15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

danmooncake
post Mar 8 2015, 10:22 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Mar 8 2015, 09:17 AM)
Lower rm can have advantages too. Declining exchange in asia can attract western monies and who knows they could be rushing in for our local equities.
Having said this, local arena looks bleak with 1mdb and political sh@t !
Not sure about equities but maybe some fixed assets.
But then asset price in Malaysia gone up faster than declining ringgit.
10 yrs ago, I can buy a fairly nice house in Klang Valley for US100K
Now, same house cost US200K.

Inflation in Malaysia --> like rocket ship! shocking.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Mar 8 2015, 10:23 AM
danmooncake
post Mar 10 2015, 08:41 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 9 2015, 07:17 PM)
oil is dead... xle/oih will weigh...
Very close to 75'ish... almost there. brows.gif
danmooncake
post Mar 10 2015, 09:48 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 10 2015, 09:43 AM)
haiz...

even at 75, very hard to buy with rm.

now 3.69 - that's more expensive than buying at 77@3.50!

will have to sit out for a while... sad.gif
Why? I thought you have a USD denominated funded account already.

Do they charge you the conversion rate on the spot only when you ready to buy ? hmm.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 12 2015, 10:01 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 11 2015, 12:36 AM)
one more bust session and you're there! brows.gif

but i can't join you - rm too weak.
I'm in! sweat.gif
danmooncake
post Mar 13 2015, 07:46 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 13 2015, 01:01 AM)
oil n energy looking pretty weak...

will oil go to 30? hmm.gif
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...her-price-crash
Ssh...don't say that.

Between 47 and 52 is sweet spot for Oil (WTI). Don't go lower.. ok? sweat.gif
danmooncake
post Mar 13 2015, 09:57 PM

10,125 posts

If 1 USD=RM 3.8, then it is back to pegged value (10 years ago).
One round trip. biggrin.gif

If it goes down further... 1 USD to RM 4.00 or higher (drool.gif), I may buy another house in M'sia. tongue.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 13 2015, 10:25 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 13 2015, 10:15 PM)
sea of red....
Still less than 1%.. don't panic yet.

danmooncake
post Mar 14 2015, 02:39 AM

10,125 posts

Where's Auntie Yellen.... whistling.gif
danmooncake
post Mar 14 2015, 11:06 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Mar 14 2015, 09:05 AM)
Dan you hv just reminded me of my most painful years.
things were crumpling, everything seemed worth nothing during our historic selective capital controls.
Damn,  I thot i hv forgotten those years. If rm hits 4.0 i just cant imagine what could be the impact. dont think i can last another round of  'crisis' ?
Don't worry. If you're like me, you've been through tough times.
The second round, you will know what to do and be more prepared.

In '97 after the crisis, I left M'sia and went over S'pore. Even S'pore not immune. 2 1/2 years later,
dot com bubble hit US and it hit S'pore even worse than Malaysia '97 crisis. I was devasted. Lost my apartment, car and everything. Left S'pore to USA to start over.

In '08 financial crisis hits USA, I was better prepared. Maintained my portfolio well, and I was able to get thru it.
When it recovers later, my net worth grew 3x times over when everyone was still suffering.

If another big one hit M'sia (the signs are here...) just get ready to tough it out. You should be hardened by now.
Opportunities are also here. nod.gif
danmooncake
post Mar 14 2015, 11:28 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 14 2015, 11:14 AM)
If you lost everything how did you have the money to move? If you are declared a bankrupt you have to return to your home country and are forbidden to travel out of it right?
No, I was not bankrupt but my bank account down to a few hundred after I paid all my creditors.
My dad (bless his heart) helped me to get started again with his emergency fund and one way ticket to US.
danmooncake
post Mar 15 2015, 08:31 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 14 2015, 10:19 PM)
how u all hedge US/MYR if u transfer RM to USD brokerage account?
let say now rm3.7=USD1

then after few month forex rate change to rm3.5=USD1.

we're losing rm0.2/USD

pls advise on how to deal with these situation
QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Mar 14 2015, 11:55 PM)
Not sure how to do that, but the chance of MYR gaining 0.2 vs the USD are super slim for this year.... I'm more worried about moving the money out of the country vs moving it back in at the moment. As much as possible I don't want to bring my money back to Malaysia because I expect the MYR to weaken even further.
IMO, if one has not hedged since 1 USD=RM3.20 (this was the last breakout), then it is too late now.
Better stay put.

Everytime you buy/sell forex, there is a spread which eats into your profits unless
you have at least 5 figures to trade.

Wait till Ringgit appreciates in value again (or USD falls). Everything comes in cycle.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Mar 15 2015, 08:32 AM
danmooncake
post Mar 16 2015, 10:47 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 16 2015, 10:44 PM)
oil in trouble again!

this time, <40 looks real...

fortunate i dumped some last week at breakeven. tongue.gif

Let see if $40 can hold or not... just $4 away sweat.gif
danmooncake
post Mar 17 2015, 02:16 AM

10,125 posts

Oil bouncing...and I'm seeing a pop for XLE... above $75 now. thumbup.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 18 2015, 10:44 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 18 2015, 06:22 PM)
all eyes on yellen again tonight. look for the word "patient".
patient = stocks rise, usd dive
no patient = stocks dive, usd rise
?? sweat.gif
Market wants to parse every word that Yellen is going say. laugh.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 19 2015, 12:00 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 18 2015, 11:50 PM)
that's for pro like yourself to make (even) more money.  tongue.gif
No.. this time, I've have no big bet on either direction.

Sometimes it is better to stay at sidelines and wait. biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 19 2015, 02:59 AM

10,125 posts

woof woof woof woof woof, who let the dogs out? biggrin.gif

Wow... I didn't expect XLE to rally but it did anyway together with the general market.
Thank you!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Mar 19 2015, 03:36 AM
danmooncake
post Mar 19 2015, 04:08 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 19 2015, 03:45 AM)
Aiya! she ruin my bear bear.  cry.gif
Actually, if you think about this, nothing she said was actually suppose to be positive for the market (because of the pending rate hike later and continuation of a stronger dollar) but because the bears were so scare of their positions, they ran caused the short covering rally.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Mar 19 2015, 04:09 AM
danmooncake
post Mar 19 2015, 08:51 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 19 2015, 04:00 PM)
the usd just won't stay weak for even 24 hours!

rm now back to 3.70 with oil price dropping again! laugh.gif
Haha! See?... easy come, easy go.

The oil fundamentals haven't change overnight and even before Yellen speaks.
Huge over-supply in the market hasn't subside one bit.

King Dollar reign supreme.. Euro dying, Ringgit also the same.
Profits taken, now bears can come back in and play a little. brows.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 21 2015, 12:50 AM

10,125 posts

Wow.... XLE continues to move up this weekend. I will continue to hang on here. rclxms.gif

danmooncake
post Mar 21 2015, 02:49 AM

10,125 posts

oh what the heck.. after 5 days of reversal, I better lock in some gains now for the weekend.
Don't want the market to take it back next week. You never know.. this market is really bipolar! tongue.gif

15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0424sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:03 AM