6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

iTunes 7, ...is buggy!

TSconfuzan
post Sep 15 2006, 03:22 AM, updated 20y ago

1,121 posts

i would advise others not to upgrade to the new itunes 7 if you are not so keen on the news features. my reason? it's still very very buggy!

my music tracks are skipping like mad, as though i'm playing a scratched CD. and while playing songs through itunes, other applications that produces sounds will also interfere with itunes (eg. WLM, yahoo messenger, windows media player).

apparently i'm not the only one experiencing this problem, and it's not windows only. mac users have reportedly have problems as well.

some people reported that newly downloaded podcasts are unplayable when transfered to the ipod. some even bricked their ipod while updating. (thankfully it didn't happen to me).

did any of you guys experienced problems as well?
The Scourge
post Sep 15 2006, 03:31 AM

367 posts

Yes. DO NOT download and install iTunes 7; there's a huge thread with over 20,000 views already at Apple's forums with scores of other people experiencing similar issues. Had to revert to iTunes 6.0.4.2 but you'll have to uninstall iTunes 7 (if you've already installed it), and re-import your music library as follows:

In Windows to do the same look under
My Documents -> My Music -> iTunes
Move the files iTunes Music Library.xml and iTunes Music Library.itl to the Desktop (Do this before re-installing iTunes 6)
Run iTunes
File -> Import
Select the iTunes Music Library which you copied from your desktop
Wait while the files are imported.
kenneth87
post Sep 15 2006, 03:54 AM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ Sep 15 2006, 03:22 AM)
i would advise others not to upgrade to the new itunes 7 if you are not so keen on the news features. my reason? it's still very very buggy!

my music tracks are skipping like mad, as though i'm playing a scratched CD. and while playing songs through itunes, other applications that produces sounds will also interfere with itunes (eg. WLM, yahoo messenger, windows media player).

apparently i'm not the only one experiencing this problem, and it's not windows only. mac users have reportedly have problems as well.

some people reported that newly downloaded podcasts are unplayable when transfered to the ipod. some even bricked their ipod while updating. (thankfully it didn't happen to me).

did any of you guys experienced problems as well?
QUOTE(The Scourge @ Sep 15 2006, 03:31 AM)
Yes. DO NOT download and install iTunes 7; there's a huge thread with over 20,000 views already at Apple's forums with scores of other people experiencing similar issues. Had to revert to iTunes 6.0.4.2 but you'll have to uninstall iTunes 7 (if you've already installed it), and re-import your music library as follows:

In Windows to do the same look under
My Documents -> My Music -> iTunes
Move the files iTunes Music Library.xml and iTunes Music Library.itl to the Desktop (Do this before re-installing iTunes 6)
Run iTunes
File -> Import
Select the iTunes Music Library which you copied from your desktop
Wait while the files are imported.
Wow...luckily i havent update anything yet. Else it will b wasting my time reverting this and that again...Thx for the info guys...
yetieater
post Sep 15 2006, 06:57 AM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

I've updated and haven't experienced any sound problems yet. Hopefully nothing pops up. I really like the Album Art view in iTunes 7, but I had to assign a number of my albums as compilations for it to work properly. The only thing that's happened on my side is that iSproggler is no longer working.
arsnl
post Sep 15 2006, 10:18 AM

385 posts

I love the new features esp the update cover thingy.. but my bumps were even worse.. whilst trying to update album cover, my notebook hung.. WTF!!? Had to reset twice.. So I stopped the updating part and now just use it for playing music and getting freebies from iTunes shop.. another thing is desktop icon missing.. not sure why.. Hope they settle this soon.. those new iPods only work with iTunes 7..

This post has been edited by arsnl: Sep 15 2006, 10:30 AM
ChopSuey
post Sep 15 2006, 10:42 AM

222 posts

iTunes 7 on 10.3.9. No problems so far.
6 was bad for me - lots of skipping.

- yap
cywings
post Sep 15 2006, 10:47 AM

415 posts

besides itunes 7..anyone realise that the new ipod software version 1.2 is kinnda slow?
i'm not sure whether is it just me but i find that after installing version 1.2 my ipod kinnda slow in response..
like when i play a song..it will take a while before the album art comes out..
not sure though..will monitor few more days..... hehe
luige
post Sep 15 2006, 11:02 AM

1,865 posts

whenever i run itunes 7 and play games at the same time, my song will keep on 'jumping'
anyone has the same problem?
miniacs
post Sep 15 2006, 11:03 AM

386 posts

no problem with my itunes 7 so far, but will let u guys know if anything pops up...
hiroshi
post Sep 15 2006, 11:18 AM

1,424 posts

QUOTE(luige @ Sep 15 2006, 11:02 AM)
whenever i run itunes 7 and play games at the same time, my song will keep on 'jumping'
anyone has the same problem?
I notice that ipodservice.exe and ipodhelper.exe slow down the computer.
azwandi
post Sep 15 2006, 11:43 AM

123 posts

itunes 7 on 10.4.7 works great!
im lovin it! rclxms.gif
d@odao
post Sep 15 2006, 11:58 AM

Daodao
2,648 posts

ya ya...me too...itunes 7 works fine on 10.4.7...
dun knw if itunes 7 not stable with windows version?...not sure... unsure.gif
Blackhart
post Sep 15 2006, 11:59 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Everything works alright for my computer except that it can't play music.Bummer.The music hangs like crazy, I suspect it now has incompatibility issues with certain soundcards.
azwandi
post Sep 15 2006, 12:15 PM

123 posts

oh yeah, i have to update my quicktime as well to play videos.
arsnl
post Sep 15 2006, 12:50 PM

385 posts

where to get the latest iPod updater? Or is it embedded with iTunes 7?
SUSMike3300
post Sep 15 2006, 12:59 PM

6,866 posts

MY friend had a problem installing it... doh.gif
E|dan
post Sep 15 2006, 02:36 PM

532 posts

using mac os x....itunes 7 working fine!
jassacake
post Sep 15 2006, 02:39 PM

111 posts

-Lags sometimes when using skype
-Lags while going to the next song
-Cover browser unavailable(requirement problem)
-Hangs on the moment you enter 'movies' & 'tv shows' in the music store
Other than that its okay. More bugs on the way...

This post has been edited by jassacake: Sep 15 2006, 06:32 PM
Blackhart
post Sep 15 2006, 05:08 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

I finally found the source of the audio playback problem.Under the Advanced Speaker Settings, Hardware Acceleration for Audio Playback has to be set to Basic Acceleration.If I set it to Standard or Full Acceleration iTunes will have problems playing audio files.This happens on my E-MU 0404 soundcard but on onboard and Audigy soundcards running on Full Acceleration won't cause such problems.I wonder why it doesn't happen on the previous version of iTunes... rolleyes.gif
yetieater
post Sep 15 2006, 06:29 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(cywings @ Sep 15 2006, 10:47 AM)
besides itunes 7..anyone realise that the new ipod software version 1.2 is kinnda slow?
i'm not sure whether is it just me but i find that after installing version 1.2 my ipod kinnda slow in response..
like when i play a song..it will take a while before the album art comes out..
not sure though..will monitor few more days..... hehe
Yeah, my iPod feels a little more sluggish. It's quite apparant when I'm playing a song and trying to look through the albums or the artists.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0173sec    1.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:18 PM