> SS2 Mall....rumour

TSmashed-potato
post Nov 13 2014, 08:09 AM, updated 10y ago

44 posts

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=101...&type=1&theater

FLASH NEWS ::: Good day folks. Flash News starts now with a rumour that SStwo Mall in SS2, Petaling Jaya will be ceasing operations entirely (OR) partially soon. PTLM is not able to verify this news at this juncture but according to a source, the mall management has ordered some of its tenants to vacate within the next one or two months. The source added that a residential block could be added in one of the sections as part of its intended revamp of this complex, which underperformed since its opening in 2011.

PTLM also noted that an empty land infront of the mall entrance was earmarked for a 39-storey signature suites project by Solid Promenade Sdn Bhd (Not The Hub @ SS2 by SDB). Solid Promenade is the developer for Damai 88 off Jalan Ampang.
mafioso
post Nov 13 2014, 08:10 AM

6,130 posts

Its true. Just went there to buy something 2 days ago.

Shop owner say gonna cease operation on March 2015.

Nobody go there also. sweat.gif

Rumour is gonna change into an office.
annoymous1234
post Nov 13 2014, 08:12 AM

Cheapest condo in PJ
7,343 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Nov 13 2014, 08:10 AM)
Its true. Just went there to buy something 2 days ago.

Shop owner say gonna cease operation on March 2015.

Nobody go there also. sweat.gif

Rumour is gonna change into an office.
that place feng sui not good i think. i've been there a few times, really no customers de. how to survive sweat.gif
overfloe
post Nov 13 2014, 08:17 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,058 posts

shouldn't build that mall there in the first place.
mafioso
post Nov 13 2014, 08:17 AM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:12 AM)
that place feng sui not good i think. i've been there a few times, really no customers de. how to survive  sweat.gif
Isolated. Trapped within housing area.

And most likely its some rich guy without good connections.
Just "rich" enough to build it. But cannot get famous shops to rent there.

Lol.
Proton Supir-ma S
post Nov 13 2014, 08:20 AM

Pandan muka... lel
acbc
post Nov 13 2014, 08:20 AM

8,476 posts

Tutup kedai only. Convert into a condo sure sell like hot cakes.
Bold9900
post Nov 13 2014, 08:22 AM

181 posts

cakap mahcem ada /k kesah
99FoxDemon
post Nov 13 2014, 08:22 AM

23 posts

that mall in hidden place and wan to compete with tropicana summore. sure die... just a matter of time only.
SUStlts
post Nov 13 2014, 08:24 AM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

never been there b4.... sad.gif
dewill
post Nov 13 2014, 08:27 AM

1,716 posts

tropicana city mall overtake his role as shopping mall.
further the interior design of the building quite misleading and hard to find from LG shop to open restaurant on top.
SUSVelocity
post Nov 13 2014, 08:27 AM

3,188 posts

Location is great but planning and management so bad.

So many shops still vacant. The parking also need circle 100 times.
Avex
post Nov 13 2014, 08:33 AM

559 posts

just change the whole place into condo better
SUSVelocity
post Nov 13 2014, 08:36 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(99FoxDemon @ Nov 13 2014, 08:22 AM)
that mall in hidden place and wan to compete with tropicana summore. sure die... just a matter of time only.
Nothing to do with that.

If your mall have sufficient good tenant people will go.

Cinema don't have, big tenant don't have, the external design so confusing, wanna enter car park also very hard.

the mall design so confusing I sometimes get lost inside.

so it deserve to close down

Tropicana mall is different immediately at main entrance can enter car park and ppl shop at carrefour can easily access from underground.

Got gsc there, everything easily access by a lift. From any level can take lift straight to car park.
Proton Supir-ma S
post Nov 13 2014, 08:42 AM

Reminds me of Subang Avenue... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Proton Supir-ma S: Nov 13 2014, 08:42 AM
SUSadvocado
post Nov 13 2014, 08:47 AM

2,948 posts

I only passby the Paparich side when i use small road, never knew it's actually a big mall, looks like those single storey malls from 1 side i have no idea where the main entrance is.
pisces88
post Nov 13 2014, 08:58 AM

3,711 posts

Malls malls every where
SUSneoFluidic
post Nov 13 2014, 09:07 AM

47 posts

Condo? If 400k starting can consider lol
cracksys
post Nov 13 2014, 09:10 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

that place feng sui not good i think. i've been there a few times, really no customers de. how to survive  sweat.gif
haha.

