All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 02:35 PM

2,679 posts

few months ago, I bough an etf (xlv) in usd using Sg Std Ctd trading acc. Min unit was 1 unit. and it was less than USD10K.

why do I have to use / open other brokerage acc when I can buy via Sg Std Ctd trading acc?

can anyone enlighten me on this ? what is d pro and con using the existing Sg Std Ctd trading acc I m having now.

btw, I m not a regular buyer for us shares / us etf. I m only active with Sg reits.

should I require to open another new trading acc like IB or OptionExpress ? btw I m a Malaysian without Sg working permit.

I also intend to keep etf for long term. kindly advise newbie like me

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Nov 13 2016, 03:01 PM
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 04:49 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Nov 2 2014, 11:36 PM)
My long term portfolio isn't very exciting  :

25% Bonds (BND/WIP)
35% US
20% Europe Developed (VGK)
10% Emerging Markets (VWO)
5% each Gold / REITS

Have some other temporary positions outside of that, but not long term or part of above allocation : EWZ, RSX, SPY, VGK, XLV

UK listed : UKDV, IUKD for some dividend income and as I have spare GBP earning 0% interest (no withholding tax smile.gif)
Boss

Mind share your latest portfolio ? I browsed through etfdb website but too many choices of etf till dont knw what to pick.

Thanks newbies
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 05:05 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 1 2015, 10:30 PM)

i got into spy (s&p500), xle (energy), oih (oilfield services) and qqq (nasdaq/tech).

being new in this, i do not really know what surprises may come except the volatility i noticed. i just thought at this time with rm looking to get weaker and local economy being stressed and tested seriously; us economy looking strong, usd getting stronger; oil prices "near bottom" - ingredients are there to put some money. i may get a rude shock, of course.

to others who have been in it longer, i like to ask:

.. to get lower brokerage fees, are there reputable local outfits dealing in rm-usd? or must go overseas to set up usd acc.?
.. dividends - understand there is 30% tax; for etfs, do they always offer reinvestment for every dividend payout?
.. in the event gomen put capital controls like in 1998, what happens to these etfs held in trust by by local ib nominee?

thanks for sharing. i m sure many more are keen on us etf's at this time.
Boss

What acc are u using to trade US etf ?

I m not a regular US shares trader. What would u suggest?

Currently I m using SG Std Ctd trading acc to trade Sg reits only.

Have u sign up TDAmeritrade Asia ?
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 05:07 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2016, 04:59 PM)
What u hv suits u - u buy sgx as well as us equities, not huge sums, not trading much.

If u focus on usa, bigger sums and trade a lot, better get a foreign broker - much much cheaper in the long run.
Boss

I wan to build my savings in us etf. That s y it s crucial to have a acc which muh cheaper in long term run.
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 05:28 PM

2,679 posts

Just done some read up on TD Ameritrade Asia

Minimum investment USD3500

Low-cost commissions : Trade stocks and ETFs on the U.S. markets for just USD$10.65 flat per trade. (abt SGD15)

No subscription or platform fees

Anyone know abt Dividend Reinvestment Plan for this acc?

Stocks—USD$0.016 per share subject to a commission minimum of USD$5.35 and maximum of USD$10.65
=> meaning how much ?

If i buy 100 units : 0.016 x 100 (min USD5.35) ?

I m using a normal laptop. Can support d platform?

What else important point I left out ?
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 05:29 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2016, 05:14 PM)
People invest in ETF because it's cheaper than UT in the long run.

However for those who have no money, ETFS are out of reach. sad.gif
Perhaps you switch some of your FD into here.

What say u ? I might let go some Asx.
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 05:40 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 13 2016, 05:33 PM)
Read the terms n conditions for tda n ib, check their websites.

Pay attention to min deposit, brokerages and min monthly charge.

If u hv too small an amount and not trade much, its not worth the trouble, better stick to what u hv.

When u hv, say usd20k to start with or want to trade foreign markets, then it is time.

