Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !

k!nex
post Aug 5 2007, 05:42 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

i just subscribed maxis hsdpa broadband.i found it very slow.the RSSI light keep blinking...means RF signal poor or smtg according to modem manual.download speed sux.online game okok la.but at least better than my old 512kb streamyx.
k!nex
post Aug 6 2007, 11:45 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(bulibulizaimon @ Aug 5 2007, 08:13 PM)
What game were you played?
i played maplestory(maplesea).i play ragnarok online.both also very lag.i tried the bandwidth tester.download speed 300+ kbps.upload speed cannot exceed 50kbps la.thts y lag like shyt. mine is the 768kbps package.
i tell u guys, dis maxis wireless HSDPA very fake one.look at the pic below.the download speed is correct.but tmnet speedometer shows totally wrong upload speeds.i use maxis bandwidth tester only get 20++kbps for upload rate.wat the hell is dis? THE UPLOAD SPEED IS FREAKINGLY SLOW!!!!!!!!!!! and the line not consistant.sometimes got RF signal,sometimes no RF signal, causing online games to lag and hang.

Added on August 6, 2007, 11:59 am
QUOTE(scamboy @ Aug 6 2007, 03:22 AM)
Guys,

I will be meeting the person behind Maxis Wireless Broadband in Maxis. rclxms.gif

If you have any doubt on the service and yet to get any answer, I might be able to help. blush.gif

Read my article here:Maxis Broadband Questions icon_rolleyes.gif
den please help me ask them,y in their brochure, they say can play online games smoothly on their premium 768 package?somemore say,can watch online video without buffering.thts very fake and misleading.i cant even watch youtube videos properly.its totally cheating.i only use it for a day and i'm complaining like dis. i'm staying in bandar sri damansara which they claim to hv high speed 3g access.they even show me a map of coverage to prove to me.

another picture of tmnet streamyx at my college using jaring bandwidth tester.both bandwidth test using the same laptop. so conclusion is. the left picture is college bandwidth.right picture is my house maxis HSDPA bandwidth(i feel its too fake though).

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 6 2007, 12:13 PM
k!nex
post Aug 6 2007, 05:57 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

WARNING TO ALL WHO WAN TO SUBSCRIBE TO MAXIS WIRELESS HSDPA BROADBAND SERVICE!!!
I just called up their customer service centre coz i very angry over the connection speed.i've been told tht their UPLOAD SPEED IS ONLY A MERE 64KBPS IN ALL AREAS~~~~!!! they din say in their brochure or anything else.thts y i got like 20+kbps using bandwidth tester at maxis and jaring website. dun trust telekom speedometer!!.

if u're in my area in bandar sri damansara.they said they'll only improve the service by next month.coz its said to be new.HOWEVER THE 64KBPS UPLOAD SPEED WILL STILL REMAIN!!!

TO ONLINE GAMERS AND P2P USERS.MAXIS WILL ONLY ALLOW P2P FROM 1AM TO 6AM ONLY~~~~.THT ONE I CONFIRMED FROM THE CUSTOMER SERVICE CONSULTANT.

I PING YAHOO.COM.MY WIF 32BYTES ALSO NEED 380++MS RESPOND TIME.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 6 2007, 05:58 PM
k!nex
post Aug 6 2007, 06:15 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ Aug 6 2007, 06:07 PM)
Can try using www.speedtest.net to test ur bandwidth.

mine is maxis wireless 768kbps premium package

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 6 2007, 06:16 PM
k!nex
post Aug 8 2007, 04:04 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ Aug 7 2007, 12:33 AM)
make sure u cancel within 30days from ur registration. Otherwsie penalty for the remaining month till contract ends....
actually,i signed in for maxis wireless at pcfair.they dun hv the 30 day trial period.only 7 days according to the customer service coz i used for only 6 hours den i start complaining to customer service le.WAY TOO SLOW THAN EXPECTED.he said i'll hv to wait till next month then only maxis will broaden the coverage in my area as HSDPA in my area is still new.i dun trust them so i ask "can u guarantee tht my internet speed improve?" he cant answer me and straight tell me dis: " if u're not satisfied wif our service,u can return the modem to us and get a full refund of ur RM100 within 7 days".

i dun BT and i dun use p2p programs such as limewire and etc.my priority is mmorpg games.i get like 380+ ms latency most of the time.how to play....sigh...

