114 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds

Hansel
post Aug 28 2017, 01:48 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(simplylegendary @ Aug 27 2017, 08:02 PM)
Yea, you are right. Actually I was thinking either

1. Pick my own ETF (Vanguard All World, iShares Precious Metal, or something popular)
2. Use Autowealth for to "automatic" ETF picking

So my definition of "beating" is who beats who in the two choices wink.gif
Thanks, cannot run away from 30%.  sad.gif

Not sure if US Tax payer no (ITIN) can be useful, I remember a decade ago when I took a US project I managed to escape the 30% after getting ITIN.
This is quite informational, sl,... Tq. But, the prb is if you still have the ITIN now, yo may hove prbs opening accounts elsewhere in the world due to FATCA rules. Do you have such prbs ?
simplylegendary
post Aug 28 2017, 04:56 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 28 2017, 01:48 PM)
This is quite informational, sl,... Tq. But, the prb is if you still have the ITIN now, yo may hove prbs opening accounts elsewhere in the world due to FATCA rules. Do you have such prbs ?
I am not sure if I have such a problem.

At least the trading firm I am using allows me to invest in all major exchanges (NYSE, SGX, HKSE etc etc)
Hansel
post Aug 28 2017, 05:07 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(simplylegendary @ Aug 28 2017, 04:56 PM)
I am not sure if I have such a problem.

At least the trading firm I am using allows me to invest in all major exchanges (NYSE, SGX, HKSE etc etc)
...tq for the reply,... When you filled-in the FATCA forms, did you reply 'Yes' to the following questions ?

1) Are you a US Resident ?

2) Are you a US Citizen ?

3) Do you have a US ITIN ? ...followed by giving them the number.
simplylegendary
post Aug 28 2017, 05:12 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 28 2017, 05:07 PM)
...tq for the reply,... When you filled-in the FATCA forms, did you reply 'Yes' to the following questions ?

1) Are you a US Resident ?

2) Are you a US Citizen ?

3) Do you have a US ITIN ? ...followed by giving them the number.
1) no
2) no
3) yes

I never in US when I was granted an ITIN, I had the ITIN when I worked on projects from Malaysia for a US employer. I called and pestered IRS and they ended up giving me an ITIN and I got back the 30% from my project fees, but that was >10 years ago.
Hansel
post Aug 28 2017, 05:16 PM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(simplylegendary @ Aug 28 2017, 05:12 PM)
1) no
2) no
3) yes

I never in US when I was granted an ITIN, I had the ITIN when I worked on projects from Malaysia for a US employer. I called and pestered IRS and they ended up giving me an ITIN and I got back the 30% from my project fees, but that was >10 years ago.
Tq sl,... thumbsup.gif

Perhaps we should take this offline,... don't wish to dilute this thread which is for USDMYR talks,....
Ramjade
post Aug 28 2017, 05:59 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 28 2017, 01:48 PM)
FATCA only affect US citizen/pseudo US citiizen (those born in the US) but not those working in the US.
simplylegendary
post Aug 28 2017, 08:16 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 28 2017, 05:59 PM)
FATCA only affect US citizen/pseudo US citiizen (those born in the US) but not those working in the US.
U r a living encyclopedia
Ramjade
post Aug 28 2017, 08:53 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(simplylegendary @ Aug 28 2017, 08:16 PM)
U r a living encyclopedia
I could be wrong. These are bits and pieces of what I pick up from blogs & articles.

FATCA was created so that some rich americans who park their money overseas will be force to declare and eventually bring back the money to stimulate economy after 2008.

This is because of all a sudden banks all around the world are closing down anything to do with US citizen accounts. With no place to put their money, it's hope that they will bring back the money (since no country want anything to do wtih FATCA - expensive to maintain a US citizen account with FATCA in force).

In the crossfire, those who born in the US but never stayed in the US at all are recognised as US citizens rolleyes.gif

I never read about anybody who work in US kena FATCA before.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 28 2017, 08:55 PM
Hansel
post Aug 29 2017, 01:05 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 28 2017, 05:59 PM)
I recalled there was a question inside FATCA asking if you are a US Resident and if you have a US ITIN,... I have not checked,... I did not pay much attention to it but again, I've not signed a FATCA form for a few years already,...

If I am not mistaken,... FATCA is a form to sieve out the US Tax Residents,... if answering YES to any question in the FATCA does me no harm when opening any accounts in the world,... actually I don't mind applying for a US ITIN,...

Please comment/reply/query,...
Ramjade
post Aug 29 2017, 09:40 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Aug 29 2017, 01:05 AM)
I recalled there was a question inside FATCA asking if you are a US Resident and if you have a US ITIN,... I have not checked,... I did not pay much attention to it but again, I've not signed a FATCA form for a few years already,...