Anyway, given last fri events, i would think its much harder now to tt money to foreign brokers for investment n stocks trading.

Will have to wait for the typhoon to blow over.
TD Ameritrade Asia - min usd3500

But i got to email enquiring on any monthly charges due to inactivity.

I wan to start small with something new. Cannot simply throw much.limited bullet and got typhoon blowing over now.

So, are u still stick to local brokerage ? Or u have started with TD Ameritrade Asia?
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 06:30 PM

2,679 posts

Anyone using OptionXpress?

Min usd2k

How long to withdraw money ? Any hidden cost ?

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Nov 13 2016, 06:43 PM
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 06:31 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 13 2016, 05:47 PM)
why TD?
there plenty of low deposit broker out there to choose frm
What would u suggest

I m new. Not sure which one is cheap.

What are u using now
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 08:02 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2016, 06:32 PM)
Based on this blog, I think IB is the cheapest.
http://www.dividendgrowthinvestor.com/2015...estors.html?m=1
Need funding of usd10k. A big pinch for me. Hmmmm.

Can i withdraw after i put in ? Easy to withdraw ?
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 09:30 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2016, 06:32 PM)
Based on this blog, I think IB is the cheapest.
http://www.dividendgrowthinvestor.com/2015...estors.html?m=1
do u plan to open acc with IB ? usd10k ard myr45k. hmm... I might not consider.

will try to consider others or maybe I stick to Sg std ctd.

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Nov 13 2016, 09:41 PM
prince_mk
post Nov 13 2016, 09:51 PM

2,679 posts

I find this website is very informative.

for reading pleasure. http://etfdb.com/dividend-etf/

dividend etf => http://etfdb.com/dividend-etf/ (Ramjade's favourite)

how to tag someone ??

This post has been edited by prince_mk: Nov 13 2016, 09:52 PM
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 10:18 AM

2,679 posts

What s d difference if buy spy:us and spy:sg?

I see d price is different as at today. Ome went up and one went down.

Would it be ok if i buy the one listed in Singapore ?
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 06:52 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2016, 11:41 AM)
SPY (100% tied to S&P500) is the largest ETF in the world, listed in many other stock exchanges besides NYSE.

what u see in SGX now is the price traded in singapore and other open exchanges.

it is what is commonly called "futures":
http://www.investing.com/indices/indices-futures

currently, the futures are all up, but who knows what happens when NYSE opens tonight?

u can buy/sell in any exchange but u cannot buy in one exchange and sell in the other.
noted boss.

currenly I m still browsing which brokerage acc to sign up.

IB is good but I don't trade US stocks / etf so regular due to lack of bullets. most of time I buy Sg reits.

Ramjade has suggested a website with comments.

I prefer a reliable one, an easy to cash out.

any suggestion ? OptionXpress ?
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 07:01 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2016, 06:55 PM)
sorry, but i have no experience with any foreign broker except IB.

larger, more reputable brokers tend to pose less problems with funds in/out, i would think.
for IB, min initial amount is usd10k. after that, can I cash out then ? or must maintain average daily balance of usd10k at all time ?
prince_mk
post Nov 14 2016, 07:06 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2016, 07:05 PM)
min 10k at all times.

if below, u will be asked to top up, failing which account will be closed.
oic.

then IB is out from my list.

will consider others like OptionXpress or TD Ameritrade Asia for a start.
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 05:49 PM

2,679 posts

Just checked with TD Ameritrade Asia, inital amt is usd3500 but no need maintain this amt at all time.
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:14 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2016, 06:07 PM)
They don't have ireland based ETF which means you will kena the 30% tax.
its okay. I keep them as growth stocks.

what other option do I have ?
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:24 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 15 2016, 09:22 PM)
Look for one which give you access to London Stock Exchange
Ramjade,

TD Ameritrade Asia doesn't not have access to LSE ?
prince_mk
post Nov 15 2016, 09:39 PM

2,679 posts

anyone have idea how much roughly if I wire money from Sg to US ?

0.0850sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:57 PM