7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 08:52 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 24 2006, 07:00 AM)
yst i went to kepong to an aquarium shop... which if i'm not mistaken is called 'kin huat' or 'kin fatt'... well, they don haf turtles except for RES but they do have tortoises!

as i see... they haf 4 hatchling sulcatas and 24 stars... they put all of 'em together in one exo terra enclosure... nice sulcatas and de stars hatchling are so cute... hehe... sulcatas are going for RM500 and hatchling stars at RM80... de more u buy, price can talk lor...

mayb titansulcata wud like to sapu all of de sulcatas and gip them a more spacious home? hehe...

but after i look clearly ar... one of the sulcata's eye got wet2 and got one grey layer liddat... wat tat means ar?? as i see, their nose are clean and not waterish... just 1 of 'em i see the eyes are not so in a good condition... hmm... or can tat sulcata be blind? (i do hope not too...)

poor lil' tortoise...

wink.gif
i stay at kepong... can u give me some direction how to go to the shop??? would want to drop by to 8

titan can only sapu all if still single and no GF/Wife to nag rclxub.gif
but i think not advisable to have to have too many sulcata, cause they are huge (3rd largest tort in the world) when they are adult.

if the eye is a bit wet, then it is fine... but if too much then must beware...
speaking of eye problem, yesterday one of my star hatchling eyes got bubble... wahlao, i was like so scared. quickly use tissue paper to wipe it off. then it seems fine. have to monitor closely these few days

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 24 2006, 07:29 AM)
Present in sunday morning to all......

Titan :
U should hear ekiddie say........ buy more friend for ur titan  icon_rolleyes.gif ....
super nice thumbup.gif btw, what is the tortoise bottom right?

cannot make big buy for this year liao cry.gif yesterday just make a big spending at Matta fair. pok kai
titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 09:33 AM

349 posts

some morning news...

Hawley teen sentenced in turtle burning
http://www.startribune.com/462/story/686605.html

Last update: September 19, 2006 - 6:19 AM

MOORHEAD, Minn. - An 18-year-old was sentenced to jail and community service for his part in setting a snapping turtle on fire, an incident he and his friends videotaped and posted on the Internet

Under the sentence handed down Monday, Joel Charles Ross, of Hawley, will have to serve at least five days in jail, perform at least 50 hours of community service, and pay a $500 fine that he can reduce by $400 with more community service. He would face more jail time and higher fines if he fails to comply with the terms of his probation.

Ross pleaded guilty last month to a misdemeanor charge of animal cruelty for an incident that captured the attention of online viewers and animal rights activists worldwide.

In late May, Ross and two juveniles videotaped themselves dousing the large snapping turtle with gasoline, lighting it on fire twice, and dancing around it. They were discovered after someone sent police an e-mail with a link to the video.

The two juveniles involved received community service earlier.

"This was something that just got way out of control, said Dennis Fisher, Ross's attorney. Fisher asked Clay County District Judge Michael Kirk to impose fines and community service but not jail time, saying Ross and his family had suffered enough.

Ross told Kirk he felt bad for his actions and knew they were wrong. He said his family has been affected, including a brother serving in Iraq.

"He's upset and probably thinks a lot less of me right now,'' Ross said.

Ross also said he had planned to sign up for the National Guard to do military police work. "Now I can't, because of this,'' he said.

Kirk said he wanted to see more empathy from Ross toward the animal.

In a letter published Tuesday in The Forum of Fargo, N.D., Ross's parents, Michael and Vicky Ross, said their son and his friends had been unfairly vilified by animal rights supporters.

"There is no pattern of cruelty with any of the three teens,'' they wrote. "There is nothing to indicate that this is anything but an isolated incident and will not likely be repeated with animals, much less humans. ... We and the other parents involved love our sons far more than these people love their stupid turtles and we believe they will turn out just fine.''

Teenagers admit lighting turtle on fire -- twice
http://www.startribune.com/462/story/602194.html

An 18-year-old has pleaded guilty to animal cruelty for a videotaped incident in which he and two friends lit a turtle on fire and danced around it.

Associated Press
Last update: August 08, 2006 - 11:36 AM

MOORHEAD, Minn. - An 18-year-old has pleaded guilty to animal cruelty for a videotaped incident in which he and two friends lit a turtle on fire and danced around it.

Joel Charles Ross of Hawley admitted they set the large snapping turtle on fire. He said they did it not once, but twice, and dressed up differently because they wanted to make their video "more funny and exciting.''

"I put the gas on the turtle and made a trail, and one of my friends ignited it with a lighter,'' he said.

