83 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !

mumeichan
post Sep 27 2006, 03:57 PM

4,152 posts

My EDGE connection speed is usually around 20KBps. So in theory I could download about 49 GB a month.
OKLY
post Sep 27 2006, 04:41 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Sep 27 2006, 03:57 PM)
My EDGE connection speed is usually around 20KBps. So in theory I could download about 49 GB a month.
Using the data card or a handphone to act as a modem ?
mengsuan
post Sep 27 2006, 08:17 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 26 2006, 11:19 PM)
So has anyone tried out this Maxis 3G home broadband thing? I wonder what happens if we bring the modem to area OUtside 3G/EDGE coverage, will it autoroam to gprs instead??
Yes, it will switch to GPRS.
soul2soul
post Sep 27 2006, 11:56 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 27 2006, 08:17 PM)
Yes, it will switch to GPRS.
how about if i subcribe the service in Klang Valley, and say i bring the modem to kuching..... do you think the modem will work there?
ATI.Bob
post Sep 28 2006, 12:29 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

It shoul ler.. GPRS coverage is almost (should be all) nationwide ler.. if there's 3G coverage it should automatically switch over lah.. tongue.gif
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2006, 12:55 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

can someone confirm this or not?

RM58 per month is not a bad idea for 56kbps , cheaper than digi EDGE which costs RM99
SUSDavid83
post Sep 28 2006, 08:37 AM

52,874 posts

It's not a bad idea if the speed is up to expectation.
wildside
post Sep 28 2006, 08:53 AM

340 posts

This maybe of interest to some of you who are thinking of subscribing...

Speaking with one of the Maxis service people, apparently, if you live or work in a high-rise development - apartments, condos, menaras - they can't assure you that you'll get optimal service if you are above the 5th floor blink.gif

They'll 'fix it' in a couple of months.

Strange how HSDPA works, eh?

ATI.Bob
post Sep 28 2006, 10:55 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 28 2006, 12:55 AM)
can someone confirm this or not?

RM58 per month is not a bad idea for 56kbps , cheaper than digi EDGE which costs RM99
now you mentioning, it's kinda right too.. so what do we get for rm58 per month anyway? GPRS + modem?

how much can one download on a 56k line anyway? sweat.gif
soul2soul
post Sep 28 2006, 01:21 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Sep 28 2006, 10:55 AM)
now you mentioning, it's kinda right too.. so what do we get for rm58 per month anyway? GPRS + modem?

how much can one download on a 56k line anyway? sweat.gif
58 is without modem package (299 upfront payment for modem). with modem, rental +10 per month.

can someone ask maxis whether this is possible, to bring the modem out of 3g area to gprs area?
kanelkc
post Sep 29 2006, 04:33 PM

68 posts

Maxis should not had put up the phase "Unlimited internet access". with the 3 Gib download limitation , It is obviously a limited access.Just wondering can Maxis being sued for misleading consumer ? Been sick of all this shits..
Is there an association in malaysia which takes care of internet users rights in this country ?? Can we have one ???
mengsuan
post Sep 29 2006, 04:40 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(kanelkc @ Sep 29 2006, 04:33 PM)
Maxis should not had put up the phase "Unlimited internet access". with the 3 Gib  download limitation , It is obviously a limited access.Just wondering can  Maxis being sued for misleading consumer ?  Been sick of all this shits..
Is there an association in malaysia which takes care of  internet users  rights in this country ?? Can we have one ???
It is unlimited in the sense of duration. No, you cannot sue them. It is stated clearly in the T&C. You can always read the T&C before subscribing and therefore it is not counted as misleading. We do have consumer's association in Malaysia.
OKLY
post Sep 29 2006, 04:43 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(kanelkc @ Sep 29 2006, 04:33 PM)
Maxis should not had put up the phase "Unlimited internet access". with the 3 Gib  download limitation , It is obviously a limited access.Just wondering can  Maxis being sued for misleading consumer ?  Been sick of all this shits..
Is there an association in malaysia which takes care of  internet users  rights in this country ?? Can we have one ???
Could you provide the link where they stated 'Unlimited Internet Access' for their Wireless Broadband via 3G ?
kanelkc
post Sep 29 2006, 04:54 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 29 2006, 04:40 PM)
It is unlimited in the sense of duration. No, you cannot sue them. It is stated clearly in the T&C. You can always read the T&C before subscribing and therefore it is not counted as misleading. We do have consumer's association in Malaysia.
DUration ? If the limited is reached within 3 days use of internet and the line is cutted off, its still can called unlimted access ? That is called 3 days unlimited internet access .

mengsuan
post Sep 29 2006, 04:55 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Indeed, I do not see any "unlimited" word anywhere in their official site. And there is a section where they stated about their fair usage policy.
mengsuan
post Sep 29 2006, 04:58 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(kanelkc @ Sep 29 2006, 04:54 PM)
DUration ? If the limited is reached within 3 days use of internet and the line is cutted off, its  still can called unlimted access ? That is called 3 days  unlimited internet access .
So, think of it the other way round. If you do NOT exceed the 3GB limitation which they have already stated, don't you get the unlimited duration?

In your case, you are breaching one of the T&C and thus it is reasonable and appropriate to stop you from using the service.
OKLY
post Sep 29 2006, 05:05 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(kanelkc @ Sep 29 2006, 04:54 PM)
DUration ? If the limited is reached within 3 days use of internet and the line is cutted off, its  still can called unlimted access ? That is called 3 days  unlimited internet access .
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 29 2006, 04:55 PM)
Indeed, I do not see any "unlimited" word anywhere in their official site. And there is a section where they stated about their fair usage policy.
Before making any statement please post the link you saw that it is stated 'Unlimited Access'. Yes I see that statement for their wired broadband but not for their wireless broadband via 3G.
bolehlah
post Sep 30 2006, 01:02 AM

153 posts

In Wired Broadband :
Enjoy unlimited broadband usage with these ADSL packages....

Source : http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/packages.asp

So now it is "unlimited broadband usage". Obviously is unlimited usage.

Even for fair usage, 3GB per month is simply too low, I think should be increased to 30GB per month, at least.

C'mon, it just need 50 mins to download 3GB size for a 1.0M line.

Don't forget some of line might used by company, where 5 to 10 persons shared one line in an office. In that case 3GB usage is just simply a toy.

They should provide the rate for extra usage as well or maybe Maxis just like to have customers beggging them everyday. "Please gime more bandwidth..."

Funny a limit within an unlimited package.

OKLY
post Sep 30 2006, 01:06 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(bolehlah @ Sep 30 2006, 01:02 AM)
In Wired Broadband :
Enjoy unlimited broadband usage with these ADSL packages....

Source : http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/packages.asp
So now it is "unlimited broadband usage".  Obviously is unlimited usage.
Even for fair usage, 3GB per month is simply too low, I think  should be increased to 30GB per month, at least. 

C'mon, it just need 50 mins to download 3GB size for a 1.0M line.
Don't forget some of line might used by company, where 5 to 10 persons shared one line in an office.  In that case 3GB usage is just simply a toy. 

They should provide the rate for extra usage as well or maybe Maxis just like to have customers beggging them everyday.  "Please gime more bandwidth..."
Funny a limit within an unlimited package.
It is so obvious the reason why they impose a 3GB bandwidth limit per month is to discourage downloads.
chern84
post Sep 30 2006, 02:52 AM

58 posts

Hey can someone confirm that the maxis wireless broadband can do internet sharing among few PCs? If possible, can provide the steps to set up internet sharing. Thx =p

83 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:17 AM