Codemasters killing other local game developers., As I predicted in the phoenix thread.
Vironia
Sep 18 2006, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(Lester Lute @ Sep 16 2006, 07:53 PM) So that Second Sight game I played a few months ago, which I thought was so cool, was created by...poached talent? Wow, that bums me out. I don't know what else to say except that reporter is right when he claims that not a lot of outsiders know what's happening within the game making biz. What do game coders do anyway? Sit in a dark cubicle all day in front of a monitor staring at lines of code? And waiting for industry poachers to show up to offer them a blue pill or red pill? Why should you be bummed that it was created by poached talent? Poached or not, it's still the same people who are making it, right?
Vironia
Sep 18 2006, 10:19 PM
Talent poaching is not only happening in the games industry, but in the local shared services industry as well. MNCs with deep pockets just come here and wipe off other companies... it's not really new.
Sure, it's bad news for the owner of these local setups, but if our local guys (the employees) get to learn more and have a better environment where they can nourish their skills, isn't it better in the long run?
If they can learn from the big players efficient and effective ways to make better games, then it will definitely benefit the games industry overall -- as compared to bootstrapping in a small games company where almost everyone have no clue whether what they're doing is the right or wrong way.
About developing games... Seriously, if a game is good, what does it matter whether it's made locally or what? So, if a game is made locally then should we be more impressed like "wow, this is made in Malaysia wor" when we won't be all that impressed if it was made overseas. Or any product for that matter. Sure, we think we're giving encouragement like applauding a child when he first learns how to walk, but sometimes giving too much praise can create spoilt brats, no? Which brings me to the next point...
IMHO, the "Malaysia Boleh" attitude is heading in the wrong path -- it shouldn't be that we're making games, cars or whatever just for the sake of showing that "Malaysia Boleh" eg. those people who do all sorts of stupid stuff (eg. wasting resources on producing the longest sandwich, most dyed-eggs, and so forth) that doesn't benefit anyone other than themselves to get into the Malaysia Book of Records. We should be creating games for feasible reasons like the concept is really good, there's meaning to it and that it makes money, not just to show that our local boys can do it,or to merely stamp it with the made-in-Malaysia mark.
No point spending millions to prove that you can produce games/animation/cars using your own hands -- just so you can say you did it with your own hands.