19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Samsung Gear S (SM-R750) Official V1, Android Lollipop CM12.1 Ported !!!!!!!

TSjoytest
post Dec 1 2014, 05:02 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Dec 1 2014, 04:48 PM)
actually i dont plan to leave my main phone at home, i was planning to take the phone and watch with me. so i can use the watch to make calls for 012 and oso 017? and also the watch able to get both notifications? thanks for reply! rclxms.gif
The scenarios are as follow:

1. Connect via Bluetooth
Can make calls and receive from the MAIN phone, IF you set "Auto Connect". Can receive notifications from main phone.

2. Connect via Bluetooth
IF set to Mobile Network Always On, then the watch is a fully separate phone, but you can receive notifications from main phone, and make and receive sms on watch separately.

3. Remotely connected
Same as 2 above

3. Not connected
Watch and phone are separate devices, no notifications from phone.

I believe most people are using scenario 1.

I use 2 and 3 most of the time, sometimes 1.

This post has been edited by joytest: Dec 1 2014, 05:02 PM
angel-girl
post Dec 1 2014, 05:11 PM

3,403 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Dec 1 2014, 05:02 PM)
The scenarios are as follow:

1. Connect via Bluetooth
Can make calls and receive from the MAIN phone, IF you set "Auto Connect". Can receive notifications from main phone.

2. Connect via Bluetooth
IF set to Mobile Network Always On, then the watch is a fully separate phone, but you can receive notifications from main phone, and make and receive sms on watch separately.

3. Remotely connected
Same as 2 above
3. Not connected
Watch and phone are separate devices, no notifications from phone.

I believe most people are using scenario 1.

I use 2 and 3 most of the time, sometimes 1.
yes i need number 2. so still need to call forwarding service?
TSjoytest
post Dec 1 2014, 05:13 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Dec 1 2014, 05:11 PM)
yes i need number 2. so still need to call forwarding service?
If you do not intend to forwards calls from the phone, then I don't think you need to subscribe to call forwarding.
angel-girl
post Dec 1 2014, 05:14 PM

3,403 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Dec 1 2014, 05:13 PM)
If you do not intend to forwards calls from the phone, then I don't think you need to subscribe to call forwarding.
thanks for ur info!! rclxms.gif i just want the watch to replace one of my secondary phone yet wanted to pair the watch with my main phone. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by angel-girl: Dec 1 2014, 05:15 PM
TSjoytest
post Dec 1 2014, 05:40 PM

13,188 posts

I haven't watched it, but I'm sure some of you may find this useful

TSjoytest
post Dec 1 2014, 10:42 PM

13,188 posts

Very good post on XDA about why Gear S, vs Omate TrueSmart and Neptune Pine

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...965&postcount=2

For me, since I already owned a TrueSmart and used it daily for 8 months, I knew that my next watch was going to require one of two features... First was a higher resolution display. Many of the popular apps for android were almost impossible to utilize properly. Second was a larger screen for mostly the same reasons.

Utter was the saving grace for the TS... Which allowed me to use many features that were otherwise unusable. For example, the keyboard was extremely tough to use. Even the Fleksy app... But in the end, many times I found the standard font sizes were too small to read on the 1.5" screen.

I ordered and tried a Neptune... And that was just a monster on my wrist...

When I previewed the Gear S, I was most impressed in many ways. I realized that a watch should not be a carbon copy of the features currently standard on full sized smartphones. What I used most on the TS, was already built in the Tizen OS. And the remote feature, was truly one of the better advancements I've seen in the wearables niche market.

I've had the Gear S for three weeks now, and have yet to find something I'm missing, as far as apps go. The Tizen store quantity and quality is bleak, for sure. But, that will change slowly... But will never be equal to Play or Apple stores.

All in all, the SmartWatch of choice is completely dependent on you and your needs. Figure out what you are buying one for, and what apps are absolutely necessary to your daily needs. This should help you make this tough decision.

TSjoytest
post Dec 2 2014, 01:34 PM

13,188 posts

So much hate for Samsung:

http://www.engadget.com/2014/12/01/samsung-gear-s-review/

I think if it were another logo, there would be such a gush of devotional praise for the rectangular design and Swiss-watchmaker beating blandness beauty and overcrowded minimalist homescreen.