The video was posted online. Ross was arrested after a police officer received it in an e-mail.

Ross acknowledged in court Monday that he knew the act would be cruel and painful to to the animal.

Judge Michael Kirk will sentence Ross Sep. 18. He could face up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

But Ross's attorney doesn't expect the maximum because the two juveniles involved received community service.

Kirk also ordered a psychiatric evaluation for Ross after defense attorney Dennis Fisher said, "it was too expensive for the family to do it on their own.''

Fisher said the incident seemed to him to be a one-time event. "He has pets at home; he's had pets at home before,'' Fisher said. "None of those animals have ever been harmed.''
titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 09:41 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 24 2006, 09:31 AM)
Titan :
that 1 is spider tortoise, cute leh???  wub.gif
link 001
  u dont have any "freedom" liao lor...... not same with me :-), i was wild horse, i born as free man, live as free man, die also as free man.
  BTW matta fair got sell any turtle @ tortoise bo??? LOL hahaha  whistling.gif
spider tortoise, nice smile.gif but i haven seen it yet

wild horse? free man? shakehead.gif ya right... now u still not 'legally' attached ma... so free man lar... but when sudah sign the contract, semua freedom have to ask 'management' + 'financial controller'. that is what we call, 'commitment' rclxub.gif planning for the future, blah blah blah

5 months back, i'm a wild horse too smile.gif but now, a tame horse sad.gif

Animals in Matta fair??? No turtle/tortoise la... but got chicks thumbup.gif
titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 11:30 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Sep 24 2006, 10:23 AM)
Adult spider tort 50% look like radiata tort le......  wub.gif
  Waseh u also wild horse b4 this....... tak sangka le  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
  Luckly my gf is turtle @ tortoise lover, after we marry next year (yeah we plan it next year) i think i dont have any problem to get any tortoise in future, plus need to sain contract which is she cant control my freedom and hobby, if she dont agree then i find other ger ger la and she will regart it. hahaha  cheers.gif
wah... Congrats for next year

but if u want to buy tortoise, buy now lo. Next year marry going to spend more. Not cheap event
titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 05:55 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 24 2006, 04:45 PM)
but most of de time i think wife/gfs won't haf the patient to wait so long as we tend to stay there look look look so long... hahaaa!! they will follow us along but will keep on make noise asking us to go... apalar... so boring...

titan, i'm not good in drawing but i can tell u where about is tat shop... very easy... okie... i'm very sure all kepong fella know where is Jusco Kepong lor, rite... Jusco Kepong on ur left and u'll be heading towards PJ side... go straight all de way and u'll be pass Project then a caltex too both on ur left... right after the caltex, there's a junction to turn in... take de turn and keep a look at the second block of the shoplots... it's de 2nd or 3rd shop on the second block... i think if i'm not mistaken... it's second block lar... hahaaa! but u just try to keep an eye on ur left lar... it's just right beside de road... very easy to notice... got a signboard written kin fatt or kin huat aquarium... can't recall too! hahaaa! u update me de shop name lar once u've went there... hahaaa! go see see look look lar... who knows de sulcatas there saw a good owner which will gip good life to tortoises calling out ur name asking u to bring them back to ur home... hahaaa!!

wink.gif

lče
my wife also no patient when i see my things (not only tortoise), but when she see her things, i have to follow and be patient. i've actually concluded that most girls are like that. even my previous ex-es all also like that

thanks for the direction, i roughly know where u say. will drop by some time

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 24 2006, 04:49 PM)
Yup, when i go Pets Safari she will go to the book shop next to it. Then calling me few times asking wether im done or not. laugh.gif  laugh.gif
my wife doesn't want to go in much, cause she hates snakes and tarantula. so when she's around, normally i cannot see much. i would prefer to window shop myself, more time and no rush

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 24 2006, 05:06 PM)
hahaaa! guess of the opp sex are liddat! tongue.gif  oppss! later those womens in here shoot us down! hahaaa! who is a female turtle's lover in this thread ha?? i know only meiteoh... who else? hehe... pardon me if i miss anyone of u out...

neway, my girl wanna go M.Valley shopping today... walk walk walk and i walked into Pet's Wonderland seeing so long i din been there d... it was a very dissapointed walk inside... nothing to see and nothing interesting in there at all... for turtles lover tat's for sure! i only see 2 peacock turtles selling for RM198/pc... (expensif ka?? i donno market price and i never seen anyone selling this kind of turtles b4...) and lots of RES... got 2 pig nose inside de display tank and it's NOT for sale... no more... i see lots of dead rainbow crab or was it rainbow crab... they din take care of the place nicely... unlike Pet's Safari which is more systematic as i see... and yet, CLEAN! Pet's Wonderland are dirty and do stinks... no good... Pet's Family is even alot nicer! some of those aquarium shops do have more things to see than Pet's Wonderland... wat a dissapointed pet shop... which din stand to it's standard... and de price of the things are not cheap at all! RES selling for RM18/pc... whoa!  ohmy.gif 

here's a pic...

