LYN Almera Owner Discussion V3, Come Share Your Experience

cyh03176
post Nov 13 2014, 07:31 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(FiF2 @ Nov 13 2014, 01:58 PM)
My issue isn't that bad, so i don't mind leaving it. but if it get worst, i might record the sound and show them laugh.gif

worst come to worst better just go any reliable foreman to fix it
Saw your post asking about stiff rings in v2. I installed it, steering is heavier and stiffer, turning it is more precise. The car feel very solid now. It had been a week, very huge difference, the car is no longer shaky when you drive through bumpy road. I also managed to run 120km/h in smart tunnel all the way. Before this i wouldnt dare because the car will be very bumpy and the cornering was weak. Now saving money for anti roll bar. ^^
cyh03176
post Nov 13 2014, 07:38 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Nov 13 2014, 04:46 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/circusbox.my

I wanna get custom made sun shades for my car.
Want to get more privacy at the back for my passengers the "legal" way
Try speedmod.com.my, should be cheaper
cyh03176
post Nov 13 2014, 11:22 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(FiF2 @ Nov 13 2014, 09:57 PM)
regarding that, no any con/negative feedback? if so i might consider it *when i have my budget ready.

now speeding at highway when cornering body roll alot
It doesnt help with bodyroll, just more precise cornering. I dont know how to describe, it is like no more longgar feeling when you are cornering and the car is not shaking after cornering.

If you want to reduce body roll, the only thing to do is to lower your car, change the suspension or install anti roll bar.

This post has been edited by cyh03176: Nov 13 2014, 11:23 PM
cyh03176
post Nov 14 2014, 07:04 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Nov 14 2014, 03:57 PM)
Anybody have this issue.

On highway, maybe 120km and above. Car feels like its floating. To the left then to the right. Very mildly.

I feel this. I suspect i need 195 tires
No such problem after installing stiff ring. The car very solid now.
cyh03176
post Nov 15 2014, 07:19 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Nov 14 2014, 08:59 PM)
Dont wanna spend that sort of money on this car biggrin.gif
I drove to pd running 180km/h this morning, I know what you meant by the car moving left and right. It only occurs to me after I passed 160. Its most probably because of our cars are too lightweight.
cyh03176
post Jan 4 2017, 10:44 AM

476 posts

alright so my almera just hit 40k and i called SC for quotation, they say it's about 1.1k. holy fuk i am thinking of getting services from workshop outside using Torco engine oil instead.

Any advice? my almera is still subjected to 10 months warranty though and if there's cold water dropping to my feet when driving over 140km/h, why is that? it's not like the water keeps dropping, it's more like drop once only.

tenkiu bros
cyh03176
post Jan 4 2017, 08:19 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jan 4 2017, 08:12 PM)
Err... just skip all the engine cleaner n petrol cleaner. Its less than that pls check prev post... I did post my bill. Yes, go find which page it is yourself.
Sorry I rarely drive at 140, the car is too light and difficult to control. Probably got leak or tersumbat aircond drain. My car never got dripping prob.
i foam my chassis, installed stiff rings, UR bars so is is much more stable at 140. my tyre starts to botak already, so this month service car, next month change tyres to 195 or maybe switch to 16" and 205, still considering.

then march i change my exhaust, our default oem exhaust is 4-1 settings, so wanna switch to hotbits 4-2-1 settings or maybe import from thailand. let's see.
cyh03176
post Jan 4 2017, 09:22 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jan 4 2017, 08:51 PM)
Oh like that is big difference. U can drive faster with that add ons. Just wondering have u tried Yoko advan fleva? I saw they have size for 195/55/r15. My fren driving a Lancer said its stock Yoko is better than conti MC5. How much is your UR bars? Wondering stage one will cost how much.
stage 1 is front strut bar (2 point) and anti roll bar = 710
front alone is 195
anti roll bar alone is 550
i am using 4 point front strut bar though, that is 295

conti is not performance tyre la, im still using stock cc5 lol, so it's really time to change. looking forward to use michelin pilot 4, or maybe 3 haha
cyh03176
post Jan 5 2017, 10:01 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jan 5 2017, 09:59 PM)
I ask rabbit tire SS2, they quoted me front 2-point rm175. 4-point is rm275. Antiroll bar rm555.  Maybe I will try ask again. You got it at rm710 is very cheap.
ur price is way cheaper if including GST. my price is without GST still. RM710 maybe is stage 1 combo price. im not sure
cyh03176
post Jan 14 2017, 08:06 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 14 2017, 10:51 AM)
I just sent my car for 40k service today and the service guy charge me rm 880+. I take out the addictive and it bcome 80x. The 40k service include change alternator which is the most expensive part. I also request to change engine belt because it always making annoying sound from 3rd gear to 4th gear. Changing the alternator, belt all are not included in warratny thats why sometimes i wonder what the warranty actually covers.

