All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

gashout
post Mar 7 2024, 04:22 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

i have done some homework and have a few etfs in mind. can sifu here pls give your feedback or rank them according to your liking/dislikes?

iYW
IXN
AIQ
QTUM
XLK
FTEC

thanks.
gashout
post Mar 7 2024, 04:59 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 7 2024, 04:33 PM)
IYW, IXN n XLK are broad based tech etfs. You probably just need one. AIQ n QTUM are for tech sector bets, which is your own bet.
aiq more on AI while QTUM is more on quantum computing, is that how i understand it?

also, if i buy a variety of etf, than selective few. when it comes to dividend, will i get deducted more as each etf will needs to deduct those cost? so i should just end up buying a few than many, right?
gashout
post Mar 7 2024, 06:24 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 7 2024, 06:19 PM)
don't quite understand.

If you use $1000 to buy one ETF, let's say you get taxed $30. If you buy 10 ETF with $100 each, you get taxed $3 ten times.

The amt you get taxed is the same
I mean dividend time. So when IBKR processes it, will it have charges?

I asked this cause last time when I own Visa and Mastercard using local broker, their charges were so high I never get any dividend. All eaten by charges. So in order for me to get dividend, I need to have larger amount.

Is that the case with etf dividend on IBKR
gashout
post Mar 7 2024, 07:32 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 7 2024, 06:29 PM)
oooh understood. Can't help you as all my ETFs (including SXLK) are accumulating type so the money stays reinvested
Thanks. Np. I'll try out and see.
gashout
post Mar 8 2024, 10:32 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 8 2024, 08:35 AM)
Yes u have to be aware of fees. Also with many Etfs u usually hv to pay higher brokerage as well.

Btw these tech etfs usually pay little if any dividends. And US has dividend witholding taxes as well. So if u want nice dividends look elsewhere. These are mainly for capital gains. And be careful, market esp tech is damn high now. It could go higher further but be mindful.
yes, i am aware of that.

i know try to use fear greed index to perhaps use it in my investing method, but it seems, every time you say its high, it goes higher.

and i don't think that fear greed index works.

im still finding my ways in this ibkr etf investing journey.

thanks everyone for guiding me.
gashout
post Mar 8 2024, 11:29 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 8 2024, 11:24 AM)
You should be mentally prepared for a 20-30 percent drawdown.and have some sort of action plan.
thanks for the advice. i do really hope it comes by!

0.0891sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:31 PM