feng sui.

topkek.
ganz
post Nov 13 2014, 09:10 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,138 posts

Space u8 bukit jelutong also like that..
H4XF4XTOR
post Nov 13 2014, 09:12 AM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,075 posts

place not strategic.waste space
xpole
post Nov 13 2014, 09:13 AM

Rain on me baby
1,362 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Nov 13 2014, 09:10 AM)
That one not for human. I went there just for MBO only.
That place is really sucks. Banyak kedai bankrupt
loon90
post Nov 13 2014, 09:17 AM

172 posts

This one is location not good, interior also not good..
ganz
post Nov 13 2014, 09:19 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,138 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Nov 13 2014, 09:13 AM)
That one not for human. I went there just for MBO only.
That place is really sucks. Banyak kedai bankrupt
Techanically.. it good since got large pool of residenr but without good shopping complex. ..
But..
ozak
post Nov 13 2014, 09:22 AM

16,546 posts

I see the main feng sui problem is the main road jalan harapan is not that good. This road after the traffic light, feel like going to dead end. You just don't feel like turning to left if from ss2 or go straight if from outside.
mousqy
post Nov 13 2014, 09:25 AM

758 posts

never been there b4 ...dah mau tutup heehh
mafioso
post Nov 13 2014, 09:30 AM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 13 2014, 09:22 AM)
I see the main feng sui problem is the main road jalan harapan is not that good. This road after the traffic light, feel like going to dead end. You just don't feel like turning to left if from ss2 or go straight if from outside.
Most kesian is the parking road there become main road during peak hours. Lelelelel
Vexation
post Nov 13 2014, 09:31 AM

44 posts

I only use SS2 Mall as a landmark to locate Standing Theory and a seafood restaurant nearby where they have these amazing nestum prawns and pork knuckle.

This post has been edited by Vexation: Nov 13 2014, 09:32 AM
SUSJose Mourinho
post Nov 13 2014, 09:36 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Nov 13 2014, 09:30 AM)
Most kesian is the parking road there become main road during peak hours. Lelelelel
laugh.gif laugh.gif , i used to use dat 'main road' everyday coming bck frm work, saves me alot of time laugh.gif
SUSradical85
post Nov 13 2014, 09:39 AM

lalala~~
625 posts

Everyone i talked to said same thing. Empty, surrounded by housing area, dead end blablabla. Macam sudah expected lol
travis_ckf
post Nov 13 2014, 09:39 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Another mall bites the dust. More will follow suit. Too many malls when buying power is weakening.
alanyuppie
post Nov 13 2014, 09:42 AM

2,791 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 13 2014, 10:22 AM)
Shall I say "jalan Harapan" is literally hopeless.
SUSNismoConcept
post Nov 13 2014, 09:42 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Nov 13 2014, 09:33 AM)
just change the whole place into Massage Centre better
drool.gif
ozak
post Nov 13 2014, 09:49 AM

16,546 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Nov 13 2014, 09:42 AM)
Shall I say "jalan Harapan" is literally hopeless.
Definitely "tak ada harapan" this ss2 mall.
tsunade
post Nov 13 2014, 09:54 AM

2,046 posts

tropicana mall gave the first crippling blow, paradigm sink in the final nail of the coffin.
poor thing. one of the first Chatime outlets in malaysia
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 13 2014, 09:54 AM

3,698 posts

It's the design and location problem....

Design - one of the weirdest I have ever seen. The upper part of the mall is connected to the road above, and mostly are restaurants and a gym. It's located OUTSIDE the mall. So when it rains, no one will want to go makan there. Then the entrance from the outside area to the inner part is... weird. You have to walk a long path from the restaurants and gym to go in.... no one knows got mall inside there, thinking it's the entrance of the gym.... doh.gif

Location - what does the big 3 (Sunway Pyramid, Paradigm Mall and One Utama) have in common? Yes - they are all at / nearby LDP. Even Tropicana Mall benefited from being situated beside LDP. Many people use the highway everyday and it's "free promotion" for them. But SS2 mall? Well, it's located..... somewhere near SS2. That's it. More specific? Errr.... "tak tahu jelaskan". How to promote the mall? Even the road to the main entrance also mostly empty one, only used by those staying around there as a shortcut.... doh.gif

This post has been edited by ZeroSOFInfinity: Nov 13 2014, 10:16 AM
kitzai
post Nov 13 2014, 09:57 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Nov 13 2014, 08:36 AM)
Nothing to do with that.
If your mall have sufficient good tenant people will go.

