USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

wodenus
post Mar 20 2015, 06:50 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 8 2015, 11:03 AM)
no specific no. has been mentioned so far. only "undervalued".

well, the strange thing is there is a now lot of contention as to whether msia is still a net exporter or importer of oil. gomen officials hv taken pain to say msia is now a net oil importer but is still a net petroleum exporter when gas is included. banks and intl analysts insist it is net oil exporter. while 30% of gomen revenues comes from oil, there is a huge oil import bill too. so, perhaps it is at a neutral point...?

i think the weak rm is not just about oil anymore. more to do with little fdi, decreasing foreign funds in bursa, illicit outflows, unrelenting habit of borrowing more, confidence, etc. 1 mdb is certainly having an effect - if gomen/fin ministry declares a total bailout (consistent with past records of such bailouts n rakyat forgeting quickly so can do it again), we'll see significant rm movement again.
advantages of weak rm... only for exporters in usd like rubber glove and palm oil cos., their shareholders, directors and employees, maybe tax dept too. disadvantages, no need to list....

weak currency->attract foreign money to local equities...? i think they will come if they can see the currency strengthening and not continuing to depr against their own currency. as it is now, i believe foreign funds are still net sellers every month for the past 1 yr or so. which probably partly explains bursa's sterile behavior lately - 54% bursa is owned by glc's, local funds like epf, local syndicates and punters trading but little foreign participation. and dun forget not only the rm is the worst performing currency in asia in 2014; bursa is also the worst performer among asian bourses in 2014, losing 13%:
http://www.therakyatpost.com/business/2014...ian-currencies/
http://www.bourseinvestment.com/content/wp...utlook-2015.pdf
looking ahead, have things changed or major efforts put in place to reverse the trends? that's the big question, isn't it?!
quite true - house prices doubled in last 10 years. some doubled in last 5 yrs!
food prices (except some veg, i suppose) have also doubled in last 10 yrs.
salaries probably average 30-40%.
the effects are clear!
Salaries have doubled too.. in some cases tripled. So funny to read posts saying foreign companies are moving out because salaries are too high, and then read posts saying salaries have not gone up enough smile.gif

wodenus
post Mar 26 2015, 11:34 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 26 2015, 06:35 AM)
Did you let out the bears?  SP500 lost 50 pts in two days.  biggrin.gif
Not even a blip on the long range chart smile.gif

wodenus
post Mar 27 2015, 12:39 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2015, 10:54 AM)
1st qtr 2015 - djia, s&p500, nasdaq all flat.

so... no bull, no bear, boring!

only gain is exchange rate! laugh.gif
LOL.. can't lose for winning, no change also can make money smile.gif

wodenus
post Mar 27 2015, 05:07 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 26 2015, 06:35 AM)
Did you let out the bears?  SP500 lost 50 pts in two days.  biggrin.gif
lol meanies.. it is still a blip on the long range chart. How many percent is that, 50% then we can talk lol smile.gif

wodenus
post Mar 27 2015, 10:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 27 2015, 10:38 PM)
I hope not. 50% for SP500 is HUGE!...
That's like another calamity of world recession.
I know we made quite a bit in the last one 😊 another world recession would be kind of cool.. Everything is cheap and it's a good time to invest smile.gif
wodenus
post Apr 3 2015, 06:21 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Apr 3 2015, 04:27 AM)
you are happy when it's bear, and you are also happy when it's bull.

Conclusion:
you are a Hedge fund manager

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif 

Any slot for recruitment?
lol ofc... drop can buy more, up means more profit.. either way still get dividend smile.gif

wodenus
post Apr 28 2015, 07:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Apr 28 2015, 12:04 AM)
yes Dan. this reminded me of our local market in 80s, 90s in which the share markets were filled with labourers, vege sellers, retired uncles and aunts, i remember i stepped on few leeches inside a trading floor of Phileo! peole were shouting and dancing at the close of markets. there was once an elderly man got a hear attack and fell to the floor but no one cared! Penang sites had always been the first in Malaysia to impose trading credit. Then, the marlet will crash.
Same with gold at the peak.. So many people here selling gold investment schemes
wodenus
post May 1 2015, 03:02 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 1 2015, 12:55 AM)
ya, crazy...

aapl, ibb... bad.

only bright spot is oil.

managed to sell my amba at session high. 3rd time in 3 months, 5-6% net profit each, happy. biggrin.gif

gotta to lay back n watch
You guys are weird.. 5-6% already happy smile.gif is that net of brokerage? smile.gif it looks like we're in for it but uptrend is still holding, Wall of worry is still intact smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: May 1 2015, 03:04 AM
wodenus
post May 6 2015, 10:03 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 6 2015, 09:55 PM)
wow ...  a poor job creation simply wipe off all dya's TA and god news on oil etc etc .... RED !
Trend still intact. How weird is that. For all the down days there is still not a trace of downturn... weird. We have an official sideways trend.
wodenus
post May 6 2015, 11:49 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 6 2015, 10:46 PM)
oil is good, 62. thumbup.gif

i m about to close a position for groceries this week. laugh.gif
but aapl under anti-trust probe... sad.gif

and yellen remarks not too good.

looks like no rally afterall....
You guys are just weird. Groceries.