If I am not mistaken,... FATCA is a form to sieve out the US Tax Residents,... if answering YES to any question in the FATCA does me no harm when opening any accounts in the world,... actually I don't mind applying for a US ITIN,...

Please comment/reply/query,...
1. Why do you want to apply for US ITIN? Do you get any benefits? CPT? We as foreigners don't have. DWT? 30%. Cannot run unless Malaysia suddenly have tax treaty.
2. By answering even one yes, require more scrutiny on you and most likely the financial institution will deny you. (more work for them so they just deny you to make their life easier)
3. Opening a US ITIN means opening yourself up to IRS and IRS have wide arms. Better I keep myself out of IRS way and pay the full 30% when they have wide reaching arms.

Now tell me again why do you need a US ITIN again? Too much free time tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 29 2017, 09:41 AM
Hansel
post Aug 29 2017, 09:50 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 29 2017, 09:40 AM)
1. Why do you want to apply for US ITIN? Do you get any benefits? CPT? We as foreigners don't have. DWT? 30%. Cannot run unless Malaysia suddenly have tax treaty.
2. By answering even one yes, require more scrutiny on you and most likely the financial institution will deny you. (more work for them so they just deny you to make their life easier)
3. Opening a US ITIN means opening yourself up to IRS and IRS have wide arms. Better I keep myself out of IRS way and pay the full 30% when they have wide reaching arms.

Now tell me again why do you need a US ITIN again? Too much free time tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Tq bro,... you replied,... thumbsup.gif

I will answer 2. first,.... sl said there are no prbs opening accts everywhere even after he answered YES. That's the encouraging point.

For 1., yeah,... I don't deny this, but if we can follow their rules and if somewhere their rules have exemptions, then we may stand to be able to recover part of that 30%. We never know,... IF we follow their rules closely,... shld not fear IRS. But we must read their rules closely,... I have gone through this process in North America,.. I think I can handle it,...

This answers your 3. above too. I would love to earn USD divvies legally, just like from Manulife US REIT.
PropZ
post Sep 28 2017, 01:06 PM

27 posts

Would like to check is there any issue if we TT money from malaysia to TD Ameritrade Asia ?
Anyone has successfully done it recently ? Any limits in terms of amounts?
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2017, 01:26 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(PropZ @ Sep 28 2017, 01:06 PM)

Would like to check is there any issue if we TT money from malaysia to TD Ameritrade Asia ?
Anyone has successfully done it recently ? Any limits in terms of amounts?
No problem. Limit depends on whether you use online or counter. If online than RM30k. If counter, then it's unlimited.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 28 2017, 01:47 PM
PropZ
post Sep 28 2017, 01:58 PM

27 posts

Thanks for the response Ramjade.
My only reservation now is the tax on US dividend which can be around 30%
This seem quite high....where we do not have this concern on Malaysia stock's dividend sad.gif
Ramjade
post Sep 28 2017, 02:17 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(PropZ @ Sep 28 2017, 01:58 PM)
Thanks for the response Ramjade.
My only reservation now is the tax on US dividend which can be around 30%
This seem quite high....where we do not have this concern on Malaysia stock's dividend sad.gif
If you are dividend investing using ETF, best to pick Ireland domiciled ETF which track US index. That way, your tax is now 15% instead of 30%.

More info can be found on first page and http://www.turtleinvestor.net/get-to-know-...ithholding-tax/

PropZ
post Sep 28 2017, 03:17 PM

27 posts

Thanks a lot for the share , Ramjade !
Properlog
post Oct 19 2017, 10:53 PM

424 posts

Hi Anyone hear about ROBO Etf?besides direct trade in US market, any Singapore fund house have offer this ETF?
Ramjade
post Oct 20 2017, 08:34 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Oct 19 2017, 10:53 PM)
Hi Anyone hear about ROBO Etf?besides direct trade in US market, any Singapore fund house have offer this ETF?
Stashaway uses only US ETF for increase liquidity.
Properlog
post Oct 20 2017, 09:41 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 20 2017, 08:34 AM)
Stashaway uses only US ETF for increase liquidity.
Thanks Bro, what Singapore platform/fund house offer the most option ETF to trade?
Ramjade
post Oct 20 2017, 10:34 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Properlog @ Oct 20 2017, 09:41 AM)
Thanks Bro, what Singapore platform/fund house offer the most option ETF to trade?
All SG brokers charge dividend fees + maintenance fees if you buy foreign stocks/ETF except standard chartered.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 20 2017, 10:35 AM

114 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:33 PM