34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Maldives

jobseekz
post Jan 16 2008, 04:15 PM

take clubmed Maldives trip! you will never regret!!!
nonadoes
post Jan 16 2008, 06:03 PM

509 posts

ok..could you describe it more.
about the cost and etc..
jactval
post Mar 9 2008, 03:31 PM

179 posts

Bump for a nice thread!

Anyone been to Maldives? Come on, share your experiences and pictures here. How about the cost for return tickets? I may visit there by the end of year 2008, hopefully my dreams come true smile.gif

kokuryo
post Mar 27 2008, 10:14 AM

587 posts

any been to Club Med Kani? can share the package??
bonzaimy
post Mar 27 2008, 03:39 PM

1,009 posts

DO U KNOW THAT THERE'S A LUXURY CHALET AT sABAH THAT COST RM2000 PER NIGHT.Any one try it before?
yngwie
post Apr 1 2008, 03:55 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Mar 27 2008, 03:39 PM)
DO U KNOW THAT THERE'S A LUXURY CHALET AT sABAH THAT COST RM2000 PER NIGHT.Any one try it before?
nexus karambunai in tuaran.
nice setting for dining. but it's not really worth the price.
i'd rather stay in the andaman, langkawi. more secure.

scubamy
post Apr 1 2008, 09:20 PM

39 posts

Here are some of the photo i took during my dive trip to maldives in year 2006..

Blackbird
post Apr 1 2008, 09:38 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(scubamy @ Apr 1 2008, 09:20 PM)
Here are some of the photo i took during my dive trip to maldives in year 2006..

I love this shot, nice silhouette!. Maldives is really nice, paradise on earth. biggrin.gif Thanks for sharing ur shots. Hope to see more. thumbup.gif
-nICkY-
post Apr 2 2008, 05:26 PM

42 posts

Nice photo!!! Feel so envy for those who been there before.

May i know how much for the stay, meal...?

fahmyzs
post Apr 3 2008, 12:34 PM

217 posts

Last time when i checked the packages from Club Med for two Ex Singapore was:

6 Nights 7 days including meals + flight tickets for two = rm 12K

Anyone planning to go? smile.gif
jactval
post Apr 3 2008, 06:31 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(scubamy @ Apr 1 2008, 09:20 PM)
Nice shot thumbup.gif
Btw what type of camera you used to take the pictures above? And I believe your photograph skill should be quite pro too smile.gif The scene is so nice! Just like what I see from those tourism postcards.

This post has been edited by jactval: Apr 3 2008, 06:35 PM
scubamy
post Apr 3 2008, 08:30 PM

39 posts

unsure.gif i m not a pro photographer ler....i just using my old canon powershot A70 rclxm9.gif maybe only the scene so nice.. tongue.gif i spend only RM5.5K for a 7d/7n diving trip ex-kul
jactval
post Apr 4 2008, 12:09 PM

179 posts

One of my best friend will be going to Maldive soon (for work). He ask me to visit him, he can provide me with food and accomodation, only I buy the return air ticket by myself. If this is the case, I accept the offer and will be stay, say 1 week. How much budget should I prepare for the trip? Plus blah blah blah entrance fees, diving, daily expenses..... How much should I bring? And how about the standard of living cost over there? Need suggestion here.
terryykf
post Apr 20 2008, 11:07 PM

175 posts

ya...wanna know more about Maldives...
ahchak
post Apr 22 2008, 12:58 AM

Well...
558 posts

The sea is so blue. How is the weather there? Like here so hot?? or better?
jactval
post Apr 22 2008, 01:02 AM

179 posts

How is the currency rate of Maldive as compare with Ringgit?
samngcheesan
post Aug 6 2008, 12:22 AM

012-3200032
1,174 posts

check this out :

Added on August 6, 2008, 12:22 amuser posted image

http://www.starwoodhotels.com/whotels/prop...propertyID=1585

Added on August 6, 2008, 12:43 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by samngcheesan: Aug 6 2008, 12:43 AM
metatron
post Aug 13 2008, 07:47 PM

39 posts

Hope this helps

Here's some costings:
2 persons, honeymoon for 5 days in July 2007

Getting there
Flight: check MAS website
Speed boat to resort island: around USD 60 per person (or more if it is further away, you can arrange with the resort as they have boats)
Seaplane to island: USD150 per person (again depending on how far away)
(I spent RM5000 here)
Warning: MAS is the cheapest direct. However, you arrive at weird hours which is inconvenient for your boat transfers. Boats and seaplanes to the resorts at ONLY during daylight.
I arrived at the airport at around 2am and waited for a few hours for the boat to start.
I left the resort at 4pm and spent 12 hours waiting as my flight back to KL was at 5am.
The airport has a 24 hours cafe, which was good, but uncomfortable seats.

Accommodations
Ranges... the best is to check the websites of Maldives hotel. Try to get the meals included (I think its called all inclusive) if not it will bleed you to order ala carte
(I spent about RM6000 here)
If you are on your honeymoon, tell them that you are newly weds so that they can prepare a fruit basket and more for you i.e. wine, special honeymoon dinner etc

Food
Ranges, if I remember, a complete meal costs from USD15-USD60 (again depending on the number of stars for the resort that you are staying in)
Recommended that you go for all inclusive meals as it is cheaper in the end and it is buffet style so you can sample different types of food (mostly international stuff with some local food thrown in)
Wine costs a bomb! USD60 and above for anything that is worth it.
Note: Alcohol is not permitted into Maldives. They will look for it in the airport.

Water
Yes, this deserves a separate section! It is expensive!!!
Not included in my meals as it was too expensive for the resort to do free flow style
RM8 for 1.5 liter mineral water!!! (about USD2.50)
Bring your own water if you can, however, they don't allow you to bring your water to the restaurant, order the 1.5liter bottle and take back the remaining to your room. I brought 4x 1.5 liters and it was not enough (think hot sandy beaches and dehydration and sea salt water)
The mineral water there has a salty taste to it.

Others
Did not really need anything else as I went for the all inclusive.
Spa charges: from USD100 to USD300 (I went for the couples package)
Scuba: they will take you on a scuba tour from USD300 - USD1000+ (most resort have scuba packages)
Snorkel: brought my own as I did not want to put my mouth on things that people put mouth in, rented fins at USD5
Tips: At the resort, you will have a dedicated cleaner for your room and waiter for your table. You can tip them on your last day. (I gave them USD20 each, and they were not very happy... b*st*rds). Tipped the bell boy USD5 as it was a long walk to my hut/chalet. Forgot to tip the masseurs...

Note: if you want to go there, be sure to book at least 2 months in advance for low season and 6 months for peak. I had to settle for the chalet because of this. And water bungalows get booked out very fast as they are limited)

pictures:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/yeewingtak/se...with/787093416/
Xziled
post Aug 14 2008, 05:22 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

wow! that's great info for budgeting thumbup.gif
wish to go there also..hopefully when i start working can achieve it..xD

metatron
post Aug 15 2008, 11:35 AM

39 posts

Just change USD200 (tips + gifts). More if you plan to do a tour of their capital city.

The rest are charged into room charges which is charged to your credit card.

Do note that accommodation will be the same if you are going with 1 or 2 (if you are alone, you will save on F&B)

Have a great time!

This post has been edited by metatron: Aug 15 2008, 11:37 AM

34 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:15 AM