wink.gif
pet wonderland used to be good, when there wasn't much big competitors like pet family and safari. i also feel disappointment when i visit wonderland last weekend, really nothing much
titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 07:11 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 24 2006, 06:30 PM)
guys... everyone knows stealing is bad... but i think i'm gonna do it either tonite or tomolo early early morning...  '

wish me luck la ya...

wink.gif
don't worry. me, my mum, my wife, my nieces and upmparasite have done it a couple of times smile.gif
titansulcata
post Sep 24 2006, 10:11 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(paogeh @ Sep 24 2006, 09:39 PM)
wow !!!
Impressive !!! (i just joined this forum)
I though I;m the only one rearing toituise and turtle !!
( i'm the only one have this kind of pets in my circle of friends..)

I'll put up mind soon .....
keep it up !
welcome here mate smile.gif
can't wait to see your turtle & tortoise photos soon
titansulcata
post Sep 25 2006, 09:07 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 24 2006, 11:51 PM)
ahhh sooo expensive!! i saw once in petshop soooooooooooo beautiful...
waw so big huh? can put in the living hall as a stone deco hahaa
3rd largest tortoise in the world flex.gif

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 24 2006, 11:58 PM)
heheh still prefer the Sulcata Tortoise hatchlings. they looks clean n lighter colors.. i like the boxes on their back.
i like not only the shell, but also the way it stands and walk. it is very manly, compared to star. the way it pos... chun thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 25 2006, 07:34 AM)
hahaaa!! titan seems like know wat i'm talking about! hehe... more stories later tonite lar as i wanna go work now and my workplace got no net access...

titan... and u even knew tat upmparasite stole b4 ha? bet u n him partner in crime! hahaaa!!

and nezumitaro... do hope u'll like it too when they grow BIG as alot of ppl like it when they are small and when they have grow up... it's not being like anymore... de good example is RES... poor turtles...

ciaO~

wink.gif
i was refering to hibiscus smile.gif
but i hope u are not intending to go to some park and fish RES... shocking.gif

btw, speaking of hibiscus, how to plant it ah? i tried to cut the branch and plant, one week liao, still no new leave. i think it is dead sad.gif

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 25 2006, 08:52 AM)
no worries, if i really take them home, i will love them till the end of the day, no matter how big or urgly they grow.  but just fall in love at the 1st sign when i saw them.  the rest of the day will more in bonding than beauty i think.  am not that kind of see cute take home, then throw them aside when they grow.  thats y it always make me take a long time to re-think if i want to take them home.. even one hamster, one betta fish....  smile.gif
i also fall in love with sulcata at first sight. did some research, lagi fall in love smile.gif

btw, sulcata will most probably live longer than any of us in this forum and anyone birth today... if taken care properly, a sulcata can live for more than 100+ years old... so in future, have to train grandchildren to take care
titansulcata
post Sep 25 2006, 10:28 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 25 2006, 09:15 AM)
yes yes agree!!!! walk also so macho!!  when i see them, i also tot waw looks like those 1000 yr old tortoise!!! the legs are sooo nice..  wawwww long life oh... but if they grow so big, where to keep?  if they r so long life, $700 also not expensive loh... yiiiii itchy hand now... hahahha... really beautiful felas..

when they are big will they big? do they recognise owner?
now if u want to buy, a few pet shops have... ranging from RM480 to RM500.

where to keep then ah... have to decide when time comes... lucky i have space at my house... can keep outside... but that will be like 7 to 8 years more to go

recognise owner? i m not sure, but they sure recognise food... cause when i bring food, they will come to me

how big is big?

titansulcata
post Sep 25 2006, 12:18 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 25 2006, 11:52 AM)
ahhh u got ah??? outside not hot meh? got photos to show ah? show me lah plssssssssssssssssssss.... can keep in living hall? i mean let it free in the house hehe..
ya, i have a hatchling sulcata... still very small... keepin him in my house in a aquirium. i let him walk outside very often

photos ah... check out my album
http://mytortoise.multiply.com/photos
titansulcata
post Sep 25 2006, 02:51 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Sep 25 2006, 02:25 PM)
I finally have an online photo album for my pets. Spent the weekend taking pictures
sayasebuk album

upmparasite: my DIY lighting pictures
http://sayasebuk.multiply.com/photos/album/2

i finally "sunbathed" my turtles for the 1st time
http://sayasebuk.multiply.com/photos/album/1

for those wanting to see my turtle housing
http://sayasebuk.multiply.com/photos/album/4
nice setup rclxms.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
really admire u guys... mine is so plain sweat.gif

btw, TTT - DIY Lightings
not scared kena electrocuted ah rclxub.gif
titansulcata
post Sep 25 2006, 04:00 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Sep 25 2006, 02:55 PM)
want to ask, are they smelly?

