can anyone confirm that buying of commission free ETF via ameritrade SG is possible?
the ameritrade US website was clear on this, but the ameritrade SG website is silent..
any sifu?
All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds
Oct 25 2017, 08:23 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
3,592 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
can anyone confirm that buying of commission free ETF via ameritrade SG is possible?
the ameritrade US website was clear on this, but the ameritrade SG website is silent.. any sifu? |
Nov 1 2017, 10:12 PM
just contacted Ameritrade SG, they dont offer commission free ETF.. so first post info is outdated.
whats the cheapest way of getting some USD/EUR based funds? i want to diversify away from MYR |
Nov 2 2017, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(rjb123 @ Nov 1 2017, 11:35 PM) I'll get it updated. At the time of writing TD Ameritrade referred to USA - at the time TD Ameritrade Asia didn't exist. is it USD10k per trade? or maintain USD10k in total distributed over however many funds i buy?If you're OK with the minimum deposit of $10k and inactivity / data fees IB is still a good bet whats the data fees like? |
Nov 2 2017, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 2 2017, 09:36 AM) It's USD10k to open account which can be used for trading. thanks, at that rate, maybe ameritrade SG still better at USD10.9/trade for those just starting outUsd10/month. Can be waived if you fulfilled either one: 1) you have USD 100k worth of stocks/cash with them. 2) If your trading commission >= USD10/month |
Jun 28 2018, 10:36 PM
trying to understand more about foreign ETF before I commit
correct me if I m wrong, from what I understand in the discussion, if I have an account with a US based broker (say IB/charles schwab) and I buy a US based ETF, the gains will be taxed 30% by the US government? but if I have an account with a non-US based broker (say 8securities) and I buy a non-US based ETF (say london?) the gains would only be taxed 15%? |
Jun 28 2018, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 28 2018, 10:42 PM) Nope won't work that way. There's no capital gains for foreigner but foreigner will be hit with a 30% with holding dividend tax. ok, so as a foreigner,It all depends on where is it listed. If you buy US demociled ETF, expect to get tax 30% on the dividend. If you buy a Irish domiciled eTF which is listed on LSE which track the US index, you only get hit with 15% with holding tax on your dividends. US demociled ETF = 30% tax on dividend Irish demociled ETF = 15% tax on dividend why would any foreigner buy US ETF then? after a posted the tax question, i did a bit of googling, this article might explain it better for other people withholding tax US vs Ireland |
| Change to: | 0.0166sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:33 PM |