for a new fan... wink.gif

No one's gonna use a heatsink up to 70000Hours right? laugh.gif
emmeir
post Sep 23 2006, 12:29 PM

1,526 posts

Why suck?? I use TT Big Typhoon and serve me very very well. Using stock fan (1300rpm), Idle temp only 32 and load max 40. So just start thinking suck or not.

This post has been edited by emmeir: Sep 23 2006, 12:30 PM
styloe
post Sep 23 2006, 11:56 PM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(emmeir @ Sep 23 2006, 12:29 PM)
Why suck??  I use TT Big Typhoon and serve me very very well. Using stock fan (1300rpm), Idle temp only 32 and load max 40. So just start thinking suck or not.
he meant for OC-ing purposes.anyways,..if u dont OC shud do u find if u do,then better get other cooler.btw he says sucks cos he OC and oredi use them..btw can ur tt big typhoon match the xp ultra 120?just wanna know its performance.
Rlhh
post Sep 24 2006, 07:43 AM

1,159 posts

Please compare it in terms of pricing and performance.

Thermaltake Typhoon is actually a great heatsink. It beaten thermalright's older TOP models.

I used it before, the only thing I hate is the screw installation process.
jasonlim
post Sep 24 2006, 05:29 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

i starting 2 get tired wit sHawTY reply..almost the same

i think u can jst copy n paste all ur reply sleep.gif

pls bear in mind,TR good doesnt meant TT sucks

for me,i think TT BT is quite nice..2 get better performance i will suggest 2 get a higher rpm n cfm as replacement

QUOTE(Rlhh @ Sep 24 2006, 07:43 AM)
Please compare it in terms of pricing and performance.

Thermaltake Typhoon is actually a great heatsink. It beaten thermalright's older TOP models.

I used it before, the only thing I hate is the screw installation process.
yes,agree..installation is kinda troublesame..as u need take off the mobo

thing get worse when dont screw the HSF properly..it will be pull down bcoz of the heavy weight

so my advice will be take off the whole mobo,fix the hsf properly then oni attach the mobo bek 2 the casing

i kinda regret 2 attach the hsf oni after i mount the mobo..it's hard 4 me 2 screw it on the mobo coz the space for ur hand 2 go in is veli small

This post has been edited by jasonlim: Sep 24 2006, 05:34 PM
kerryking
post Sep 29 2006, 04:55 PM

553 posts

Well TT Big Typhoon VX ..has a bracket for S775 and AMD..so now is quite easy to install..i am using one..have to say its pretty silent at full speed..
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2006, 05:44 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

im x tt bt user an i can trully say its nt bad... bt noisy lah...if nt ocing fan run at lowest speed also still cool..just the mouting that sucks....
@shawty
bro dun say tt sucks man...i agree tr is dam good bt tt also have some nt bad wat...typhoon /vx n the beetle is good...just the mounting is difucult... my beetle(max speed) could beat an old xp90(slow fan) ....
@jimmy_none
dude dun bother with the typhoons mini versions...just get the big typhoon or the vx version... ....chipset i agree with shawty if ure willing u spend bout 120 bucks get the hr-05... best out there imo....
sHawTY
post Sep 30 2006, 02:32 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Ok, ok...
I won't say thermaltake sucks anymore... laugh.gif

I started to hate thermaltake because of thier sucky sucky Bigwater watercooling system... laugh.gif
Guriseruda
post Sep 30 2006, 03:32 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(emmeir @ Sep 23 2006, 12:29 PM)
Why suck??  I use TT Big Typhoon and serve me very very well. Using stock fan (1300rpm), Idle temp only 32 and load max 40. So just start thinking suck or not.
for me.. i will also say suck too... cause if u compare the wight/? the TT big typhoon more more berat than XP-120 le.. mobo near to crack liau lo.. >_<

This post has been edited by Guriseruda: Sep 30 2006, 03:32 AM
sucka3
post Nov 22 2006, 12:29 AM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

im usin mini typoon nothin wrong so far though biggrin.gif extra fan summore biggrin.gif
styloe
post Nov 22 2006, 01:29 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

i think most ppl will vote with Big typhoon i guess.COZ ITS BIG!!!!!! brows.gif

This post has been edited by styloe: Nov 22 2006, 01:30 AM
id86
post Nov 22 2006, 01:48 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 22 2006, 01:29 AM)
i think most ppl will vote with Big typhoon i guess.COZ ITS BIG!!!!!! brows.gif
yeah...besides,the design quite simple.

not very complicated one.

nice view rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 08:45 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

The base of the Bigthyphoon is too thick, which makes the heat transfer to the heatpipe takes more time...

If only the base is alot thinner, it'll surely perform better... thumbup.gif
emy_xvidia
post Nov 22 2006, 08:47 PM

2,735 posts

Big Typhoon VX, i must say... rclxm9.gif incredible performance, fast, adjustable fan speed. although a bit big, but it's sexy... drool.gif
sniper69
post Nov 22 2006, 08:48 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

laugh.gif, i'm using ThermalTake Big Typhoon as well as ThermalRight XP90 both are great, really great, even in Overclocking purposes also, i might say, ThermalTake isn't that bad, cool down my CPU up to 37°C (on load) @1.45vCORE

personally, i'd take ThermalRight wink.gif
id86
post Nov 25 2006, 09:46 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 22 2006, 08:45 PM)
The base of the Bigthyphoon is too thick, which makes the heat transfer to the heatpipe takes more time...