RM 80x include labor fee and gst.. but is a huge jump of price from 30k to 40k doh.gif
why charge you so less? my dad brought my car for service which i don't know why! zzzzzzzzz

the sc guy told my dad need to change brake pad also because CANNOT TAHAN UNTIL NEXT SERVICE

really want to scold bad words! CANNOT TAHAN UNTIL NEXT SERVICE MEANS A LOT OF THINGS!

it's 300 for the brake pads so all together i got charged for 1.4k!

when i go and collect the car they show me the brake pad, i really wanted to hit the sc guy! the brake pad was still very thick!

i already kena once from this CSL SC last time, they told me my tires already botak during 20k service! how absurd! so since then i never believed what SC said.
cyh03176
post Jan 18 2017, 11:43 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Jan 18 2017, 11:22 AM)
The SC u went is definitely wanna con you. 20k tire botak unless u drive alot and never do tire switching before. 1.4k for 1 time service is really too much. might as well sign the plan to service car at fixed rate..not sure whats the name already..
yes, i am never ever going back to SC. my warranty finally ends in oct this year. fuck SC. i am never buying new cars again unless they provide for free maintenance during the warranty period.
cyh03176
post Feb 17 2017, 12:05 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(joshua963 @ Feb 15 2017, 09:53 AM)
Thinking to get an almera e variant auto. Been reading alot about the bearing and air-conditioning fan / compressor issue alot. Any indication that this issues could have been ironed out in the 2017 models. This teething problem has been bothering me with my decision.
Any advise is very much appreciated.
2014 model owner here. Heard a lot of bearing problems but never encounter once (now thinking of it, 3 years warranty is going to end this year, pokai liao if after warranty only need to change bearing)

Problems that I face:
1. bushing needed to be lubricated, weird sounds when going through uneven surface (sent to sc 3 times within 2 months last year to fix this problem)
2. expensive service charge & sc being irresponsible (took out my mod and forgot to install them back in, RM200 gone)
3. sc people very lansi
cyh03176
post Feb 4 2018, 02:07 PM

476 posts

installed arospeed lightweight crank pulley yesterday. fuuuu the acceleration now improves a lot!

btw i have a question, anybody knows the size of the throttle body?
cyh03176
post Feb 6 2018, 04:59 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(jonathansew @ Feb 6 2018, 04:46 PM)
My Almera 2012 with original Alloy Rim, I think to change my tyre.
The original tyre come with 185/65R15, so I think to increase the width of tyre to improve the grip performance for original alloy rim.
Any suggestion for it?
original rim can fit 195, i will say that it is definitely a worthy upgrade.

i personally is using 205 but i regret it. it's great and all but 205 size is rare and hard to find, which also means that it is expensive.

note: i changed rims
cyh03176
post Feb 8 2018, 11:25 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(jonathansew @ Feb 6 2018, 05:27 PM)
I think change the width with 195 too. The original tyre brand is Continental.
But I think to imporve the grip of my car, so any brands to suggest?
I am considering Michelin, but I heard TOYO also not bad.
each brand has its own "performance" tyres so brand doesn't matter really. i am using michelin xm2 currently and it is good enough for dry and wet road. it is long lasting too.
cyh03176
post Jul 20 2019, 11:54 AM

476 posts

guys, when should i change spark plug? i have no problem with them, but i think fuel consumption starts to suffer. my ca's mileage is already 133k km, haven't change them.
cyh03176
post Jul 20 2019, 02:47 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jul 20 2019, 12:22 PM)
It is advised to change per 100,000 KM for platinum. But these days the DENSO Iridium TT say can use till 120,000. I also pass 104,000 km but i don't want to change it yet. Have you tried using fuel cleaners? I tried Gumout complete fuel system cleaner. I think its better and cheaper than Liquimoly fuel injector clenaer. My fuel consumption been consistent. I can only say the less the car feels lethargic the less likely fuel consumption goes up.
Spark plug change kinda expensive, most shop charge extra due to labour to dismantle a lot of stuff. If you are in PJ there is a cheap shop i can recommend 😁. Better change la. Overdue.
not sure about fuel injector cleaner, it's something like caltex techron concentrate right? if it's the same thing then it's not very beneficial for me as i pump caltex most of the time (all petrol has similar kinds of additive as well).

i think i will just use back the original nissan spark plugs, it's below RM100 right? and what's the usual labour costs? thanks
cyh03176
post Jul 21 2019, 05:52 AM

476 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jul 20 2019, 04:57 PM)
Nevermind, try changing your plugs first and see if it fix your fuel consumption, may as well see if need to do throttle body cleaning. Ori Nissan spark plugs is about rm40-60 per piece. I got quoted DENSO iridium TT for RM200 all in with installation. The rest rm250-300 all in but they use torque wrench more pro equipment.
mind to share where you got that quote? i got quoted RM300 for brisk platinum including installation. i havent go to the sparepart shop to ask about the ori spark plugs though. then those online must be fake as i see below RM100

0.1502sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:05 PM