All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

Ramjade
post Jun 1 2018, 11:56 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jun 1 2018, 09:44 AM)
Noted with thanks Ramjade.

May I know for IB, I must maintain the min amount of 10k in the account all the times? Does it include the market value of the shares which I purchase or just cash in the account?

The other thing is if I use online foreign TT for Maybank, the cost of transfer is the same with over the counter using wire transfer?

Thank you smile.gif
The US 10k can be use for investing. Keep in mind the monthly USD10 fee if you don't have asset worth USD100k with them.

IB only good if
1) you trade a lot until your commission >USD10 which means don't need to pay the fees.
2) if you have USD100k with them.

Otherwise go for broker like
1) 8 securities
2) Exante
3) OptiomXpress

Hansel
post Jun 3 2018, 02:30 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 1 2018, 11:56 PM)
The US 10k can be use for investing. Keep in mind the monthly USD10 fee if you don't have asset worth USD100k with them. 

IB only good if
1) you trade a lot until your commission >USD10 which means don't need to pay the fees.
2) if you have USD100k with them.

Otherwise go for broker like
1) 8 securities
2) Exante
3) OptiomXpress
Some discussions about '8 Securities' here. See link added at last line here. The last posting says it's not really 'that foc' for foreigners outside of HK.

For 'OptionsExpress', in Singapore, Charles Schwab Singapore Pte Ltd imposes this : All amounts are in US dollars. Minimum to open an Individual/Joint account: US$25,000.

Brokerage is cheap, only USD4.95 per transaction. But I can't find what the upper limit is for the transactional amount that qualifies for this cheap brokerage. MY feeling is,.....I think the only cost that matters is the TT-ing into and out of funds from out trading account inside Charles Schwab.

Edited to add this link below about '8 Securities'. Forgot to attach this link earlier !

https://apenquotes.wordpress.com/2017/10/10...e-8-securities/

This post has been edited by Hansel: Jun 3 2018, 02:33 AM
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2018, 04:48 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 3 2018, 02:30 AM)
Some discussions about '8 Securities' here. See link added at last line here. The last posting says it's not really 'that foc' for foreigners outside of HK.

For 'OptionsExpress', in Singapore, Charles Schwab Singapore Pte Ltd imposes this : All amounts are in US dollars. Minimum to open an Individual/Joint account: US$25,000.

Brokerage is cheap, only USD4.95 per transaction. But I can't find what the upper limit is for the transactional amount that qualifies for this cheap brokerage. MY feeling is,.....I think the only cost that matters is the TT-ing into and out of funds from out trading account inside Charles Schwab.

Edited to add this link below about '8 Securities'. Forgot to attach this link earlier !

https://apenquotes.wordpress.com/2017/10/10...e-8-securities/
I am the one who left the comment. Obviously that's bank wire charges. To get best rate, don't keep bringing money back to Malaysia.

Get a holiday open a HK bank account and you can trade for super cheap price
SUSMNet
post Jun 3 2018, 09:26 AM

11,954 posts

u all using which TT service to transfer fund to brokerage acc?
Hansel
post Jun 3 2018, 06:43 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 3 2018, 04:48 AM)
I am the one who left the comment. Obviously that's bank wire charges.  To get best rate,  don't keep bringing money back to Malaysia.

Get a holiday open a HK bank account and you can trade for super cheap price
For myself,... I will be TT'ing over USDs. There will be no currency conversion. Hence, what that I need to worry about is only the inward TT charges and outward TT charges charged by 8 Securities.

Would you happen to know offhand how much is each of the above with respect to 8 Securities ?

Great net interactions you have there,... thumbsup.gif
Ramjade
post Jun 3 2018, 07:35 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 3 2018, 06:43 PM)
For myself,... I will be TT'ing over USDs. There will be no currency conversion. Hence, what that I need to worry about is only the inward TT charges and outward TT charges charged by 8 Securities.

Would you happen to know offhand how much is each of the above with respect to 8 Securities ?

Great net interactions you have there,... :thumbsup:
No I don't know. I just don't like people spewing out lies without doing proper research.
spiderwick
post Jun 22 2018, 10:37 AM

341 posts

Hi guys,

I tried to TT over the counter in Maybank (convert from MYR to USD) to TD ameritrades but I was informed by Maybank personnels that we cannot TT for investment purpose...

have u all faced such problem before? or should I use CIMB, Hong leong or other banks?

Or I shouldn't put investment as the reason? But it's obvious right when it is TD ameritrade ...

Tolong guys...

Thank you.
Hansel
post Jun 22 2018, 11:59 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jun 22 2018, 10:37 AM)
Hi guys,

I tried to TT over the counter in Maybank (convert from MYR to USD) to TD ameritrades but I was informed by Maybank personnels that we cannot TT for investment purpose...

have u all faced such problem before? or should I use CIMB, Hong leong or other banks?

Or I shouldn't put investment as the reason? But it's obvious right when it is TD ameritrade ...

Tolong guys...