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 8 2007, 04:06 AM
k!nex
post Aug 8 2007, 05:04 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(llhm87 @ Aug 8 2007, 10:56 AM)
So are you going to return the modem to maxis center?
yea. cannot tahan wif the speed.the latency just too high.play mmorpg game is almost impossible.
k!nex
post Aug 8 2007, 06:12 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(obiwankedah @ Aug 8 2007, 05:52 PM)
Be careful, when returning the modem, they will say all ok, but you will still get the bills for months to come.

You will waste your time on the phone calling them (and the phone bill !!). they will pass you around...
then you would have to go to the maxisuck center yourself to rectify the problem ,again they will say all is ok.

But you will still get the bills...Finally you will get the letter from their lawyer...It took me some time and much anger..
Finally now i dont get the bills..

"if u're not satisfied wifh our service,u can return the modem to us and get a full refund of ur RM100 within 7 days".- Yeah... Rite.... doh.gif
wow!!! so dangerous. so wat u did to avoid getting sued??? can u pls share ur experience here?
k!nex
post Aug 8 2007, 06:23 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(llhm87 @ Aug 8 2007, 06:16 PM)
I also feel like returning the modem to them and unsubscribe their services. Same reason k!nex. Play online game have some lag experience. But if for browsing. The speed is excellent. Still don't know I should cancel this services or not.
but seriously, they dun live up to expectations.in their brochure,they mentioned "no more online video buffering".but then i watch youtube wif windows update and antivirus update off also very slow loading.keep lagging. i've no idea abt wat latency we must hv in order to play online game smoothly.but then,2 years back, i used to hv streamyx 512.download 512, upload 256.if was much faster than maxis.i used to run 5 ragnarok bots at the same times and yet i can still surf the net without speed hiccups.even now i'm replying.the moment i click "add reply" . my online game stuck there for awhile...
k!nex
post Aug 8 2007, 11:04 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(Intox @ Aug 8 2007, 10:55 PM)
anyone can help me?? i'm just subscribe to this maxis as my area streamyx ports is full... rite now i kenot play ragnarok online.. it says kenot connect with  the server.. and my torrents seems not responding.. anyone can rectify this problem??

add me
ym: ruzilan_manutd
msn: intoxicated_777

thanks in advances..
torents??? dun even dream of it.maybe after 1am u can try.maxis only open p2p on 1am to 6am everyday.other times no.i also ragnarok online player.can play but lagging.if ur ping is 200ms and above, very hard to get to ragnarok.
k!nex
post Aug 8 2007, 11:18 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 8 2007, 11:12 PM)
i signed up for maxis broadband in PC fair but i don hav time to instal it, my fren is doing it now(i m not around). she said she can't connect at all...
can someone give step by step guide here? tongue.gif
first thing is:
they give u sort of like a handphone simcard rite?
install it into the modem maxis provide u
then plug those ethernet cables and fix the antenna for ur modem

second is ur pc part:
u need to make sure: ur TCP/IP protocol setting is set to :obtain an ip address automatically, and obtain dns address automatically

3rd is:
power on the modem,plug ethernet cable into ur network card.den go toilet and go for a drink.it needs quite some time to get connection.ard 3 minutes i suppose.den u try on firefox or IE.no need use any dialer or watsoeva.if webpage can load..means succusssful.if after 10 minutes u see ur RSSI light on ur modem still blinking,means u hv to relocate ur modem.thts all.

k!nex
post Aug 9 2007, 10:41 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(rave master @ Aug 8 2007, 09:00 PM)
I hav subscribe maxis broadband at pc fair on sunday. The speed is excellent except for p2p. So do i get a week or a month of trial? I'm thinking of unsubscribed it
i tell u.today i went to maxis return their modem and stuff.they said they still charge customers based on how many days they've used even though stilll in trial period.i saw a notice at their counter.it goes like dat:

