FPS Overwatch - FPS game by Blizzard, updated 1st post with better info

tytons
post Nov 12 2015, 06:39 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 11 2015, 07:15 PM)
Blizzard is one of the only remaining company that I trust them to deliver a well polished game. I'd rate them as perfectionist among all the big game companies that I know of since they usually make sure that their game is well polished and tested before releasing them into the wild.
The beta videos that i watch in YouTube looks pretty solid already, and this is still in closed beta and they are estimated to release in 6 months time, but I'm not surprised if they delay it further.

Based on that, I don't mind pre-ordering Overwatch from Blizzard.

But there's some things which I dislike about how Blizzard is slowly steering their business.

1) No benefits of pre-ordering
a) Like what the heck, not even a sure beta-access for pre-orders? Maybe they might add this in future when they have the servers to support more players. Keeping my fingers crossed.

2) No benefits for pre-orders
a) I miss the time when by just pre-ordering, you get goodies, not from pre-ordering the so called "deluxe editions". Now most game companies have move the pre-order goodies to their deluxe edition. Thanks but no thanks to EA for starting this cheap pet idea.

Will be waiting until there's more substantial updates from Blizzard or beta invites started rolling in for Asean countries  before I pre-order mine.
blizzard has a good history of cancelling projects too smile.gif remember starcraft ghost which is now overwatch?
they have a good reputation of releasing late too and then screwing up with design lately...wow..and d3 is a good example. before patch 2.0 d3 went through a big overhaul...and totally flip on their initial design. bad mistake lead by an arrogant game designer which made the community hated him.

but yes..they may be good and bad at certain things but i wouldnt put my money till the product is out...all game companies these days seem to take pre orders with a bare demo out...its as though the money from the pre order determines the game development.

This post has been edited by tytons: Nov 12 2015, 06:40 PM
tytons
post Nov 13 2015, 05:05 PM

2,823 posts

i would say they scrap it cos it took too damn long and by the time it would be out it was already out dated...i dont think they are perfectionist...they are like Apple to me..u either like their way or you dont. but do support their games which do well to a certain extend..and their pride..omg...u try contacting their customer support and see...its like talking to telekom at times.

technically beta's are always close and for selected people..u rarely get open beta for games that dont have multiplayer or even so its quite limited, but the trend these days is they call it "beta" so that the bugs and all those unpleasing experience can be forgiven but the fact that it's actually a demo. like how EA did for star wars battlefront, if it;s so close to the launch date and disc n etc are already printed..how's that a beta? smile.gif sounds like marketing to me
tytons
post Nov 16 2015, 11:34 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ Nov 13 2015, 11:47 PM)
my experience with Blizzard CS, 6 months my account bugged in Hearthstone keep telling me bullshit.

In the end, i posted on Reddit about my account, higher Blizzard ppl pm me and fixed it in a few days.

Conclusion, Reddit > Blizzard cs laugh.gif
let me teach u a faster way...twitter not to bliz acc ofcourse..but to the game designer/dev/community manager

i wanted to buy starcraft 2 with the discount they have on their store..but i had transaction issue, by the time they got back to me...the discount period was over. thats 1...n they said..sorry i have to pay full price now.. sleep.gif
tytons
post May 9 2016, 03:54 PM

2,823 posts

not sure where to post this as overwatch doesnt have a sub forum by itself. but im writing on behalf of a group.

We are currently recruiting working adults who are interested in going competitive in overwatch but at the same time has real life priorities. We are a bunch of old timers who would like to make it to the competitive scene and just be done with it before our prime time is over. pm me for more info and we require you to have a mic and we use discord for communication. come join us for a few games and we can see if our chemistry blend well..no commitments.

tytons
post May 11 2016, 06:47 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 11 2016, 06:36 PM)
so i wonder any news they will be new heros/new map/new play style?
else it seems kinda empty and juz another more flavour tf2
the game is already as it is. 21 heroes 9 maps 4 game modes.

i dont get all the yacking bout content that ppl are saying..cs2go had x maps and still dedust2 is the map ppl go to 80% of the time.

mastering a map isnt that easy when team composition can possibly change every minute
tytons
post May 11 2016, 08:11 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 11 2016, 06:52 PM)
well, thats u, for me these limited content arent worth 40usd.
it will be boring after 3 months, yeah after that once a while will come back and play, but it will never be like dota 2
well true..some ppl get bored with too many content too..so cant really please anyone to be honest.