This post has been edited by wodenus: May 6 2015, 11:51 PM
wodenus
post May 7 2015, 02:53 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 7 2015, 02:02 AM)
Thanks Dan for the detailed insight.

...yellen talked about high priced equities and the world is collapsing like 911..dont like her style nor her speech manners since day 1. Greenspan and bernake would be more.diplomatic n choose more considerate words with cushions. Urgh!
The real story is that she said it was high and the uptrend is still intact. I mean no fed chair has ever been so blunt - there's no reaction to it at all. It's like she just hit the market with this really big stick and it didn't hit the floor. You'd think by now we'd see some panic selling but it's like no one is really listening to her.

She's basically yelling that the house is on fire, and only some people are heading for the fire exits, and even those that are, are slowly walking toward it.

This post has been edited by wodenus: May 7 2015, 02:56 AM
wodenus
post May 7 2015, 03:59 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 7 2015, 03:09 AM)
Global selloff in gov bonds!

I was thankful.that yellen did not say "its time for correction". Else fire rescuers will find me under a mass of debri which is once my corner double storey house. Huh!
She didn't say that, but she implied that. Not even 0.5% drop, and that is after she said the house was on fire. This is a drop:

This post has been edited by wodenus: May 7 2015, 02:22 PM

wodenus
post May 7 2015, 10:44 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 7 2015, 09:53 PM)
tonite looks like nasdaq nite....

baba, yhoo, nokia racing ahead. aapl....??!! biggrin.gif

oil/energy diving...
ok, i got my consolation prize, probably can sleep early. laugh.gif
Groceries? smile.gif

wodenus
post May 7 2015, 11:05 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 7 2015, 09:24 PM)
Things r  cooling down. Doesnt look as bad?
expecting a yoyo evening with UK election drama.
baba jumping via its better than expected result...(dont know anything faked or not in this china accounting).
is it worth to catch falling knife? Tmr friday job data wont be good as wed data was seen as the preview.to fridays data.

Fasten my seat belt n see from far...
I always wonder about people who talk about falling knives.. if eggs are cheaper this month, would people still ask themselves whether they want to catch a falling knife? smile.gif

Wow chicken is cheap this month, but I better not buy it, don't want to catch a falling knife lol smile.gif

wodenus
post May 8 2015, 11:24 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ May 8 2015, 01:39 AM)
Looks like I better stay diam diam as usual......
(my positions all in the reverse direction of what the usual folks here holds......)
LOL.. how can your positions be the reverse, unless you are so lucky as to be able to short smile.gif
wodenus
post May 8 2015, 08:31 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ May 8 2015, 08:07 PM)
UK. Conservative won so biz as usual but bills might be passed as there are co-parties in the gov?

nymex back to 58 and sliding slowly. Europe is healthy....and my sune and twtr r fighting well. Lol
I was thinking of SUNE too but that $91-$15 drop is kind of scary smile.gif

wodenus
post May 9 2015, 11:29 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ May 9 2015, 07:36 AM)
Dear all,

I am currently investing in Berkshire Hathaway through our local Hong Leong bank.
I am keen to attend next year's AGM. From Berkshire's website, I found out that each shareholder is provided with 4 meeting passees.

The problem is, my account with HLB is a nominee account and I have contacted them on obtaining these 4 passes. The answer I got from them was that they will 'try' their best to obtain the passes but can't guarantee anything.

Has anyone got any idea if I can get the passes myself by writing to Berkshire or any other solutions? Please help.

PS: their agent bank from Singapore that is supposed to get the passes is UOB Kay Hian.
You could try.. what do you have to lose? also "dividend magic" buying BRK smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: May 9 2015, 11:30 AM
wodenus
post May 9 2015, 04:45 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Magic @ May 9 2015, 11:33 AM)
Haha the irony. But if you look closely at BRK's structure, although BRk doesn't pay dividends, the businesses it owns do contribute to BRK.  tongue.gif

I plan to book my tickets and accommodation, so I can't depend on 'try'.
Oh well they might reply fast. If you don't get a reply, don't book then smile.gif

wodenus
post May 14 2015, 07:40 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ May 14 2015, 07:13 PM)
Yesterday big names ie Goldman, Merill, Chi corp all shorting the futures and they haven't cover their shorts yet. I haven't seen their calls went wrong for so many years.

Will this be the first time they stand on the wrong side?

Interesting.
What makes you think this is the first time they will be wrong, are they all gods or something? smile.gif

wodenus
post May 14 2015, 10:36 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 14 2015, 10:04 PM)
got one already. hopefully one more. laugh.gif
You are lucky, that would barely cover commission on this side smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top