Cinema don't have,  big tenant don't have, the external design so confusing, wanna enter car park also very hard.

the mall design so confusing I sometimes get lost inside.

so it deserve to close down

Tropicana mall is different immediately at main entrance can enter car park and ppl shop at carrefour can easily access from underground.

Got gsc there, everything easily access by a lift. From any level can take lift straight to car park.
hmm kinda agree with you about the lifts.

for that size of mall, there is plenty of lifts and getting in / out from car park is quite easy.

it was once my fave movies mall because it is less crowded and easy parking thumbup.gif
Kravo
post Nov 13 2014, 09:57 AM

1,230 posts

no cinema?
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 13 2014, 10:05 AM

3,698 posts

QUOTE(Kravo @ Nov 13 2014, 09:57 AM)
no cinema?
Tropicana there got GSC already. 1U got TGV. Even Paradign Mall has GSC. So SS2 mall lost in that department. Even MBO can't help the place.
Kravo
post Nov 13 2014, 10:07 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Nov 13 2014, 10:05 AM)
Tropicana there got GSC already. 1U got TGV. Even Paradign Mall has GSC. So SS2 mall lost in that department. Even MBO can't help the place.
cinema is main attraction for crowd for mall

or buka many massage centres
SUSapj8188
post Nov 13 2014, 10:08 AM

198 posts

Lets us ktards pool some money, takeover several shoplots at cheap price and inject some massages business there brows.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 13 2014, 10:30 AM

3,698 posts

QUOTE(Kravo @ Nov 13 2014, 10:07 AM)

TGV sure won't open there - 1U and Pyramid is the "prime" one. Besides they are also opening one more at Jaya Shopping Mall. GSC has 2 at Paradigm and Tropicana. MBO open there sure "jap lap" - just look at Subang Parade one. So what benefit does SS2 have with a cinema there?
jasonlim
post Nov 13 2014, 10:38 AM

Bunga(R)
3,550 posts

QUOTE(neoFluidic @ Nov 13 2014, 09:07 AM)
Condo? If 400k starting can consider lol
400k in your dream

QUOTE(NismoConcept @ Nov 13 2014, 09:42 AM)
drool.gif
i agree brows.gif
EarendurFefalas
post Nov 13 2014, 10:48 AM

155 posts

dengar cerita ada hantu
then sales tak laku
tutup kedai tak bagitahu
jadikan ofis extra wang saku
SUSVelocity
post Nov 14 2014, 12:50 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(kitzai @ Nov 13 2014, 09:57 AM)
hmm kinda agree with you about the lifts.

for that size of mall, there is plenty of lifts and getting in / out from car park is quite easy.

it was once my fave movies mall because it is less crowded and easy parking thumbup.gif
after cinema straight enter lift go down to car. So fast and convenient even exit also easy
mafioso
post Nov 14 2014, 12:54 AM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Nov 13 2014, 09:54 AM)
It's the design and location problem....

Design - one of the weirdest I have ever seen. The upper part of the mall is connected to the road above, and mostly are restaurants and a gym. It's located OUTSIDE the mall. So when it rains, no one will want to go makan there. Then the entrance from the outside area to the inner part is... weird. You have to walk a long path from the restaurants and gym to go in.... no one knows got mall inside there, thinking it's the entrance of the gym....  doh.gif

Location - what does the big 3 (Sunway Pyramid, Paradigm Mall and One Utama) have in common? Yes - they are all at / nearby LDP. Even Tropicana Mall benefited from being situated beside LDP. Many people use the highway everyday and it's "free promotion" for them. But SS2 mall? Well, it's located..... somewhere near SS2. That's it. More specific? Errr.... "tak tahu jelaskan". How to promote the mall? Even the road to the main entrance also mostly empty one, only used by those staying around there as a shortcut....  doh.gif
another thats gonna be the same is that jaya mall.. opposite digital mall that one.
kumanosuke
post Nov 14 2014, 12:57 AM