surprisingly u dont complain dota has no map variety eh? just 1 map...

plus ur comparing dota (car) to overwatch (donkey) 2 totally different thing. FPS team base shooter to a moba
tytons
post May 11 2016, 08:54 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(HellJoker @ May 11 2016, 08:16 PM)
lol, so u think this comparison is invalid?
well i think i'll stop arguing wit u. glhf
ofcourse...not to troll u but u have invalid points. smile.gif
ps: if u didnt know how bliz works..they have dedicated teams working on a single game.

tytons
post May 18 2016, 03:28 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ May 18 2016, 04:39 AM)
Oh Discord is like kinda irc/skype hybrid kinda thing..
Chat and Voip app for gamers. Just a way for gamers to communicate mostly.
But since the thing is kinda extensive and has lots of feature, people turn it into communities and etc for discussions.

Yeah I guess most in Malaysia don't know yet about Discord, it's not widespread yet. Slowly growing in popularity.
Most I know who uses it are murica and people from UK.
actually gamers in malaysia rarely use any thing community base from my 2 decades of gaming online..i dont know ppl who login to teamspeak or vent or mumble all day..but my friends from the states which have it on like all the time.

i got my own discord for overwatch too..am on most of the time..even at work but not many are there
tytons
post May 18 2016, 05:02 PM

2,823 posts

i dont have issues with harassment, hence i play mainly with US/AUS/CAN players. its usually the SEA players that have very diff mindset with me.

i prefer to talk..text is hopeless in games like these. u cant type or coordinate in time with text. No games reward anything at the same time it rewards you something..all boils down to u..i dont think dota is rewarding also..some ppl think otherwise.
tytons
post May 19 2016, 01:46 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ May 18 2016, 10:33 PM)
Nah. I doubt you know Blizzard more than you know them. These market existed because they get it cheap from certain ways or loopholes with them. If not, how can business sustain if there's no market prices? Your another person who seems to lack business knowledge. Maybe the food your consuming is also part of the grey market. What say others? Gosh... As long it is legally proven, skip the fussy details.

Here's something for you to learn today. "There is more than meets the eye, bro!"

Regarding hack issue, I doubt that'll happen if you have handphone verification method and such. Talking as if all "grey part" is as grey as you think.

Just like saying a person is so good in their looks, they must be really good in their heart but no? Better get more mentality to win games in Blizzard.

I'll be rekt-ing most of you soon wink.gif

Digital keys sold are mostly by opening the physical box and selling it off on the web. It's not just for PC but 3DS , XBOX One and many more. So, please stop the viral buzz about it bad or what. Some of you here... Hahaha, speak for yourself then.
whatever u type there just dont make sense.

cd keys arent obtain from opening boxes and selling at cheaper price. if u actually run a business u would know thats not a smart way to do it.

there are ways to obtain keys and if you're a reseller, obviously u dont obtain your games at retail price. sleep.gif

tytons
post May 19 2016, 02:02 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ May 19 2016, 01:07 PM)
aye, fair warning.
though we aren't sure of blizzard's way of handling stolen cd-keys, besides, who reads the EULA? LOL!

as for me, i've only bought blizzard games from authorized seller, those selling physical box (one of the shops in Penang and the rest from impulse store. most of the time those are cheaper than digital copy. mind boggling. only recently i bought directly from bnet. (D3 RoS and now OW)

as previously stated, i got no confidence with the source from 3rd party seller who sells very cheaply, in this case, cdkeyplus. i didn't want to deal with crap problems later on because usually it's not worth going through that trouble from the money you saved, unless you are lucky you didn't kena anything haha!

i enjoyed this game a lot, i liked the lores and the stories, the idea and history behind this game. so i don't mind paying blizz the full retail price. i really want to get collector's edition (not for the statue, but for the other stuff and the box LOL!) but that's seriously way out of my budget right now sad.gif
keep it simple..if u value ur battlenet acc either u buy from bliz or their authorize resellers..or u just take the risk. serial keys can be obtain stolen, key gen, cheaper countries n etc...wat ever the method they use..if its not a reseller that bliz recognizes theres a small risk.