Ptuuuuiiiiiiiiiiii

The comments are a good read, and mostly rational ones too.
bybeats
post Dec 2 2014, 03:28 PM

331 posts

Can someone help me i bought Gear S but can't even used it since got no Samsung phone.. So now i feel so dumb.. Need to sell my Iphone or swap it with Note 4 =.=
TSjoytest
post Dec 2 2014, 03:40 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(bybeats @ Dec 2 2014, 03:28 PM)
Can someone help me i bought Gear S but can't even used it since got no Samsung phone.. So now i feel so dumb.. Need to sell my Iphone or swap it with Note 4 =.=
There's a video on page 1, and links to an XDA post to allow you to pair with a non-Samsung phone.
bybeats
post Dec 2 2014, 03:49 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Dec 2 2014, 03:40 PM)
There's a video on page 1, and links to an XDA post to allow you to pair with a non-Samsung phone.
See the vid already and thanks, will try it once i go back from home
TSjoytest
post Dec 2 2014, 09:59 PM

13,188 posts

A comment from the Engadget article I posted earlier:

I took the liberty of making some highlights.

by ddogdad

Every reviewer hates the Gear S and 99% of actual users who comment, love it. Seems like a real disconnect. I wonder why?

More and more it seems the reviews on sites like this, Cnet, Android Central, etc. are of little or no value. Lots of times the information is incomplete or just plain wrong.

The value of the review is in the comments section where actual users relate their experiences.

While the Gear S can take the place of your phone, its not designed to. The Gear S IMHO functions best as an adjunct to my GS5. I can leave my phone for an hour or two, just wear my watch and receive calls, make calls, and keep up with messages and notifications. It not meant to be used to compose lengthy emails, play games, write books or load apps.

If you have a tiny wrist, you can still wear it. Its light enough. But if you think its too big, just don't buy it. Its not a negative for everyone.
Build quality is excellent, the screen is great, battery life is very good. Calls from your phone can be routed to your wrist through your Samsung account.
A Moto 360 has a huge feature overlap and really just saves you from having to take your phone out of your pocket. With the Gear S, you don't need to always have your phone in your pocket. So if you rely on having your phone with you at all times to surf the web, compose long emails, don't have a Samsung phone running 4.3 or better, this isn't a device for you. Doesn't mean there is anything wrong with it, it just isn't for you. If you fall into that category, you shouldn't even be reviewing it.

Its like a mom with a minivan reviewing a 5 ton dump truck. She can do it, but it makes no sense. Same goes for this review.

This post has been edited by joytest: Dec 2 2014, 10:00 PM
rayzrblade
post Dec 2 2014, 11:46 PM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

QUOTE(bybeats @ Dec 2 2014, 03:28 PM)
wow..I'm not the only one..
lucky u ask here first..
not like me..I got the gear s...bought a note 4 and saw the video. .hahah..but no regrets though
bybeats
post Dec 3 2014, 12:27 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Dec 2 2014, 11:46 PM)
wow..I'm not the only one..
lucky u ask here first..
not like me..I got the gear s...bought a note 4 and saw the video. .hahah..but no regrets though
Still can't connect it with my iphone.. So still imma sell it for that Note 4
bybeats
post Dec 3 2014, 08:40 AM

331 posts

Can anyone tell me how to check the battery.. I couldn't find it xD
Andrewtst
post Dec 3 2014, 09:13 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(bybeats @ Dec 3 2014, 08:40 AM)
Can anyone tell me how to check the battery.. I couldn't find it xD
Slide from top to bottom or tab the battery icon at your watch face. (Some default watch face got such option).
Andrewtst
post Dec 3 2014, 09:17 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(bybeats @ Dec 3 2014, 12:27 AM)
Still can't connect it with my iphone.. So still imma sell it for that Note 4
Are you throll? It is for android and more specifically for Samsung android phone. No way you can pair with iPhone.
bybeats
post Dec 3 2014, 09:51 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 3 2014, 09:13 AM)
Slide from top to bottom or tab the battery icon at your watch face.  (Some default watch face got such option).
thanks will try it once back from work
bybeats
post Dec 3 2014, 09:52 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 3 2014, 09:17 AM)
Are you throll? It is for android and more specifically for Samsung android phone. No way you can pair with iPhone.
I did manage to connect bluetooth with it but not sure if Notification can come in or not lol
TSjoytest
post Dec 3 2014, 05:35 PM

13,188 posts

Blurb by Samsung on how they designed the Gear S

http://global.samsungtomorrow.com/?p=45147
angel-girl
post Dec 4 2014, 08:57 AM

3,403 posts

oh yea, the watch faces for gear s, alot?

19 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:16 AM