student discount for apple product in msia?, ....

TSshinigamicpt
post Sep 13 2006, 04:23 PM, updated 20y ago

68 posts

as the topic above, i wud lyk to ask wheter apple offers student discount in malaysia? and if dey do how many percent discount?
SUSMike3300
post Sep 13 2006, 04:25 PM

6,866 posts

No they don't. Only Student discount is available in US and some countries like NZ, Australia and Italy... lots more countries I guess, but Singapore has that thing, student discount on the Apple Stuff but you need a student ID card to prove that you're a student in SG.
coyouth
post Sep 13 2006, 06:42 PM

820 posts

Are you planning to buy an apple notebook?
kfc
post Sep 13 2006, 10:06 PM

276 posts

they do.
but for certain colleges only.
so far one academy got such discount if u ask for it.
i got mine from there. bought it under educator price.
benQue
post Sep 14 2006, 12:57 AM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

they do but they do it discreetly.

like for my uni, it only last for a week.

i got 400$ for my macbook.
jonnie
post Sep 14 2006, 03:30 AM

481 posts

which shop did u buy tht offers student discount ?
lailaikatong
post Nov 3 2006, 07:34 PM

601 posts

Time to bring this thread back up...

I don't know since when its been there but check out MacStudio's Student Campaign.

Hmm....
minde
post Nov 3 2006, 08:12 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

buy from your school , my school is offering Mac Book Pro at very cheap price...dunno the price yet...lol
SUSMike3300
post Nov 3 2006, 08:19 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 3 2006, 08:12 PM)
buy from your school , my school is offering Mac Book Pro at very cheap price...dunno the price yet...lol
Secondary? College?
sotong4896
post Nov 3 2006, 09:53 PM

babywears.my
974 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Nov 3 2006, 07:34 PM)
Time to bring this thread back up...

I don't know since when its been there but check out MacStudio's Student Campaign.

Hmm....
the student campaign
does that mean we fill up we r entitle to it?
SUSMike3300
post Nov 3 2006, 10:05 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(sotong4896 @ Nov 3 2006, 09:53 PM)
the student campaign
does that mean we fill up we r entitle to it?
I think no. They will only choose the random ones... if all fill in and get discount, buying cheap Macs/ they will bankrupt lor...
sotong4896
post Nov 4 2006, 08:37 PM

babywears.my
974 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Nov 3 2006, 10:05 PM)
I think no. They will only choose the random ones... if all fill in and get discount, buying cheap Macs/ they will bankrupt lor...
impossible they bankrupt hahaa... apple so rich...
minde
post Nov 4 2006, 08:37 PM

2,911 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Nov 3 2006, 08:19 PM)
Secondary? College?
secondary...college oso got..its cempaka schools.
penyu
post Nov 7 2006, 03:51 AM

34 posts

haha...don't worry they won't bankrupt.
over here in the US u don't even have to furnish proof that you are a student to be eligible for the educational discounts.
but usualli I avoid apple stores as they charge tax.
jenatic
post Dec 4 2006, 03:05 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Sep 13 2006, 04:25 PM)
No they don't. Only Student discount is available in US and some countries like NZ, Australia and Italy... lots more countries I guess, but Singapore has that thing, student discount on the Apple Stuff but you need a student ID card to prove that you're a student in SG.
im planning to go down SG this month. i'm a student in monash uni malaysia. would my student id do any good if i purchase the ipod nano from the mac stores in sg for student discount? where can i check?
pukarix
post Dec 4 2006, 04:24 AM

1,053 posts

i dont think there will be discounts for ipods...
SUSMike3300
post Dec 30 2006, 10:57 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(jenatic @ Dec 4 2006, 03:05 AM)
im planning to go down SG this month. i'm a student in monash uni malaysia. would my student id do any good if i purchase the ipod nano from the mac stores in sg for student discount? where can i check?
SG students only ler, you're considered as foreigner.
tinkerbel
post Dec 31 2006, 06:43 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

jenatic,
Nevertheless, I think the even without the student discount, the Ipod prices may be cheaper in SG compared to here in MY. You wouldn't need to worry about warranty because the Ipod carries International Warranty.