717 posts

too many shopping malls

starting to feel the heat ady
lopo90
post Nov 14 2014, 01:02 AM

668 posts

bye bye econsave
SUSdestiny6
post Nov 14 2014, 01:03 AM

817 posts

QUOTE(Kravo @ Nov 13 2014, 10:07 AM)

Endah Parade also not doing well la...... doh.gif
unless do very big under 1 big boss convert the whole building to health spa centre.... brows.gif
100 ladies to mirror drool.gif
Blofeld
post Nov 14 2014, 01:05 AM

4,457 posts

lol...I never stepped in there b4 also
lorrydriverrocks
post Nov 14 2014, 01:05 AM

254 posts

i only know when jam i go shopping mall...jalan jalan until no more jam then balik
lopo90
post Nov 14 2014, 01:13 AM

668 posts

QUOTE(lorrydriverrocks @ Nov 14 2014, 01:05 AM)
i only know when jam i go shopping mall...jalan jalan until no more jam then balik
time to find a new mall to jalan2 liao

can opt for paradigm or tropicana
epsonstylux
post Nov 14 2014, 01:25 AM

I said "Good Day!"
1,135 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:58 AM)
Malls malls every where
QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Nov 14 2014, 12:57 AM)
too many shopping malls

starting to feel the heat ady
In future there will be more small malls and its called neighbourhood mall.

Perhaps its time for malaysian to support local brand type of mall

And some incentive for local sme to set up shops inside this local mall.

So instead of tesco, giant, topman, uniqlo

We will see a lot more local products

Ah beng boutique or ah lian cafe or abu basikal or surendran joe barber
doomx
post Nov 14 2014, 01:35 AM

Look at mah stars
2,795 posts

MY CHICKEN HOTPOT *****
mafioso
post Nov 14 2014, 01:41 AM

6,130 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 14 2014, 01:35 AM)
MY CHICKEN HOTPOT *****
better go before march and ask for number.

at least owner can tell you where they relocate. so wont get lost liao.

like what i did to the shop i went few days ago.
K.I.T.T
post Nov 14 2014, 01:46 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Nov 13 2014, 08:58 AM)
Malls malls every where
itu pasal aku nasihatkan avoiding membeli lot shopping kompleks
Artus
post Nov 14 2014, 01:49 AM

1,983 posts

Don't know why got so many stupid developers around. They should do mix development 4 (condo,office,shop and school) in 1 definitely got business, especially next to LRT or MRT stations.
doomx
post Nov 14 2014, 09:15 AM

Look at mah stars
2,795 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Nov 14 2014, 01:41 AM)
better go before march and ask for number.

at least owner can tell you where they relocate. so wont get lost liao.

like what i did to the shop i went few days ago.
ayam sad liao. always go there makan like a boss
kolamazu
post Nov 14 2014, 09:23 AM

SS2 Mall < Tropicana City Mall < Paradigm Mall

Satu mall makan satu mall... how many ppl wanna go jalan jalan everyday.... so many malls to go.......

Rusty Nail
post Nov 14 2014, 09:23 AM

Why am I still here?
4,782 posts

QUOTE(Artus @ Nov 14 2014, 01:49 AM)
Don't know why got so many stupid developers around. They should do mix development 4 (condo,office,shop and [cool.gif school) [\b] in 1 definitely got business, especially next to LRT or MRT stations.
Haven't heard this in a long time
Tuition centres is a crowd puller as well.
Unfortunately mall rental is too expensive unless it's premium education like for gifted children.

Somehow the school jaya one is pulling it thorough

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Nov 14 2014, 09:24 AM
leah235
post Nov 14 2014, 09:35 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,207 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Nov 13 2014, 09:10 AM)
Waste of space. Nothing there.
InvestThing
post Nov 14 2014, 09:40 AM

274 posts

The access to SS2 Mall is not that good to begin with. Like other comments; they did not advertise heavily enough, lack of activities and major events to draw awareness and tenant quality is really boring. Basically SS2 folks are more laid back and consists heavily of Gen Y.

It could have been a major success given that SS2 is already a matured area and the market has decent spending power.

