New Ipod release

hydrogen
post Sep 13 2006, 10:38 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(cywings @ Sep 13 2006, 10:33 AM)
well i prefer the previous nano design..with the metal back casing..
yes it scratches easily but the current generation of nano is so 'mini'....
yeah.. i never liked the iPod mini look.
metal backs are so stylish.. easily scratched, but stylish nonetheless.
the 80GB iPod is a great upgrade, since movies would definitely require more space. The users who are planning to buy an iPod get a bonus, but like zaakath said, it doesnt warrant us iPod owners to upgrade just yet.

perhaps 6G would have more things to offer.
as for now, let me just enjoy Prison Break and House on my 30GB...
fortynine
post Sep 13 2006, 11:15 AM

97 posts

hydorgen,
am planning to get a 30GB iPod and stuffing it with 'house' or 'CSI' definitely appeals to me. the only thing is, where do i get these videos? and then there's battery life issue. how many episodes of house could you enjoy before the battery dies on you? lastly, the screen, isn't it too small?

if it's inappropriate to discuss in this thread, please PM me. arigato nee... smile.gif
n20nine
post Sep 13 2006, 12:28 PM

909 posts

screen is ok, nice, crisp and clear. the current ipod video's screen is bright enough for me, and now 60% increase in brightness....wow, even better. new ipod video gives 20 hours of audio playback and 6.5 hrs of video playback.
fortynine
post Sep 13 2006, 01:17 PM

97 posts

brighter screen usually means much less battery life. apple however managed to improve on both, which is simply superb!

Question: are the improved features ONLY for the 80GB iPod or for BOTH?
cywings
post Sep 13 2006, 01:19 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Sep 13 2006, 01:17 PM)
brighter screen usually means much less battery life. apple however managed to improve on both, which is simply superb!

Question: are the improved features ONLY for the 80GB iPod or for BOTH?
it's for both 30gb n 80gb
cocklea
post Sep 13 2006, 01:22 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

the shuffle look a little odd, but loving the new Nano! Finally, Mini rebirth!!
Zavier18
post Sep 13 2006, 01:52 PM

119 posts

hmm... does anyone know how does the new packaging looks ?
Especially for the new 5.5G videos, same package look or a totally new one...

wei
post Sep 13 2006, 01:59 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Since steve doesn't mentioned it. my guess it will be the same smile.gif
goliath
post Sep 13 2006, 02:02 PM

5,533 posts

when will it arrive on malaysia shore?
azxel
post Sep 13 2006, 02:03 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

The new iPod Shuffle... FUGLY. They should have just made the previous 'Thumbdrive' design smaller. Nothing beats the old Shuffle with it's truly 'PLUG and PLAY' features. Now, we have to dock it? geezz... pathetic.

The new iPod Nanos... ewww... what's this? back to the future? It's like the iPod Mini after a Marie France slimming programme.

USD4.99 for a really old game like Pac Man... Steve, dude... are you getting senile? I wonder how you guys are gonna cope, playing Bejewelled on that tiny little screen without touchscreen. USD14.99 for a movie?? laugh.gif

Honestly, I expected something much better... much much better.
Zavier18
post Sep 13 2006, 02:05 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 13 2006, 01:59 PM)
Since steve doesn't mentioned it. my guess it will be the same smile.gif
but is there a way that we can recognise between the new and the old ones ?
By the way, around how much would it be in RM for the new 30gb iPod video ?
yihyan
post Sep 13 2006, 02:06 PM

862 posts

new ipod nano....twice the size at the same price biggrin.gif
good pricing
wei
post Sep 13 2006, 02:09 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Sep 13 2006, 02:03 PM)
The new iPod Shuffle... FUGLY. They should have just made the previous 'Thumbdrive' design smaller. Nothing beats the old Shuffle with it's truly 'PLUG and PLAY' features. Now, we have to dock it?  geezz... pathetic.

The new iPod Nanos... ewww... what's this? back to the future?  It's like the iPod Mini after a Marie France slimming programme.