You may just want to double confirm the prices online before you make your trip and perhaps just in case of 'stock unavailability' situation, you may just want to check with the Apple stores in Singapore if what you want is available, and if they could reserve a unit for you to pick up.

Oh, and everyone else, Happy 2007 ! biggrin.gif
Pangkey
post Dec 31 2006, 10:33 PM

292 posts

umm im planning to buy my macbook...if i purchase it in sg. got box n such rite, whenever i pass the immigration, will they tax me? cos later they will say new item...
tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 07:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Pangkey,
I'm not entirely sure if the MB be cheaper in Singapore with our current exchange rate. If you're going in by car, I *think* you probably be able to find a way out of getting taxed. Take the MB out of the box n perhaps store some other things in the box - make as if you're just using the box as a storage box blush.gif

You probably can try the same trick on a bus too but if you're seriously afraid you may get taxed, then discard the box and just bring the MB back with you by hand smile.gif
merajey
post Jan 2 2007, 07:56 PM

454 posts

Macbook in SG not as cheap as ipod(just rm10-rm20..differ)so why not buy the macbook in malaysia??
some strange issue about m'sian immigration was, there were no checking through the gate(but maybe i'm in luck) bcoz i manage to buy w950 with the box.i just put it in my bag..but dunno if buy macbook can lepas or not...bcoz the box itself cannot be covered with bag too big maa!!...eheehehh

tinkerbel
post Jan 2 2007, 08:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

merajey,
My point exactly. It is better to re-confirm prices after conversion of SGD into RM before making the purchase in Singapore. At 2.3, the MB may just be more expensive in SG (I haven't checked official prices but do know the MBP is more expensive to purchase in SG after conversion rate at 2.3).

It's definitely eeasier to get away with a W950i box than a MB box doh.gif It's more cumbersome and difficult if going by bus as you'll have to carry all your belongings at customs. However, you can try to check with the bus driver to see if he can 'store-away' your MB box. I haven't done it before but one trip I made, I bought an RC plane for a friend and had to lug the 5' long box with me across immigration and the bus driver did mention that if I'd 'checked-in' earlier, he could've stored-away the box. And yes, the darn officer taxed me but I wasn't in the right frame of mine to argue with him so I paid him off vmad.gif (I believe he would've flipped if I'd asked for an official receipt)

Note: Don't put too much cash in your wallet and tell them you don't have enough $ on you sweat.gif
neekun
post Jan 3 2007, 08:04 AM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

I thought buying of computer related products are supposed to be exempted from tax?

Had someone clarify with the kastam dept?
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 09:10 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

neekun,
The RC plane I bought was also not meant to be taxable - i checked the Malaysian Law but ah well, was still taxed. Then again, notebook purchases might just be different.

Another advise = get the shop to give you a 'fake' receipt and back-date it. That may just work I guess. Back date it to like last year hence they know it isn't "new". I doubt the custom officers will know if the product's new or old biggrin.gif
lailaikatong
post Jan 3 2007, 11:08 AM

601 posts

It seems like this education discount thread has evolved into one about buying products from SG... heheh... Anyways, i'll try to stick with the flow and divert it back to the student discount thing...

I got my MBP from singapore, when they had the christmas promo goin on (SG$150 off)... Without the discount, the price would've been about the same with Malaysia... Even slightly more expensive actually, given the current exchange rate.. But the discount of $150 made a difference, so i decided to buy it there... Bought the applecare here in Msia, coz it's cheaper....

