9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

camillenoir
post Jun 7 2007, 09:44 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(long3016 @ Jun 5 2007, 07:19 PM)
is possible that tortise will overweight??? my tortise like to eat anytime. it even cannot hide the leg in the shell
yup tortoise can be overweight and eats anytime. what kind of tortoise are you referring too? what's the diet?

QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jun 7 2007, 01:15 AM)
hi, i'm a TTT noob. i just got a pair of RES last few weeks... and after going thru this topic i only realised how noobish i am..
first of all my setup is all wrong. the lady at the fish shop la, recommend some ciplak container. u know those round plastic containers with bridge and a mini plastic coconut tree in the middle one.
i also didnt know RES likes to swim, so i only put very little water (abt an inch) cos scared they drown  blush.gif

i've seen very nice tank setups here, so jealous. can u guys teach me the most economic way to set up a nice tank for my RES? must i get filters and UV lights?

btw, abt my RES, i got a female and a male one. the female is healthy and active. but the male one..well its smaller compared to the female, and its kinda shy and scared of human. very inactive, and i seldom see him eat. issit normal?

thanks in advance.
i think got some caresheets on the 1st page of this thread. by the way, as you're still using those round plastic containers, i presume the turtles are still small. how can you be sure of the sex?

filter is a must unless you're willing to frequently change the water, as res eats and poops a lot. uv is also a must unless the turtles are housed outdoors or being frequently exposed to sunlight.

camillenoir
post Jun 7 2007, 07:27 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(long3016 @ Jun 7 2007, 06:14 PM)
my tortise is RES type. two of them just eat n eat. even my father said the tortise too fat shakehead.gif . some more my mum like to throw a vege to let them eat
res always seem to be hungry bro, need to control their diet or some complications might occur. also, try to give them live food like feeder fish on certain days of the week so they can get exercise by chasing them. other alternatives include using strong pump and deep water, so they have to swim against the current, good workout.

if your mum throw vege a certain day, might not have to feed them other food that day.

QUOTE(khaneys @ Jun 7 2007, 11:43 AM)
My totis have flu and dun want eat.always put head inside shell.help me pliz~
don't get too many pets all at once la bro, otherwise you won't have the time to take care of them. one at a time, maybe one a month or so and then add some more when all the requirements are met and the care fits your schedule. not 4-5 (or maybe more?) snakes a month and now tortoise, especially not for a starter. no offense bro, just some advice. don't get too excited in this hobby, it will cause burnout.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jun 7 2007, 07:35 PM
camillenoir
post Jun 7 2007, 07:37 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(long3016 @ Jun 7 2007, 07:32 PM)
everytime i go back hometown i sure take it out n let them walk for 1hour.
and how often do you go back to hometown? smile.gif
camillenoir
post Jun 11 2007, 10:20 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jun 11 2007, 09:14 PM)
my RES wouldnt eat the vege (sawi) i gave them. and they dont seem to like the sun very much. everytime i bring them out for sunbathing they will hide under shades. how ar?
put them in toyogo or something with some water and driftwood. then put them in the sun and leave them be. they will bask if they need to. just make sure they can't climb out.

if the weather's too hot they won't bask either, so morning sun is the best.

camillenoir
post Jun 12 2007, 10:47 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jun 9 2007, 11:07 PM)
Wow, it seems that this thread is getting slower and slower nowdays..
laugh.gif can't be at too many places at once...

maybe if this thread get segregated into into different threads: a thread for tortoise, a thread for turtles, thread for imports, etc. the discussion will be more focused and attract more participation.

even rodents got several threads...
camillenoir
post Jun 22 2007, 02:35 AM

373 posts

i hate people who keep on changing pets to keep up with trend sad.gif

hey, let's not digress and keep on talking about chelonians here. i'm gonna contribute with this piece:

Malayemys subtrijuga - Malayan snail-eating turtle

This smaller species is hard to come by nowadays and not recommended for beginners. WC specimens seems to always have severe shell rots, which requires extensive cleaning ups. Further, Malayemys have specialized diet (aquatic snails), and most likely they won't take pellets. I have to breed snails for 2 months before getting my specimens, as I don't want to risk these precious turtles end up getting starved.

(Western collectors usually bought in large amount, and only work on specimens that converted to pellets. Their logic is 'with large amount, some will adapt'. Those that didn't adapt would starve to death)

Saying all that, keeping healthy specimens could be quite rewarding, especially after all those hard work.

Hope this information adds up to our knowledge, i'll try to post other lesser-known species when i have the time. Enjoy.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jun 22 2007, 02:37 AM
camillenoir
post Jun 23 2007, 04:12 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 22 2007, 07:11 PM)
Aquatic snails, wow.... so what species of snails? The large ones? How long have you kept the snail eating turtles?
apple, ramshorn, nerite.... can only give them snails of certain size, i'll explain at the last part of this post.