plus saving up that extra RM50 or so is not a big deal i think.
tytons
post May 20 2016, 06:11 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(silverozen @ May 19 2016, 04:51 PM)
Do you guys play on us or asia server?
I get like crazy pings on us server. Heroes keep teleporting everywhere  bangwall.gif

Asia server is even worse, everyone playing widowmaker and i'm all alone at the objective
actually u shouldnt be getting such issues with teleporting anymore..the way this game is coded u dont rubber band. u may miss shots but u wont be flying around u may stutter yes.

if your ping is bad..either stop all ur downloads or streaming in ur home and restart ur modem. usually that helps alot.

QUOTE(justnits @ May 19 2016, 05:56 PM)
my area not covered by any fibre internet connection sad.gif
damn jelly of those ppl getting low pings...sigh...

paying RM149 for 4Mbps streamyx, my neighbouring apartment paying RM149 for 100Mbps...oh my ISP...
u dont need fast internet connection speed. this is the biggest n dumbest thing ppl tell around here in lyn forum. these ppl obviously dont know the difference with ping vs connection speed. totally 2 different thing.s

u need a stable connection..not a fast connection. 1mbps is more than sufficient.heck some ppl even game on 3g..if ur area has a stable connection. i was playing on the us server, most of my mates get 40 below pings but im at 200 ish..cos i have alot of users at home..my hp, my sis , my father n all..they are streaming while i play..which dont affect me at all. tho the ping is abit high but still i dont face any issues. so u need a stable connection for a good ping. not fast internet connection.
tytons
post May 28 2016, 01:21 PM

2,823 posts

repeating 1 of my previous post but changing abit.

I'm opening my discord server to those who are looking for group to play overwatch and other games to that others may have similar interest in.

rules and req are simple,
1. you need to have a mic. else go get 1..its just rm9.
2. behave yourself, if you tend to complain a lot i suggest you hold it back as we focus on building up our skills more than blaming the game and opponent
3. have fun and make new friends

we started with about 4 of us and now i have about 20 people. We're growing..slowly but more importantly we want quality gamers. smile.gif

go to this link to join and download discord.
note: please remember your email that you use yea.
https://discord.gg/0lV2O0XaioUJrzMD
tytons
post Jun 2 2016, 02:34 PM

2,823 posts

i find this ranking thing as bad as the KDR comparison...those that want to rank up a certain characters often do not always contribute to the team as they dont change character when needed..maybe not so much for reinhart since hes needed most times..imagine u get some hanzo or genji that always dont push cos he wants to have less death and kill more and often taking the last hits more than pushing/flanking

i play alot of defence..so my medals are most times less and POTG as well wont be much unless i do a quad kill or something. what are ur opinions?
tytons
post Jun 2 2016, 02:53 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Crazee187 @ Jun 2 2016, 02:50 PM)
Most people not realise that right now their rank is base on quick play and not a competitive play.. Since competitive are not out yet all they can show is quick play statistics. Supposedly quick play stat are not important, it just a quick play for casual play( in and out game ).

Well that is just my opinion..
true to that...but quick play and ranking stats would be in the same category i think...atleast it looks like it..tho ranking would have it's ranks but in terms of kills, death, obj time n etc..its gonna be all lump up. thats who it is for heartstone.

tytons
post Jun 2 2016, 02:57 PM

2,823 posts

@chachazero what if this dude is a 100% full time support hero user? im pretty sure mercy dont always go on a killing spree n probably have very much higher deaths than kill.

the problem is these stats are situational...i have low kills low obj low medals..cos i spend most time far from payload or outside caps defending..yes i die a hell lot too but i take down 1 or 2 with me along the way..so the stats itself wouldnt show such thing.

comparing to some front liner whos capping or tanking..they would have higher kills/objective medals n etc. plus support is usually behind them..so less deaths too.
tytons
post Jun 7 2016, 05:42 PM

2,823 posts

got a question to those who's been saying that America region connects to SG server and wherever in Asia n etc...got any facts/proof?

I just did a check...we are actually connection to France..atleast I am..so how did you test to conclude to that ?
tytons
post Jun 7 2016, 05:59 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(blackblackk @ Jun 7 2016, 05:48 PM)
Its depends on luck really.
I work in IT field...there's no luck involve in routing tbh.