About the student discount, you can't easily get the student discount from the apple certified resellers... Gotta buy it straight from the online store, using a Singaporean registered credit card... Same goes with the apple certified resellers in Australia & USA... From what my friends there say, the only places u can get student discounts offline is from the university bookstore, but u gotta be a student at the institution to qualify... Not all uni bookstores sell apple, so some of them still have to buy online...
Apple Malaysia should really consider making it easy for students here to get discounts... Limit the number of units allowed to be purchased lah, like the education stores in other countries do...

On a related note, Sri Cempaka students now have a macbook each to be used in school... They're definitely a bunch of lucky fellas.. smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 11:53 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lailaikatong,
Last I checked, the ACPP was cheaper in SG compared to here in MY. In MY the ACPP is RM1399, whereas it's S$438 in SG [prices taken off online store, hence not too sure if there's a difference if purchased directly from store].

Appreciate if you can re-confirm? Thanks a bunch!

Er, and my thoughts - for those who can afford to be enrolled in a private school, I think they should be able to afford a Mac even without the student discount *grins* tongue.gif
lailaikatong
post Jan 3 2007, 12:11 PM

601 posts

ACPP for MBP is rm1399 in m'sia and SG$618 over there... slightly cheaper here wink.gif

And yes, they're able to afford the macbook without any problems... but it saves them from the hassle of having to convince their parents to buy them one... Once the school makes it compulsory, like it or not, the parents won't want their kids to be left out... heheh...
butterflydarling
post Jan 3 2007, 12:15 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(kfc @ Sep 13 2006, 11:06 PM)
they do.
but for certain colleges only.
so far one academy got such discount if u ask for it.
i got mine from there. bought it under educator price.
wah, one academy got? what bput MMU...aih, sure dun have 1 i think. >.<
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 01:50 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lailaikatong,
I was going through the prices and saw that the ACPP for MBP was S$438. Guess I must've been dreaming - but will check again soon... I've no use for the ACPP anyways!! kEKekekkee...

What about getting the ACPP from USA? Would that be cheaper I wonder? I'll go do my research when I finally need the ACPP tongue.gif

butterflydarling,
Yes I read somewhere on a different thread that The One Academy does have Apple student discount. No idea if it's applicable to MMU students - if ur a student there, no harm for you to check. I checked with IACT and they don't have it there.

You can also check with MacStudio on their Student Discounts - it's stated on their website but no details were mentioned.
neekun
post Jan 3 2007, 02:01 PM

I'm a Mac
2,573 posts

Lailaikatong,

Hw much u paid for the MBP Apple Care here in Malaysia, is it RM1399?

I am looking to buy one (before one year warranty expire on coming June 2007) but it seems that every store here are selling at the retail price, cannot find any discount.

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Jan 3 2007, 12:11 PM)
ACPP for MBP is rm1399 in m'sia and SG$618 over there... slightly cheaper here wink.gif

And yes, they're able to afford the macbook without any problems... but it saves them from the hassle of having to convince their parents to buy them one... Once the school makes it compulsory, like it or not, the parents won't want their kids to be left out... heheh...
ezpcx
post Jan 3 2007, 02:44 PM

40 posts

They do offer Malaysia colleges.... APIIT is one of them.. But the promotion is end about 2 months ago..
tinkerbel
post Jan 3 2007, 05:42 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

ezpcx,
If they offer it again, drop me a PM and I'll see if I wanna get anything, can?! biggrin.gif
lailaikatong
post Jan 4 2007, 01:47 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Jan 3 2007, 02:01 PM)
Lailaikatong,

Hw much u paid for the MBP Apple Care here in Malaysia, is it RM1399?

