> Until how much should I upgrade Z250 exhaust?, Just a slip-on or full upgrade?

celicaizpower
post Nov 18 2014, 10:34 PM

Race : ☐ Malay ☐ Chinese ☐ India ☑ /k/tard
1,177 posts

QUOTE(SCy2j @ Nov 18 2014, 10:10 PM)
Hi all, I bought a Z250 in July and I'm thinking of adding on an aftermarket exhaust.
I went to a big and famous motorcycle shop and they told me I should upgrade whole exhaust system (Yoshimura slip-on and linkage) for almost RM4,000.
They said that would add about 5hp more as they did a dyno test before.

However, when I went to another shop, that one told me there's no need to upgrade linkage, and that full upgraded system doesn't add more than 2-3hp.
This shop also told me that instead of buying expensive, well-known brand slip-on exhaust, I could just pay under RM1,000 for a good Thai exhaust and still get the same 1-hp boost that more expensive slip-on gives.

My question is a full upgraded exhaust system really would give you more power? icon_question.gif
If not, and since all slip-on exhausts only add 1hp, should I just go for a quality Thai exhaust and not bother with well-known brands?

I'm not looking for just upgrading the sound of my bike, I'm actually interested in upping the engine output a bit more.
Ok here is my honest feedback. based on my years of experience in this field.

1. Muffler only adds a rough amount 0.5-5 hp to a bike based on the CC of the bike. (ciplak muffler only makes sounds and also maybe decrease in hp)
2. Full system adds roughly 1-15hp again depending on the cc of the bike. (forget about ciplak)

now... here's the cold hard fact. apologies if this sounds harsh a bit, but note that no pun is intended.

250cc can only go up to a certain level of HP, you can feel the small and subtle differences when you upgrade this and that, but the amount of money you need to fork out, is simply kerja bodo. further more when you sell the bike later, the price effect is not much of a difference. so best to leave it as is.

I would rather recommend that you look for a higher HP bikes, you get the best "bang" for your dollar.

but if there is a possibility that a modified 250cc bike can beat the shit out of a 1000cc bike without costing almost or near the price of the 1000cc bike, then your investment is surely worth it. but then again ada ke?

Not to discourage your intent for NFS (need for speed) feeling, i've been riding for way too long and seen too many unnecessary problems caused by aftermarket parts that only helps a bit. running the bike as is, is more cost effective as all items are design for efficiency. again 4k for a full system? might as well sell the 250cc+4k is almost half the downpayment for a 1000cc bike or even pehaps a cash buy for an older model 600cc-1000cc.

my humble thoughts. icon_rolleyes.gif

celicaizpower
post Nov 19 2014, 08:46 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(ichi_24 @ Nov 18 2014, 10:41 PM)
You just broke his heart laugh.gif
no la bro... just the truth, you know me biggrin.gif

QUOTE(SCy2j @ Nov 18 2014, 10:42 PM)
Thanks, exactly what I was looking for. When the shop told me, I thought it was a bit BS, but they are a big company in KL so I was unsure.

I have all the protective gear already so I was looking for some basic stuff most people upgrade their bike with.
I already have sliders, a radiator cover and a bigger wind shield as part of a safety upgrade package.
I don't travel much, just from Melaka to KL to visit friends.
There are some shops you can trust, but majority of them nowadays are just to make a quick buck out of you, sadly.

Correct, those are what you should spend money on, gears, protectors especially for you and then your bike, in that order. The next best thing you can spend money on will be your tyres (good tyres helps a lot during rain, coners and especially braking).

Melaka to KL is not that far bro, with the standard Z250 you can reach in about 1 hour. it's good enough because any faster, you'll get a summon... which is so not worth it. biggrin.gif

celicaizpower
post Nov 19 2014, 10:28 AM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Nov 19 2014, 10:24 AM)
bike can get speed summon?
or compound for reckless riding?

cause so far i always ride over the speed limit, touchwood didnt get any speed summon for bikes...
I kena before dy with my Cagiva doing 180kmh++... but I didnt pay immediately and went to court. To make story short, I only pay RM 30. smile.gif
celicaizpower
post Nov 19 2014, 09:45 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Nov 19 2014, 10:37 AM)
btw, does choosing brand of engine oil affect performance as well?
yes, it does but too little to feel... the most you can feel will be at gear changes... smoother, easier and less noise.

QUOTE(SCy2j @ Nov 19 2014, 05:31 PM)
1 hour?  shocking.gif  It usually takes me 2 hours, and that's pretty fast enough for me.  blink.gif

So okay then, only things left to do are a slip-on and tyre upgrades. And aftermarket air-filter with the slip-on.
yup, i do it in 1 hour smile.gif

better you go for the K&N air filter & good spark plugs... more horsies gain rather than the slip on and lesser cost... once you done these small and essential upgrades... if you still want a little more, then go slip on...

not sure about the 250's but for bigger cc EFI bikes, if you change the air filter and exhaust, you might need to remap your ECU. otherwise the performance will sux.
celicaizpower
post Nov 20 2014, 08:27 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(SCy2j @ Nov 19 2014, 09:50 PM)
I didn't think spark plugs could actually help that much, thanks for the info!
NGK has 3 types of plugs, the normal, the type R and the red color box for race purpose. try check if they have the red box type for Z250.

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Nov 20 2014, 09:01 AM)
for ur current bike, since u start using it, what brand of engine oil u have been using?

i'm using motul 5100 15w-50, but after 4k mileage, 400ml engine oil gone...thinking to change to other brand...
On my own personal test from majority of brands, I find that Silkolene & AGIP are the best.

Honestly speaking, Motul, Shell and a lot of good name brands has knock off... do buy from a trusted workshop. I assume you might kena the knock off or your engine got leak or burning engine oil.

Now, some people might disagree when I say this, the best SAE rating to use in Malaysia will be 15w-50. This SAE rating would be just right for our weather. 10w-40 is too thin and easily burnt off... while 20w-50, you might need to start you engine a couple of time during cold. If you are using a V-Twin engine, there are new oils which have XXw-60 rating, this will be the best choice but if you are using Harley then get the 20w-50 specifically designed for Harley V-Twin.

Please note I have a lot of bikes and no car. smile.gif hehehehehe

QUOTE(AccelTech @ Nov 20 2014, 11:12 AM)
I actually concur with celicaizpower
Changing the exhaust won't benefit much on the speed.
There is , but only a slight increase on the horsepower and top end speed.
To be honest, a 250 cc changing the exhaust is merely cosmetics and sound emphasizing .
A parallel inline engine would sound like a thumping bass.
Just get a cheap one roughly below RM1k that would suffice.
The other 3K can be invested in other materials such as the paint , tyres , sliders , fenders and so on.
thumbup.gif but to me best to use original because afraid that the ciplak one might decrease engine performance, unless you tested the ciplak one before and got umph.

0.0186sec    1.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:05 AM