Oil Loss Within Spec, 1l / 1000km is within spec

unitron
post Nov 11 2014, 10:19 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Nov 11 2014, 09:31 AM)
So got a hold of an English version of a full user+maintenance manual for a Japanese Toyota, engine 2ZR-FAE, smaller version of the 3ZR-FAE in the full spec Altis, not the outdated 2ZR-FE.

It states there, check engine oil regularly, oil loss of 1 litre per 1000km travelled is normal. Anything more, contact your dealer. AFAIK, I've never used an engine that makan oil on a NORMAL basis, but this one mmng stated plain jane. The NORM is kalau engine oil hilang 500ml after 5000km pun orang sudah busy do overhaul here and there.

What say you>
You sure it's not a typo mistake ?... 1ml / 1000km and not 1L = 1000ml.
unitron
post Nov 11 2014, 11:08 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Nov 11 2014, 10:45 AM)
1L/1000KM
4L/4000KM

Service interval = 5000KM

shocking.gif
yeah... exactly... doesn't make sense for an engine to "leak" 1L of engine oil every 1000 km.
Basically if you forgot to top up, you need to buy a new engine every now and then.
unitron
post Nov 11 2014, 05:39 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 11 2014, 04:12 PM)
how do 1 measure the oil loss ?
Unless got special sensor or marking on the dip stick... guess the only way is drain and measure

0.0144sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:14 AM