LYN Almera Owner Discussion V3, Come Share Your Experience

3nf0rc3r
post Jul 14 2015, 09:13 AM

208 posts

Guys, what's the vlt% of the original pilkington laminated/toughened front&back windshield and side windows of nissan almera? Plan to tint but worry about compliance to JPJ specs.

Thanks in advance.
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 14 2015, 11:28 AM

208 posts

20k mileage or next 6 months to service if your service centre used fully synthetic oil. That's what my service centre advisor told me.
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 14 2015, 07:24 PM

208 posts

Anyone can help me?

Guys, what's the vlt% of the original pilkington laminated/toughened front&back windshield and side windows of nissan almera? Plan to tint but worry about compliance to JPJ specs.
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 14 2015, 10:20 PM

208 posts

I thought pilkington is default with almera? Cause sales person most certainly didn't put any tint on the car.
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 14 2015, 10:22 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Jul 14 2015, 07:30 PM)
why not just asking the vendor, we are not sure your vendor's tint that been used, so none can comment on that.
Your almera default glass is not manufactured/supplied by pilkington?
3nf0rc3r
post Jan 18 2017, 11:44 AM

208 posts

Been driving my car slightly over 3 years. Still using the stock continental tyres. SC says still ok. I wonder if the tyres would be too dry and old by now. I don't see any cracks on them though. 14,500km mileage.
Btw, stock battery finally died 2 weeks ago.

This post has been edited by 3nf0rc3r: Jan 18 2017, 11:45 AM
3nf0rc3r
post Jan 19 2017, 09:58 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ Jan 19 2017, 09:12 AM)
My Almera about 2.5 years, currently 62,000km.
Continental tyre almost botak already, plan to change another 2 months.

Battery don't why life span short, about 1.5 years only
I do short distance drive often cause work place from home it just 10 minutes drive maximum.

Top up the battery water whenever the level drops. That would usually prolong the life span.
3nf0rc3r
post Feb 17 2017, 04:32 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(joshua963 @ Feb 15 2017, 09:53 AM)
Thinking to get an almera e variant auto. Been reading alot about the bearing and air-conditioning fan / compressor issue alot. Any indication that this issues could have been ironed out in the 2017 models. This teething problem has been bothering me with my decision.
Any advise is very much appreciated.
Just based on the reports of fault in this forum alone is good enough to tell you they did a lousy job. Too many lemon units shipped out from their production line.
Makes you wonder how they did their QAQC, if they even did that...
My family owns xtrail, latio sport and almera. By the way, the latio still waiting for takata airbag replacement....... SC excuse for not calling us to inform that our car affected is no replacement stock. I sent in almera to service then enquire about this only found out. That's Tan Chong Inanam, Kota Kinabalu btw.
3nf0rc3r
post Mar 2 2019, 03:48 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(ascariz @ Feb 16 2019, 11:08 PM)
My car easily smell of smoke coming inside car. Need to turn off ac and fan until I overtake whatever cause that strong smell. Car 5 years old. Anyone face this problem and know the solution? Thanks in advance.
My car too 5+ years old.
3nf0rc3r
post Mar 11 2020, 12:03 PM

208 posts

Anyone has changed reverse sensors at Service Centre before? Mine keeps a constant ring while shifted into reverse gear, although there's nothing behind my car.
The car is about 7 years old.

This post has been edited by 3nf0rc3r: Mar 11 2020, 12:03 PM
3nf0rc3r
post Mar 28 2020, 11:12 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(mavan21 @ Mar 13 2020, 09:32 AM)
--could be steering rack, steering coupling(can be tighten) or tie rod end(check for free play)...
my car having this problem especially  in the morning and turning to the right...SC suspect steering rack...
Anyone has changed reverse sensors at Service Centre before? Mine keeps a constant ring while shifted into reverse gear, although there's nothing behind my car.
The car is about 7 years old.

i saw it on youtube...try using wb 40 to clean...
Tried WD-40, didn't work. guess after MCO really need to go SC to check already.
Still, thanks for the advice.
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 16 2020, 11:48 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jul 7 2020, 01:43 PM)
Does anyone here have this small prob...
1. When start car... go in reverse...
2. the sensor just beeeeeeps a constant sound, when there is nothing behind.
3. or sometimes it beeps when you are reversing, again there is nothing behind.

it doesn't always happen.
Mine, last month service told the SC this constant beep problem. The SC say small matter adjust angle only. Few days after that happens again. Lazy want drive my car back SC......
So now everyday reverse car from car porch sure hear that sound....
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 16 2020, 11:51 AM

208 posts

These week start to have new issue. Driving slow speed in taman, slowly brake when near speed hump got tak tak tak sound. No idea what is that... 🤔
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 16 2020, 12:15 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Jul 16 2020, 11:52 AM)
normal.

I get used to it edy. Or maybe it's just how the system works to alert the driver that the gear in R?
No la, for the pass 6 years no such problem. Constant sound only happen starting few months back. Last time when there's no obstacle behind the car, the sensors won't beep with constant sound. Only when your car is reversing near a wall or something then the beep will become faster until it becomes constant.
3nf0rc3r
post Jul 17 2020, 11:52 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jul 16 2020, 06:49 PM)
Try shake your brake caliper, do it only when cold... It will burn your fingers if you just drive out. Possible brake caliper pin loose. If not it's something else related to the suspension
Ooh boy..... Guess I need to jack up the car and remove the wheels to have a look at the brake caliper.
3nf0rc3r
post Aug 12 2020, 05:02 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jul 16 2020, 06:49 PM)
Try shake your brake caliper, do it only when cold... It will burn your fingers if you just drive out. Possible brake caliper pin loose. If not it's something else related to the suspension
Finally found the problem, absorber mounting. Starts to crack already. I guess after almost 7 years since owning the car, this item time to change. Order absorber mounting and bearing from mounting king. Waiting for shipping now.
Silly me kept looking at tires, brakes, suspension and absorber. Forgotten the mountings.
3nf0rc3r
post Sep 2 2023, 09:33 AM

208 posts

Need some advice, car mileage drop. Previously 9-10km/l now 7.5km/l. Same traffic home and office back and forth. No jerking. March went to service centre said checked sparkplug no issue and so they reset ECU. Still same issue, yesterday when SC asked them check again they say need change sparkplug and ignition coil while at it SC said normally they would change manifold gasket too if touch ignition coil. I find that to be weird.... car mileage only 32,000km. Never changed sparkplugs or ignition coil before. 1st hand car.

On a side note, fan motor and fan belt needs to be changed cause got noice from the fan and the belt haven't changed for few years already eventhough SC said didn't detect any crack.

This post has been edited by 3nf0rc3r: Sep 2 2023, 09:36 AM

0.0318sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:21 PM