I am looking to buy one (before one year warranty expire on coming June 2007) but it seems that every store here are selling at the retail price, cannot find any discount.
Got it from machines... Parallels (RM370, free RM100 voucher)... Used the voucher for ACPP.. So 1299...
tinkerbel
post Jan 5 2007, 09:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lailaikatong,
That isn't considered a discount lah doh.gif . Or well, at least I don't consider it a discount *grins*
lailaikatong
post Jan 6 2007, 01:26 AM

601 posts

i didn't mention that it was a discount, did i?? i just answered his question.... how much i paid for my acpp... hehe
junya watanabe
post Jan 6 2007, 01:29 AM

21 posts

do u think when i study limkokwing .....are they goin to give student price when i wan to buy imac ah ???
darkimp
post Jan 6 2007, 01:43 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 3 2007, 05:42 PM)
ezpcx,
If they offer it again, drop me a PM and I'll see if I wanna get anything, can?!  biggrin.gif
yaya me too i also want to know...thinking of getting macbook tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Jan 6 2007, 10:41 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

junya watanabe,
You can always check with LUCT's admin's office before you even enrol with them i guess? *shrugs* unsure.gif
hackwire
post Jan 6 2007, 12:04 PM

4,256 posts

who is the main wholesaler for apple actually? i heard of Macasia, Mac studio and CGcomputers... which one is the pioneer and can get genuine one?
minde
post Jan 12 2007, 08:00 PM

2,911 posts

In my school. Now they are starting this 1to1 Mac book programe where all the students need to get one Apple Laptops, its a 8% discount to all MacBook Products ( I think ) . But since im doing my SPM , the school has excluded us from getting one . In addition to that , we could purchase Mac Books at the branch IN Mid Valley and also get 8% discount if u flash yur student card . so
SanosukeSagara
post Jan 12 2007, 11:15 PM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

mac studio do giv 5% student discount..

darkimp
post Jan 13 2007, 12:27 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Jan 12 2007, 08:00 PM)
In my school. Now they are starting this 1to1 Mac book programe where all the students need to get one Apple Laptops, its a 8% discount to all MacBook Products ( I think ) . But since im doing my SPM , the school has excluded us from getting one . In addition to that , we could purchase Mac Books at the branch IN Mid Valley and also get 8% discount if u flash yur student card . so
i saw that. only for one school only right. i saw the school name paste at the counter there state that the SMK... student can get student discount only!!

so not fair!! mad.gif mad.gif
manutd6389
post Jan 13 2007, 12:31 AM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Jan 12 2007, 08:00 PM)
hwa!
means force all students to buy?
if cant offord how?
kaiserreich
post Jan 13 2007, 12:54 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

What is your school "forcing" students to buy laptops?

It's rather ....weird....

Consider reporting to Jabatan Pendidikan?
minde
post Jan 13 2007, 01:13 AM

2,911 posts

its a private skool...u complain also no use lar.. Oh yea ... not SMK but Sri ..

This post has been edited by minde: Jan 13 2007, 01:13 AM
tinkerbel
post Jan 13 2007, 08:43 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

MINDE,
If I'd known I'll drag u wif me to Mid Valley to get an Apple for MESELF !! kEKeekek *g*

Each student card can only buy 1 is it?
minde
post Jan 13 2007, 08:58 AM

2,911 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 13 2007, 08:43 AM)
MINDE,
If I'd known I'll drag u wif me to Mid Valley to get an Apple for MESELF !! kEKeekek *g*

Each student card can only buy 1 is it?
yea...i think i can do that....im going to visit MV tomorrow. Ask a few questions if can ... i can give u that privelege.. Yes .. i think 1 per person... ill have to ask.

This post has been edited by minde: Jan 13 2007, 08:58 AM
ed0gawa
post Jan 13 2007, 02:38 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Called MacStudio just now...

Basically, just bring your Student ID to their shop and be entitled for a 5% discount.

Just the machine alone (no mouse, no blablabla, nothing else) and 5% discount
minde
post Jan 13 2007, 07:18 PM

2,911 posts

yakah .. cos i heard mine they give free mouse or sumthing like dat...but ill check again...