MAXIS WIRELESS BROADBAND WILL NOW GIVEN A TRIAL PERIOD OF 7 DAYS INSTEAD OF 30 DAYS BEGINNING 30 MAY 2007.THE 30 DAYS TRIAL HAS ENDED DUE TO ITS ONLY A PROMOTION TO A NEWLY LAUNCHED SERVICE.
k!nex
post Aug 9 2007, 10:53 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Aug 9 2007, 01:42 PM)
Weiiii u guys dont say like that. test 1st.

Yesterday night I BT can get 30kbps stable. can finish 100mb bt download around 1 hour.

If screamyx i dont think u can hit so high dload
i using one software call Ares.i dun think its BT,its only p2p file sharing,but yesterday midnight around 1.30am, i can hit 50+kilobytes per second download.but upload wise....1kb 2 kb..

Added on August 9, 2007, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(Intox @ Aug 9 2007, 10:43 PM)
cannot bypass this p2p blockage???
not possible seriously.maxis only open their port after 1am midnight till 6am. seriously, they timed exactly like dat.somehow,i'm using 56k modem now, still can on p2p but slow speed of coz la.just test only.i'm using timenet dialup now.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 9 2007, 10:56 PM
k!nex
post Aug 11 2007, 02:09 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(rave master @ Aug 9 2007, 11:18 PM)
So did they refund the RM100 activation fee? Klcc maxis centre is open in weekend also right? If not no way i got time to cancel it.. So i'm gonna download like hell these few days.

No p2p to me even midnight after 1am. But strangely i open my bt when i go to work at 7am and set to off my com around 12pm and when i'm back,  i download about 100mb.

Yup, and i ask at mid valley and the sales guy tell me its no trial period. U sign it, u're doom for 18 month. I ask him if he's sure and he think bout a sec and tell me he's sure. Wonder why???
i din get an instant refund of my RM100 on the spot.they told me,they'll send a cheque right to my house in this month instead.so far,i din get yet.lets see how.i really dunno whether maxis centre at klcc really open on weekend.u can try ur luck :-D this wireless broadband download really not bad la.but it doesn't fit my usage only.the sales guy dunno anything lor.just call up maxis customer care and u urself become more knowledgable than the maxis sales guy who probably uses a streamyx instead....

Added on August 11, 2007, 2:12 am
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Aug 10 2007, 03:29 AM)
a bit overrated comparison.how bout perodua kancil and bugatti veyron? tongue.gif

btw, i tried to p2p using ares.got speed up to 50kbps for 384kbps package.i think okla.i dun expect much anyways.
wow,i also get 50++kilobytes per second only using ares.but wat i took was the 768 package.means,384 package almost similar only in terms of speed .wat for wan 768 package.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 11 2007, 02:12 AM
k!nex
post Aug 13 2007, 12:17 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(kaka[22] @ Aug 13 2007, 11:12 AM)
have latest news for unlimited 3G wireless now?
i've abit only.i returned my modem back to maxis(i unsubscribed it).yesterday, there was a guy calling from maxis asking for feedback.i told him everything i dun like.including:
1. low upload speed
2. high latency
3. inconsistant connection and speed
4. blocking p2p.

seems ttht maxis is only allowing 24/7 p2p during end of the year when the increase their total bandwidth.dunno can trust or not la.
k!nex
post Aug 20 2007, 02:58 PM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 18 2007, 08:54 PM)
Guys

tell me is it worth to make the switch

I dont care about BT and p2p crap (well just Skype..) , I just want it to be stable with fast speed.
seriously,i'll tell u not worth it.maxis wbb cant even do video streaming properly.youtube movies are lagging.how u expect voice conversation when maxis wbb only gives u 64Kbps(kilobits,not kilobytes) upload speed.and not consistant somemore.connection will drop anytime.

0.0409sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:02 AM