122 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoise V2, Shell reptiles please enter here...

TSuzairi
post Feb 4 2007, 03:51 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jan 31 2007, 01:03 PM)
my boxie doesnt like sawi but loves kangkung. my wife says because "kurax2 kampung" x makan sayur2 import haha
Yeah, boxie prefer kangkung because that is their staple food in the wild. You can spot kankung in almost longkang.

QUOTE(LEVIATHAN @ Feb 3 2007, 03:12 PM)
wah so big meh~ so put la the pictor. kamon. spread the love
Yeah, we need pictas. Spread the love. wub.gif
SUSathlonxp
post Feb 12 2007, 06:34 PM

1,067 posts

need help here

my 9 yrs old tortoise suddenly refuse to eat since last week cry.gif

i dont know wat kind of tortoise it is..but it look exactly like this

http://www.chelonia.org/cyclemysdentataJM5.jpg

i got her when she climb into my house 9yrs ago.. biggrin.gif

food that i usually give her is kangkong, banana, turtle food sold in pet shop, watermelon, honey dew and some green vegetable left from cooking

i let her out under the sun for few times a week

wat should i do now? help

This post has been edited by athlonxp: Feb 12 2007, 06:38 PM
SAMPERTH
post Feb 12 2007, 07:48 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Feb 12 2007, 07:34 PM)
need help here

my 9 yrs old tortoise suddenly refuse to eat since last week  cry.gif

food that i usually give her is kangkong, banana, turtle food sold in pet shop, watermelon, honey dew and some green vegetable left from cooking

You refer to your turtle as she /her are you 100 % sure it is a she or has she laid some eggs before
My first thought could she be gravid (loss of appetite)or egg bound if it is a she
You have done everything right (diet seem OK sun basking enough)
Can you take a pic of your turtle underside with the tail showing or the overall shape of your turtle as if your turtle is the same specie as the pic you posted shape can be used to sex them (adult)
SUSathlonxp
post Feb 12 2007, 10:06 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 12 2007, 07:48 PM)
You refer to your turtle as she /her are you 100 % sure it is a she or has she laid some eggs before
My first thought could she be gravid (loss of appetite)or egg bound if it is a she
You have done everything right (diet seem OK sun basking enough)
Can you take a pic of your turtle underside with the tail showing or the overall shape of your turtle as if your turtle is the same specie as the pic you posted shape can be used to sex them (adult)
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/595/dscn2460xn3.jpg
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/5766/dscn2461xt1.jpg

the container is her home for night..usually morning time it is free to wander around the garden behind my house

my neighbour told me its a female laugh.gif

This post has been edited by athlonxp: Feb 12 2007, 10:07 PM
sayasebuk
post Feb 13 2007, 09:34 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Feb 12 2007, 06:34 PM)
need help here

my 9 yrs old tortoise suddenly refuse to eat since last week  cry.gif

I think its an asian leaf turtle. Never saw a wild one before. 9 years is a long time. A chinese friend of mine told me that if your house got visited by a turtle, you are bound for good luck smile.gif. I got visited by a Malayan Box and ive been keeping him ever since.
Cant help you though since it seems you gave it a proper diet and even enough sunlight. Did anything happened just before ?

SAMPERTH
post Feb 13 2007, 12:02 PM

517 posts

From picture the rounded shell does point the finger that it is a she but from base to anus part of tail is saying it is a he (as this specie has long tail in general )

It must be a hatchling when you got him (climb into house) as 9 years on it is still quite small (I would say about 7 inch SCL)

Another thing could be internal parasites Have you worm it in the 9 years you got it ??? As with daily outing in the garden it is sure to pick up something nasty

SUSathlonxp
post Feb 13 2007, 05:38 PM

1,067 posts

samperth, how should i know if it got parasit? and how to worm it?

i nvr worm it blink.gif i dont even know wat it is blink.gif

sayasebuk, yea i think it is called asian leaf turtle cos i google some pic of it..

nothing abnormal happen...but she just refuse to eat..even if she eat..very little compare to last time blink.gif

9yrs ago behind my house is all swamp forest..one morning my mom found her in the kitchen biggrin.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by athlonxp: Feb 13 2007, 05:41 PM
TSuzairi
post Feb 13 2007, 07:23 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Well, what u can do is feed him some pumpkin as its a natural dewormer. Like what sam said, nothing we can help as he's suddenly like that. I think as long as he's eating then it should be fine. Try to feed him tomatoes and jackfuit to get his appetite back.
SUSathlonxp
post Feb 13 2007, 08:41 PM

1,067 posts

thanks.. notworthy.gif

i will try to feed some tomatoes to it tmr..hope it will work nod.gif
khaneys
post Feb 15 2007, 02:03 PM

297 posts

i want try this hobby too?is star totis doesn't need water in his tank?
sayasebuk
post Feb 15 2007, 05:26 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Feb 15 2007, 02:54 PM)
Hi guy.... i m back.... hoho i alive again, SO RUN EVERBODY RUN EVERBODY!!!!  bruce.gif  bruce.gif
eni1 still remember me??? the no 1 handy man...  cool2.gif  cool2.gif ... this few month i take a long break to 4get my 2 little poor star tortoise.  wub.gif .......
haha i definitley remember your
1. because of your handyworks
2. because of the tragedy that happened to your stars
so i guess you are ready move on now? biggrin.gif
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 15 2007, 08:39 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(khaneys @ Feb 15 2007, 02:03 PM)
i want try this hobby too?is star totis doesn't need water in his tank?
Star tortoise is a sensitive tortoise.... those below 3 inches got high risk of getting sick and dying....