This post has been edited by minde: Jan 13 2007, 07:19 PM
cywings
post Jan 13 2007, 07:38 PM

415 posts

does this applicable for secondary school or university as well??
minde
post Jan 13 2007, 08:08 PM

2,911 posts

oh yea...our school supplier is not macAsia . but a shop call Machines .
minde
post Jan 13 2007, 08:10 PM

2,911 posts

hey edogawa , mind calling this place call machine in Mid Valley and ask whats the discount and special offer for Sri Cempaka students ? Thanks .

03 2282 3996
unknowndevices
post Jan 13 2007, 08:58 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(darkimp @ Jan 13 2007, 12:27 AM)
i saw that. only for one school only right. i saw the school name paste at the counter there state that the SMK... student can get student discount only!!

so not fair!! mad.gif  mad.gif
student discount...giving a promotion to student to have apple product...
school no more using PC then... hmm.gif

QUOTE(minde @ Jan 13 2007, 01:13 AM)
its a private skool...u complain also no use lar.. Oh yea ... not SMK but Sri ..
who knows...you can make them awake with you complaint...

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jan 13 2007, 02:38 PM)
Called MacStudio just now...

Basically, just bring your Student ID to their shop and be entitled for a 5% discount.

Just the machine alone (no mouse, no blablabla, nothing else) and 5% discount
just machine with no others...somemore for 5% discount only? shocking.gif

QUOTE(minde @ Jan 13 2007, 07:18 PM)
yakah .. cos i heard mine they give free mouse or sumthing like dat...but ill check again...
your school got strong link/cable with the shop what? hmm.gif

ezralimm
post Jan 13 2007, 10:34 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Jan 2 2007, 07:56 PM)
Macbook in SG not as cheap as ipod(just rm10-rm20..differ)so why not buy the macbook in malaysia??
some strange issue about m'sian immigration was, there were no checking through the gate(but maybe i'm in luck) bcoz i manage to buy w950 with the box.i just put it in my bag..but dunno if buy macbook can lepas or not...bcoz the box itself cannot be covered with bag too big maa!!...eheehehh
Computers are tax free im msia rite?

I dont think there will be a problem even if you bring in a desktop in its original box.
tinkerbel
post Jan 14 2007, 09:59 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Minde,
How was your shopping spree at Machines? Any good news for me? And, like MacStudio, is it only applicable for Mac machines purchases only?
minde
post Jan 14 2007, 10:30 AM

2,911 posts

its RM4350 for a MacBook(dnno what model, din ask)+Iwork+norton antivirus+one more software (Forgot)...

they give lower price for mac book/pros and also for some accessories...

Hey , U can call them . 03 2282 3996 Machine .
Say ur a Sri Cempaka student and ask for the quotation for the price of the items u want. ..

This post has been edited by minde: Jan 14 2007, 10:35 AM
tinkerbel
post Jan 14 2007, 10:41 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Minde,
So u gonna get urself a Mac or not?
minde
post Jan 14 2007, 10:49 AM

2,911 posts

i already have a mac book pro~
uchan
post Jan 14 2007, 12:19 PM

427 posts

About the "Student Discount" matter, who is willing to write an official letter to Apple Inc, (in CA) or email (probably not that powerful) to ask for discount? tongue.gif

Just a suggestion. My english half-tank only... T_T

Anyone here speaks? Dont just talk here icon_question.gif ACT!
kwekeugene
post Jan 15 2007, 05:58 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(uchan @ Jan 14 2007, 12:19 PM)
About the "Student Discount" matter, who is willing to write an official letter to Apple Inc, (in CA) or email (probably not that powerful) to ask for discount?  tongue.gif

Just a suggestion. My english half-tank only... T_T

Anyone here speaks? Dont just talk here  icon_question.gif  ACT!
You certainly said it right. Your English seems fine. Go on ahead and write that letter...

tongue.gif
uchan
post Jan 16 2007, 11:34 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jan 15 2007, 05:58 PM)
You certainly said it right. Your English seems fine. Go on ahead and write that letter...

tongue.gif
I can't.. seriously half-tank english..

0.0236sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:48 AM