Thank you.
This is news to me, bro,.... shocking.gif ,... you need to declare that you have no debts in Msia before you can TT a certain sum out,.. that was the rule, I recall,.... BUT not outright telling you that you CAN'T TT OUT for investment purpose...

Let's see others' experience here too,...
SUSMNet
post Jun 22 2018, 10:11 PM

11,954 posts

Hi guys,

Tolong guys...

Thank you.
Why not u use instarem to transfer? more cheaper
spiderwick
post Jun 25 2018, 01:43 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 22 2018, 10:11 PM)
Why not u use instarem to transfer? more cheaper
wow,sth new...have not heard about this.
thanks will find out!

But actually Maybank personnel said I can try to TT using online maybank2u and the fee is way cheaper..
however I'm not sure, if I put investment could I go through...
SUSMNet
post Jun 25 2018, 09:16 PM

11,954 posts

cannot be cheaper that instarem as when the money reach US bank will deduct USD 25 as fee
Ramjade
post Jun 25 2018, 11:34 PM

24,333 posts

Hi guys,

Tolong guys...

Thank you.
Normal what. Heard don't know how many rumours that maybank don't allow transactions to known "Forex brokers"

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 22 2018, 11:59 AM)
This is news to me, bro,....  shocking.gif ,... you need to declare that you have no debts in Msia before you can TT a certain sum out,.. that was the rule, I recall,.... BUT not outright telling you that you CAN'T TT OUT for investment purpose...

Let's see others' experience here too,...
Not new news. This is old news already. This is Malaysia policy on no forex.

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jun 25 2018, 01:43 PM)
wow,sth new...have not heard about this.
thanks will find out!

But actually Maybank personnel said I can try to TT using online maybank2u and the fee is way cheaper..
however I'm not sure, if I put investment could I go through...
Wrong. Cheapest is using those service. Moneymatch, instarem, max money are all good choice. Only question is does the receiving end accept deposit from 3rd user.

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 25 2018, 09:16 PM)
cannot be cheaper that instarem as when the money reach US bank will deduct USD 25 as fee
Agreed.
spiderwick
post Jun 26 2018, 02:14 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 25 2018, 11:34 PM)
Normal what.  Heard don't know how many rumours that maybank don't allow transactions to known "Forex brokers"
Not new news. This is old news already. This is Malaysia policy on no forex.
Wrong. Cheapest is using those service. Moneymatch,  instarem,  max money are all good choice. Only question is does the receiving end accept deposit from 3rd user.
Agreed.
Then what am I suppose to do bangwall.gif

I will check with Instarem whether they have any experiences to TT money to overseas brokerage or not then.
wongmunkeong
post Jun 26 2018, 02:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jun 26 2018, 02:14 PM)
Then what am I suppose to do  bangwall.gif

I will check with Instarem whether they have any experiences to TT money to overseas brokerage or not then.
Bro - TDAmeritrade SG does NOT accept third party fund transfer.
I've checked with TDASG & MoneyMatch.

FYI - since end 2016 i've not pumped in $.
I was using CIMBClicks & Maybank2U - both online, too lazy to go physically to counter tongue.gif
Thus, nowadays dunno have issue or not online
spiderwick
post Jun 26 2018, 02:33 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 26 2018, 02:30 PM)

I was using CIMBClicks & Maybank2U - both online, too lazy to go physically to counter tongue.gif
Bro Wong, last time u used CIMBclicks and maybank2U, which reason you put for your transaction ya?
Guess that's the only way for me then...
wongmunkeong
post Jun 26 2018, 02:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jun 26 2018, 02:33 PM)
Bro Wong, last time u used CIMBclicks and maybank2U, which reason you put for your transaction ya?
Guess that's the only way for me then...
Investment lor smile.gif
really mar - for stocks and stock options.
i dont do forex trading
spiderwick
post Jun 26 2018, 02:45 PM

341 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 26 2018, 02:42 PM)
Investment lor smile.gif
really mar - for stocks and stock options.
i dont do forex trading
Haha ok let me try! tongue.gif
TSrjb123
post Jun 26 2018, 03:50 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 26 2018, 02:30 PM)

What about using the Transferwise Borderless account? Maybe can deposit there first and onward to IB if there’s issues with local TTs

I haven’t done any deposits to IB or TD for a while from Malaysia
SUSMNet
post Jun 26 2018, 10:11 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 26 2018, 03:50 PM)
What about using the Transferwise Borderless account? Maybe can deposit there first and onward to IB if there’s issues with local TTs

I haven’t done any deposits to IB or TD for a while from Malaysia
Does https://transferwise.com/gb/borderless/ account able to be opened by malaysian?
Ramjade
post Jun 27 2018, 12:10 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(spiderwick @ Jun 26 2018, 02:14 PM)
Then what am I suppose to do  bangwall.gif

Try UOB. UOB have the cheapest exchange rate in all of Malaysia. But not sure if they will be flexible for you or not.

114 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:06 AM