They do drink so they do need a water bowl in their tank to drink. All living animals need to drink water. Try this hobby? You better do research first before trying a hobby coz a pet is a life....
aiyume
post Feb 15 2007, 10:55 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

i'm taking care of my friend's star tortoise for a week since she flying back and couldn't take her 'anak' with her.

first time taking care of tortoise. blush.gif

hwa107
post Feb 17 2007, 03:44 AM

827 posts

aiyume ur fren has a very nice star!! take good care of it!! wub.gif wub.gif
TSuzairi
post Feb 17 2007, 03:57 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Feb 13 2007, 08:41 PM)
thanks.. notworthy.gif

i will try to feed some tomatoes to it tmr..hope it will work  nod.gif
Any updates ?

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Feb 15 2007, 02:54 PM)
Hi guy.... i m back.... hoho i alive again, SO RUN EVERBODY RUN EVERBODY!!!!  bruce.gif  bruce.gif
eni1 still remember me??? the no 1 handy man...  cool2.gif  cool2.gif ... this few month i take a long break to 4get my 2 little poor star tortoise.  wub.gif .......
Sure we remember you. nod.gif

QUOTE(aiyume @ Feb 15 2007, 10:55 PM)
i'm taking care of my friend's star tortoise for a week since she flying back and couldn't take her 'anak' with her.

first time taking care of tortoise. blush.gif

She just leave it like that ar ?

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Feb 16 2007, 03:45 PM)
rclxm9.gif Good NEW : i already find a job, the salary n the benefit is not bad  rclxms.gif  so i got financial suport to buy new tortoise liao.......
vmad.gif BAD NEW : the job need me always out station, sekali keluar min is 2 week. aduh  cry.gif !!! so how can i care my tortoise ler???

cheers.gif HAPPY PIGIE YEAR!!! dont eat and drink until masuk hospital la........
  cheers.gif
I can help you take care of them. brows.gif
khaneys
post Feb 17 2007, 08:43 PM

297 posts

is the bAsking lamp very important.or juz need uvb lamp bcoz nobdy can sunbath them.can i sunbath the tortoise use the uvblamp at night??
hwa107
post Feb 18 2007, 03:31 AM

827 posts

QUOTE(khaneys @ Feb 17 2007, 08:43 PM)
is the bAsking lamp very important.or juz need uvb lamp bcoz nobdy can sunbath them.can i sunbath the tortoise use the uvblamp at night??
the basking lamp is not really necessary, unless your tortoise is sick or is really small, like less than 2 inches.

regarding the UVB lamp, if you can sun bath your tortoise then it's better to use sun light, make full use of nature sun light, it's the best source of UVB for our tortoise, nth can replace it. beside, our climate is very good to keep tortoise if compare to other western country. but if you can't sun bath your tortoise, then you should use UVB lamp.
khaneys
post Feb 18 2007, 12:59 PM

297 posts

owh tq for the answer.can i sunbath them at night?how long if i use that uvb lamp~
TSuzairi
post Feb 18 2007, 06:57 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(khaneys @ Feb 18 2007, 12:59 PM)
owh tq for the answer.can i sunbath them at night?how long if i use that uvb lamp~
How can u sunbath them at nite when there's no sun ? blink.gif

For the uvb lamp, its advisable to turn it on during the day at 12pm-6pm preferably.
LEVIATHAN
post Feb 19 2007, 11:04 PM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

just to add some updates today. now my quad res are more than 4in scl. 1 of them has developed a strong thick d***. his tail seems longer and bolder. wow. this fella can do real damage! his plastron now concaver than before. a natural preparation for a natural pleasure i suppose. biggrin.gif

the female res now more hostile towards me. she just hate to be touched. she bites, and i ended with white, clamped skin and it turns to red in no time. and dang it hurts. she the only female, so b17chy -ness is good. jual mahal beb.

pellets need to supplied in larger quantity now. 8 months back, they cant even eat pellets. i fed them with tubifex worms. but now, they easily eat the pellets with 1 ngap. dang expensive pellets. hagen nutrafin and wardley's are their fav. plus meal worms, 2 times weekly. wink.gif

just hope they are not mating now. im moving to setapak this april. so moving with some eggs are nightmare. that's all for now. ok! thanks!

122 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:36 PM