I haven't kept Malayemis for too long, as finding them is quite hard and the preparation takes time. used to have lots of them in paddy fields, nowadays even paddy fields are hard to find.

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Jun 22 2007, 11:05 PM)
izzit easy to breed those aquatic snails?? i tried but failed! i din do anything much... just change water and let them be... end up all in my turtle's tummy... as i see they are dying so mai feed my turtle lor as they aren't breeding at all...
any idea??

wink.gif
yeah quite easy. they need clear (preferably flowing) water, space, enough food, sunlight. snails breeding wouldn't be successful without all these. they'll live, but wouldn't breed. if you give them veges, need to always monitor and throw away leftovers before water became dirty. quite easy actually once they established.

i breed mine in three 6'x2' tank and some smaller tanks as well. i start with 10 brown apples and 10 golden apples, after 2 months they've multiplied to a few thousands.

the requirements for nerite and ramshorn is quite similar, but both are heavy algae eaters compared to apples that would consume almost anything thrown at them.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 22 2007, 11:52 PM)
How can they eat back the eggs? Do you give it substrate to bury the eggs?
i think what ekiddie is trying to say is, the turtles eat the snails, not their own eggs smile.gif

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
more info:
Malayemys have specialized feeding mechanism. They would bite a snail, crush the shells with their powerful jaws, grab on the meat and do some head bobbing to clear the shell pieces off the edible parts. in order for them to properly do this, the snails must be of certain size range; snails that are too big would not fit in their jaws and performing their feeding feats on snails that are too small would be hard.

of course they could be taught to take other food, but that takes lots of times and efforts.
camillenoir
post Jun 26 2007, 10:43 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jun 24 2007, 10:23 PM)
He's doing fine, inside his tank with those algae. He just loves the green water.  laugh.gif
has he grown bigger since i last visited? you pamper him too much, give crayfish summore! expensive food.... laugh.gif
camillenoir
post Jun 28 2007, 09:30 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Jun 28 2007, 06:49 PM)
de one in pj tmn megah is a common snapper... not an alligator snapper... yet, it's STILL a beauty...

wink.gif
i thought they moved to aman suria already... and yeah, the one in the picture is an ally snapper.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jun 28 2007, 09:31 PM
camillenoir
post Jun 29 2007, 06:22 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Jun 29 2007, 12:10 AM)
Can malayan box and RES stay together since they look quite similiar in physical appearance and built?
actually they are different in built... malayan box are more domed and have hinged plastron, so they can hide their limbs under their shell completely if there's danger. RES don't have hinged plastron.

since sliders are damn good swimmers and are more aggressive compared to the shy boxie, therefore like uzairi said there might be problem during feeding time, cause the RES would likely eat the bulk of the food before boxie can have its share. plus, RES are always hungry...

camillenoir
post Jul 1 2007, 09:33 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(aimleeds @ Jun 29 2007, 04:08 PM)
hye guys,

i found two turtles (the small one that always the pet shop sell) on my way back from friday prayer just now in longkang. i think someone throw them there. i decide to "selamatkan" that turtles. i put them in a small plastic aqarium, i put a lil bit water and big stne in it. and i feed them with kangkong sikit. what i need to do next??
assuming that your turtles are Red Eared Sliders, your setup seems ok. you only need to add on basking light and uvb lighting (warning. UVB is more expensive than your whole setup) or you could opt to put them in outside enclosure and let them enjoy natural sunlight. food, turtle pellets will do for now.

however, the most important part is not to throw them back into longkang/river/lakes/etc as these turtles are invasive species and would disrupt local ecosystems.

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jun 29 2007, 11:50 AM)
It is illegal to keep any species of sea turtle !!!!! Be warned

But just for your information they can be de-saline over a period of time to be kept in freshwater But their shell will suffer !!!!!
sam, could you do a little elaboration on this? thanks.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jul 1 2007, 09:36 AM
camillenoir
post Jul 1 2007, 07:43 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jul 1 2007, 02:35 PM)
Do I need to say / write more ???

Even the eggs are outlawed let alone the hatchlings

If not they should be one of the cheapest Turtle species beside RES sold in Malaysian Pet shop ( one could gather them by the hundreds if you know where to look - popular turtle nesting sites )
no.. no... what i meant was elaborate more on the statement below. my bad, didn't quote properly.

But just for your information they can be de-saline over a period of time to be kept in freshwater But their shell will suffer !!!!!

camillenoir
post Jul 4 2007, 05:59 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 4 2007, 04:29 PM)
do you think they got the shell rots already when they were in the wild, or due to injured during capture and then poor husbandry before reaching your hands?
probably both. because specimens that we received includes both adult and yearlings, all suffered from shell rot. rots into the organs inside, its that bad.

in a paludarium setting, i noticed that malayemys stays on completely dry area most of the time, sometimes in shallow water and seems to avoid deep water. probably the captors failed to emulate this (which captor provides paludarium anyway?) or maybe they're used to shell rotting in paddy fields?