QUOTE(Crazee187 @ Jun 7 2016, 05:54 PM)
how you check?

I base on my experience with server of BF4.. asia/sg server usually around 25-50.

so i assume the same thing here..
via IP add and i did a traceroute.

so..since you guys been talking about this for pages..i wanna know how u all derive with such a conclusion that its SG n etc. cos IP address is pretty concrete ..unless we both end up at diff ends of the world..then maybe there's some balancing done somewhere or there's a routing within msia with different ip range to be routed differently.

dont take what bliz writes on their site on their "servers" word by word...usually they wont complicate things and just say this n that so ppl dont question more.

tytons
post Jun 7 2016, 06:22 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(KbkB @ Jun 7 2016, 06:06 PM)
If we get 10ms it can only be in SG based on distance and other games we played in the past, that's from my experience.
so basically its assumption la.

QUOTE(justnits @ Jun 7 2016, 06:06 PM)
how did u check then?

well how i conclude is proof enough i guess. SG ppl playing in the same game gets 4ms or 5ms and me in Malaysia gets 40ms, based on that i think it's safe to say that the server is in SG.

so you connect to france and what's the ping?
i replied above..i got the IP address i connected to n did a trace. i try not to assume too much as ive done these sort of things before ...there are too many factors to give high pings and low..yes SG may be an alternative..but if its so..what makes u connected to SG and me to france.

my pings are always above the 180-200 on average..lately its bad so get above 350 but drops after a while.

this is my last hop

7 blizzard-1.equinix-ix.fr (195.42.145.55) 286.869 ms !X 285.512 ms !X *

QUOTE(Crazee187 @ Jun 7 2016, 06:08 PM)
LOL...

you check and it show you connected to france... but you join american region.. france supposedly in difference region.

that why I ask before did blizzard have ever make their server location public?
yes ...hence i ask u guys how u derive with your conclusion...i know lately the AU server has issues..so maybe for the moment we/I am directed to france..have to do another test later n see. actually they dont make these thing public to avoid attacks but they did share the servers to trace to for support hence i got the IP. Im also wondering y is it connecting to France.
tytons
post Jun 7 2016, 09:11 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Regalia @ Jun 7 2016, 06:48 PM)
If I am not mistaken, the IP provided by Blizzard for Americas (37.244.0.3) is just a general IP which is at their data center in France. There are also other server locations in Chicago, LA, Singapore, Sydney, Brazil and god knows where else.

There is not much point we in Malaysia run a traceroute to that IP since it will be super laggy whatever the routing path. Not sure if there is a way to obtain the SG server IP when we actually connect to it though.

As for why some people get this Singapore server and some end up going halfway across the world, it might actually have to do with routing with Unifi. As far as I know from previous tests, Unifi uses a convoluted routing path across the world for most things outside Msia (to save costs). I've seen the trace go from MY>HK>EU>US when pinging a Singapore IP. So maybe at peak hours they reroute half their traffic to these unoptimal paths and we get connected to US servers instead.

Just an example, I pinged a server located in Jurong East once (using UNIFI) and got 170ms. Then from my uncle's home 3-4km away (on TIME Broadband), the same ping resulted in ~15ms.
Time trace went to Cyberjaya then Singapore.
Unifi trace went to Europe and LA then only Singapore. sweat.gif
hmm dude..it dont work that way.

QUOTE(justnits @ Jun 7 2016, 08:15 PM)
alright, i did my own testing and here's what i found.

using wiredshark, i ran packet capture while playing a quick game in overwatch. this is the first IP i got from my first game.

http://whoislookupdb.com/whois-52.221.225.144

and it's a SG server, but i'm getting 2xx ms in-game.

using pingplotter, it'll do a traceroute to the server and look at this =.=

it goes all the way to Holland (MY -> France -> Holland -> Singapore) and then only back to Singapore.
my dear friend enzo did check with unifi and they confirmed that they have international connection issue, hence the reroute that doesn't make sense.

basically, our TM routing messed us up by taking a big big U turn to go to our neighbouring country...well done  thumbup.gif  doh.gif  rclxms.gif
ok weird..i now connect to US.

http://whoislookupdb.com/domain.php?domain=24.105.29.75

0.0288sec    1.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:11 PM