If only the base is alot thinner, it'll surely perform better... thumbup.gif
i think thick or thin doesn't give to much different.

the performances still good rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 25 2006, 10:12 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 25 2006, 09:46 PM)
i think thick or thin doesn't give to much different.

the performances still good rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif
You don't know what you're talking about man...
Quit spamming... whistling.gif
mruzian
post Nov 25 2006, 11:15 PM

Androidify
744 posts

use the big typhoon vx last time
wit my am2 setup...
n the performance is really great rclxms.gif
sup3rfly
post Nov 26 2006, 03:26 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

IMO TTBT is the best hsf Thermaltake ever made

@threadstarter, if u are looking for hsf that can cool down ur mobo also then u will have to avoid tower hsf coz the fan is not blown down to the mobo, for me i will still prefer to cool down each of the part by using own fans, like changing a thirdr party n/b heatsink..... and get a good airflow casing, it helps cooling down your overall rigs also smile.gif...
IMO TR's SI-128 looks very promising to me.... if u removed ur hsf then u will have to clean off the thermalpaste and reapply again.... thats what we usually do smile.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: Nov 26 2006, 03:28 AM
DaRkSyThE
post Nov 26 2006, 08:38 AM

4,809 posts

lol, its the TT hsf for sure man. hands down smile.gif
but superfly has a point there, u want to cool own ur board too.

SI 128 is awesome, a sliht improvement over the SI -120
sup3rfly
post Nov 26 2006, 08:41 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

TTBT is like xp90c....after so many new hsf come out it still standing strong....
id86
post Nov 26 2006, 10:35 AM

GG
1,052 posts

How about Tt Beetle?

It is a big cooler and great design?

does the performance like Tt BT?
sHawTY
post Nov 26 2006, 11:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 26 2006, 10:35 AM)
How about Tt Beetle?

It is a big cooler and great design?

does the performance like Tt BT?
I didn't see anywhere or anyone been praising for it's performance...

And the design is just the same with ASUS STAR ICE heatsink...
Full copper...

Even when the fan is running in highest speed, it still can't beat my elder Hyper 6+ performance while my hyper 6+ is running at medium speed... icon_rolleyes.gif
tZZ
post Nov 26 2006, 11:34 PM

466 posts

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
sunauto
post Nov 26 2006, 11:43 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

For me, I prefer Thermaltake Blue Orb, very good performance and funky looking too, it looked like a blue mushroom. rclxms.gif
id86
post Nov 27 2006, 12:04 AM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 26 2006, 11:18 PM)
I didn't see anywhere or anyone been praising for it's performance...

And the design is just the same with ASUS STAR ICE heatsink...
Full copper...

Even when the fan is running in highest speed, it still can't beat my elder Hyper 6+ performance while my hyper 6+ is running at medium speed... icon_rolleyes.gif
if compare to Tt BT,which one is better?
sHawTY
post Nov 27 2006, 01:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 27 2006, 12:04 AM)
if compare to Tt BT,which one is better?
BT?

BT stands for what?
Thermaltake Big Thyphoon or Thermaltake Beetle?

If you're asking about comparison among Big Thyphoon, Hyper 6+, and TT Beetle, i think Big Thyphoon is the winner... icon_rolleyes.gif
baok
post Nov 30 2006, 03:41 PM

737 posts

Big Thyphoon is as good as XP-90C.. the diff is only XP-90C is easier to mount while BT is quite difficult.. how do i know?.. i owned them both.. i have many hsf thumbup.gif

XP-90C = Big Thyphoon = Zalman 9500 CNPS

equal performance.. but better go with zalman for quiet environment..

This post has been edited by baok: Nov 30 2006, 03:43 PM
hahaha85
post Nov 30 2006, 07:21 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(baok @ Nov 30 2006, 03:41 PM)
Big Thyphoon is as good as XP-90C.. the diff is only XP-90C is easier to mount while BT is quite difficult.. how do i know?.. i owned them both.. i have many hsf thumbup.gif

XP-90C = Big Thyphoon = Zalman 9500 CNPS

equal performance.. but better go with zalman for quiet environment..
How much is Zalman 9500 CNPS in the market now? How is the performance?

Cheap sale
Doom
post Nov 30 2006, 09:53 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(hahaha85 @ Nov 30 2006, 07:21 PM)
How much is Zalman 9500 CNPS in the market now? How is the performance?

Cheap sale
Price should be around Rm250 if not mistaken ... saw it at Sri Comp ...

performance wise seems to be reliable .. u can google around ..

but one thing for sure it is quite silence ... not top but one of the preferable cooling component when buiilding silent rig...
hahaha85
post Nov 30 2006, 11:00 PM

162 posts

Wat spec u use? How is the temp? The weight is dam light la...Tat one impressive me...

Cheap sale
sHawTY
post Dec 1 2006, 11:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 30 2006, 09:53 PM)
Price should be around Rm250 if not mistaken ... saw it at Sri Comp ...

performance wise seems to be reliable .. u can google around ..

but one thing for sure it is quite silence ... not top but one of the preferable cooling component when buiilding silent rig...
Hey Doom, i've noticed that u've received you're HR-05, what about you're HR-01 and HR-03? blink.gif

Share the experience here la... icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0233sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:30 AM