If they turn it to residences, I think will be successful; provided they tag it reasonable PJ per sq ft price. Hopefully once completed; management and home owners will filter tenant types.. don't want another Mentari.
ZzZzz...
post Nov 14 2014, 09:45 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,773 posts

built it like jayaone ba
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM

3,698 posts

QUOTE(InvestThing @ Nov 14 2014, 09:40 AM)
The access to SS2 Mall is not that good to begin with. Like other comments; they did not advertise heavily enough, lack of activities and major events to draw awareness and tenant quality is really boring. Basically SS2 folks are more laid back and consists heavily of Gen Y.

It could have been a major success given that SS2 is already a matured area and the market has decent spending power.

If they turn it to residences, I think will be successful; provided they tag it reasonable PJ per sq ft price. Hopefully once completed; management and home owners will filter tenant types.. don't want another Mentari.
SS2 Mall is a stupid idea to begin with. Around that same place, there's Jaya Shopping Centre, Jaya 33 and Jaya One.

Jaya Shopping Centre just started, but will definately benefit from having a TGV cinema opening there soon. Besides its located beside the Digital Mall, a prime area.

Jaya 33 has the office blocks above it. Not forgetting a Jaya Grocer and other middle to high end restaurants inside. And add in the Fitness First gym, this place would be very hard to "bungkus".

Jaya One still have some vacancies, but many major shops and supermarkets are there (Starbucks, Oldtown, Wendys, etc.) Not forgetting the pubs and bistros flogging the place. And opposite UTAR - students tend to go there after classes.

So then, how would SS2 Mall be able to compete with those 3 places? Firstly, the location sucks. Secondly, design is crap. Who's gonna go there?

This post has been edited by ZeroSOFInfinity: Nov 14 2014, 10:01 AM
Zanei Gundan
post Nov 14 2014, 10:03 AM

143 posts

will econsave be affected too?

if yes goodbye then...nice knowing you
matmoto5125
post Nov 14 2014, 10:04 AM

#kitajagakita
1,293 posts

QUOTE(leah235 @ Nov 14 2014, 09:35 AM)
Waste of space. Nothing there.
Basement parking at night is perfect place for... brows.gif brows.gif
leah235
post Nov 14 2014, 10:09 AM

DIMPLE EATER
1,207 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Nov 14 2014, 10:04 AM)
Basement parking at night is perfect place for...  brows.gif  brows.gif
When I 1st went there hor, macam tempat hantu. lol. ppl no kesah, and surrounding so senyap. If get killed, a week later discovered lol
SUSdgrebel
post Nov 14 2014, 10:12 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

ada starbucks, ada business
la bella
post Nov 14 2014, 10:33 AM

948 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Nov 14 2014, 10:00 AM)
SS2 Mall is a stupid idea to begin with. Around that same place, there's Jaya Shopping Centre, Jaya 33 and Jaya One.

Jaya Shopping Centre just started, but will definately benefit from having a TGV cinema opening there soon. Besides its located beside the Digital Mall, a prime area.

Jaya 33 has the office blocks above it. Not forgetting a Jaya Grocer and other middle to high end restaurants inside. And add in the Fitness First gym, this place would be very hard to "bungkus".

Jaya One still have some vacancies, but many major shops and supermarkets are there (Starbucks, Oldtown, Wendys, etc.) Not forgetting the pubs and bistros flogging the place. And opposite UTAR - students tend to go there after classes.

So then, how would SS2 Mall be able to compete with those 3 places? Firstly, the location sucks. Secondly, design is crap. Who's gonna go there?
I went SS2 mall once only for a show performance, then never go there again cos the place is so boring, grocer Econsave very cheapo, F&B outlet nothing special, no big bookshop (such as borders, MPH, POPULAR), no cinema. For a neighborhood mall, I prefer Jaya shopping centre, location wise is good, easily access from main road, eventhough TGV is not up yet, but the existing shops are more interesting than SS2 mall, got cold storage, starbucks, SERAI restaurant, kenny roger, CHILIS, CaffeBene (how to eat bingsu UpCar), https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...05631&hl=bingsu
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Nov 14 2014, 10:39 AM

3,698 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Nov 14 2014, 10:12 AM)
ada starbucks / coffee bean, ada business
joe_mamak
post Nov 14 2014, 10:39 AM

363 posts

The road linking Jalan Harapan to Damansara Highway is opening soon. Actually, that might help SS2 Mall.

But looks like it is too late.

Actually, they tear it down and build condos should be better for the owner. Ameera and Five Stones nearby were sold as upscale condos.

0.0244sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:02 PM