All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

Cubalagi
post Dec 14 2019, 08:38 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Dec 12 2019, 11:44 AM)
Do we have any ETF for china index in CIMB iTrade?
I suggest this one:

https://www.tradeplus.com.my/new_china-tracker

Cubalagi
post Dec 14 2019, 10:01 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Dec 14 2019, 08:43 PM)
Thanks. Let me survey a bit.
I saw this earlier but it seems that the trading volume is quite low. Not sure if there’ll be issue selling it next time.
ETF is not a stock.. Etf can hv no volume n stiil be liquid. Just watch the market makers bid n ask.
Cubalagi
post Jan 2 2020, 03:53 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Jan 2 2020, 03:08 PM)
Queued PAM-C50 ETF (0823EA) since morning till now still not yet filled. lol, not sure why

Edit: Cancelled the order and made another order and went through lol. But more expensive
When there is no liquidity u have to hit the buy price to get a trade done. Another trick is not to hit the buy when HK market is closed as the spreads get wider. HK is closed 12pm-1pm KL time and at 4pm.

Btw I don't like 0823EA, much prefer 0829EA which I hold. Better index and better market making. 0823EA is a poor replica of US FXI which is old China economy.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 2 2020, 03:56 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 2 2020, 06:13 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Jan 2 2020, 04:48 PM)
I see, I'll probably make my order around 10am in the morning on the first day of month for DCA. I'm spreading half of my monthly budget on 0823EA and half on 0829EA to diversify further.
I don't see much diversification benefit of buying 2 China etf. Better save on brokerage by buying just one.
Cubalagi
post Jan 3 2020, 02:23 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Jan 2 2020, 10:49 PM)
I'm seeing both fund having some difference in holding -
0829A is more focused on Tech, Telecom, and Consumer services & Consumer goods (More future industry oriented)
0823A is more focused on Energy, Finance, Real Estate (More old school established industries)

Since ETF is going to be about 20-30% of my main portfolio for low risk investment I'd recon the more diverse the safer it would be. Happy to have some discussion on your thoughts.
I don't see the point of holding "Old China" when "New China" is the future. For China exposure, I want the likes of AliBaba and Tencent. I get this with 0829EA, without having to trade in HKEX or NYSE.

As you said, Old China are energy, financials and real estate. But, there are already loads of these types of companies on Bursa Malaysia and SGX (I assume you can trade SGX), and probably with better governance. So Im not really interested in the likes of China Constuction Bank or ICBC. If I want bank exposure, I rather hold Maybank or DBS in Singapore, direct.And there is the liquidity issue, 0829EA is just better..

And fyi, 0829EA is up 16% since it's launch in end Jan last. This is even with the Trade War thing.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 3 2020, 02:31 AM
Cubalagi
post Jan 12 2022, 07:22 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jan 12 2022, 06:04 PM)
You have to pay extra stamp duty which is basically a tax revenue for govt  doh.gif
There is no stamp duty for trading on Bursa Malaysia ETF.

Cubalagi
post Feb 7 2023, 08:57 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 7 2023, 08:25 AM)
Try UUP
USDU (bull USD)
UDN (bear USD)
Just note that UUP is an ETF that invests in DXY Futures, so u wont get any dividends.

And you can get a double whammy if USD weakens further.

Eg from peak USD in Oct last year, UUP has dropped abt 10% in USD terms. Meaning in MYR terms u would have lost nearly 20% from October.

But of course, if USD strenghtens, u get double the benefit.

Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2023, 01:26 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 22 2023, 01:09 PM)
Blackrock benefits the most from fund flows into bond ETFs.

US listed bond etf sucks because of WHT..

Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2023, 01:46 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 22 2023, 01:30 PM)
I am pretty sure you have heard of the term "tax arbitrage". Euromarkets like Ireland and Luxembourg offer you "tax-efficient" UCITS alternatives.  tongue.gif
Still have WHT right? tho lesser.

Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2023, 02:22 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 22 2023, 01:51 PM)
Yes. Americans who buy onshore stuffs have to pay capital gain tax too anyway.

You want 0 tax, then offshore islands like Cayman and BVI are your main options. Or, use derivatives like forwards/futures/options/swaps etc. to circumvent the rules (regulatory arbitrage).
I just avoid US bond etfs altogether. I buy those closer to home.sgx, hkex.

For bonds, the coupona are quite an important part of total returns, so being subject to wht sucks.

Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2023, 02:44 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 22 2023, 02:37 PM)
Better to just buy individual bond over etf. Tax free. And not as capital intensive as our Malaysian or sg bonds at 250k a piece.
U mean USD individual bonds? Where do u buy for small.ticket size?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 22 2023, 02:44 PM
Cubalagi
post Mar 7 2024, 04:33 PM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 7 2024, 04:22 PM)
i have done some homework and have a few etfs in mind. can sifu here pls give your feedback or rank them according to your liking/dislikes?

iYW
IXN
AIQ
QTUM
XLK
FTEC

thanks.
IYW, IXN n XLK are broad based tech etfs. You probably just need one. AIQ n QTUM are for tech sector bets, which is your own bet.

Cubalagi
post Mar 8 2024, 08:35 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 7 2024, 06:24 PM)
I mean dividend time. So when IBKR processes it, will it have charges?
I asked this cause last time when I own Visa and Mastercard using local broker, their charges were so high I never get any dividend. All eaten by charges. So in order for me to get dividend, I need to have larger amount.

Is that the case with etf dividend on IBKR
Yes u have to be aware of fees. Also with many Etfs u usually hv to pay higher brokerage as well.

Btw these tech etfs usually pay little if any dividends. And US has dividend witholding taxes as well. So if u want nice dividends look elsewhere. These are mainly for capital gains. And be careful, market esp tech is damn high now. It could go higher further but be mindful.
Cubalagi
post Mar 8 2024, 11:24 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 8 2024, 10:32 AM)
yes, i am aware of that.

i know try to use fear greed index to perhaps use it in my investing method, but it seems, every time you say its high, it goes higher.

and i don't think that fear greed index works.

im still finding my ways in this ibkr etf investing journey.

thanks everyone for guiding me.
You should be mentally prepared for a 20-30 percent drawdown.and have some sort of action plan.

Cubalagi
post Sep 27 2024, 11:28 AM

4,485 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 27 2024, 11:24 AM)
Bloomberg: The $6.3 Trillion Money-Market Industry Just Got Its First ETF

Texas Capital Bank debuts new ETF which trades as ‘MMKT’
ETF will comply with rules governing money-market funds

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...t-its-first-etf
First in US maybe..but HK and SGX already got.

0.1043sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:44 AM