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 4 2007, 04:29 PM)
if you have a planted tank like me, you will end up with lots of snails almost effortless... you dont even have to think about feeding or breeding them biggrin.gif. it just happens
nobody breed apple snails in planted tanks. if you wanna try, just stop by my place and i'll gladly give you some. just note that ur planted tank would be like padang jarak padang tekukur in no time moneyflies.gif (in that case, please save some java moss for me 1st LOL)

ramshorn, nerite, trumpet won't grow/breed fast enough and they remain small, bad choice for staple.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jul 4 2007, 06:00 PM
camillenoir
post Jul 5 2007, 02:50 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 5 2007, 12:09 PM)
im not sure how do you define fast breeding but my ramshorns and trumpets breed fast enough to be a nuisance LOL.
like 20 became 10,000 in a month kinda fast...

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jul 5 2007, 12:09 PM)
anyway, interested in knowing what type of nerite snails do you breed?
actually i don't know exactly tongue.gif .. bought them at 88, labeled 'tiger snail'.

hey, since your ramshorn and trumpet had already became nuisance, why not just pass some to me? extra breeders would certainly boost my breeding projects.

camillenoir
post Jul 5 2007, 06:52 PM

373 posts

not much luck with nerite man, slow breeder. last time, salinity (or rather over salinity) almost kill the population LOL

that's why i concentrate on apples. good food for turtles. hardy, breeds like crazy. plus, as apple eats almost anything, it's easier to gutload them with pellets/supplements compared to algae eating species.

camillenoir
post Jul 24 2007, 11:23 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(lessilly @ Jul 23 2007, 09:31 PM)
hello eveyone!!!
hahaha welcome me la...getting a alligator snapper soon..
uzairi...it gonna snap ur tut..tut...
LOL  rclxms.gif
pinkie... never cross my mind that you'll be here. i thought you're gonna quit with pets?
camillenoir
post Jul 24 2007, 04:18 PM

373 posts

want 40 also can get... if can get pass the customs laugh.gif

leslie: ally snapper is 100 times more dangerous than tri colored wink.gif

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jul 24 2007, 04:39 PM
camillenoir
post Jul 24 2007, 09:28 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(lessilly @ Jul 24 2007, 07:01 PM)
alah...but turtle tortoise kira normal la..
hahahaha...
sham....at least better than BOA..
LOL...the snapper will know not to bite the owner...but if uzairi n u...sure habis mia.. brows.gif
hey, i love my Corallus, biters they are. anyway, with these aggressors, i'd always be prepared, read the signs, wear glasses and always cautious. was bitten only once, and that's only superficial wound.

with turtles, i tend to slip off hahaha. most of the time, injuries are cuts caused by hind legs of giant specimens but had some close calls with bites too. and ally snappers are the worst when it comes to biting, bite force is over 1000 pounds. some keepers don't realize this, they know that the bite is strong but don't know it is strong enough to break bones.

anyway, snappers will happily bite the owner, i assure you wink.gif
camillenoir
post Jul 25 2007, 11:39 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jul 25 2007, 08:41 PM)
Do your tortoises get tired of a particular vegie? My Star is bored of sawi... no mood to eat sawi.... but once I chop some Opuntia cactus, grape leaves and romaine lettuce, straight away eat.... if I mix the sawi, he won't wanna eat hahahah....
happens.. a male of mine won't take leafy greens anymore. usually can feed them with grape leaves, hibiscus, grass & pellets, sometimes supermarket greens. now he's basically living on lady's finger and pellets. not good, but since it seems that he'd rather starve for a week than eat leafs, got no choice. got to gradually reform him.

i think uzairi's whole collection is facing the same problem now.
camillenoir
post Jul 30 2007, 02:29 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(hong123 @ Jul 30 2007, 10:50 AM)
Ahhh.. speaking of diet, is Opuntia Cacti really an ideal diet for tortoise? I'm not sure if it is really a high fibre diet or not.

Normally I'll feed mine with Sawi or the Exo Terra tortoise pellets. My stock of pellets is almost run out and I cant find any shops selling new Exo Terra Tortoise pellets. Existing shops only selling those which almost expire. Can anybody let me know any other ideal pellets and where to get them?

I also plan to feed the with Timothy Hays, is it a good idea?

Thanks ya all. icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
bro, where are you located? exoterra tortoise pellet is available in many shops. pet safari, pets wonderland, 88 all have. mazuri is another choice, but getting one is difficult here.

opuntia is high fibre, part of their natural diet.

timothy hay will do, but i think getting the grass form is better (more moisture contents).

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0559sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:59 AM