All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

SpongeY
post Jun 13 2016, 04:16 PM

105 posts

Hi sifus, how do you transfer money into your IB accounts?

I went to Maybank to transfer a mere 10k usd into the IB account and the bank officer said i needed a BNM approval to trade US equities. Need some advice on this issue. How did you all do it?
SpongeY
post Jun 14 2016, 02:00 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 13 2016, 05:41 PM)
I've never been questioned by Maybank when doing transfers of 10K USD although I tend to fund from overseas bank as they let me do it online without having the hassle of going to the branch.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 13 2016, 07:19 PM)

now, i hear bnm has been pushing banks to tighten up - rm falling, capital flight, money laundering cases, u know...

if bank priority customer, should be OK, i would think.
Well I dont have an overseas bank to do so, i guess I'll just have to get the BNM approval? No idea how to even get that approval bangwall.gif

Im a private banker (not sure if this is 'priority' enough lol) in the Maybank branch I went to do a TT, still had to get the BNM approval for the officer. So tough to start trading nowadays sad.gif

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 13 2016, 08:04 PM)
U can use maybank online foreign TT
You mean even if i did a couple of transactions through this online foreign TT to the IB accounts there will be no questions asked? with RM30k new max limit i think that can really help me out if thats the case.

0.0800sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:03 AM