WAWWW ur tortoise very beautiful!!! but i see u buy alot of things for them wor..
not smelly at all... i remove the shit every day. the bedding will absorb their pee too. it is definately much cleaner and easier to maintan than water based turtle

accessories ah... u need:-
aquirium
wood bedding
basking holder
basking lamp
uvb lamp (buy, if u don't have time to sun bath em)
calcium supliment
vitamin supliment
themometer (optional)
hydrometer (optional)
bowl to eat (optional)
bowl to drink (optional)
titansulcata
post Sep 25 2006, 04:39 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Sep 25 2006, 04:32 PM)
i thought nezumitaro was asking me? never mind la i still want to reply  icon_rolleyes.gif
yahor... maybe he was talking to u...
i perasan pulak notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
titansulcata
post Sep 26 2006, 09:03 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Sep 26 2006, 04:41 AM)
he/she is way too shy away from human and bet he/she is scared of human already... once i go near him/her, de head and legs all will be stuffed back into de shell... i felt sad for it too... how can i rear it and make de turtle fear no human?

i've never seen it walk or swims... poor little turts... hmm... this is de bst shot tat i can get... summore it's a sneak shot...

wink.gif
wah... u really turtlenap ah... the park got 'no fishing signboard' or not??? sweat.gif

a wild caught turtle/tortoise is harder to rare...
i think u need more time, cause it is not used to man handle

is it eating yet???
titansulcata
post Sep 26 2006, 12:30 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(meiteoh @ Sep 26 2006, 11:24 AM)
Sayasebudak: I know. RM180 for one bulb. Pengsan la I.

ANYWAY, bless the heavens la coz today finally got bright sunshine. I sunned him next to the window (opened of course so he got pure sunshine instead of filtered sunlight) for about 15 mins...and my colleague is gonna sun him proper for an hour when they go play badminton later. YAY!

I took some pics anyway. Will put them up later for peeps to see.
nothing beats the original.... buy so expensive, but looks like a normal bulb... scared fake or not really producing same result...

wahlao, ur turtle got a lot of kai father and mother thumbup.gif take turn to take care
titansulcata
post Sep 26 2006, 03:40 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 26 2006, 03:00 PM)
p/s: Ive added owner's turtles/tortoise list at Page 1. Kindly list down what u have and i'll update the list. Tq.  cool.gif
uzairi, can you add these to the caresheet... thanks

Geochelone Sulcata
http://sulcata-station.org/
http://www.anapsid.org/sulcata.html
http://www.chelonia.org/articles/sulcatacare.htm
http://africantortoise.com/
titansulcata
post Sep 26 2006, 08:29 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(kamekame8888 @ Sep 26 2006, 05:50 PM)
I'd like to ask how does the bedding hay looks like? I always hear you guys mention but never know hows it like...bukan forest bark kah? Or are they same? Picture will be good! Thanks.
Kamekame.
u can use timothy hay... but i don't like to use hay as bedding, cause i think the hay's edge is a bit sharp for em

there are many brands... this is what i have
http://mytortoise.multiply.com/photos/photo/5/25

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 26 2006, 07:44 PM)
what is the best bedding that is easy to maintain for star tortoises?
i'm not sure whether it is the best, but this is commonly used and easy to maintain
http://mytortoise.multiply.com/photos/photo/5/19
titansulcata
post Sep 26 2006, 08:40 PM

349 posts

uzairi... looks familiar???

vs

This post has been edited by titansulcata: Sep 26 2006, 08:44 PM
titansulcata
post Sep 27 2006, 04:38 PM

349 posts

just visited aquirium kin fatt kepong. They only left 2 sulcata and 17 star. They have one big ally inside
titansulcata
post Sep 27 2006, 05:56 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Sep 27 2006, 04:39 PM)
Too many star eh, and how big is the ally ? How much ?
a lot of star and a lot of vege. some star is beneath the vege

the ally, i think around 25cm. Quite huge. No price tag, didn't ask

their star is quite pretty (in terms of it's shell)

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:01 PM