USD4.99 for a really old game like Pac Man... Steve, dude... are you getting senile? I wonder how you guys are gonna cope, playing Bejewelled on that tiny little screen without touchscreen. USD14.99 for a movie?? laugh.gif

Honestly, I expected something much better... much much better.
how can u missed the iTV laugh.gif
crystal_kit85
post Sep 13 2006, 02:21 PM

1,902 posts

Huh!! the Ipod Nano looks similar to Mini, i would very much prefer the older version of Nano. Quite dissapointed that there isn't a larger screen for Ipod Video.Maybe i got too carried away by the rumours of the next generation of ipod.

This post has been edited by crystal_kit85: Sep 13 2006, 02:30 PM
hydrogen
post Sep 13 2006, 03:52 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Sep 13 2006, 11:15 AM)
hydorgen,
am planning to get a 30GB iPod and stuffing it with 'house' or 'CSI' definitely appeals to me. the only thing is, where do i get these videos? and then there's battery life issue. how many episodes of house could you enjoy before the battery dies on you? lastly, the screen, isn't it too small?

if it's inappropriate to discuss in this thread, please PM me. arigato nee...  smile.gif
1. firstly, you hav to get the videos by yourself. most people get theirs from t*****ts. u can also purchase them legally off iTunes. As for House and CSI, i guess the best thing u can do is RiP them off DVDs. Season 1 and 2 is now available at your local DVD seller. (*ahem*)
2. use a DVD Ripper and rip it into your computer. (AVI, MPEG, WMV?)
3. Convert the Video to mp4 format. (Use a iPod Video Converter such as Videora, WinAVI, etc.)
4. drag and drop it into your iTunes + iPod just like your songs.

I usually manage to watch at least two episodes of any show before the batt dies on me. it's quite enough cos staring at the 2.5inch screen for more than that and your head will start to ache.

The screen is too small, but the iPod's other advantages don't make me regret buying an iPod.
however, u might want to purchase the 80GB version if you can afford too, though. It makes a lot of difference when you're storing videos, movies, thousands of songs, and using it as an external hard disk. (like me)

welcome to the iPod family, and lastly,
it's hydrogen. not hydorgen.
sweat.gif

fortynine
post Sep 13 2006, 04:26 PM

97 posts

hydrogen
laugh.gif typo la bro. apologies.

u can use it as an external HDD? now that's new.. so i can transfer my files of ANY format (say, autoCAD dwg files) from one PC to another?

i thought Apple makes the iPod to accept songs ONLY from iTunes?

i'm confused. blink.gif

SUSMike3300
post Sep 13 2006, 04:30 PM

6,866 posts

Apple had done great on the marketing strategy. New Shuffle and Nano packaging box just looks really really good! I love them, Shuffle does comes with a dock/connector for now!

I'm getting Shuffle...!
hydrogen
post Sep 13 2006, 05:51 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(fortynine @ Sep 13 2006, 04:26 PM)
hydrogen
laugh.gif typo la bro. apologies.

u can use it as an external HDD? now that's new.. so i can transfer my files of ANY format (say, autoCAD dwg files) from one PC to another?

i thought Apple makes the iPod to accept songs ONLY from iTunes?

i'm confused. blink.gif
iPod can only accept and play songs from iTunes (unless you're using Rockbox), but it can also act as an external harddisk! im surprised u didnt know that..
go to My Computer and it detects your iPod as a storage device.
take note: you have to enable to use it as an external storage device. this is done in iTunes > edit > Preferences > iPod > Music.
Check the box which says "enable disk use", and pronto

an 80GB hard disk. WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
(and yes, ANY FILE ANY FORMAT AND F***IN PROGRAMS if you want to.)
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

JunkeR
post Sep 13 2006, 05:54 PM

26 posts

drool.gif omg really really attracted 2 buy this 1
acong
post Sep 13 2006, 07:30 PM

13 posts

its seems that apple singapore already stocks the new ipod video.Link
Price after convert ,30G=RM 997 , 80G=RM 1393. rclxms.gif

Now anyone going to singapore this weekend? blush.gif

This post has been edited by acong: Sep 13 2006, 07:31 PM