All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

spiderwick
post May 31 2018, 06:34 PM

341 posts

Hi Shifus,

I have been using my cimb to buy US stocks now. The brokerage fee is quite expensive though I'm not a trader type.

May I know how safe is it to use the Zacks trade?

I have tried to open an account with TD ameritrade. Till the end of the account opening, realise have to make payment via wire transfer and in USD dollars. Is it all the foreign broker will request us to make payment with such a method?

Thank you for your advice!
spiderwick
post May 31 2018, 10:05 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 31 2018, 09:33 PM)
i dunno the rest but for ameritrade and interactive brokers, yes.
u need to TT USD to their overseas account, becos they are overseas based.
brokerage fees is much lower but some have a fixed monthly fee.

local based ones like CIMB, they convert yr RM for u.
more convenient but too costly to trade due to high brokerage fees.

my advice to u - ok to use local for long term hold, very bad for trading.
trading, u must use foreign brokers with low brokerage fee.
Thanks AVFAN for your advice. Haha I actually read from the beginning till the end of the post earlier.
spiderwick
post Jun 1 2018, 09:44 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 31 2018, 11:11 PM)
For me I always believe in keeping cost low.  Why should you pay your broker extra when you can use the extra to invest?  Never waste good money.
Noted with thanks Ramjade.

May I know for IB, I must maintain the min amount of 10k in the account all the times? Does it include the market value of the shares which I purchase or just cash in the account?

The other thing is if I use online foreign TT for Maybank, the cost of transfer is the same with over the counter using wire transfer?

Thank you smile.gif

spiderwick
post Jun 22 2018, 10:37 AM

341 posts

Hi guys,

I tried to TT over the counter in Maybank (convert from MYR to USD) to TD ameritrades but I was informed by Maybank personnels that we cannot TT for investment purpose...

have u all faced such problem before? or should I use CIMB, Hong leong or other banks?

Or I shouldn't put investment as the reason? But it's obvious right when it is TD ameritrade ...

Tolong guys...

Thank you.
spiderwick
post Jun 25 2018, 01:43 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 22 2018, 10:11 PM)
Why not u use instarem to transfer? more cheaper
wow,sth new...have not heard about this.
thanks will find out!

But actually Maybank personnel said I can try to TT using online maybank2u and the fee is way cheaper..
however I'm not sure, if I put investment could I go through...
spiderwick
post Jun 26 2018, 02:14 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 25 2018, 11:34 PM)
Normal what.  Heard don't know how many rumours that maybank don't allow transactions to known "Forex brokers"
Not new news. This is old news already. This is Malaysia policy on no forex.
Wrong. Cheapest is using those service. Moneymatch,  instarem,  max money are all good choice. Only question is does the receiving end accept deposit from 3rd user.
Agreed.
Then what am I suppose to do bangwall.gif

I will check with Instarem whether they have any experiences to TT money to overseas brokerage or not then.
spiderwick
post Jun 26 2018, 02:33 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 26 2018, 02:30 PM)
Bro - TDAmeritrade SG does NOT accept third party fund transfer.
I've checked with TDASG & MoneyMatch.

FYI - since end 2016 i've not pumped in $.
I was using CIMBClicks & Maybank2U - both online, too lazy to go physically to counter tongue.gif
Thus, nowadays dunno have issue or not online
Bro Wong, last time u used CIMBclicks and maybank2U, which reason you put for your transaction ya?
Guess that's the only way for me then...
spiderwick
post Jun 26 2018, 02:45 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 26 2018, 02:42 PM)
Investment lor smile.gif
really mar - for stocks and stock options.
i dont do forex trading
Haha ok let me try! tongue.gif
spiderwick
post Jun 27 2018, 09:21 AM

341 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 27 2018, 12:10 AM)
Try UOB. UOB have the cheapest exchange rate in all of Malaysia.  But not sure if they will be flexible for you or not.
Thanks Ramjade!
By the way, i have successfully transferred the money via maybank2u to TD ameritrade.

Fyi, TD ameritrade will waive the charges incurred if you are a newbie. First time transferring money to them.
And they're running a promo now. Min is 10k USD and you will be entitled with 60 free trades i think but you have to use it within 60 days haha something like that.
And you have to transfer the money within 60 days after you opened your account with them.
Another clause is you have to ensure your money is always 10k USD also, or else there will be some charges incurred...if u use that amount to buy ur stocks is ok..
spiderwick
post Jun 28 2018, 02:16 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 27 2018, 12:02 PM)
oo Danke danke for the sharing bro.
was planning to inject more capital to my TOS to prep for lelong bwhahah
Haha yes..shopping time!
spiderwick
post Jun 28 2018, 02:17 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 27 2018, 10:23 PM)
How much is the US bank charged u?
Hi MNet, not yet seen the charges reflected in my acc.
will update u all once I see it smile.gif

0.0862sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:29 AM